DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 3 were filed on 06/04/2026. Claim 2 was canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant states that the drawing objection is overcome because claim 2 was canceled (see Remarks filed 06/04/2026 on page 3). However, the subject matter of claim 2 (i.e., the grounding line unit) was added into claim 1. Therefore, a drawing objection remains.
With regard to the 35 USC 112 rejection of claim 2, Applicant states that the rejection is overcome because claim 2 has been canceled. However, the subject matter of claim 2 has been added into claim 1, necessitating a new 35 USC 112 rejection.
With regard to the rejection of Claims 1-2 over JPH08-219325 (“Kitz Corp”) in view of JPS1128325 (“Panasonic”), Applicant contends that the amendment “wherein the stem unit is configured to connect to a grounding line unit to make the grounding of the static electricity generated in the flow passage possible” overcomes the rejection (see Remarks filed 06/04/2026 on pages 4-6). Applicant argues that the spring 10 between the ball 3 and stem 4 of Kitz Corp can partially remove static electricity (see Remarks at page 6). However, even some partial removal of static electricity meets the broad claim recitation of “to make the grounding of the static electricity generated in the flow passage possible.” Furthermore, Kitz Corp even states that since “static electricity is discharged in the ball valve body, combustible fluid flowing the in the ball valve body is not ignited” (see Abstract); thus making grounding in the flow passage possible. The rejection is maintained.
The rejection is made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the grounding line unit (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: grounding line unit in claim 1.
The specification is silent as to the structure of the grounding line unit. The specification only states that the grounding line unit may be connected to the stem unit, but does not provide a description of the structure or show it in the drawings (see Specification at page 7, line 17: “grounding line unit (not illustrated)”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “grounding line unit” in claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is silent as to the structure of the grounding line unit. The specification only states that the grounding line unit may be connected to the stem unit, but does not provide a description of the structure or show it in the drawings (Specification at page 7, line 17: “grounding line unit (not illustrated)”). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 (as far as it is definite and understood) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH08-219325 (“Kitz Corp”) (cited on IDS dated 02/09/2026; Translation included) in view of JPS1-128325 (“Panasonic”) (cited on IDS dated 02/09/2026; Translation included).
With regard to claim 1, Kitz Corp discloses a ball valve (1) with an antistatic function (“anti-static ball valve” para [0001]), the ball valve comprising: a cap unit (2a) and a body unit (2b) coupled to each other (coupled together via bolt shown in Fig 1, but not labeled) to provide a flow passage of a fluid (see annotated Fig 1); a ball unit (3) provided on the flow passage of the fluid to control a flow of the fluid by rotation (“rotate a ball 3” para [0014]); a handle unit (9, para [0015]) providing an external force for the rotation of the ball unit (3); a stem unit (4) connecting the ball unit (3) and the handle unit (9) to transmit the external force provided by the handle unit (9) to the ball unit (3) (paras [0014] [0015]); and the ball unit (3) and the stem unit (4) are made of metal for grounding of the static electricity generated in the flow passage (“ball 3, and stem 4 are all made of metals” para [0019]). The phrase: “for grounding of the static electricity generated in the flow passage” is a statement of intended use and not given patentable weight (intended use of an apparatus does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art. See MPEP 2114). Kitz Corp further discloses that the stem unit (4) is configured to connect to a grounding line unit (spring 10) connected to make the grounding of the static electricity generated in the flow passage possible (see para [0021]). Furthermore, Kitz Corp even states that since “static electricity is discharged in the ball valve body, combustible fluid flowing the in the ball valve body is not ignited” (see Abstract); thus making grounding in the flow passage possible).
Kitz Corp discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing a first lined unit provided on an inner surface of the cap unit to prevent the cap unit from coming into contact with the fluid and prevent oxidation of the cap unit due to the fluid; and a second lined unit provided on an inner surface of the body unit to prevent the body unit from coming into contact with the fluid and prevent oxidation of the body unit due to the fluid, wherein the first lined unit and the second lined unit are made of fluororesin to reduce generation of static electricity due to friction with the fluid.
Panasonic teaches that it is known in the art to modify a ball valve comprising a ball unit (2), handle unit (19), stem unit (6) and cap and body units (10, 10), similar to that of Kitz Corp, to include a first lined unit (11 on left 10) on an inner surface of the cap unit (left 10) to prevent the cap unit from coming into contact with the fluid and prevent oxidation of the cap unit due to the fluid, and a second lined unit (right 11 on right 10) provided on an inner surface of the body unit (right 10) to prevent the body unit from coming into contact with the fluid and prevent oxidation of the body unit (right 10) due to the fluid, wherein the first lined unit (left 11) and second lined unit (right 11) are made of fluororesin (see Translation at page 2, lines 9-10).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a first lined unit and second lined unit made of fluororesin, such as taught by Panasonic, to the body unit and cap unit of Kitz Corp, for the purpose of preventing unwanted corrosion (see Panasonic Translation at page 2, lines 9-10), which would also reduce generation of static electricity due to friction with the fluid as it makes for a smoother surface.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PH08-219325 (“Kitz Corp”) (cited on IDS dated 02/09/2026; Translation included) in view of JPS1-128325 (“Panasonic”) (cited on IDS dated 02/09/2026; Translation included) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 2019108953 (“Shirase”).
With regard to claim 3, Kitz Corp (as modified by Panasonic above) discloses a seat ring unit (5) provided between the ball unit (3) and the first lined unit (11 in Panasonic) to prevent the fluid from flowing toward the stem unit (4) in a case in which the fluid passes through a fluid hole of the ball unit (3).
Kitz Corp discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing the seat ring unit provides a space due to non-contact between surfaces in contact with the ball unit to allow the fluid to reside in the space even when the fluid permeates through one of the surfaces.
Shirase teaches that it is known in the art to modify a ball valve to include a ball unit (40) and seat ring (20), similar to that of Kitz Corp, to include seat ring unit provides a space (“LLC” in Fig 3B) due to non-contact between surfaces (seat ring surface 22 and ball surface 42) in contact with the ball unit (40) to allow the fluid to reside in the space even when the fluid permeates through one of the surfaces (“possible to store LLC (fluid) in the clearance” – para [0025]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a seat ring unit that provides a space, as taught by Shirase, in place of the seat ring unit of Kitz Corp since the seat ring units are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, Shirase teaches that the use of the seat ring unit with a space provides a more durable valve device that can withstand long term use (para [0031]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA CAHILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753