Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0043135), in view of Salvador et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130301933).
Regarding claim 1, Chou discloses an image display apparatus comprising: a display (Chou: Fig 2; 216 “Display”); an image receiver configured to receive an input image signal from an outside of the image display apparatus [Chou: 0003 “The enhancement processor receives an image derived from an input image and processes the image using a non - neural network image”]; and a signal processing device configured to process the input image signal and output an output image signal, the signal processing device being configured to [Chou: 0003 “The enhancement processor receives an image derived from an input image and processes the image using a non - neural network image processing scheme to generate first enhanced image data.”]: calculate a spatial frequency of at least part of the input image signal on a pixel basis (spatial frequency is interpreted to mean the rate at which image values such as luminance or color, change across image position. Smooth surfaces generally have lower spatial frequency while edges and fine textures generally have higher spatial frequency. On the pixel bases means that the frequency related determination is made individually for pixels or pixel locations)[Chou: 0084 “In some embodiments , the features 624 may include texture statistics that identify higher and lower frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622 using an edge detection algorithm. The higher frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622 may corresponding with edge pixel regions , and the lower frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622 may correspond with surface pixel regions or other non - edge pixel regions of the directionally scaled image data 622.”](teaches frequency related texture features using an edge detection algorithm and identifies portions as higher frequency or lower frequency, further applies those frequency classifications for each pixel when determining the processing weight), perform upscaling and super resolution processing on the first signal [Chou: 0068 “The super - resolution engine 600 may include , among other components , a directional scaler 602 , a feature detection processor 604 , an enhancement processor 634 including an enhancement module 606 and a filter module 608 , a neural network 612 , a memory 614 , a blending logic circuit 616 , and a polyphaser scaler 650”] [Chou: 0093 “performs an upscaling on the input image data 618 at a first resolution to generate the directionally scaled image data 622 at a second resolution that is higher than the first resolution”], and output the output image signal based on the upscaled and super resolution-processed first signal and the second signal (interpreted as the final output image must be generated using both components, the first signal after upscaling and super resolution processing and the second higher frequency signal)[Chou: 0073 “The enhanced image data 626/628 output from enhancement processor 634 are combined with residual values 630 output from the neural network 612 to generate the output image data 620”], but fails to explicitly disclose extract a first signal and a second signal having a higher spatial frequency than the first signal, from the input image signal based on the calculated spatial frequency.
However, Salvador discloses extract a first signal and a second signal having a higher spatial frequency than the first signal, from the input image signal based on the calculated spatial frequency (interpreted as the input image must be separated or decomposed into two signal components based on spatial frequency)[Salvador: 0018 “a splitting module for splitting the input data structure So into an LF input data structure Lo and a HF input data structure Ho complementary to the LF input data structure”](teaches two signal split, LF (low frequency) and HF (High frequency)).
Chou and Salvador are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chou to incorporate Salvador’s explicit teachings of splitting the input image into complementary low and high frequency signals. The motivation for such a combination would provide the benefit of predictable frequency selective enhancement.
Regarding claim 3, Chou discloses the image display apparatus of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the signal processing device is configured to extract the first signal from the input image signal in response to the calculated spatial frequency being lower than a reference spatial frequency, and extract the second signal from the input image signal in response to the calculated spatial frequency being equal to or higher than the reference spatial frequency.
However, Salvador discloses wherein the signal processing device is configured to extract the first signal from the input image signal in response to the calculated spatial frequency being lower than a reference spatial frequency (interpreted as the device compares the calculated spatial frequency with a predetermined dividing value, the reference spatial frequency is the threshold or cutoff frequency used to separate lower frequency content from higher frequency content)[Salvador: 0070 “the splitting module comprises a first low-pass filter 970 for filtering the input data structure So, wherein a low-frequency input data structure Lo is obtained”][Salvador: 0058 “The cut-off normalized frequency of the low-resolution image is equivalent to that of the high-resolution image”], and extract the second signal from the input image signal in response to the calculated spatial frequency being equal to or higher than the reference spatial frequency (interpreted as image content having a calculated spatial frequency at or above the threshold is extracted as the second signal, The second signal therefore contains the higher frequency portion of the input image)[Salvador: 0084 “the features 624 may include texture statistics that identify higher and lower frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622 using an edge detection algorithm”](teaches identifying the portions of image having higher spatial frequency content, these higher frequency portions correspond to the claimed second signal content).
Chou and Salvador are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chou to incorporate Salvador’s explicit teachings of utilizing cutoff frequency and complementary low frequency and high frequency signal separation. The motivation for such a combination would provide the benefit of a simple and predictable boundary for separating lower frequency image content from higher frequency image content.
Regarding claim 4, Chou and Salvador disclose the image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein in response to a resolving power or resolution of the upscaled and super resolution-processed first signal being higher than a resolving power or resolution of the second signal (interpreted as the processing device determines that the upscaled and super resolution processed first signal can represent or reproduce more image detail than the second signal. Resolving power is interpreted as the ability to distinguish fine image detail)[Chou: 0086 “the neural network 612 is more effective for low frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622 , while the non - neural network enhancement is more effective for higher frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622”](teaches that the neural network 612 is more effective for low frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622, while the non-neural network enhancement is more effective for higher frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622), the signal processing device is configured to output the output image signal in which a proportion of the first signal is higher than a proportion of the second signal (interpreted as the processed first signal contributes more to the final output image than the second signal)[Chou: 0098 “the residual values 630 may receive a higher weighting for pixels in a low frequency portion , while the enhanced image data 626 or 628 may receive a higher weighting for pixels in a high frequency portion”](teaches giving a higher weighting to the contribution associated with a low frequency portion).
Regarding claim 5, Chou and Salvador disclose the image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein in response to a resolving power or resolution of the upscaled and super resolution-processed first signal being lower than a resolving power or resolution of the second signal (interpreted as the device determines that the second signal can reproduce or preserve more image detail than the processed first signal, resolving power is interpreted to mean the ability to distinguish fine image details)[Chou: 0086 “more effective for higher frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622. The low and high frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622 may be defined by the features 624”](teaches a comparison which it’s processing contribution is more effective for higher frequency detail), the signal processing device is configured to output the output image signal in which a proportion of the second signal is higher than a proportion of the first signal (interpreted as the second signal contributes more to the final output image than the processed first signal)[Chou: 0098 “the residual values 630 may receive a higher weighting for pixels in a low frequency portion , while the enhanced image data 626 or 628 may receive a higher weighting for pixels in a high frequency portion”](teaches assigning a higher blending weight to the image data associated with the higher frequency portion).
Regarding claim 10, Chou discloses the image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signal processing device includes: a frequency divider configured to calculate the spatial frequency of the input image signal on the pixel basis (frequency divider is the processing circuitry that evaluates the frequency content of the image and spatial frequency means how rapidly image values change across image position and on the pixel basis means that the frequency related determination is made for individual pixels or pixel locations)[Chou: 0084 “In some embodiments , the features 624 may include texture statistics that identify higher and lower frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622 using an edge detection algorithm”][Chou: 0097 “For each pixel , the blending logic circuit 612 may weight each of the enhanced image data 626 or 628 and the residual values 630”](teaches using edge detection derived texture statistics to identify the spatial frequency region associated with image portions, then uses that frequency information for each pixel. The feature detection processor therefore corresponds to the claimed frequency divider that calculates spatial frequency information on a pixel basis), a super resolution processor configured to perform the super resolution processing on the upscaled first signal [Chou: 0068 “The super - resolution engine 600 may include , among other components , a directional scaler 602 , a feature detection processor 604 , an enhancement processor 634 including an enhancement module 606 and a filter module 608 , a neural network 612 , a memory 614 , a blending logic circuit 616 , and a polyphaser scaler 650”] but fails to explicitly disclose and extract the first signal and the second signal having a higher spatial frequency than the first signal, from the input image signal based on the calculated spatial frequency; an upscaler configured to perform the upscaling on the first signal; and a mixer configured to combine the upscaled and super resolution-processed first signal and the second signal and output the output image signal.
However, Salvador teaches and extract the first signal and the second signal having a higher spatial frequency than the first signal, from the input image signal based on the calculated spatial frequency (interpreted as the frequency divider separates the input image into a relatively lower frequency first signal and a relatively higher frequency second signal according to their frequency content)[Chou: 0018 “a splitting module for splitting the input data structure So into an LF input data structure Lo and a HF input data structure Ho complementary to the LF input data structure”][Chou: 0018 “a subtraction unit (e.g. adder, Subtractor, comparator or differentiator) for calculating a difference between the input data structure So and the LF input data structure Lo, whereby a HF input data structure Ho is generated”](teaches splitting modules separates input image S0 into low frequency signal L0 and complementary high frequency signal); an upscaler configured to perform the upscaling on the first signal; and a mixer configured to combine the upscaled and super resolution-processed first signal and the second signal and output the output image signal [Salvador: 0058 “the formation of the up-scaled low frequency band L of the high-resolution image”].
Chou and Salvador are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chou to incorporate Salvador’s explicit teachings of utilizing frequency divider, upscaler, and mixer. The motivation for such a combination would provide the benefit of separately process different frequency portions of an image and then recombine them to produce an improved output image.
Regarding claim 11, Chou and Salvador disclose the image display apparatus of claim 10, wherein the signal processing device further includes a signal analyzer configured to receive and analyze the upscaled and super resolution-processed first signal from the super resolution processor and the second signal from the frequency divider (signal analyzer is interpreted as a processing circuitry that receives both signal paths and examiners their image characteristics. One received signal is the upscaled and super resolution processed first signal, the other is the higher frequency second signal from the frequency divider)[Chou: 0068 “The super - resolution engine 600 may include , among other components , a directional scaler 602 , a feature detection processor 604 , an enhancement processor 634 including an enhancement module 606 and a filter module 608 , a neural network 612 , a memory 614 , a blending logic circuit 616 , and a polyphaser scaler 650”][Chou: 0088 “In some embodiments , the blending logic circuit 616 applies weights to the pixel values in the enhanced image data 626 , 628 and the residual values 630 according to the features 624 from the feature detection processor 604 to generate the output image data 620”](teaches feature detection processor analyzes image characteristics and the blending logic circuit receives the different processed image data contributions and applies weights to them according to that analysis, which corresponds to the claimed signal analyzer. The feature detection processor and blending logic collectively correspond to the claimed signal analyzer), wherein the signal analyzer is configured to determine a mix proportion of the first signal and a mix proportion of the second signal based on a resolving power or resolution of the upscaled and super resolution-processed first signal and a resolving power or resolution of the second signal (interpreted as the analyzer determines how much of each signal should contribute to the final image by considering the image detail capability of each signal, mix proportion means the relative amount of blending weight assigned to each signal and resolving power means the ability to distinguish fine image detail)[Chou: 0086 “In some embodiments , the neural network 612 is more effective for low frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622 , while the non - neural network enhancement is more effective for higher frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622”][Chou: 0088 “the blending logic circuit 616 applies weights to the pixel values in the enhanced image data 626 , 628 and the residual values 630 according to the features 624 from the feature detection processor 604 to generate the output image data 620”][Chou: 0098 “In some embodiments , the residual values 630 may receive a higher weighting for pixels in a low frequency portion”](teaches determining which enhancement path is more effective for reproducing the detail present in each frequency portion and assigns different blending weights accordingly, the assigned weights correspond to the claimed mix proportions).
Regarding claim 12, Chou and Salvador disclose the image display apparatus of claim 11, wherein the mixer is configured to output a combined output image signal based on the mix proportion of the first signal and the mix proportion of the second signal from the signal analyzer [Chou: 0088 “The blending logic circuit 616 generates the output image data 620 by blending the enhanced image data”][Chou: 0088 “the blending logic circuit 616 applies weights to the pixel values in the enhanced image data 626 , 628 and the residual values 630 according to the features 624 from the feature detection processor 604 to generate the output image data 620”](teaches the blending logic which corresponds to the mixer).
Claim 13 corresponds to claim 4 with the only limitation difference is the addition of the “Mixer” which is disclosed by Chou [Chou: 0088 “The blending logic circuit 616 generates the output image data 620 by blending the enhanced image data”](the blending logic circuit corresponds to the mixer). Therefore, claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4 above.
Claim 14 corresponds to claim 5 with the only limitation difference is the addition of the “Mixer” which is disclosed by Chou [Chou: 0088 “The blending logic circuit 616 generates the output image data 620 by blending the enhanced image data”](the blending logic circuit corresponds to the mixer). Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5 above.
Claim 20 is a signal processing device claim corresponding to claim 10 without any additional limitations. Thus, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 21, Chou and Salvador disclose the signal processing device of claim 20, further comprising a formatter configured to change a format of the output image signal into a format suitable for displaying the output image signal on a display [Chou: 0034 “processes the image data into a format suitable for display on display 216”].
Regarding claim 22, Chou and Salvador disclose the signal processing device of claim 21, wherein after the mixer combines the upscaled and super resolution-processed signal and the remaining signal among the first signal and second signal [Chou: 0088 “The blending logic circuit 616 generates the output image data 620 by blending”], the formatter changes the format of the output image signal, which is based on an output from the mixer, into the format suitable for displaying the output image signal on the display [Chou: 0034 “processes the image data into a format suitable for display on display 216”], and outputs the output image signal to the display [Chou: 0024 “Display 216 is a component for displaying images as generated by SOC component 204”].
Claims 2, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0043135), in view of Salvador et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130301933), in further view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0166345).
Regarding claim 2, Chou discloses the image display apparatus of claim 1 (Chou: Fig 2; 216 “Display”), the signal processing device is configured to calculate the spatial frequency of the input image signal on the pixel basis [Chou: 0084 “In some embodiments , the features 624 may include texture statistics that identify higher and lower frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622 using an edge detection algorithm. The higher frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622 may corresponding with edge pixel regions , and the lower frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622 may correspond with surface pixel regions or other non - edge pixel regions of the directionally scaled image data 622.”], perform upscaling and super resolution processing on the first signal [Chou: 0093 “performs an upscaling on the input image data 618 at a first resolution to generate the directionally scaled image data 622 at a second resolution that is higher than the first resolution”], and output the output image signal based on the upscaled and super resolution-processed first signal and the second signal [Chou: 0073 “The enhanced image data 626/628 output from enhancement processor 634 are combined with residual values 630 output from the neural network 612 to generate the output image data 620”], but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the image receiver is configured to receive the input image signal from a set-top box, and in response to a resolution of the input image signal received from the set-top box being a first resolution and a resolution of the display being the first resolution, extract the first signal and the second signal having a higher spatial frequency than the first signal, from the input image signal based on the calculated spatial frequency.
However, Salvador discloses extract the first signal and the second signal having a higher spatial frequency than the first signal, from the input image signal based on the calculated spatial frequency [Salvador: 0018 “a splitting module for splitting the input data structure So into an LF input data structure Lo and a HF input data structure Ho complementary to the LF input data structure”](teaches two signal split, LF (low frequency) and HF (High frequency)).
However, Kim discloses wherein the image receiver is configured to receive the input image signal from a set-top box [Kim: 0062 “Image 11 is a high-resolution image which has undergone upscaling previously , for example , by a set top box ( STB ) or at a broadcaster”], and in response to a resolution of the input image signal received from the set-top box being a first resolution and a resolution of the display being the first resolution (interpreted as the next processing is triggered when the set top box image and the display have the same resolution)[Kim: 0167 “the image analysis module 1210 may determine that it is necessary to perform downscaling and upscaling according to an embodiment , and may provide the downscaler 1220 with the input image along with the corresponding downscaling information ( e.g. , a downscaling ratio )”](teaches the same nominal resolution context and utilizing the STB).
Chou, Salvador, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chou to incorporate Salvador’s explicit teachings of splitting the input image into complementary low and high frequency signals and Kim’s explicit teachings of utilizing STB’s. The motivation for such a combination would provide the benefit of improved image quality of a previously upscaled STB signal while preserving useful high frequency image detail.
Regarding claim 8, Chou and Salvador disclose the image display apparatus of claim 1, but fail to explicitly disclose wherein in response to a resolution of the input image signal being the same as a resolution of the display, the signal processing device is configured to perform a super resolution mode for the upscaling and super resolution processing.
However, Kim discloses wherein in response to a resolution of the input image signal being the same as a resolution of the display (interpreted as the apparatus determines that the input image and the display have matching resolutions)[Kim: 0167 “If the input image is one of the upscaled image of HD , FHD , or UHD , the image analysis module 1210 may determine that it is necessary to perform downscaling and upscaling according to an embodiment , and may provide the downscaler 1220 with the input image along with the corresponding downscaling information ( e.g. , a downscaling ratio ) .”], the signal processing device is configured to perform a super resolution mode for the upscaling and super resolution processing [Kim: 0189 “where the UP 6 is the custom hardware for the upscaling”].
Chou, Salvador, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chou and Salvador to incorporate Kim’s teachings of performing super resolution processing when the input and display resolutions are the same. The motivation for such a combination would provide the benefit of improved image quality of an input image that has the correct resolution but was previously upscaled or otherwise has reduced image quality.
Regarding claim 9, Chou and Salvador disclose the image display apparatus of claim 8, the signal processing device is configured to perform a normal mode different than the super resolution mode for the upscaling and super resolution processing [Chou: 0072 “The multiple modes of operation may include a super - resolution enhancement mode and a visual enhancement mode”], but fail to explicitly disclose wherein in response to the resolution of the input image signal being different from the resolution of the display.
However, Kim discloses wherein in response to the resolution of the input image signal being different from the resolution of the display [Kim: 0178 “it is not necessary to perform the upscaling process in case of the 4K UHD original image of which resolution is the same as the output resolution . The processor 110 may perform the first image processing 1340 , the upscaling 1330 , the second image processing 1350 , and the third image processing 1360 when the input image is an SD image”](teaches a 4k display and distinguishes between an input having the same resolution as the output and an input requiring upscaling to obtain the high-resolution output image).
Chou, Salvador, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chou and Salvador to incorporate Kim’s teachings of resolution determination. The motivation for such a combination would provide the benefit of selecting appropriate image processing mode based on whether the input image already matches the display resolution.
Claims 6, 7, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0043135), in view of Salvador et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130301933), in further view of Terada et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0027914).
Regarding claim 6, Choi and Salvador disclose the image display apparatus of claim 1, but fail to explicitly disclose wherein in response to the input image signal being an image signal input through an HDMI input terminal, the signal processing device is configured to perform a super resolution mode for the upscaling and super resolution processing.
However, Terada discloses wherein in response to the input image signal being an image signal input through an HDMI input terminal [Terada: 0027 “The video signal includes a source code (the source code corresponds, for example, to “1” for BS broadcasting, “2 for CS broadcasting, “3' for digital terrestrial broadcasting, “4” for analog terrestrial broadcasting, “H” for High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI), or the like) indicating a video type. The video type corresponds for example to a type of broadcasting, a bit rate of the video signals, information on interface standard such as HDMI, or the like”], the signal processing device is configured to perform a super resolution mode for the upscaling and super resolution processing [Terada: 0023 “The resolution increase module configured to perform Super-resolution processing by increasing a first resolution of a first video signal to a second resolution of a second video signal”]. Chou, Salvador, and Terada are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chou and Salvador to incorporate Terada’s explicit teachings of utilizing HDMI’s and performing super resolution processing. The motivation for such a combination would provide the benefit of automatically applying appropriate image enhancement to video received through an HDMI terminal.
Regarding claim 7, Chou and Salvador disclose the image display apparatus of claim 6, the signal processing device is configured to perform a normal mode different than the super resolution mode for the upscaling and super resolution processing [Chou: 0072 “The multiple modes of operation may include a super - resolution enhancement mode and a visual enhancement mode”][Chou: 0072 “the super - resolution engine 600 can be selectively operated in multiple modes , such as according to instructions from the controller 340. The multiple modes of operation may include a super - resolution enhancement mode and a visual enhancement mode . In the super - resolution enhancement mode , the directional scaler 602 is activated to generate the directionally scaled image data 622 , while in the visual enhancement mode , the directional scaler 602 operates as a bypass and transmits the input image data 618 without performing directional scaling”](teaches two different image processing modes, super resolution and visual enhancement mode corresponding to normal mode), but fail to explicitly disclose wherein in response to the input image signal not being the input image signal input through the HDMI input terminal.
However, Terada discloses wherein in response to the input image signal not being the input image signal input through the HDMI input terminal [Terada: 0027 “The video signal includes a source code (the source code corresponds, for example, to “1” for BS broadcasting, “2 for CS broadcasting, “3' for digital terrestrial broadcasting, “4” for analog terrestrial broadcasting, “H” for High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI), or the like) indicating a video type. The video type corresponds for example to a type of broadcasting, a bit rate of the video signals, information on interface standard such as HDMI, or the like”].
Chou, Salvador, and Terada are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chou and Salvador to incorporate Terada’s explicit teachings of utilizing HDMI’s and performing super resolution processing. The motivation for such a combination would provide the benefit of automatically applying appropriate image enhancement to video received through an HDMI terminal.
Regarding claim 15, Chou discloses an image display apparatus comprising: a display [Chou: 0017 “display”]; an image receiver configured to receive an input image signal from an outside of the image display apparatus [Chou: 0032 “video or other image data may be received from other devices via network interface 210”]; and a signal processing device configured to process the input image signal and output an output image signal [Chou: 0034 “processes the image data into a format suitable for display”], calculate a spatial frequency of the input image signal and perform a super resolution mode [Chou: 0084 “In some embodiments , the features 624 may include texture statistics that identify higher and lower frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622 using an edge detection algorithm . The higher frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622 may corresponding with edge pixel regions , and the lower frequency portions of the directionally scaled image data 622 may correspond with surface pixel regions or other non - edge pixel regions of the directionally scaled image data 622”] [Chou: 0072 “The multiple modes of operation may include a super - resolution enhancement mode and a visual enhancement mode”], but fails to explicitly disclose the signal processing device being configured to: in response to the input image signal being an image signal input through an HDMI input terminal, for upscaling and super resolution processing on part of the input image signal of which the spatial frequency is calculated.
However, Salvador discloses for upscaling and super resolution processing on part of the input image signal of which the spatial frequency is calculated [Salvador: 0058 “the formation of the up-scaled low frequency band L of the high-resolution image and two-band analysis (LH) of the low-resolution input image S”][Salvador: 0066 “the fusion of the low frequency high-resolution band L and the normalized high frequency high-resolution band H for generating the Super-resolved image S”].
However, Terada discloses the signal processing device being configured to: in response to the input image signal being an image signal input through an HDMI input terminal [Terada: 0027 “The video signal includes a source code (the source code corresponds, for example, to “1” for BS broadcasting, “2 for CS broadcasting, “3' for digital terrestrial broadcasting, “4” for analog terrestrial broadcasting, “H” for High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI), or the like) indicating a video type. The video type corresponds for example to a type of broadcasting, a bit rate of the video signals, information on interface standard such as HDMI, or the like”].
Chou, Salvador, and Terada are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chou to incorporate Salvador’s teachings of utilizing upscaling and super resolution processing and Terada’s explicit teachings of utilizing HDMI’s and performing super resolution processing. The motivation for such a combination would provide the benefit of automatically applying appropriate image enhancement to video received through an HDMI terminal.
Claim 17 is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 7 without any additional limitations. Thus, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7 above.
Claim 18 is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 15 without any additional limitations. Thus, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 15 above.
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0043135), in view of Salvador et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130301933), in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0166345), in further view of Terada et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0027914).
Regarding claim 16, Chou and Salvador disclose the image display apparatus of claim 15, the signal processing device is configured to perform the super resolution mode [Chou: 0068 “The super - resolution engine 600 may include , among other components , a directional scaler 602 , a feature detection processor 604 , an enhancement processor 634 including an enhancement module 606 and a filter module 608 , a neural network 612 , a memory 614 , a blending logic circuit 616 , and a polyphaser scaler 650”], but fail to explicitly disclose wherein in response to the input image signal being the image signal input through the HDMI input terminal connected to a set-top box.
However, Kim discloses to a set top box box [Kim: 0062 “Image 11 is a high-resolution image which has undergone upscaling previously , for example , by a set top box ( STB ) or at a broadcaster”].
However, Terada discloses wherein in response to the input image signal being the image signal input through the HDMI input terminal connected [Terada: 0027 “The video signal includes a source code (the source code corresponds, for example, to “1” for BS broadcasting, “2 for CS broadcasting, “3' for digital terrestrial broadcasting, “4” for analog terrestrial broadcasting, “H” for High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI), or the like) indicating a video type. The video type corresponds for example to a type of broadcasting, a bit rate of the video signals, information on interface standard such as HDMI, or the like”].
Chou, Salvador, Kim, and Terada are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chou and Salvador to incorporate Kim’s teachings of utilizing STB and Terada’s explicit teachings of utilizing HDMI’s. The motivation for such a combination would provide the benefit of automatically applying appropriate image enhancement to video received through an HDMI terminal.
Claim 19 is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 9 without any additional limitations. Thus, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 9 above.
Below is additional prior art that wasn’t referenced in the office action but is included in the record for the convenience of compact prosecution:
Cutu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0148139)
Kaskela et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0196662)
Kang et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0287333)
Cao et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0298135)
Conclusion
/AHMED TAHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2613
/XIAO M WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2613