Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 11-12, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US 7,554,220) in view of Brathwaite (US 20190319459).
With respect to claims 1 and 11 Sugawara teaches an integrated electrical power unit is configured to include a battery storage plant (42) and a power conversion and conditioning module (formed with 3-4 shown in Fig. 1/6), where the power conversion and conditioning module includes i) electrical components (see operation with chopper and converter) that perform an electrical power conversion of AC power supplied from a main AC power (see 100, 130) source to DC power going into the battery storage plant as well as ii) electrical components (see operation with chopper and converter operating to discharge power from battery) that perform an electrical power conversion of DC power coming from the battery storage plant into AC power supplied out of the power conversion and conditioning module, as well as iii) electrical components (see converter and chopper with interfacing transformer 5) that perform an electrical power conditioning of the AC power supplied out of the power conversion and conditioning module to be an uninterruptible supply (col. 2 line 30-50, col. 11 lines 30-40) of regulated and conditioned AC power to stay within a set voltage level and frequency range (col. 17 lines 5-10), which eliminates swings in voltage amplitude (see voltage drop measured via voltage detector col. 2 lines 31) and/or frequency (col. 15 line 53) that are outside the set regulated and conditioned AC voltage level and frequency range (see 50Hz or 60Hz) even when the AC power supplied from a main AC power source into the electrical power unit does have swings (see voltages drops and frequency fluctuations) in voltage level and/or frequency outside the set regulated and conditioned AC voltage level and frequency range, where the power conversion and conditioning module is configured to supply the uninterruptible supply of regulated and conditioned AC power to stay within a set voltage level and frequency range to electrical equipment loads downstream (during discharge of battery power flows from battery to loads downstream) of the integrated electrical power unit, where the integrated electrical power unit is configured to electrically couple to a magnetic coupling choke (see interconnecting reactor col. 21 lines 10-15) to form a line reactor to compensate for and eliminate at least one or more of i) surges (limiting current surges between the interconnected systems), ii) transients (limiting current transients between the interconnected systems see stable power output), where the battery storage plant of the integrated electrical power unit is configured to have a capacity in amp-hours (Ahrs) to provide a continuous emergency backup source of AC power to supply the electrical equipment loads connected downstream to the integrated electrical power unit for greater than an hour (col. 18 lines 55-60), where the integrated electrical power unit is electrically located between the main source of AC power (see AC input 100) and an input circuit breaker (for example 6 or 109) of a facility containing the electrical equipment loads (general load), and where the integrated electrical power unit coupled to the magnetic choke (see interconnecting reactor col. 10 line 56 and col. 21 lines 10-15) is configured to act as both the line reactor (described as a interconnecting reactor) to supply the uninterruptible regulated and conditioned source of AC power as well as the emergency backup source of power (the backup power carried from the battery via the reactor).
Sugawara does not teach the connection a distribution switchboard. Brathwaite teaches the known use of a distribution switchboard (125). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sugawara to try the known use of a switchboard for interfacing the load of Sugawara for the predictable result of controlling the connected load operation.
With respect to claims 2 and 12 Sugawara teaches the controller (9) of the integrated electrical power unit is electrically coupled to an associated set of circuit breakers (103, 6, 109, 111 and 115) in an electrical distribution system to control an electrically open state or closed state of the set of circuit breakers to put both an electrical distribution system and the integrated electrical power unit into multiple different operational modes (see mode of shedding 110, charging mode, discharging mode).
With respect to claims 6 and 16 Sugawara as modified above teaches the power system constructed to be scalable (see modular converter Fig. 2) in an amount of capacity over time of its operation. Sugawara however does not teach one electrical connection to add on an additional electrical power capacity by adding an expansion connection to add a number of blocks of back-up batteries to existing back-up batteries in the battery storage plant for that integrated electrical power unit. Adding additional batteries to a storage system is well known of which the Examiner takes Official Notice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sugawara to include the use of a connection of adding batteries for the benefit of ensuring sufficient backup for larger or growing loads.
With respect to claims 7 and 17 Sugawara teaches a controller of the integrated electrical power unit is configured to have an electrical tap (11, 10 and or 102) and sensor to sense characteristics of the AC power coming from the main AC power source (100), where the electrical tap and the sensor connect at a distance upstream (see Fig. 1 or 6) of the UPS circuitry. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in art at the time of the invention to have the choke downstream in order to ensure the discharge from the coil or choke is not isolated at the disconnect. Sugawara further teaches the controller can both change an operational mode of the integrated electrical power unit and its associated circuit breakers without a disruption to the downstream important equipment loads, where change an open status or closed status of one or more circuit breakers (col. 11 lines 15-50) in order to electrically isolate the electrical equipment loads from the main AC power source (100).
With respect to claims 8 and 18 Sugawara as modified above teaches the coupling choke however does not teach the winding details. A multiple-winding, center-tapped choke is a common and well- known magnetic coupling choke of which the Examiner takes Official Notice. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in art at the time of the invention to further modify Sugawara to include the use of a multiple-winding, center-tapped choke for the known benefit of controlling the voltage at the coupling point during transient conditions.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US 7,554,220) in view of Brathwaite (US 20190319459) in view of McCarthy (US 20140375133).
With respect to claim 9 and 19 Sugawara as modified above teaches the coupling choke however does not teach the winding details of a single winding reactor, and the integrated electrical power unit is connected electrically in parallel to the magnetic coupling choke. A single winding reactor is a common and well- known magnetic coupling choke of which the Examiner takes Official Notice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sugawara to try a single winding for the benefit of increase reliability and reduced complexity. Sugawara does not teach the connection is a parallel connection with the power unit. McCarthy teaches the known use of a parallel choke (L 1.1 and 1.2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sugawara to try the known alternative of a parallel connection for the predictable result of reduced core saturation during high loading and increase reliability.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US 7,554,220) in view of Brathwaite in view of Panfil et al. (US 20210249894) see provisional applications (60/009,096 and 62/972,521).
With respect to claims 10 and 20 Sugawara as modified above teaches the electrical power units however does not teach the use of multiple discreet power units. Panfil teaches the known use of a multiple discreet power units (see interface of multiple batteries and power converters see in Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sugawara to try the use of multiple discreet power units for the benefit of increased redundancy.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US 7,554,220) in view of Brathwaite in view of Van Zyel et al. (US 20170163089).
With respect to claim 3 and 13 Sugawara teaches electrical power lines of a utility power grid (see utility) are configured to be the main AC power source, wherein the controller is configured to place the integrated electrical power unit and the associated set of circuit breakers into a first operational mode (discharging stabilizing) to electrically connect an output of the power conversion and conditioning module to the electrical power lines (102/130) supporting the electrical equipment loads downstream of the integrated electrical power unit however does not detail supporting the grid. Van Zyel teaches the known use of supporting the power grid (paragraph 0041) and supporting downstream loads (see UPS modes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sugawara to include the use providing power to both the grid and loads for the predictable result of maintaining grid operations. Van Zyel teaches the detection of a power quality event however does not teach power factor. Power factor is a well-known power quality measurement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify the above to compensate for power factor for the predictable maintain the grid and load quality power.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US 7,554,220) in view of Brathwaite in view of Mondal (US 20180269782).
With respect to claims 4 and 14 Sugawara teaches the connection of a number of extended run parallel connected batteries however Sugawara does not teach a phase shift control of the power conversion and conditioning module. Mondal teaches the controller (604) and the power conversion and conditioning module (see Fig. 6) are configured to cooperate to control a phase shift (paragraph 0045) of the AC power from the power conversion and conditioning module during both 1) a normal operational mode (see interruption lasting only a few second paragraph 0030) and 2) a recovery operational mode (paragraph 0033) when the controller has previously changed a state of a circuit breaker to isolate the AC power from both the integrated electrical power unit and the downstream electrical equipment loads, (see controlling phase shift to charge the energy storage system paragraph0045). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in art at the time of the invention to modify Sugawara to include the phase shifting as seen in Mondal for the benefit of reducing losses (paragraph 0002 43).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US 7,554,220) in view Brathwaite in view of Shelter, Jr. et al. (US 20030048006)
With respect to claims 5 and 15 Sugawara as modified above teaches the power system however does not teach the maximum anticipated electrical load. Shelter teaches (paragraph 0309-311) the known use of a UPS rated for 125% of the load. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in art at the time of the invention to further modify Sugawara to try a 125% rating for the benefit of supplying a surge demand.
Claims 1-2, 6, 8 10-11, 16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (US 20230307942) in view of Sugawara in view of Brathwaite. The claims cited below are given the filing date of 1/11/2022 as the limitation wherein the power conversion and conditioning module is configured to supply a portion of the regulated and conditioned AC power supplied to the electrical equipment loads in order to stay within the set voltage level and frequency range from the power conversion and conditioning module by compensating for any deficiencies from the AC power coming from and still being supplied by the main AC power source to maintain a combined AC power supplied to the electrical equipment loads to remain within the set voltage level and frequency range of the regulated and conditioned AC power. Does not appear to be discussed in either of Applicant’s provisional applications. The operation of the controller which supports the claimed operation is found in for example (paragraph 74, 59) where a loss of reliable service is discussed. There is no corresponding discussion in the provisional applications. The provisional application 61/136,600 (paragraphs 0018-19) describes monitoring and modifying the input AC power and 63/136,597 (paragraph 0009) describe the swapping of the utility and battery power to stabilize the AC power. There is no discussion of a portion of an AC level supplied form the power conversion and conditioning module while AC power is still being supplied by the main AC power source to maintain a voltage and frequency range. As such Matsumoto is prior art for the claims.
With respect to claim 1 and 11 Matsumoto teaches an apparatus, comprising: an integrated electrical power unit includes a battery (22) storage plant, a controller (31), and a power conversion and conditioning module, wherein the integrated electrical power unit includes i) electrical components configured to perform an electrical power conversion (3 see Fig. 2 for example) of alternating current (AC) power supplied from a main AC power source (see 20) to direct current (DC) power provided to the battery storage plant, ii) electrical components (8) configured to perform an electrical power conversion of DC power from the battery storage plant into AC power supplied out of the power conversion and conditioning module, and iii) electrical components ( for example 10 and 11) configured to perform an electrical power conditioning of the AC power supplied from the power conversion and conditioning module to be an uninterruptible supply (see UPS 100) of regulated and conditioned AC power remaining within a set voltage level and frequency range to eliminate swings in voltage amplitude (see voltage detectors paragraph 0090, see normal voltage level 0131), frequency (see freq. fluctuations paragraph 0066), or both voltage amplitude and frequency that are outside the set voltage level and frequency range ((delta F = 0)) of the regulated and conditioned AC power even in response to the AC power supplied from the main AC power source features swings (see fluctuations paragraph 0056 ) in at least one of voltage level (see paragraph 0049) and frequency outside the set voltage level and frequency range (delta F = 0) of the regulated and conditioned AC power, wherein the power conversion and conditioning module is configured to supply the uninterruptible supply of regulated and conditioned AC power to remain (see compensating for fluctuations paragraph 0008) within the set voltage level and frequency range to electrical equipment loads downstream (see flow of power shown in Fig. 5 or 6 for example) of the integrated electrical power unit, wherein the power conversion and conditioning module is configured to supply a portion (see Fig. 5) of the regulated and conditioned AC power supplied to the electrical equipment loads in order to stay within the set voltage level and frequency range (see paragraph 0055, 67) from the power conversion and conditioning module by compensating (paragraph 0066, 0070-71) for any deficiencies (paragraph 0065) from the AC power coming from and still being supplied by the main AC power source (20) to maintain a combined AC power supplied to the electrical equipment loads to remain within the set voltage level and frequency range of the regulated and conditioned AC power. Matsumoto the power system however and further teaches the use of a reactor (10) forming part of a filter in the power supply system however does not describe the use of a magnetic choke. Sugawara as detailed above teaches the known use of a magnetic coupling choke connected at the input for the known benefit of reducing transient noise and providing greater than an hour of emergency power. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in art at the time of the invention to modify Matsumoto to include the use of a choke for the benefit of reducing transient noise from effecting the other connected circuitry and maintain operation of critical device. Matsumoto and Sugawara does not teach the connection a distribution switchboard. Brathwaite teaches the known use of a distribution switchboard (125). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Matsumoto and Sugawara to try the known use of a switchboard for interfacing the load of Sugawara for the predictable result of controlling the connected load operation.
With respect to claims 2 and 12 Matsumoto teaches the controller of the integrated electrical power unit is electrically coupled to an associated set of circuit breakers (12, 13) in an electrical distribution system to control an electrically open state or closed state of the set of circuit breakers to put both an electrical distribution system and the integrated electrical power unit into multiple different operational modes (bypass mode online mode).
With respect to claims 6 and 16 Matsumoto as modified above teaches the power system however does not teach one electrical connection to add on an additional electrical power capacity by adding an expansion connection to add a number of blocks of back-up batteries to existing back-up batteries in the battery storage plant for that integrated electrical power unit. Adding additional batteries to a storage system is well known of which the Examiner takes Official Notice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Matsumoto to include the use of a connection of adding batteries for the benefit of ensuring sufficient backup for larger or growing loads.
With respect to claims 8 and 18 Matsumoto as modified above teaches the coupling choke however does not teach the winding details. A multiple-winding, center-tapped choke is a common and well- known magnetic coupling choke of which the Examiner takes Official Notice. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in art at the time of the invention to further modify Matsumoto to include the use of a multiple-winding, center-tapped choke for the known benefit of controlling the voltage at the coupling point during transient conditions.
With respect to claims 10 and 20 Matsumoto teaches the known use of a multiple discreet power units (Fig. 13) connected to the AC power and downstream loads.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (US 20230307942) in view of Sugawara in view of Brathwaite in view of Shelter, Jr. et al. (US 20030048006)
With respect to claims 5 and 15 Matsumoto as modified above teaches the power system however does not teach the maximum anticipated electrical load. Shelter teaches (paragraph 0309-311) the known use of a UPS rated for 125% of the load. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in art at the time of the invention to further modify Matsumoto to try a 125% rating for the benefit of supplying a surge demand.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (US 20230307942) in view of Sugawara in view of Brathwaite in view of Mondal.
With respect to claims 4 and 14 Matsumoto teaches the connection of a number of extended run parallel connected batteries however Matsumoto does not teach a phase shift control of the power conversion and conditioning module. Mondal teaches the controller (604) and the power conversion and conditioning module (see Fig. 6) are configured to cooperate to control a phase shift (paragraph 0045) of the AC power from the power conversion and conditioning module during both 1) a normal operational mode (see interruption lasting only a few second paragraph 0030) and 2) a recovery operational mode (paragraph 0033) when the controller has previously changed a state of a circuit breaker to isolate the AC power from both the integrated electrical power unit and the downstream electrical equipment loads, (see controlling phase shift to charge the energy storage system paragraph0045). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in art at the time of the invention to modify Matsumoto to include the phase shifting as seen in Mondal for the benefit of reducing losses (paragraph 0002 43).
Conclusion
MICHAEL FIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/MICHAEL R. FIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836