Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 06/24/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Application 19/309,083 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 16, and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 7, “a cable” should properly reflect antecedent basis to the cable.
In claim 16, line 8, “a cable” should properly reflect antecedent basis to the cable.
In claim 23, lines 11-12, “a cable” should properly reflect antecedent basis to the cable.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 – 7, 10 – 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 3,736,627 (“Sosinski”).
Regarding claim 1, Sosinski discloses an insulation hooking busbar for connecting to a cable comprising:
a main body (74); and
a connection end (76) extending from the main body and comprising one or more teeth (30), each of the one or more teeth including a base (the lower portion of 30, below the lead line of numeral 30 in Fig. 4; note that the embodiments of Figs. 1 – 4 may utilize the body 74 and connection end 76 shown in Figure 13, see col. 3, lns. 22 – 31 and col. 5, lns. 39 – 41) and a tip (the upper portion of 30, above the lead line of numeral 30 in Fig. 4) with the tip being laterally offset from the base in a direction along a length of the cable (see Fig. 4), the one or more teeth configured to:
pierce (see Fig. 4) an insulation part of the cable (56);
bend along the length of the cable (compare Figs. 2 and 4); and
make an electrical connection between the busbar and a conductor part of the cable when in contact with the conductor part of the cable (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Sosinski discloses the one or more teeth are made of an electrically conductive material (Col. 3, ln. 25).
Regarding claim 4, Sosinski discloses the one or more teeth are further configured to slide underneath the insulation part of the cable along the length of the cable after the one or more teeth pierce the insulation of the cable (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Sosinski discloses the one or more teeth are further configured to create one or more voids in the conductor part of the cable and follow the created one or more voids until the one or more teeth are embedded in the conductor part of the cable (see Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 6, Sosinski discloses the one or more teeth are provided with one or more notches (see the space formed between surface 36 and the upper surface 26, and also see the groove shaped into side surface 52, Fig. 7), the notches enabling the teeth to bend in different directions (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Sosinski discloses the one or more teeth comprise at least two teeth, the at least two teeth being angled relative to vertical such that the tips of the at least two teeth are directed towards each other or away from each other longitudinally in the direction along the length of the cable (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 23, Sosinski discloses a method for connecting a busbar to a cable, comprising:
providing a cable (56) having a conductor part and an insulation part (See Fig. 4), the insulation part disposed about the conductor part (see Fig. 4);
providing a busbar (78) comprising:
a main body (74); and
a connection end (76) extending from the main body, the connection end including one or more teeth (30) with each of the one or more teeth having a base (the lower portion of 30, below the lead line of numeral 30 in Fig. 4) and a tip (the upper portion of 30, above the lead line of numeral 30 in Fig. 4) the tip being laterally offset from the base in a direction along a length of the cable (see Fig. 4);
positioning the connection end of the busbar adjacent to the cable (see Figs. 4 and 16); and
applying a force between the busbar and the cable (col. 4, lns. 27 – 36), the application of the force between the busbar and the cable enabling the one or more teeth to penetrate the insulation part of a cable, bend along the length of the cable, and make an electrical connection between the busbar and the conductor part of the cable (See Fig. 4 and col. 4, lns. 27 – 36).
Regarding claim 10, Sosinski discloses the one or more teeth are made of an electrically conductive material (Col. 3, ln. 25).
Regarding claim 11, Sosinski discloses the one or more teeth are configured to bend and slide underneath a surface of the insulation part of the cable (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Sosinski discloses the one or more teeth are configured to:
create one or more voids in the conductor part of the cable and follow the created one or more voids until the one or more teeth are embedded in the conductor part of the cable (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Sosinski discloses the one or more teeth comprise at least two teeth (see Fig. 4), the at least two teeth each including one or more notches (see the space formed between surface 36 and the upper surface 26, and also see the groove shaped into side surface 52, Fig. 7) that enable the teeth to bend in different directions (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Sosinski discloses the one or more teeth comprise at least two teeth, the at least two teeth being angled relative to vertical such that the tips of at least two teeth are directed toward each other or away from each other longitudinally along the length of the cable(the teeth have angled tips, the inner face of the tips being directed away from each other, see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Sosinski discloses the one or more teeth comprise two parallel surfaces (36) separated by a thickness (distance between adjacent surfaces vertical surfaces of 30, see surfaces 36 adjacent a surface 48 in Fig. 2, and see surfaces 36 adjacent to each other in Fig. 9); the one or more teeth extend from the busbar a height (see Figs. 2 and94); and the thickness is less than the height (see Figs. 2 and 9).
Regarding claim 16, Sosinski discloses an insulation hooking busbar for connecting one or more conductors to a cable comprising:
one or more electrical connector portions (74) configured to electrically connect to a corresponding one or more conductors; and
a connection end (76) comprising one or more teeth (30), each of the one or more teeth including a base (the lower portion of 30, below the lead line of numeral 30 in Fig. 4) and a tip (the upper portion of 30, above the lead line of numeral 30 in Fig. 4) with the tip being laterally offset from the base in a direction along a length of the cable (see Fig. 4), the one or more teeth configured to:
pierce an insulation portion of the cable (See Fig. 4);
bend along the length of the cable (See Fig. 4); and
electrically connect the one or more electrical connector portions with a conductor portion of the cable (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Sosinski discloses the one or more teeth are angled relative to vertical (see Fig. 2) to enable the one or more teeth to bend and slide underneath the insulation portion of the cable (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Sosinski discloses the one or more teeth include a curved tip, the curved tip configured to bend upon contact with the conductor portion (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 19, Sosinski discloses the one or more teeth further include one or more notches (see the space formed between surface 36 and the upper surface 26, and also the groove shaped into side surface 52, Fig. 7) that facilitate bending of the curved tip (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 20, Sosinski discloses the one or more teeth are further configured to pierce the conductor portion of the cable and embed in the conductor portion (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 21, Sosinski discloses the one or more teeth are further configured to slide between internal strands of the conductor portion of the cable and embed in the conductor portion (see Fig. 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/ Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831