Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bezuhly (US 9815317) in view of Miguel (US 6551265) and Garcia (US 8303202).
Regarding claim 1, Bezuhly teaches a reusable, surgical felt tip marker (Figs. 6A-6F) comprising: an external portion comprising: an outer casing (601); a felt ink reservoir (641); and an advancing rotary; and an internal portion comprising: an internal screw (603); an advancement track (611); and a felt ink reservoir advancing base (630).
Bezuhly does not teach a cap; or that the felt ink reservoir comprises one or more indicator notches; or that the reservoir advancing base permits advancing of the felt ink reservoir so the felt ink reservoir can be cut at the indicator notches to allow multiple use of the felt ink reservoir on one or more subjects.
Miguel teaches a surgical marker with a cap (20).
Garcia teaches a felt ink reservoir (23) that comprises one or more ‘indicator’ notches (30).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the marker of Bezuhly with a cap as taught by Miguel for the purpose of protecting the felt ink reservoir from contaminants (Miguel, col. 2, ll. 63-67).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the felt ink reservoir of Bezuhly with one or more indicator notches as taught by Garcia for the purpose of enabling a user to draw multiple lines at once (Garcia, Fig. 4).
It is noted that the combination of Bezuhly, Miguel, and Garcia is capable of performing the claimed function “the reservoir advancing base permits advancing of the felt ink reservoir so the felt ink reservoir can be cut at the indicator notches to allow multiple use of the felt ink reservoir on one or more subjects.” The reservoir advancing base of Bezuhly is capable of moving the felt ink reservoir such that the next section, with new indicator notches is exposed and capable of being cut.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Bezuhly, Miguel, and Garcia teaches the reusable, surgical felt tip marker of claim 1, wherein said advancing rotary further comprises a user operated tip rotator (610) mounted in the cap of a hollow body.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bezuhly, Miguel, and Garcia as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Patrick (US 4538612).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bezuhly, Miguel, and Garcia teaches the reusable, surgical felt tip marker of claim 1, but does not teach that the felt ink reservoir is sterile for use in surgical procedures.
Patrick teaches a sterile marker for use in surgical procedures (col. 3, ll. 17-23).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to have sterilized the felt ink reservoir of Bezuhly for the purpose of preventing the introduction of contaminants to surgery.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bezuhly, Miguel, and Garcia teaches the reusable, surgical felt tip marker of claim 1, but does not teach that it is included within sterile packaging.
Patrick teaches providing a marker in sterile packaging (16) for the purpose of preventing the introduction of contaminants to surgery.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the present amendment overcomes the 103 rejection of claim 1.
Examiner disagrees. As noted in the rejection above, the combination of Bezuhly, Garcia, and Miguel teach all the structures necessary to perform the new functional limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY S OLIVER/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754