DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 20 is currently dependent on claim 1 and it is believed that this is meant to be dependent on claim 17 and will be examined as such. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0102685 by Blood et al. (Blood hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Blood discloses a wireless power transmitter [see at least Figure 11, (10)] comprising: a power conditioning system that (i) receives input power from an input power source [see at least Figure 11, (18)], (ii) receives a driving signal that is based on an operating frequency for a wireless power transmission [see at least Figure 11, (14); paragraph 0044], and (iii) generates alternating current (AC) signals for the wireless power transmission [see at least Figure 11, (20)]; a first transmitter antenna [see at least Figure 11, (32)] that (i) is in wired electrical connection with the power conditioning system [see at least Figure 11, (20) to (32)], (ii) receives the AC signals for the wireless power transmission [see at least paragraph 0053], and (iii) transmits the wireless power transmission to one or more other transmitter antennas [see at least Figure 11, (42)], receiver antennas, or combinations thereof; and a second transmitter antenna [see at least Figure 11, (42)] that (i) is not in wired electrical connection with the power conditioning system [see at least Figure 11, (42)], (ii) receives the wireless power transmission from the first transmitter antenna [see at least paragraph 0053], and (iii) repeats the wireless power transmission to one or more receiver antennas [see at least Figure 11, (68)].
Regarding claim 2, Blood discloses the wireless power transmitter of claim 1, further comprising a transmitter housing that houses one or more of the first transmitter antenna, the second transmitter antenna, or combinations thereof [see at least paragraph 0054; Figure 8].
Regarding claim 3, Blood discloses the wireless power transmitter of claim 1, further comprising: a first transmitter tuning system that is in electrical connection with both the power conditioning system and the first transmitter antenna [see at least Figure 11, (34)]; and a second transmitter tuning system that is (i) in electrical connection with first and second terminals of the second transmitter antenna and (ii) not in electrical connection with the power conditioning system [see at least Figure 11, (41)].
Regarding claim 4, Blood discloses the wireless power transmitter of claim 3, wherein the first transmitter tuning system is configured to (i) receive the AC wireless signals and (ii) tune the AC wireless signals for transmission as the wireless power transmission via the first transmitter antenna [see at least Figure 11, (34)], and wherein the second transmitter tuning system is configured to (i) receive the wireless power transmission and (ii) tune the wireless power transmission for repeating, via the second transmitter antenna, to one or more receiver antennas [see at least Figure 11, (41)].
Regarding claim 9, Blood discloses a wireless power transfer system [see at least Figure 11] comprising: a wireless power receiver [see at least Figure 11, (12)] comprising: a receiver antenna [see at least Figure 11, (68)]; and a rectifier for receiving a wireless power transmission from the receiver antenna and converts the wireless power transmission to usable power [see at least Figure 11, (72)] for a load associated with wireless power receiver [see at least Figure 11, (50)]; and a wireless power transmitter [see at least Figure 11, (10)] comprising: a power conditioning system that (i) receives input power from an input power source [see at least Figure 11, (18)], (ii) receives a driving signal that is based on an operating frequency for the wireless power transmission [see at least Figure 11, (14); paragraph 0044], and (iii) generates alternating current (AC) signals for the wireless power transmission [see at least Figure 11, (20)]; a first transmitter antenna [see at least Figure 11, (32)] that (i) is in wired electrical connection with the power conditioning system, (ii) receives the AC signals for the wireless power transmission [see at least paragraph 0053], and(iii) transmits the wireless power transmission to one or more of a second transmitter antenna, the receiver antenna, or combinations thereof; and the second transmitter antenna that (i) is not in wired electrical connection with the power conditioning system, (ii) receives the wireless power transmission from the first transmitter antenna, and (iii) repeats the wireless power transmission to one or more receiver antennas [see at least Figure 11, (42)].
Regarding claim 13, Blood discloses the wireless power transfer system of claim 9, further comprising a transmitter housing that houses one or more of the first transmitter antenna, the second transmitter antenna, or combinations thereof [see at least paragraph 0054; Figure 8].
Regarding claim 14, Blood discloses the wireless power transfer system of claim 9, wherein the wireless power transmitter further comprises: a first transmitter tuning system that is in electrical connection with both the power conditioning system and the first transmitter antenna [see at least Figure 11, (34)]; and a second transmitter tuning system that is (i) in electrical connection with first and second terminals of the second transmitter antenna and (ii) not in electrical connection with the power conditioning system [see at least Figure 11, (41)].
Regarding claim 15, Blood discloses the wireless power transfer system of claim 14, wherein the first transmitter tuning system is configured to (i) receive the AC wireless signals and (ii) tune the AC wireless signals for transmission as the wireless power transmission via the first transmitter antenna [see at least Figure 11, (34)], and wherein the second transmitter tuning system is configured to (i) receive the wireless power transmission and (ii) tune the wireless power transmission for repeating, via the second transmitter antenna, to one or more receiver antennas [see at least Figure 11, (41)].
Regarding claim 16, Blood discloses an antenna for a wireless power transmitter, the antenna comprising: a first transmitter antenna that (i) is in wired electrical connection with a power conditioning system of the wireless power transmitter [see at least Figure 11, (32)], (ii) receives alternating current (AC)signals for a wireless power transmission [see at least paragraph 0053], and (iii) transmits the wireless power transmission to one or more of other transmitter antennas, receiver antennas, or combinations thereof [see at least Figure 11, (42)]; and a second transmitter antenna [see at least Figure 11, (42)] that (i) is not in wired electrical connection with the power conditioning system, (ii) receives the wireless power transmission from the first transmitter antenna, and (iii) repeats the wireless power transmission to one or more receiver antennas [see at least Figure 11, (42)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0102685 by Blood et al. (Blood hereinafter) in view of US 2013/0134794 by Lee et al. (Lee hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Blood discloses the wireless power transmitter of claim 1.
Blood fails to disclose wherein the first transmitter antenna comprises: a first antenna portion; and a second antenna portion, and wherein the second transmitter antenna comprises: a third antenna portion; and a fourth antenna portion. However, Lee discloses this limitation [see at least Figure 5, (421); inner loop and outer loop].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize a multi-portion antenna/coil for wireless power transfer in order to increase efficiency of power transferred to a receiver. Thus, increasing power to the receiver and decreasing energy waste.
Regarding claim 6, Blood in view of Lee teaches the wireless power transmitter of claim 5.
Lee discloses wherein the first antenna portion comprises one or more first outer turns, wherein the second antenna portion comprises one or more first inner turns that are radially inward from the one or more first outer turns, wherein the third antenna portion comprises one or more second outer turns, and wherein the fourth antenna portion comprises one or more second inner turns that are radially inward from the one or more second outer turns [see at least Figure 5, (421); inner loop and outer loop].
Regarding claim 7, Blood in view of Lee teaches the wireless power transmitter of claim 6.
Blood discloses wherein the first antenna portion is in wired electrical connection with (i) the second antenna portion and (ii) the power conditioning system [see at least Figure 11, (32) and (34)], and wherein the third antenna portion is (i) in wireless electrical connection with one or both of the first or second antenna portions and (ii) is in wired electrical connection with the fourth antenna portion [see at least Figure 11, (42) and (41)].
Regarding claim 8, Blood in view of Lee teaches the wireless power transmitter of claim 5.
Blood discloses the coupling of the antennas to the circuit and each other.
Lee discloses wherein the first antenna portion includes a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the second antenna portion includes a third terminal and a fourth terminal, wherein the second terminal is in electrical connection with the third terminal of the second antenna portion, wherein each of the first antenna portion and the second antenna portion is configured to couple with one or more other transmitter antennas, receiver antennas, or combinations thereof, wherein the third antenna portion includes a fifth terminal and a sixth terminal, wherein the fourth antenna portion includes a seventh terminal and an eighth terminal, wherein the sixth terminal of the third antenna portion is in electrical connection with the seventh terminal of the fourth antenna portion, wherein each of the third antenna portion and the fourth antenna portion is configured to couple with one or more receiver antennas [see at least Figure 5, (421); considered terminals at the connecting points of the antenna to the transmitter and the inner loop to the outer loop].
Regarding claim 17, Blood discloses the antenna of claim 16.
Blood fails to disclose wherein the first transmitter antenna comprises: a first antenna portion; and a second antenna portion, and wherein the second transmitter antenna comprises: a third antenna portion; and a fourth antenna portion. However, Lee discloses this limitation [see at least Figure 5, (421); inner loop and outer loop].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize a multi-portion antenna/coil for wireless power transfer in order to increase efficiency of power transferred to a receiver. Thus, increasing power to the receiver and decreasing energy waste.
Regarding claim 18, Blood in view of Lee teaches the antenna of claim 17.
Lee discloses wherein the first antenna portion comprises one or more first outer turns, wherein the second antenna portion comprises one or more first inner turns that are radially inward from the one or more first outer turns, wherein the third antenna portion comprises one or more second outer turns, and wherein the fourth antenna portion comprises one or more second inner turns that are radially inward from the one or more second outer turns [see at least Figure 5, (421); inner loop and outer loop].
Regarding claim 19, Blood in view of Lee teaches the antenna of claim 18.
Blood discloses wherein the first antenna portion is (i) in wired electrical connection with the second antenna portion and (ii) is configured for wired connection electrical connection with the power conditioning system [see at least Figure 11, (32)], and wherein the third antenna portion is (i) in wireless electrical connection with one or both of the first or second antenna portions and (ii) is in wired electrical connection with the fourth antenna portion [see at least Figure 11, (42)].
Regarding claim 20, Blood in view of Lee teaches the antenna of claim 17.
Blood discloses further comprising transmitter tuning system that is (i) in electrical connection with first and second terminals of the second transmitter antenna and (ii) not in electrical connection with the power conditioning system [see at least Figure 11, (41)].
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0102685 by Blood et al. (Blood hereinafter) in view of US 2009/0284220 by Toncich et al. (Toncich hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Blood discloses the wireless power transfer system of claim 9.
Blood fails to disclose wherein the wireless power receiver is configured to (i) electrically connect with a computer peripheral and (ii) provide power to the load associated with the wireless power receiver, and wherein the load is a load of the computer peripheral. However, Toncich discloses this limitation [see at least Figure 17A, (730A); Table 3, “Mouse with a low battery”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to provide power to a computer peripheral device as it is a commonly used item that is generally wired. Thus, allowing for the elimination of a wire and allow more free movement of the device.
Regarding claim 11, Blood in view of Toncich teaches the wireless power transfer system of claim 10.
Toncich discloses wherein the computer peripheral is a computer mouse [see at least Figure 17A, (730A); Table 3, “Mouse with a low battery”].
Regarding claim 12, Blood in view of Toncich teaches the wireless power transfer system of claim 11.
Toncich discloses wherein one or both of the first or second transmitter antennas are positioned under a surface, upon which the computer mouse is used [see at least Figure 17A, (740), (720A) and (710A)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hashiguchi (US 2011/0175455) discloses a transmitter with a drive coil and a resonator.
Cook et al. (US 2009/0243397) discloses a transmitter with a resonator and powering computer devices.
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836