DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/31/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argus (US 2019/0263519 A1) in view of Chantriaux et al. (US 2014/0248168 A1) and Beasley (US 2002/0084120 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Argus teaches a method of controlling a hybrid power unit, the method comprising:
receiving, at a local controller, a target total thrust value (“wherein the controller is configured such that the speed control signal for each electric motor controls each respective electric motor to provide a maneuvering thrust for the hybrid aircraft according to the flight control signal.”, Claim 9) for a hybrid power unit comprising a primary electric motor, a propeller, and an internal-combustion engine, wherein the primary electric motor is drivingly coupled to the propeller, and wherein the hybrid power unit is operable to transfer torque generated by the internal-combustion engine to the propeller (“A hybrid aircraft comprises at least three independent electric motors each arranged to drive a respective rotor; and an internal combustion engine arranged to drive at least two rotor, which are preferably horizontally spaced apart. There is also a controller for providing speed control signals to the electric motor driven rotors and a throttle control signal for controlling the throttle of the internal combustion engine, based on a flight control signal.”, Abstract);
determining, by the local controller, a target speed for the propeller based on the target total thrust value (“a controller for receiving a flight control signal and for outputting a speed control signal for each electric motor and a throttle control signal for the internal combustion engine, wherein the throttle control signal determines the speed of rotation of the set of at least two horizontally spaced apart rotors.”, Para. [0010]);
determining, by the local controller, a throttle set point for the internal-combustion engine based on the target speed for the propeller (See Para. [0010]);
transmitting, by the local controller, the target speed to a motor speed controller for the primary electric motor (“The method comprises receiving a remote control signal at 400, then adapting the control signal so that it becomes one or more speed control signals and a throttle control signal at 410. The speed control signal is received at an electric motor at 420, a throttle control signal is received at an internal combustion engine at 430.”, Para. [0127]);
receiving, at the local controller, a module current set point based at least in part on a state of charge of a battery (As shown in Fig. 6; further describes the control philosophy as being based on slowing discharge: “In an embodiment, the maneuvering control is superimposed over the contribution of lift for each electric motor driven rotor signal, for each electric motor 60, in the speed control signals 150/350. The lift contribution of the electric motor driven rotors 72 will be considerably less than that in a standard multi-rotor drone because of the significant contribution to the overall lift by the rotors 24. The electrical power drain from running the motors 60 is therefore significantly lower, allowing a slower discharge of the battery 46. This in turn allows a longer endurance time of the aircraft 10 in comparison to a same weight for weight comparable standard multi-rotor drone.”, Paras. [0116]-[0117]); and
determining, at the local controller, an adjustment to the throttle set point based in part on the target speed of the propeller and the module current set point (As shown in Fig. 7; Further described using throttle control signals to control speeds of the rotors: “A control signal is also received at 620, for controlling the speed of each electric motor 60 of each rotor 72 at 630…FIG. 7 illustrates receiving a throttle servo control signal 700 which is used to control the throttle of an internal combustion engine (ICE) in accordance with the throttle servo control signal 710. Electric power is then generated from the ICE 720 and this is used to power the electric motor (EM) 730. The EM then drives the lift rotors 24 of the hybrid aircraft 740.”, Paras. [0134]-[0136]).
Argus does not expressly disclose receiving, at the motor speed controller, a sensor value for a current speed for the propeller; generating, at the motor speed controller, a signal to a primary electric motor to selectively output torque to a rotor and regeneratively brake the rotor according to the target speed for the propeller.
However, in an analogous rotor control art, Chantriaux teaches:
receiving, at the motor speed controller, a sensor value for a current speed for the propeller (“The control unit UG is preferably associated with a means for the continuous control, of the integrity of each electric motor element Ee1, Ee2, . . . , Een. The means of control may, for example, consist of a set of sensors integrated in an intrinsic manner into each electric motor element and, for example, configured to detect the rotation and the angle of the rotor, the supply of electricity to the stator, the torque and/or the generated power; etc.”, P{ara. [0085]);
generating, at the motor speed controller, a signal to the primary electric motor to selectively output torque to the propeller to control rotation of the propeller (“The control unit UG controls the operating point of the distributed electric motor unit GEMD as a function of the power requirement of the aircraft. In particular, the control unit UG can cause the torque or the speed of rotation of each electric motor element Ee1, Ee2, . . . , Een to vary as a function of the power requirement of the aircraft. For example, in the event of the failure of electric motor elements, and if no other reserve electric motor element is available, the control unit UG can emit a set point in order to increase the torque or the speed of rotation of those electric motor elements that are still in service, in order to enable the distributed electric motor unit GEMD to continue to transmit sufficient power to the rotating shaft Rp1, Rp2, Rp, RAC, H.”, Para. [0089]) according to the target speed for the propeller via either regenerative braking to reduce the current speed of the propeller down to the target speed for the propeller or driving rotation of the propeller to increase the current speed of the propeller to the target speed of the propeller (“In normal operation, each moving rotor Rt is thus capable of cooperating with a freewheel R1 in such a way as to be connected to the rotating shaft Rp1, Rp2, Rp, RAC, H, in order to transmit the mechanical, power to it. On the other hand, in the event of the failure of an electric motor element Ee1, Ee2, . . . , Een, the freewheel R1 disconnects the rotor Rt from the rotating shaft Rp1, Rp2, Rp, RAC, H. This is particularly advantageous in the case of a short circuit in a winding of the stator St that is capable of bringing about the very violent inductive braking of the rotor.”, Para. [0066]; “In the case of a helicopter, during the autorotation phase, the distributed electric motor unit GEMD can function as a generator, In the case of a helicopter, during the autorotation phase, the distributed electric motor unit GEMD can function as a generator, thereby permitting the batteries and/or superconductors to be recharged while regulating the speed of rotation of the one or more main rotors Rp1, Rp2, Rp.”, Para. [0091]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Argus further including receiving, at the motor speed controller, a sensor value for a current speed for the propeller; generating, at the motor speed controller, a signal to the primary electric motor to selectively output torque to the propeller to control rotation of the propeller according to the target speed for the propeller via either regenerative braking to reduce the current speed of the propeller down to the target speed for the propeller or driving rotation of the propeller to increase the current speed of the propeller to the target speed of the propeller, as taught by Chantriaux, with a reasonable expectation for success, such that “In the event of the failure of one or a plurality of initially active electric motor elements Ee1, Ee2, . . . , Een, the control unit UG is thus configured to emit a set point enabling the power delivered jointly by all of the said elements to be reconfigured in real time… the control unit UG instantaneously brings into service other reserve electric motor elements (for example: Ee7 and Ee8) in order to enable the distributed electric motor unit GEMD to continue to transmit sufficient power to the rotating shaft”, as discussed by Chantriaux. Para. [0085].
Argus does not expressly disclose both the primary electric motor and the internal-combustion engine transfer torque to the same propeller.
However, in an analogous aircraft art, Beasley (Fig. 20, light aircraft with single propeller) discloses both the primary electric motor and the internal-combustion engine transfer torque to the same propeller (Figs. 1-2, motor units; “The motor assembly can also be used as a hybrid motor, running on both combustible fuel and electric power.”, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unit of Argus further including both the primary electric motor and the internal-combustion engine transfer torque to the same propeller, as disclosed by Beasley, with a reasonable expectation for success, since “[t]his provides great fuel efficiency, while providing high power or torque when necessary”, as discussed by Beasley, Abstract. Further, to be able to provide a hybrid power unit to a wider variety of aircrafts, such as single propeller light aircrafts and helicopters with a single main rotor.
Regarding claim 2, Argus teaches further comprising: generating a final throttle set point signal based at least in part on the throttle set point for the internal-combustion engine (“The effort set point for overall thrust (as a proportion of full thrust) is used to determine the thrust control signal 180 provided to control the speed of the internal combustion engine 40.”, Para. [0121]; and sending the final throttle set point signal directly or indirectly to a throttle actuator (“Referring to FIG. 5, there is illustrated a flow chart for operating a hybrid aircraft 10 in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The method comprises receiving a remote control signal at 400, then adapting the control signal so that it becomes one or more speed control signals and a throttle control signal at 410. The speed control signal is received at an electric motor at 420, a throttle control signal is received at an internal combustion engine at 430. The speed control signal is then used to drive the independent rotors at 440, and the throttle control signal is used to drive the set of at least two rotors at 450.”, Para. [0127]).
Regarding claim 4, Chantriaux teaches wherein the module current set point is based at least in part on a second module current set point from a second local controller (“An electronic control unit is preferably associated with a means for the continuous control of the integrity of each electric motor element, in such a way that, in the event of the failure of one or a plurality of initially active electric motor elements, the electronic control unit will emit a set point, intended for the other undamaged electric motor elements, enabling the power delivered by each of the said undamaged electric motor elements to be reconfigured in a linear fashion in real time by modifying the variable "Ki" in such a way that the distributed electric motor unit continues to transmit to the rotating shaft a level of power that is sufficient for the propulsion and/or the lifting of the said aircraft.”, Para. [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Argus wherein the module current set point is based at least in part on a second module current set point from a second local controller, as further taught by Chantriaux, with a reasonable expectation for success, such that “In the event of the failure of one or a plurality of initially active electric motor elements Ee1, Ee2, . . . , Een, the control unit UG is thus configured to emit a set point enabling the power delivered jointly by all of the said elements to be reconfigured in real time… the control unit UG instantaneously brings into service other reserve electric motor elements (for example: Ee7 and Ee8) in order to enable the distributed electric motor unit GEMD to continue to transmit sufficient power to the rotating shaft”, as discussed by Chantriaux. Para. [0085].
Regarding claim 5, Chantriaux teaches further comprising, detecting, via one or more sensors, a condition of the primary electric motor or a secondary internal-combustion engine; generating a signal in response to the detected condition (note, a condition of the primary electric motor is selected as the secondary internal combustion engine is optional); and disengaging clutch in response to the detected condition (“in the event of the failure of an electric motor element Ee1, Ee2, . . . , Een, the freewheel R1 disconnects the rotor Rt from the rotating shaft Rp1, Rp2, Rp, RAC, H. This is particularly advantageous in the case of a short circuit in a winding of the stator St that is capable of bringing about the very violent inductive braking of the rotor”, Para. [0066]; “The control unit UG is preferably associated with a means for the continuous control, of the integrity of each electric motor element Ee1, Ee2, . . . , Een. The means of control may, for example, consist of a set of sensors integrated in an intrinsic manner into each electric motor element and, for example, configured to detect the rotation and the angle of the rotor, the supply of electricity to the stator, the torque and/or the generated power; etc. In the event of the failure of one or a plurality of initially active electric motor elements Ee1, Ee2, . . . , Een, the control unit UG is thus configured to emit a set point enabling the power delivered jointly by all of the said elements to be reconfigured in real time.”, Para. [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Argus further comprising, detecting, via one or more sensors, a condition of the primary electric motor or a secondary internal-combustion engine; generating a signal in response to the detected condition; and disengaging clutch in response to the detected condition, as further taught by Chantriaux, with a reasonable expectation for success, such that “In the event of the failure of one or a plurality of initially active electric motor elements Ee1, Ee2, . . . , Een, the control unit UG is thus configured to emit a set point enabling the power delivered jointly by all of the said elements to be reconfigured in real time… the control unit UG instantaneously brings into service other reserve electric motor elements (for example: Ee7 and Ee8) in order to enable the distributed electric motor unit GEMD to continue to transmit sufficient power to the rotating shaft”, as discussed by Chantriaux. Para. [0085].
Regarding claim 6, Argus teaches wherein the condition is a failure of the secondary internal-combustion engine (Note, a condition of the primary electric motor is selected above in the claim 5 rejection as the secondary internal combustion engine is optional; Argus discloses: “There is also provided a feedback signal 190 from the internal combustion engine 40 that feeds back into the logic module 140 so as to continuously update the speed of the internal combustion engine 40. In order to ensure safe operation of the hybrid aircraft 10, there is provided a fail signal 200 which is used to safely land the hybrid aircraft 10 in the event that power fails or another event occurs which prevents the hybrid aircraft 10 from operating in accordance with an embodiment. In a rotor 24 failure event, the lift from rotors 72 is preferably capable of providing sufficient lift to safely land the aircraft 10.”, Para. [0111]; “In an embodiment, the system has a failure detector, which sends a failure signal to the flight control system in the event of a failure. In that case a failure of the internal combustion engine or the electric motors may be compensated for by the other(s).”, Para. [0130]; “In a preferred embodiment, as shown in FIG. 14, which is based on the embodiment of FIG. 11, there is an optional battery 1230 within the circuitry 930, which can be used to provide power to the lift ESCs 1200, 1210 instantaneously, during initial start up, when more power is required than the ICE can provide due to ramping up of the ICE. Battery 1230 can also provide a backup in case of the failure of the ICE.”, Para. [0145]).
Chantriaux teaches that electrical energy generation unit may be an internal combustion engine (“A propulsion device for an aircraft according to claim 22, in which the electrical energy generation unit is composed of one of the following: a thermo-chemical generator, a thermoelectric generator, a radio isotopic generator, fuel cells, a turbo shaft engine, or an internal combustion engine equipped with an internal generator or driving an external generator.”, Claim 24)
Argus as modified by Chantriaux does not expressly disclose a secondary internal combustion engine.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Argus as modified by Chantriaux to include a secondary internal combustion engine, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device, such as providing a second internal combustion engine as a safety redundancy in the case of one of the internal combustion engines failing, involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 7, Chantriaux teaches further comprising: detecting a condition via one or more sensors; and in response to the condition, adjusting a control throttle position for the internal-combustion engine according to a propeller speed for the propeller (“in the event of the failure of an electric motor element Ee1, Ee2, . . . , Een, the freewheel R1 disconnects the rotor Rt from the rotating shaft Rp1, Rp2, Rp, RAC, H. This is particularly advantageous in the case of a short circuit in a winding of the stator St that is capable of bringing about the very violent inductive braking of the rotor”, Para. [0066]; “The control unit UG is preferably associated with a means for the continuous control, of the integrity of each electric motor element Ee1, Ee2, . . . , Een. The means of control may, for example, consist of a set of sensors integrated in an intrinsic manner into each electric motor element and, for example, configured to detect the rotation and the angle of the rotor, the supply of electricity to the stator, the torque and/or the generated power; etc. In the event of the failure of one or a plurality of initially active electric motor elements Ee1, Ee2, . . . , Een, the control unit UG is thus configured to emit a set point enabling the power delivered jointly by all of the said elements to be reconfigured in real time.”, Para. [0085]; note, propellers are connected to the rotating shafts and motors of the rotors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Argus further comprising: detecting a condition via one or more sensors; and in response to the condition, adjusting a control throttle position for the internal-combustion engine according to a propeller speed for the propeller, as further taught by Chantriaux, with a reasonable expectation for success, such that “In the event of the failure of one or a plurality of initially active electric motor elements Ee1, Ee2, . . . , Een, the control unit UG is thus configured to emit a set point enabling the power delivered jointly by all of the said elements to be reconfigured in real time… the control unit UG instantaneously brings into service other reserve electric motor elements (for example: Ee7 and Ee8) in order to enable the distributed electric motor unit GEMD to continue to transmit sufficient power to the rotating shaft”, as discussed by Chantriaux. Para. [0085].
Regarding claim 8, Argus teaches an aerial vehicle including a plurality of hybrid modules (“Hybrid Aircraft”, Title), wherein each module of the plurality of hybrid modules comprises an electric motor “A hybrid aircraft comprises at least three independent electric motors each arranged to drive a respective rotor”, Abstract), an internal-combustion engine (“an internal combustion engine arranged to drive at least two rotor”, Abstract), and a local controller configured to perform the method of claim 1, wherein for each hybrid module, the local controller communicates with local controllers of other hybrid modules on the aerial vehicle (“There is also a controller for providing speed control signals to the electric motor driven rotors and a throttle control signal for controlling the throttle of the internal combustion engine, based on a flight control signal.”, Abstract).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argus (US 2019/0263519 A1) in view of Chantriaux et al. (US 2014/0248168 A1) and Beasley (US 2002/0084120 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Hersey (US 2,455,251).
Regarding claim 3, Argus teaches further comprising estimating, at the local controller, a secondary thrust output from an output based at least in part on a rotation speed of an internal- combustion engine (“The effort set point for overall thrust (as a proportion of full thrust) is used to determine the thrust control signal 180 provided to control the speed of the internal combustion engine 40.”, Para. [0121]).
Argus does not expressly disclose a shroud.
However, in an analogous propeller hub art, Hersey teaches a shroud engine providing additional thrust (Fig. 1, “cowl” 15 with “air outlet flaps” 17; “col. 3, regarding the longitudinal thrust of the fan 18 is biased by biasing springs 34; figs. 1 and 2; Examiner notes that the suction from the fan 18 will inherently tend to draw air in through the inlet 16, across the engine 13, and out through the outlet 17 thereby creating additional thrust).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Argus as modified by Chantriaux to further include a shroud, as taught by Hersey, with a reasonable expectation for success, in order to ensure that the engine is
properly cooled using power generated via the motor and/or engine (as shown in fig. 1 of Hersey).
Claim(s) 9-10 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argus (US 2019/0263519 A1) in view of Chantriaux et al. (US 2014/0248168 A1) and Tim et al. (DE102008014404B4).
Regarding claim 9, Argus discloses a hybrid power unit (“Hybrid Aircraft”, Title), comprising:
a primary electric motor including a motor output shaft (“A hybrid aircraft comprises at least three independent electric motors each arranged to drive a respective rotor”, Abstract);
a primary thrust-providing propeller drivingly coupled to the motor output shaft (“the controller is configured such that the speed control signal for each electric motor controls each respective electric motor to provide a manoeuvring thrust for the hybrid aircraft according to the flight control signal.”, Para. [0016]);
an internal-combustion engine comprising an output element drivingly coupled to a torsion shaft (“an internal combustion engine arranged to drive at least two rotor”, Abstract);
Argus does not expressly disclose a speed reduction mechanism.
However, in an analogous rotorcraft art, Chantriaux discloses a speed reduction mechanism (“In normal operation, each moving rotor Rt is thus capable of cooperating with a freewheel R1 in such a way as to be connected to the rotating shaft Rp1, Rp2, Rp, RAC, H, in order to transmit the mechanical, power to it. On the other hand, in the event of the failure of an electric motor element Ee1, Ee2, . . . , Een, the freewheel R1 disconnects the rotor Rt from the rotating shaft Rp1, Rp2, Rp, RAC, H. This is particularly advantageous in the case of a short circuit in a winding of the stator St that is capable of bringing about the very violent inductive braking of the rotor.”, Para. [0066]; “In the case of a helicopter, during the autorotation phase, the distributed electric motor unit GEMD can function as a generator, In the case of a helicopter, during the autorotation phase, the distributed electric motor unit GEMD can function as a generator, thereby permitting the batteries and/or superconductors to be recharged while regulating the speed of rotation of the one or more main rotors Rp1, Rp2, Rp.”, Para. [0091]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the unit of Argus further including a speed reduction mechanism, as taught by Chantriaux, with a reasonable expectation for success, such that “thereby permitting the batteries and/or superconductors to be recharged while regulating the speed of rotation of the one or more main rotors”, as discussed by Chantriaux. Para. [0091].
Argus does not expressly disclose a disengagement mechanism interposed between the speed reduction mechanism and the motor output shaft and configured to selectively transfer torque between the speed reduction mechanism and the motor output shaft, wherein a default configuration of the disengagement mechanism is a closed configuration in which the speed reduction mechanism is driving coupled to the motor output shaft; wherein the torsion shaft is drivingly coupled to the speed reduction mechanism.
However, in an analogous rotorcraft art, Tim discloses a disengagement mechanism interposed between the speed reduction mechanism and the motor output shaft and configured to selectively transfer torque between the speed reduction mechanism and the motor output shaft, wherein a default configuration of the disengagement mechanism is a closed configuration in which the speed reduction mechanism is driving coupled to the motor output shaft; wherein the torsion shaft is drivingly coupled to the speed reduction mechanism (Fig. 1, clutch 22 & 60, rotor shaft 64; “In the in 1 shown embodiment, the drive according to the invention comprises a fuel tank 10 , From the fuel tank 10 the fuel is pumped 12 via one or more valves 14 . 15 the shaft power turbine 20 fed. Fuel pump 12 , Valves 14 and 15 and shaft power turbine 20 be via a first drive control unit 52 coming from a controller unit 50 is controlled, controlled. The shaft power turbine 20 drives over a clutch 22 the generator 30 at. The one with the generator 30 generated electricity is connected to the rectifier 32 rectified. The current from the rectifier becomes the backup battery 40 and a second drive control unit 54 the electric motor acting as a prime mover 42 fed. In addition, can also power from the backup battery 40 via the second drive control unit 54 the electric motor 42 be supplied. The supply of the current from the rectifier to the backup battery or to the electric motor is controlled by the second drive control unit. This control is carried out such that the backup batteries are charged in appropriate operating phases and in case of failure of the wave power turbine, the electric motor is supplied with power from the backup batteries. The electric motor drives via a clutch 60 and a 90 ° gearbox 62 and a rotor shaft 64 the helicopter rotor 66 at.”, Paras. [0014]-[0015], translated; note, Chantriaux is relied upon above for teaching a speed reduction mechanism in the form of regenerative braking and a flywheel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unit of Argus further including a disengagement mechanism interposed between the speed reduction mechanism and the motor output shaft and configured to selectively transfer torque between the speed reduction mechanism and the motor output shaft, wherein a default configuration of the disengagement mechanism is a closed configuration in which the speed reduction mechanism is driving coupled to the motor output shaft; wherein the torsion shaft is drivingly coupled to the speed reduction mechanism, as taught by Tim, with a reasonable expectation for success, since “[t]his control is carried out such that the backup batteries are charged in appropriate operating phases and in case of failure of the wave power turbine, the electric motor is supplied with power from the backup batteries.”, as discussed by Tim, Para. [0014].
Regarding claim 10, Tim further discloses wherein the disengagement mechanism is a bi-directional clutch (Clutches described as bidirectional to charge or drive the system: “The shaft power turbine 20 drives over a clutch 22 the generator 30 at. The one with the generator 30 generated electricity is connected to the rectifier 32 rectified. The current from the rectifier becomes the backup battery 40 and a second drive control unit 54 the electric motor acting as a prime mover 42 fed. In addition, can also power from the backup battery 40 via the second drive control unit 54 the electric motor 42 be supplied.”, Para. [0014]; “The electric motor drives via a clutch 60 and a 90 ° gearbox 62 and a rotor shaft 64 the helicopter rotor 66 at.”, Para. [0015]).
Regarding claim 14, Chantriaux further discloses wherein the torsion shaft further comprises quill coaxial shafts to reduce an amplitude of torque pulses from the internal- combustion engine, the quill coaxial shafts comprising: an inner coaxial shaft coupled to the motor output shaft; and an outer coaxial shaft encircling the inner coaxial shaft and connected at a distal end of the outer coaxial shaft to the inner coaxial shaft and a proximal end of the outer coaxial shaft coupled to a sun gear, wherein the outer coaxial shaft and the inner coaxial shaft transmit torque from the internal-combustion engine to the speed reduction mechanism (Note, Argus is relied upon above for teaching the engine being an internal-combustion engine; Chanttriaux Fig. 1 shows the main shaft Rp1 & Rp2 is coaxial; “the axes of rotation of the moving rotors and of the rotating shaft are coaxial.”, Para. [0026]; Further discloses that “Traditional propulsion systems for aircraft generally consist of a thermal engine or turbo shaft engines or turbo-fan engines and a mechanical reduction gear coupled to the rotor shaft. The reduction gears are currently used: [0007] in helicopters, for transmitting the mechanical torque produced by the one or more engines or turbo shaft engines driving the one or more rotors (main or rear rotor).”, Para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 15, Chantriaux further discloses wherein the primary electric motor is configured to transmit torque bi-directionally to the motor output shaft and from the motor output shaft (Described as both driving the rotor and functioning as a generator: “For example, in the event of the failure of electric motor elements, and if no other reserve electric motor element is available, the control unit UG can emit a set point in order to increase the torque or the speed of rotation of those electric motor elements that are still in service, in order to enable the distributed electric motor unit GEMD to continue to transmit sufficient power to the rotating shaft Rp1, Rp2, Rp, RAC, H.”, Para. [0089]; “In the case of a helicopter, during the autorotation phase, the distributed electric motor unit GEMD can function as a generator, thereby permitting the batteries and/or superconductors to be recharged while regulating the speed of rotation of the one or more main rotors Rp1, Rp2, Rp.”, Para. [0091]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argus (US 2019/0263519 A1) in view of Chantriaux et al. (US 2014/0248168 A1) and Tim et al. (DE102008014404B4) as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of Harvey et al. (US 2021/0179286 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Argus does not expressly disclose further comprising a solenoid in the disengagement mechanism to selectively engage or disengage the motor output shaft from the speed reduction mechanism.
However, in an analogous aircraft art, Harvey discloses further comprising a solenoid in the disengagement mechanism to selectively engage or disengage the motor output shaft from the speed reduction mechanism (Fig. 6, clutch 250 and shafts 24 & 54; “Typically, the actuation mechanism (not shown) comprises one or more of an electro-magnetic solenoid, and a hydraulic actuator. As will be understood, the clutch 250 requires actuation in order to operate, in contrast to the overrunning clutches 50, 52.”, Paras. [0047]-[0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unit of Argus further comprising a solenoid in the disengagement mechanism to selectively engage or disengage the motor output shaft from the speed reduction mechanism, as disclosed by Harvey, with a reasonable expectation for success, “Since gas turbine engines are only efficient when operated at high power, this may reduce overall fuel usage. Furthermore, the propulsor 12 can continue to be driven by the electric motor 28 in the event of a failure of the gas turbine engine 10. Again, this increases safety, and improves operational flexibility.”, as discussed by Harvey, Para. [0062].
Claim(s) 12, 16, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argus (US 2019/0263519 A1) in view of Chantriaux et al. (US 2014/0248168 A1) and Tim et al. (DE102008014404B4) as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of Mariotto et al. (US 2014/0283519 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Argus does not expressly disclose wherein the disengagement mechanism comprises one or more dogs, wherein the one or more dogs are angled with respect to a top surface of the disengagement mechanism in order to reduce friction between faces of the disengagement mechanism to allow for disconnection under load.
However, Mariotto discloses wherein the disengagement mechanism comprises one or more dogs, wherein the one or more dogs are angled with respect to a top surface of the disengagement mechanism in order to reduce friction between faces of the disengagement mechanism to allow for disconnection under load (Fig. 10, “dog clutch”, 29; “Such a blockable freewheel may include rolling members such as balls or rollers interposed between two sections of the driving and driven rotary parts, like a conventional freewheel or "overrunning clutch". In addition, and by way of example, the blockable freewheel may include movable dog clutches for constraining the driving and driven rotary parts to rotate together. The constraining system then includes rolling members and movable dog clutches. The constraining means may be an electrical, electronic, or mechanical processor unit controlling the position of the dog clutches.”, Paras. [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unit of Argus wherein the disengagement mechanism comprises one or more dogs, wherein the one or more dogs are angled with respect to a top surface of the disengagement mechanism in order to reduce friction between faces of the disengagement mechanism to allow for disconnection under load, as taught by Mariotto, with a reasonable expectation for success, “for constraining the driving and driven rotary parts to rotate together”, as discussed by Mariotto, Para. [0040].
Regarding claims 16 and 21, Mariotto further discloses further comprising: a position sensing system configured to detect a position of a plurality of dogs of the disengagement mechanism relative to a plurality of dog receivers prior to re-engaging the plurality of dogs with the plurality of dog receivers (“The constraining system then includes rolling members and movable dog clutches. The constraining means may be an electrical, electronic, or mechanical processor unit controlling the position of the dog clutches.”, Para. [0041]).
Claim(s) 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argus (US 2019/0263519 A1) in view of Chantriaux et al. (US 2014/0248168 A1) and Tim et al. (DE102008014404B4), further in view of Mariotto et al. (US 2014/0283519 A1) and Harvey et al. (US 2021/0179286 A1).
Regarding claims 13 and 19, Argus does not expressly disclose further comprising a solenoid configured to disengage and re-engage the disengagement mechanism, wherein a magnetic coil of the solenoid is energized to disengage a dog portion of the disengagement mechanism and cooperates with a permanently magnetized ring to keep the disengagement mechanism disengaged even after the magnetic coil is de-energized.
However, Mariotto discloses the use and control of dog clutches (Fig. 10, “dog clutch”, 29; “Such a blockable freewheel may include rolling members such as balls or rollers interposed between two sections of the driving and driven rotary parts, like a conventional freewheel or "overrunning clutch". In addition, and by way of example, the blockable freewheel may include movable dog clutches for constraining the driving and driven rotary parts to rotate together. The constraining system then includes rolling members and movable dog clutches. The constraining means may be an electrical, electronic, or mechanical processor unit controlling the position of the dog clutches.”, Paras. [0040]-[0041]).
Further, Harvey discloses further comprising a solenoid configured to disengage and re-engage the disengagement mechanism, wherein a magnetic coil of the solenoid is energized to disengage a dog portion of the disengagement mechanism and cooperates with a permanently magnetized ring to keep the disengagement mechanism disengaged even after the magnetic coil is de-energized (Fig. 6, clutch 250 and shafts 24 & 54; “Typically, the actuation mechanism (not shown) comprises one or more of an electro-magnetic solenoid, and a hydraulic actuator. As will be understood, the clutch 250 requires actuation in order to operate, in contrast to the overrunning clutches 50, 52.”, Paras. [0047]-[0048]; note, solenoids are inherently a cylindrical coil of wire acting as a magnet when carrying electric current).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unit of Argus further comprising a solenoid configured to disengage and re-engage the disengagement mechanism, wherein a magnetic coil of the solenoid is energized to disengage a dog portion of the disengagement mechanism and cooperates with a permanently magnetized ring to keep the disengagement mechanism disengaged even after the magnetic coil is de-energized, as taught by Mariotto and Harvey, with a reasonable expectation for success, “Since gas turbine engines are only efficient when operated at high power, this may reduce overall fuel usage. Furthermore, the propulsor 12 can continue to be driven by the electric motor 28 in the event of a failure of the gas turbine engine 10. Again, this increases safety, and improves operational flexibility.”, as discussed by Harvey, Para. [0062], and “for constraining the driving and driven rotary parts to rotate together”, as discussed by Mariotto, Para. [0040].
Claim(s) 17-18 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argus (US 2019/0263519 A1) in view of Chantriaux et al. (US 2014/0248168 A1) and Tim et al. (DE102008014404B4) as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of Laborie et al. (US 5,284,012).
Regarding claim 17, Argus does not expressly disclose further comprising a cooling shroud and an airflow control actuator operable to modulate cooling of the internal- combustion engine by modulating a level of airflow through the cooling shroud.
However, in an analogous aircraft engine cooling art, Laborie discloses further comprising a cooling shroud and an airflow control actuator operable to modulate cooling of the internal- combustion engine by modulating a level of airflow through the cooling shroud (Figs. 1 & 7; “Also in the preferred embodiment, the nacelle includes two engine bay vent doors with actuators that open them in the event that the oil temperature exceeds a predetermined limit, thereby increasing airflow through the oil coolers and the engine bay. Further, the actuator is connected such that the doors are open to allow natural ventilation when the engine is shut down on the ground. The doors are configured to disconnect the actuator and pivot freely at a predetermined pressure differential across the doors so that excessive engine bay pressure, as from an open bleed air duct, can escape through these vent openings thereby eliminating the need of separate blow-out doors.”, Col. 2, Lines 6-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unit of Argus further comprising a cooling shroud and an airflow control actuator operable to modulate cooling of the internal- combustion engine by modulating a level of airflow through the cooling shroud, as taught by Laborie, with a reasonable expectation for success, “in the event that the oil temperature exceeds a predetermined limit, thereby increasing airflow through the oil coolers and the engine bay”, as discussed by Laborie, Col. 2, Lines 8-10.
Regarding claim 18, Laborie further discloses further comprising a cooling shroud and a local controller configured to perform a method for cooling an internal- combustion engine of a hybrid power unit, the method comprising: receiving, at an airflow controller, a temperature value for the internal-combustion engine of the hybrid power unit; comparing, at the airflow controller, the temperature value to a stored engine temperature set point; generating, at the airflow controller, a signal for adjusting an airflow through the cooling shroud based at least in part on the comparing the temperature value to the stored engine temperature set point; sending, by the airflow controller, the signal to an airflow control actuator to adjust a valve position for at least one of a variable inlet or a variable outlet to the cooling shroud; and displacing air through the cooling shroud and over the internal-combustion engine to bring the temperature value within a preset range of the stored engine temperature set point (“said cooling and ventilation system further comprising means for regulating air flow from said heat exchanger through said bay such that nacelle cooling and ventilation flows are held to a minimum; wherein said regulating means includes adjustable louver means mounted on said heat exchanger and temperature sensing means for positioning said louver means to increase or decrease air flow to said nacelle whereby bay temperature of oil cooled by said heat exchanger is maintained within a predetermined range; and wherein said louver means is oriented to discharge cooling air toward a forward portion of said nacelle before the cooling air is drawn rearwardly through said annular passage.”, Claim 1; “A fire shut-off solenoid 80 actuates a rod 81 which pivots a connecting pin 82 that extends between the temperature controlled actuator 78 and actuator arm 74. The solenoid 80 is energized by the aircraft power supply and, as shown in FIG. 6, is controlled by propeller gear box low pressure switch 83 (located on line 58) in nacelle 26 and engine fire handle switch 84. Switches 83, 84 are in series and both must be closed to energize solenoid 80. In the preferred embodiment, the temperature controlled actuator 78 includes a thermostatic organic wax element which expands and contracts to displace the pivot pin 82 sidewardly against the actuator arm 74. Counter-clockwise pivotal motion of the arm 74 causes the rod 70 to be depressed upwardly in FIG. 5 to pivot the louvers to a generally open position as shown in FIG. 4. Conversely, a decrease in temperature causes a sideward movement of the pin 82 allowing the arm 74 to pivot clockwise, thereby moving the rod 70 downwardly in FIG. 5 to close the louvers 66. The actuator 78 is adjusted to position the louvers so that oil temperature in the propeller gear box 16 is maintained below 165.degree. F. and typically between 145.degree. F. and 165.degree. F.”, Col. 4, Lines 46-68).
Regarding claim 22, further comprising a cooling shroud extending over the internal-combustion engine and defining a shroud inlet and a cooling shroud outlet; a cooling fan driven by the internal-combustion engine and configured to displace air through the cooling shroud and over the internal-combustion engine and through the cooling shroud outlet thereby providing cooling and additional thrust; and a local controller configured to perform a method for cooling an internal-combustion engine of a hybrid power unit, the method comprising: receiving, at an airflow controller, a temperature value for the internal-combustion engine of the hybrid power unit; comparing, at the airflow controller, the temperature value to a stored engine temperature set point; generating, at the airflow controller, a signal for adjusting an airflow through the cooling shroud based at least in part on the comparing the temperature value to the stored engine temperature set point; sending, by the airflow controller, the signal to an airflow control actuator to adjust a valve position for at least one of a variable inlet or a variable outlet to the cooling shroud; and displacing air through the cooling shroud and over the internal-combustion engine to bring the temperature value within a preset range of the stored engine temperature set point (Structure shown in Figs. 1-11; “said cooling and ventilation system further comprising means for regulating air flow from said heat exchanger through said bay such that nacelle cooling and ventilation flows are held to a minimum; wherein said regulating means includes adjustable louver means mounted on said heat exchanger and temperature sensing means for positioning said louver means to increase or decrease air flow to said nacelle whereby bay temperature of oil cooled by said heat exchanger is maintained within a predetermined range; and wherein said louver means is oriented to discharge cooling air toward a forward portion of said nacelle before the cooling air is drawn rearwardly through said annular passage.”, Claim 1; “A fire shut-off solenoid 80 actuates a rod 81 which pivots a connecting pin 82 that extends between the temperature controlled actuator 78 and actuator arm 74. The solenoid 80 is energized by the aircraft power supply and, as shown in FIG. 6, is controlled by propeller gear box low pressure switch 83 (located on line 58) in nacelle 26 and engine fire handle switch 84. Switches 83, 84 are in series and both must be closed to energize solenoid 80. In the preferred embodiment, the temperature controlled actuator 78 includes a thermostatic organic wax element which expands and contracts to displace the pivot pin 82 sidewardly against the actuator arm 74. Counter-clockwise pivotal motion of the arm 74 causes the rod 70 to be depressed upwardly in FIG. 5 to pivot the louvers to a generally open position as shown in FIG. 4. Conversely, a decrease in temperature causes a sideward movement of the pin 82 allowing the arm 74 to pivot clockwise, thereby moving the rod 70 downwardly in FIG. 5 to close the louvers 66. The actuator 78 is adjusted to position the louvers so that oil temperature in the propeller gear box 16 is maintained below 165.degree. F. and typically between 145.degree. F. and 165.degree. F.”, Col. 4, Lines 46-68).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies upon Beasley (US 2002/0084120 A1) for the matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/S.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647