DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 3-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. It is noted that applicant cancelled previous claims 1-2 and has replaced them with new claims 3-22. The rejection of claims 3-22 has set forth as below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-22 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wust (US 20170009917 A1), Bridgstock (GB 2530080 A), Gronstedt (US 3843167 A), and Ochiai (JP 2005016722 A).
As to claim 3, Wust discloses a method of producing a joint between a first pipe element and a second pipe element using a clamping sleeve (“the plug-type sleeve referred to as a whole with M”), the clamping sleeve being configured to receive ends of the first pipe element (“pipe 1”) and the second pipe element (“pipe 2”) and having a connection point (“connection 160”) for applying a fluid pressure medium to the clamping sleeve, the method comprising:
controlling a supply of fluid (“pressure medium container 170”) that supplies the fluid pressure medium to the connection point of the clamping sleeve, thereby producing a clamping effect of the clamping sleeve on the first pipe element and the second pipe element (“A fluid pressure medium can be supplied from a pressure medium container 170 into the chamber 130 of the plug-type sleeve via the connection 160 (e.g., via a line 171)”).
See especially paragraphs 0050 and 0057-59, disclosing:
[0050] Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, the plug-type sleeve referred to as a whole with M, is designed and configured on the end section 1a of a pipe 1. It includes a first end 100 with an opening 110, through which an end section 2a of a pipe 2 that is to be connected to the plug-type sleeve M is fitted into the plug-type sleeve up to a stop collar 111 made in the latter. A circumferential groove 120 with an annular collar 121 and a circumferential surface 122 as well as a circumferential chamber 130 are made in the end 100 with an annular lateral boundary surface 131 and a circumferential surface 132. A clamping element in the form of an O-ring 140 that includes (e.g., consists of) an elastomeric (or other) material is inserted into the groove 120, which material is supported on the collar 121 and the circumferential surface 122 of the groove 120. An essentially sleeve-like tightening element that is referred to as a whole with 150 is arranged in the chamber 130, which element extends in longitudinal direction from the lateral boundary surface 131 of the chamber 130 to the O-ring 140. The O-ring 140 and the sleeve-like tightening element 150 surround the end section 2a of the pipe 2 that is located in the plug-type sleeve. A connection 160 for a fluid pressure medium is arranged outside on the end 100 of the plug-type sleeve, which connection empties into the chamber 130 via a hole 161. A fluid pressure medium can be supplied from a pressure medium container 170 into the chamber 130 of the plug-type sleeve via the connection 160 (e.g., via a line 171). Instead of the pressure medium container, a suitable pressure medium pump or a compressor can also be provided.
[0057] As is evident from FIGS. 1 and 2, the links 153 and 154 are located in their areas linked to the carrier rings at a small radial distance via the end section 2a of the pipe 2. This makes it possible for the jacket of the tightening element 150 formed by the links 153 and 154 to be still slightly further radially-inward deformed via the dead-center configuration, until the links 153 and 154 line up on the outer surface of the end section 2a of the pipe 2. In this case, the links 153 and 154 are at a slight angle to one another. In this position of the links 153 and 154, the configuration of the tightening element is essentially slightly curved or bent in the shape of a cushion. This configuration of the tightening element is referred to below as the end configuration. Since the end configuration of the tightening element 150 deviates only slightly from the dead-center configuration, the overall length of the tightening element in this end configuration is also only slightly smaller than in its dead-center configuration. This in turn has the result that the axial pressing force exerted by the tightening element 150 on the O-ring 140 is only insignificantly smaller, and the molding force exerted by the O-ring on the end section 2a of the pipe 2 is thus virtually unimpaired. FIG. 2 shows the plug-type sleeve in the activated or clamped state, in which the tightening element 150 occupies its end configuration. FIG. 4 shows the tightening element 150 in this end configuration.
[0058] A type of elbow lever system, which imparts a snap function to the tightening element 150, is formed by the special design and arrangement of the links 153 and 154. This means that the tightening element 150 is deformed abruptly into its end configuration as soon as the inward deformation produced by the pressure medium has gone somewhat beyond the dead-center configuration. The end configuration is stable, and the tightening element remains in this end configuration without imposing a force externally, so that for maintaining the connection, imposing the pressure medium on it is no longer necessary.
[0059] As can be seen in particular from FIG. 2, the plug-type sleeve M is provided with an indicator that indicates in what state the tightening element is located. The indicator is designed here as a pin 180, which rises on the jacket of the tightening element 150, formed by the links 153 and 154, and extends radially outward into the opening 161. With the tightening element 150 (FIG. 1) in the non-activated state, the pin 180 projects far enough through the opening 161 that it can be seen from the outside. In the activated state of the tightening element 150 (FIG. 2), it is located further inward and cannot be seen. Instead of the indicator 180, e.g., the connection 160, as shown in FIG. 8, can be provided with a seal 162, which is removed or broken for the purpose of admitting a pressure medium.
See also Figure 1, below:
See also paragraphs 0062-64:
[0062] FIG. 6 shows an exemplary embodiment of the plug-type sleeve according to the present disclosure, in which the plug-type sleeve M is designed and configured as a separate part and connects two pipes 3 and 4.
[0063] According to this embodiment, the plug-type sleeve M includes two ends 100 and 200, which are designed and equipped identically to the end 100 of the plug-type sleeve according to FIGS. 1 and 2. The two ends 100 and 200 are arranged in mirror image and made in one piece. As an alternative, the two ends could also be designed as separate parts, and are connected to one another in a suitable way. The two ends 100 and 200 have a common through opening 110, into which one end section each 3a and 4a of the pipes 3 or 4 to be connected is fitted from opposite sides. Since the ends 100 and 200 of the plug-type sleeve are designed, configured and equipped identically to the end 100 shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, parts with the same function are also referred to with the same reference numbers as in FIGS. 1 and 2.
[0064] The admission of a pressure medium is carried out in this embodiment via two separate connections 160 arranged each at one of the ends 100 and 200. The chambers 130 of the two ends could also, however, be connected in a communicating manner, whereby then a single common connection would suffice for the admission of the pressure medium.
See Figure 6, below:
Wust does not disclose the full limitation of detecting information for identifying the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and the clamping sleeve; determining, based on the detected information, a target pressure profile over time of the fluid pressure medium to be applied to the clamping sleeve via the connection point; and controlling a valve based on the target pressure profile over time such that the valve supplies the fluid pressure medium to the connection point of the clamping sleeve according to the target pressure profile over time, thereby producing a clamping effect of the clamping sleeve on the first pipe element and the second pipe element.
However, Bridgstock, Gronstedt and Ochiai as combined would disclose and make obvious the additional limitations of detecting information for identifying the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and the clamping sleeve; determining, based on the detected information, a target pressure profile over time of the fluid pressure medium to be applied to the clamping sleeve via the connection point; and controlling a valve based on the target pressure profile over time such that the valve supplies the fluid pressure medium to the connection point of the clamping sleeve according to the target pressure profile over time, thereby producing a clamping effect of the clamping sleeve on the first pipe element and the second pipe element.
Bridgstock discloses detecting information for identifying the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and the clamping sleeve. Although most of Bridgstock is directed to electrofusion joints, the analysis techniques can be extended to any group of pipe joints (see page 2, lines 30-32, disclosing “During completion of the joint the parts to be joined are joined together to form a joint, for example by electrofusion, welding, bonding or other methods.”) Bridgstock teaches the use of barcodes. See page 4, lines 24-32, disclosing:
Component recognition may be conducted be analysing a variety of features of the component such as shape, relative size and/or colour. In a preferred embodiment at least some of the components include identifying indicia, such as alphanumeric codes, bar codes, images, or the like, that can be captured in an image. More preferably, identifying the one or more components comprises identifying a barcode, QR code or other identifying feature which indicates the type, size or any other property of the one or more components. As images of the assembly are captured and analysed by image recognition software, visual identifiers can also be analysed by the software to avoid a system operator having to manually identify the components, which can introduce further human error.
Bridgstock also discloses determining, based on the detected information, an operating condition to be applied to the clamping sleeve via the connection point. See page 9, line 33 to page 10, line 10, disclosing:
Each component to be joined (in the illustrated embodiment, the pipes 16,18 and the fitting 14) features an indicator barcode 30,32,34 that is scanned by an auxiliary scanning device (not shown) to provide information about the components to be joined to the electrofusion control box 12. Alternatively, a portable computing device 44, which features an imaging device, can capture images of the barcodes, or the entire joint sub-assembly to identify the components. The control algorithms of the control box 12 calculate the correct current to be applied to the internal wiring system, the time for which the current must be applied, and the cooling time needed to allow the joint to set after heating. The data regarding the components that is required to calculate or look up the correct current, application time and cooling time can be accessed from a processing device 50 containing a database 52 or from a database internal to the control box 12. The control box 12 has output leads 40,42 which are connected to the fitting terminals 36,38, through which current can be applied to the internal wiring system. When the components have been scanned and the correct current, application time and cooling time have been calculated, the electrofusion process is ready to be initiated.
Gronstedt and Ochiai disclose and make obvious controlling a valve based on the target pressure profile over time such that the valve supplies the fluid pressure medium to the connection point of the clamping sleeve according to the target pressure profile over time, thereby producing a clamping effect of the clamping sleeve on the first pipe element and the second pipe element, especially in combination with Bridgstock. Gronstedt, for example, discloses a coupling 10 with valves 16, 18, 20 and 22 which control the pressure. See column 2, lines 21-35, disclosing:
Referring now to FIG. 2, the reference numeral 10 generally designates the coupling of the present invention, which is here shown with pipes 12 and 14 inserted therein. Appropriately fastened to the coupling 10 are valves 16, 18, 20 and 22, which are utilized for controlling the input of hydraulic fluid for actuation of a coupling, and for the bleeding of air from, as will be more fully described hereinafter.
Referring now to FIG. 1, it is seen that the coupling 10 generally includes an elongate cylindrical tubular body 24, whose inside diameter 26 is somewhat larger than the outside diameter 28 of the pipe 14 inserted therein. This clearance may be on the order of a quarter inch when dealing with pipe of 9-inch outside diameter.
See also Figure 1, below:
Ochiai discloses controlling a valve based on the target pressure profile over time such that the valve (in Ochiai, a “three-way switching valve 42”) supplies the fluid pressure medium to the connection point of the clamping sleeve according to the target pressure profile over time (“the pressure of the working fluid chamber is automatically set to the target value”; “By keeping such a record, it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure 16 over time”), thereby producing a clamping effect of the clamping sleeve (“state of the seal structure”) on the first pipe element and the second pipe element. The Ochaia pressure and clamping effect would be an operating condition. Ochiai discloses in the translation that:
In such a tube connection structure configured according to this aspect, for example, by monitoring the detection value by the pressure detection means at all times or every appropriate time, the occurrence of any malfunction can be promptly performed. It is also possible to detect and deal with it. In addition, it is possible to easily check the pressure of the working fluid chamber according to changes in various conditions and adjust the pressure based on the detected value. In particular, by using the detection signal of the pressure detection means in this aspect to configure a control system that controls the supply and discharge of the pressure fluid to and from the working fluid chamber, the pressure of the working fluid chamber is automatically set to the target value. It is also possible to adjust to.
Ochiai discloses later in the translation that:
Alternatively, for example, the pressure sensor 44 continuously detects the pressure in the hollow tube 32 while maintaining the state where the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42. Then, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 is input to the controller, and compared with the target pressure value preset in the controller, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 falls within a predetermined error range with respect to the target pressure value. Then, the three-way switching valve 42 is switched. Accordingly, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is appropriately switched between the air pressure source 38 and the atmosphere, and feedback is performed so that the pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is continuously maintained at the target pressure value. It can also be controlled.
As a result, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a higher level and with higher reliability so as to have a predetermined positive pressure. The seal is held.
Alternatively, the detection value of the pressure sensor 44 may be taken at an appropriate interval and recorded. By keeping such a record, it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure 16 over time.
See, for example, all figures, such as Figures 1, 2, 5 and 6, reprinted below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of detecting information for identifying the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and the clamping sleeve; determining, based on the detected information, a target pressure profile over time of the fluid pressure medium to be applied to the clamping sleeve via the connection point; and controlling a valve based on the target pressure profile over time such that the valve supplies the fluid pressure medium to the connection point of the clamping sleeve according to the target pressure profile over time, thereby producing a clamping effect of the clamping sleeve on the first pipe element and the second pipe element by utilizing the teachings of Bridgstock, Gronstedt and Ochiai as combined with Wust in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also avoids a system operator having to manually identify the components, which can introduce further human error and make it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time.
As to claim 4, Wust does not disclose wherein the information for identifying the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and the clamping sleeve comprises material properties and/or dimensions of the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and the clamping sleeve.
However, Bridgstone discloses wherein the information for identifying the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and the clamping sleeve comprises material properties and/or dimensions of the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and the clamping sleeve. See page 4, lines 24-32, disclosing:
Component recognition may be conducted be analysing a variety of features of the component such as shape, relative size and/or colour. In a preferred embodiment at least some of the components include identifying indicia, such as alphanumeric codes, bar codes, images, or the like, that can be captured in an image. More preferably, identifying the one or more components comprises identifying a barcode, QR code or other identifying feature which indicates the type, size or any other property of the one or more components. As images of the assembly are captured and analysed by image recognition software, visual identifiers can also be analysed by the software to avoid a system operator having to manually identify the components, which can introduce further human error.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of wherein the information for identifying the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and the clamping sleeve comprises material properties and/or dimensions of the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and the clamping sleeve by utilizing the teachings of Bridgstock as combined with Wust (and Gronstedt and Ochiai) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also avoids a system operator having to manually identify the components, which can introduce further human error.
As to claim 5, Wust does not disclose wherein the detecting information comprises reading a barcode or RFID tag attached to the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and/or the clamping sleeve.
However, Bridgstone discloses wherein the detecting information comprises reading a barcode or RFID tag attached to the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and/or the clamping sleeve. See page 4, lines 24-32, disclosing:
Component recognition may be conducted be analysing a variety of features of the component such as shape, relative size and/or colour. In a preferred embodiment at least some of the components include identifying indicia, such as alphanumeric codes, bar codes, images, or the like, that can be captured in an image. More preferably, identifying the one or more components comprises identifying a barcode, QR code or other identifying feature which indicates the type, size or any other property of the one or more components. As images of the assembly are captured and analysed by image recognition software, visual identifiers can also be analysed by the software to avoid a system operator having to manually identify the components, which can introduce further human error.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of wherein the detecting information comprises reading a barcode or RFID tag attached to the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and/or the clamping sleeve by utilizing the teachings of Bridgstock as combined with Wust (and Gronstedt and Ochiai) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also avoids a system operator having to manually identify the components, which can introduce further human error.
As to claim 6, Wust does not disclose wherein the target pressure profile over time is determined by a control unit of a pipe joint applicator with a control device.
However, Ochiai as applied above discloses and makes obvious wherein the target pressure profile over time is determined by a control unit of a pipe joint applicator with a control device (“a control system that controls the supply and discharge”; “the controller”). Ochiai uses a pressure target value and detects this value over time. Ochiai discloses in the translation that:
In such a tube connection structure configured according to this aspect, for example, by monitoring the detection value by the pressure detection means at all times or every appropriate time, the occurrence of any malfunction can be promptly performed. It is also possible to detect and deal with it. In addition, it is possible to easily check the pressure of the working fluid chamber according to changes in various conditions and adjust the pressure based on the detected value. In particular, by using the detection signal of the pressure detection means in this aspect to configure a control system that controls the supply and discharge of the pressure fluid to and from the working fluid chamber, the pressure of the working fluid chamber is automatically set to the target value. It is also possible to adjust to.
Ochiai discloses later in the translation that:
Alternatively, for example, the pressure sensor 44 continuously detects the pressure in the hollow tube 32 while maintaining the state where the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42. Then, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 is input to the controller, and compared with the target pressure value preset in the controller, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 falls within a predetermined error range with respect to the target pressure value. Then, the three-way switching valve 42 is switched. Accordingly, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is appropriately switched between the air pressure source 38 and the atmosphere, and feedback is performed so that the pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is continuously maintained at the target pressure value. It can also be controlled.
As a result, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a higher level and with higher reliability so as to have a predetermined positive pressure. The seal is held.
Alternatively, the detection value of the pressure sensor 44 may be taken at an appropriate interval and recorded. By keeping such a record, it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure 16 over time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of wherein the target pressure profile over time is determined by a control unit of a pipe joint applicator with a control device by utilizing the teachings of Ochiai as combined with Wust (and with Bridgstock and Gronstedt) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also avoids a system operator having to manually identify the components, which can introduce further human error and make it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time.
As to claim 7, Wust does not disclose wherein the target pressure profile over time comprises a pressure pulse.
However, Ochiai as applied above makes obvious wherein the target pressure profile over time comprises a pressure pulse. Ochiai uses a pressure target value and detects this value over time, and teaches in the translation that “when pressure is applied to the working fluid chamber”. The application of pressure to the working fluid chamber would be an example of a discrete pressure being applied and would read on or alternatively would make obvious that the pressure is a pulse. Ochiai discloses in the translation that:
In such a tube connection structure configured according to this aspect, for example, by monitoring the detection value by the pressure detection means at all times or every appropriate time, the occurrence of any malfunction can be promptly performed. It is also possible to detect and deal with it. In addition, it is possible to easily check the pressure of the working fluid chamber according to changes in various conditions and adjust the pressure based on the detected value. In particular, by using the detection signal of the pressure detection means in this aspect to configure a control system that controls the supply and discharge of the pressure fluid to and from the working fluid chamber, the pressure of the working fluid chamber is automatically set to the target value. It is also possible to adjust to.
Ochiai discloses later in the translation that:
Alternatively, for example, the pressure sensor 44 continuously detects the pressure in the hollow tube 32 while maintaining the state where the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42. Then, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 is input to the controller, and compared with the target pressure value preset in the controller, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 falls within a predetermined error range with respect to the target pressure value. Then, the three-way switching valve 42 is switched. Accordingly, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is appropriately switched between the air pressure source 38 and the atmosphere, and feedback is performed so that the pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is continuously maintained at the target pressure value. It can also be controlled.
As a result, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a higher level and with higher reliability so as to have a predetermined positive pressure. The seal is held.
Alternatively, the detection value of the pressure sensor 44 may be taken at an appropriate interval and recorded. By keeping such a record, it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure 16 over time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of wherein the target pressure profile over time comprises a pressure pulse by utilizing the teachings of Ochiai as combined with Wust (and with Bridgstock and Gronstedt) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also makes it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time.
As to claim 8, Wust discloses wherein the fluid pressure medium comprises compressed air. See, for example, paragraph 0055, disclosing in part that “The pressure medium, which can for example, be compressed air, is to this end introduced into the chamber 130 via the connection 160.”
Wust, however, does not disclose a valve and thus does not disclose that the valve comprises a compressed-air valve.
However, Ochiai discloses both that the fluid pressure medium comprises compressed air and that the valve comprises a compressed-air valve. See the translation, disclosing:
The pressure fluid supply / discharge device 37 includes a known air pressure source 38 configured by combining a compressor, an accumulator, and a pressure adjusting mechanism. The air pressure source 38 is configured to supply preset substantially constant pressure air from its output port. The supply / exhaust fitting 34 of the seal structure 16 is connected to the output port of the air pressure source 38 by the air pressure line 40.
Further, an electromagnetic switching type three-way switching valve 42 is disposed on the pneumatic pipe line 40, and the internal space (working fluid chamber) of the hollow tube 32 according to the switching operation and opening / closing adjustment operation of the three-way switching valve 42. On the other hand, the air pressure source and the atmosphere are selectively connected.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized both that the fluid pressure medium comprises compressed air and that the valve comprises a compressed-air valve by utilizing the teachings of Ochiai as combined with Wust (and with Bridgstock and Gronstedt) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also makes it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time.
As to claim 9, Wust does not disclose wherein the compressed-air valve is electrically, pneumatically, or hydraulically operable.
However, Ochiai discloses and makes obvious wherein the compressed-air valve is electrically, pneumatically, or hydraulically operable. See the Ochiai translation, disclosing and electrically operable valve (“disclose wherein the compressed-air valve is electrically, pneumatically, or hydraulically operable.”):
The pressure fluid supply / discharge device 37 includes a known air pressure source 38 configured by combining a compressor, an accumulator, and a pressure adjusting mechanism. The air pressure source 38 is configured to supply preset substantially constant pressure air from its output port. The supply / exhaust fitting 34 of the seal structure 16 is connected to the output port of the air pressure source 38 by the air pressure line 40.
Further, an electromagnetic switching type three-way switching valve 42 is disposed on the pneumatic pipe line 40, and the internal space (working fluid chamber) of the hollow tube 32 according to the switching operation and opening / closing adjustment operation of the three-way switching valve 42. On the other hand, the air pressure source and the atmosphere are selectively connected.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the compressed-air valve is electrically, pneumatically, or hydraulically operable by utilizing the teachings of Ochiai as combined with Wust (and with Bridgstock and Gronstedt) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also makes it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time.
As to claim 10, Wust discloses wherein the compressed air is supplied from a compressed-air reservoir (“pressure medium container 170”) via a compressed-air hose (“line 171”) or from a compressed-air cartridge or from a compressor (“a compressor”). See paragraph 0050, disclosing:
A fluid pressure medium can be supplied from a pressure medium container 170 into the chamber 130 of the plug-type sleeve via the connection 160 (e.g., via a line 171). Instead of the pressure medium container, a suitable pressure medium pump or a compressor can also be provided.
Similarly, Ochiai as incorporated also discloses wherein the compressed air is supplied from a compressed-air reservoir via a compressed-air hose (“air pressure line 40”) or from a compressed-air cartridge or from a compressor (“a compressor”). See the translation, disclosing:
The pressure fluid supply / discharge device 37 includes a known air pressure source 38 configured by combining a compressor, an accumulator, and a pressure adjusting mechanism. The air pressure source 38 is configured to supply preset substantially constant pressure air from its output port. The supply / exhaust fitting 34 of the seal structure 16 is connected to the output port of the air pressure source 38 by the air pressure line 40.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the compressed air is supplied from a compressed-air reservoir via a compressed-air hose or from a compressed-air cartridge or from a compressor by utilizing the teaching of a compressor from Ochiai as combined with Wust (and with Bridgstock and Gronstedt) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also makes it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time.
As to claim 11, Wust does not disclose wherein the valve is configured to control a flow rate and/or a pressure of the fluid pressure medium supplied to the clamping sleeve.
Ochiai however discloses and makes obvious wherein the valve is configured to control a flow rate and/or a pressure of the fluid pressure medium supplied to the clamping sleeve. Ochiai discloses in the translation that:
In such a tube connection structure configured according to this aspect, for example, by monitoring the detection value by the pressure detection means at all times or every appropriate time, the occurrence of any malfunction can be promptly performed. It is also possible to detect and deal with it. In addition, it is possible to easily check the pressure of the working fluid chamber according to changes in various conditions and adjust the pressure based on the detected value. In particular, by using the detection signal of the pressure detection means in this aspect to configure a control system that controls the supply and discharge of the pressure fluid to and from the working fluid chamber, the pressure of the working fluid chamber is automatically set to the target value. It is also possible to adjust to.
Ochiai discloses later in the translation that:
Alternatively, for example, the pressure sensor 44 continuously detects the pressure in the hollow tube 32 while maintaining the state where the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42. Then, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 is input to the controller, and compared with the target pressure value preset in the controller, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 falls within a predetermined error range with respect to the target pressure value. Then, the three-way switching valve 42 is switched. Accordingly, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is appropriately switched between the air pressure source 38 and the atmosphere, and feedback is performed so that the pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is continuously maintained at the target pressure value. It can also be controlled.
As a result, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a higher level and with higher reliability so as to have a predetermined positive pressure. The seal is held.
Alternatively, the detection value of the pressure sensor 44 may be taken at an appropriate interval and recorded. By keeping such a record, it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure 16 over time.
The control of the pressure to maintain a target pressure value would naturally changes flow rate, and therefore Ochiai valve 42 controls both a flow rate and a pressure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of wherein the valve is configured to control a flow rate and/or a pressure of the fluid pressure medium supplied to the clamping sleeve by utilizing the teachings of Ochiai as combined with Wust (and with Bridgstock and Gronstedt) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also makes it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time.
As to claim 12, Wust discloses wherein the clamping sleeve comprises a plug-in sleeve having a clamping element configured to be coupled in thrust in a longitudinal direction of the plug-in sleeve. See the abstract, disclosing:
The plug-type sleeve includes a substantially sleeve-like clamping element, which can be coupled to the annular seal in the longitudinal direction of the plug-type sleeve to shear, for axial compression and resulting radial constriction of the annular seal, wherein the clamping element is formed and designed such that external application of a fluid pressure medium causes axial extension of the clamping element.
See also paragraph 0050, disclosing:
[0050] Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, the plug-type sleeve referred to as a whole with M, is designed and configured on the end section 1a of a pipe 1. It includes a first end 100 with an opening 110, through which an end section 2a of a pipe 2 that is to be connected to the plug-type sleeve M is fitted into the plug-type sleeve up to a stop collar 111 made in the latter. A circumferential groove 120 with an annular collar 121 and a circumferential surface 122 as well as a circumferential chamber 130 are made in the end 100 with an annular lateral boundary surface 131 and a circumferential surface 132. A clamping element in the form of an O-ring 140 that includes (e.g., consists of) an elastomeric (or other) material is inserted into the groove 120, which material is supported on the collar 121 and the circumferential surface 122 of the groove 120. An essentially sleeve-like tightening element that is referred to as a whole with 150 is arranged in the chamber 130, which element extends in longitudinal direction from the lateral boundary surface 131 of the chamber 130 to the O-ring 140. The O-ring 140 and the sleeve-like tightening element 150 surround the end section 2a of the pipe 2 that is located in the plug-type sleeve. A connection 160 for a fluid pressure medium is arranged outside on the end 100 of the plug-type sleeve, which connection empties into the chamber 130 via a hole 161. A fluid pressure medium can be supplied from a pressure medium container 170 into the chamber 130 of the plug-type sleeve via the connection 160 (e.g., via a line 171). Instead of the pressure medium container, a suitable pressure medium pump or a compressor can also be provided.
As to claim 13, Wust discloses wherein the clamping effect comprises a clamping action in the form of a snap-on function exerted by the clamping element on the first pipe element and the second pipe element. See paragraph 0037, 0058, disclosing the snap function:
[0037] According to another exemplary aspect disclosed herein, the tightening element has a snap function, whereby the tightening element switches stepwise from its dead-center configuration into its end configuration and remains in the latter without a force being imposed externally.
…
[0058] A type of elbow lever system, which imparts a snap function to the tightening element 150, is formed by the special design and arrangement of the links 153 and 154. This means that the tightening element 150 is deformed abruptly into its end configuration as soon as the inward deformation produced by the pressure medium has gone somewhat beyond the dead-center configuration. The end configuration is stable, and the tightening element remains in this end configuration without imposing a force externally, so that for maintaining the connection, imposing the pressure medium on it is no longer necessary.
As to claim 14, Wust does not disclose further comprising detecting, by a pressure sensor, an actual pressure profile over time of the fluid pressure medium supplied to the clamping sleeve.
However, Ochiai discloses and makes obvious further comprising detecting, by a pressure sensor, an actual pressure profile over time of the fluid pressure medium supplied to the clamping sleeve (“Alternatively, the detection value of the pressure sensor 44 may be taken at an appropriate interval and recorded. By keeping such a record, it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure 16 over time”). See the translation, disclosing:
Furthermore, a pressure sensor 44 as pressure detecting means is mounted on the pneumatic pipe line 40 so as to be positioned closer to the hollow tube 32 than the three-way switching valve 42. The pressure sensor 44 directly detects the air pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32.
In the seal structure 16 having such a structure, for example, the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42, and the predetermined space is set in the internal space of the hollow tube 32. After filling with pressure air and confirming with the pressure sensor 44 that the inside of the hollow tube 32 has reached the target pressure, the three-way switching valve 42 is shut off and the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is kept sealed. It can be shown.
Thereby, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a predetermined positive pressure. Based on this pressure, the seal cylinder 36 is pressed against the pipe bodies 12 and 14 from the outer peripheral surface, The gap between the end faces of the connecting portions of both the tubular bodies 12 and 14 is fluid-tightly sealed.
Alternatively, for example, the pressure sensor 44 continuously detects the pressure in the hollow tube 32 while maintaining the state where the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42. Then, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 is input to the controller, and compared with the target pressure value preset in the controller, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 falls within a predetermined error range with respect to the target pressure value. Then, the three-way switching valve 42 is switched. Accordingly, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is appropriately switched between the air pressure source 38 and the atmosphere, and feedback is performed so that the pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is continuously maintained at the target pressure value. It can also be controlled.
As a result, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a higher level and with higher reliability so as to have a predetermined positive pressure. The seal is held.
Alternatively, the detection value of the pressure sensor 44 may be taken at an appropriate interval and recorded. By keeping such a record, it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure 16 over time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of further comprising detecting, by a pressure sensor, an actual pressure profile over time of the fluid pressure medium supplied to the clamping sleeve by utilizing the teachings of Ochiai as combined with Wust (and with Bridgstock and Gronstedt) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also makes it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time.
As to claim 15, Wust does not disclose wherein the actual pressure profile over time is detected at the connection point of the clamping sleeve or in a cavity of the clamping sleeve.
However, Ochiai discloses and makes obvious further comprising detecting, by a pressure sensor, an actual pressure profile over time of the fluid pressure medium supplied to the clamping sleeve (“a pressure sensor 44 as pressure detecting means is mounted on the pneumatic pipe line 40 so as to be positioned closer to the hollow tube 32 than the three-way switching valve 42.”; “Alternatively, for example, the pressure sensor 44 continuously detects the pressure in the hollow tube 32 while maintaining the state where the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42.”). See the translation, disclosing:
Furthermore, a pressure sensor 44 as pressure detecting means is mounted on the pneumatic pipe line 40 so as to be positioned closer to the hollow tube 32 than the three-way switching valve 42. The pressure sensor 44 directly detects the air pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32.
In the seal structure 16 having such a structure, for example, the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42, and the predetermined space is set in the internal space of the hollow tube 32. After filling with pressure air and confirming with the pressure sensor 44 that the inside of the hollow tube 32 has reached the target pressure, the three-way switching valve 42 is shut off and the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is kept sealed. It can be shown.
Thereby, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a predetermined positive pressure. Based on this pressure, the seal cylinder 36 is pressed against the pipe bodies 12 and 14 from the outer peripheral surface, The gap between the end faces of the connecting portions of both the tubular bodies 12 and 14 is fluid-tightly sealed.
Alternatively, for example, the pressure sensor 44 continuously detects the pressure in the hollow tube 32 while maintaining the state where the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42. Then, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 is input to the controller, and compared with the target pressure value preset in the controller, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 falls within a predetermined error range with respect to the target pressure value. Then, the three-way switching valve 42 is switched. Accordingly, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is appropriately switched between the air pressure source 38 and the atmosphere, and feedback is performed so that the pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is continuously maintained at the target pressure value. It can also be controlled.
As a result, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a higher level and with higher reliability so as to have a predetermined positive pressure. The seal is held.
Alternatively, the detection value of the pressure sensor 44 may be taken at an appropriate interval and recorded. By keeping such a record, it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure 16 over time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of wherein the actual pressure profile over time is detected at the connection point of the clamping sleeve or in a cavity of the clamping sleeve by utilizing the teachings of Ochiai as combined with Wust (and with Bridgstock and Gronstedt) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also makes it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time.
As to claim 16, Wust does not disclose further comprising controlling the clamping effect by monitoring the actual pressure profile over time in the cavity of the clamping sleeve.
However, Ochiai discloses and makes obvious further comprising controlling the clamping effect by monitoring the actual pressure profile over time in the cavity of the clamping sleeve (“Alternatively, the detection value of the pressure sensor 44 may be taken at an appropriate interval and recorded. By keeping such a record, it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure 16 over time.”). See the translation, disclosing:
Furthermore, a pressure sensor 44 as pressure detecting means is mounted on the pneumatic pipe line 40 so as to be positioned closer to the hollow tube 32 than the three-way switching valve 42. The pressure sensor 44 directly detects the air pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32.
In the seal structure 16 having such a structure, for example, the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42, and the predetermined space is set in the internal space of the hollow tube 32. After filling with pressure air and confirming with the pressure sensor 44 that the inside of the hollow tube 32 has reached the target pressure, the three-way switching valve 42 is shut off and the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is kept sealed. It can be shown.
Thereby, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a predetermined positive pressure. Based on this pressure, the seal cylinder 36 is pressed against the pipe bodies 12 and 14 from the outer peripheral surface, The gap between the end faces of the connecting portions of both the tubular bodies 12 and 14 is fluid-tightly sealed.
Alternatively, for example, the pressure sensor 44 continuously detects the pressure in the hollow tube 32 while maintaining the state where the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42. Then, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 is input to the controller, and compared with the target pressure value preset in the controller, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 falls within a predetermined error range with respect to the target pressure value. Then, the three-way switching valve 42 is switched. Accordingly, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is appropriately switched between the air pressure source 38 and the atmosphere, and feedback is performed so that the pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is continuously maintained at the target pressure value. It can also be controlled.
As a result, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a higher level and with higher reliability so as to have a predetermined positive pressure. The seal is held.
Alternatively, the detection value of the pressure sensor 44 may be taken at an appropriate interval and recorded. By keeping such a record, it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure 16 over time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of further comprising controlling the clamping effect by monitoring the actual pressure profile over time in the cavity of the clamping sleeve by utilizing the teachings of Ochiai as combined with Wust (and with Bridgstock and Gronstedt) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also makes it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time.
As to claim 17, Wust does not disclose further comprising assessing a quality of the joint based on a characteristic point of the actual pressure profile over time or based on acoustic feedback generated during production of the clamping effect. Wust does disclose a clamping effect is used for manufacturing a joint.
However, Ochiai discloses measuring an actual pressure profile over time. See the translation, disclosing:
Furthermore, a pressure sensor 44 as pressure detecting means is mounted on the pneumatic pipe line 40 so as to be positioned closer to the hollow tube 32 than the three-way switching valve 42. The pressure sensor 44 directly detects the air pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32.
In the seal structure 16 having such a structure, for example, the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42, and the predetermined space is set in the internal space of the hollow tube 32. After filling with pressure air and confirming with the pressure sensor 44 that the inside of the hollow tube 32 has reached the target pressure, the three-way switching valve 42 is shut off and the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is kept sealed. It can be shown.
Thereby, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a predetermined positive pressure. Based on this pressure, the seal cylinder 36 is pressed against the pipe bodies 12 and 14 from the outer peripheral surface, The gap between the end faces of the connecting portions of both the tubular bodies 12 and 14 is fluid-tightly sealed.
Alternatively, for example, the pressure sensor 44 continuously detects the pressure in the hollow tube 32 while maintaining the state where the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42. Then, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 is input to the controller, and compared with the target pressure value preset in the controller, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 falls within a predetermined error range with respect to the target pressure value. Then, the three-way switching valve 42 is switched. Accordingly, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is appropriately switched between the air pressure source 38 and the atmosphere, and feedback is performed so that the pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is continuously maintained at the target pressure value. It can also be controlled.
As a result, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a higher level and with higher reliability so as to have a predetermined positive pressure. The seal is held.
Alternatively, the detection value of the pressure sensor 44 may be taken at an appropriate interval and recorded. By keeping such a record, it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure 16 over time.
Additionally, Bridgstock discloses assessing a quality of the joint based on a result of a joining operation (“automatically analysing said features to predict the quality of the completion assembly or the joint”). Although most of Bridgstock is directed to electrofusion joints, the analysis techniques can be extended to any group of pipe joints (see page 2, lines 30-32, disclosing “During completion of the joint the parts to be joined are joined together to form a joint, for example by electrofusion, welding, bonding or other methods.”)
See the abstract, disclosing:
A method of controlling the completion of an electrofusion joint forming part of a completion assembly, for example, for subterranean piping 16, 18 comprising the steps of: capturing, prior to the completion of the joint, data relating to one or more features of the completion assembly that represents the quality of the completion assembly or the joint; automatically analysing said features to predict the quality of the completion assembly or the joint; automatically generating a quality control signal based on the predicted quality of the completion assembly or the joint; and preventing the completion of the joint until an appropriate quality control signal has been received by a control system of the completion assembly. A control apparatus for controlling completion of an electrofusion joint forming part of a completion assembly, the control apparatus comprising a processing device and control box 12 for electrically linking to an electrofusion fitting 14, the control box adapted to prevent completion of an electrofusion joint comprising an electrofusion fitting linked to the control box until an appropriate quality control signal has been received, wherein the quality control signal is automatically generated by the processing device based upon data representative of the quality of the completion assembly or the joint. The pipes 16, 18 may be supported in a clamping rig 24 with clamps 26, 28, each pipe may include a barcode 30, 32, 34 and a portable computing device 44 may feature an imaging device, which can capture images of the barcodes or the entire joint sub-assembly.
See page 3, lines 18-29, disclosing:
Features which can be representative of the quality of a completion assembly or electrofusion joint are the presence of scraping marks on the joint sub-assembly components to be joined, the relative positions, distances and angles between one or more of the assembly components, the compatibility of the components, size and shape of the components, or identifying features of the components, amongst others. Data relating to any combination of these features can be captured to predict the quality of the joint or assembly.
Preferably, the analysing step comprises transmission of data regarding the measured features to a processing device. A dedicated processing device can be remote or local to the control system and can ensure that adequate processing power is available to perform the automatic analysis of the features. Transmission can be wired, wireless, or any other data transmission method. Data regarding the measures characteristics comprises one or more images of the completion assembly, modifications, or derivative data therefrom.
See also claim 1, reciting:
A method of controlling the completion of a joint formed in a completion assembly comprising the steps of: capturing, prior to the completion of the joint, data relating to one or more features of the completion assembly or the joint that represents the quality of the completion assembly or the joint; automatically analysing said features to predict the quality of the completion assembly or the joint; automaticalry generating a quality control signal based on the predicted quality of the completion assembly or the joint; and preventing the completion of the joint until an appropriate quality control signal has been received by a control system of the completion assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of further comprising assessing a quality of the joint based on a characteristic point of the actual pressure profile over time or based on acoustic feedback generated during production of the clamping effect by utilizing the teachings of Bridgstock and Ochiai as combined with Wust (and Gronstedt) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also avoids a system operator having to manually identify the components, which can introduce further human error and make it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time.
As to claim 18, Wust does not disclose further comprising comparing the actual pressure profile over time with a tolerance band for the target pressure profile over time.
However, Ochiai discloses and makes obvious further comprising comparing the actual pressure profile over time with a tolerance band for the target pressure profile over time (“the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 falls within a predetermined error range with respect to the target pressure value ”). See the translation, disclosing:
Furthermore, a pressure sensor 44 as pressure detecting means is mounted on the pneumatic pipe line 40 so as to be positioned closer to the hollow tube 32 than the three-way switching valve 42. The pressure sensor 44 directly detects the air pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32.
In the seal structure 16 having such a structure, for example, the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42, and the predetermined space is set in the internal space of the hollow tube 32. After filling with pressure air and confirming with the pressure sensor 44 that the inside of the hollow tube 32 has reached the target pressure, the three-way switching valve 42 is shut off and the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is kept sealed. It can be shown.
Thereby, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a predetermined positive pressure. Based on this pressure, the seal cylinder 36 is pressed against the pipe bodies 12 and 14 from the outer peripheral surface, The gap between the end faces of the connecting portions of both the tubular bodies 12 and 14 is fluid-tightly sealed.
Alternatively, for example, the pressure sensor 44 continuously detects the pressure in the hollow tube 32 while maintaining the state where the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42. Then, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 is input to the controller, and compared with the target pressure value preset in the controller, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 falls within a predetermined error range with respect to the target pressure value. Then, the three-way switching valve 42 is switched. Accordingly, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is appropriately switched between the air pressure source 38 and the atmosphere, and feedback is performed so that the pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is continuously maintained at the target pressure value. It can also be controlled.
As a result, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a higher level and with higher reliability so as to have a predetermined positive pressure. The seal is held.
Alternatively, the detection value of the pressure sensor 44 may be taken at an appropriate interval and recorded. By keeping such a record, it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure 16 over time.
See also translation, disclosing:
Further, in the first to third embodiments, the pressure sensor 44 for detecting the pressure fluctuation in the hollow tube 32 as the working fluid chamber is provided, but such a pressure sensor 44 may not be provided. Further, the pressure sensor 44 is not necessarily linked to the pressure fluid supply / discharge device 37. For example, the detected pressure is always displayed on the monitor, or when an abnormal pressure fluctuation is detected, a notification means such as an alarm is provided. May be operated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of further comprising comparing the actual pressure profile over time with a tolerance band for the target pressure profile over time by utilizing the teachings of Ochiai as combined with Wust (and with Bridgstock and Gronstedt) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also makes it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time.
As to claim 19, Wust does not disclose further comprising outputting a result of the comparison to a user via a display device.
However, Ochiai discloses and makes obvious further comprising outputting a result of the comparison to a user via a display device (“For example, the detected pressure is always displayed on the monitor”). See also translation, disclosing:
Further, in the first to third embodiments, the pressure sensor 44 for detecting the pressure fluctuation in the hollow tube 32 as the working fluid chamber is provided, but such a pressure sensor 44 may not be provided. Further, the pressure sensor 44 is not necessarily linked to the pressure fluid supply / discharge device 37. For example, the detected pressure is always displayed on the monitor, or when an abnormal pressure fluctuation is detected, a notification means such as an alarm is provided. May be operated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of further comprising outputting a result of the comparison to a user via a display device by utilizing the teachings of Ochiai as combined with Wust (and with Bridgstock and Gronstedt) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also makes it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time.
As to claim 20, Wust does not disclose further comprising documenting a result of the comparison in a data storage device or via a printer.
However, Bridgstock discloses and makes obvious further comprising documenting (“Data captured before or after the completion of the joint may be used to update the database. Therefore, if a predicted quality of the joint does not match the actual quality of the joint after completion, the related data may be stored or updated in the database to provide more accurate predictions of joint quality for future uses of the method or apparatus.”) a result of the comparison in a data storage device (“database”) or via a printer. See page, lines, disclosing:
In a yet more preferable embodiment, the portable computing device can be adapted to perform at least one of:
a) provide feedback or information via a screen or speaker;
b) include the processing device;
c) store the data representative of the quality of the completion assembly;
d) contain the database;
e) receive data from the database; or
f) store information from the database.
The provision of feedback can enable the operator to complete a joint more quickly and efficiently as discussed above. If the portable computing device contains the processing device, one ess component is needed for the completion assembly and the majority of operators will have access to a portable computing device, it should be understood that the portable computing device may be adapted to perform two or more of the above operations in any combination.
If the portable computing device contains, or can receive or store data from, the database, the analysis and generation of the quality control signal can be performed on the device itself.
The invention also provides a portable computing device which comprises software such that it is adapted to form part of the control apparatus described above. Such a portable computing device may further include a database a described to above.
The invention may be used to control joint quality for systems, particularly pipes, used in utility, petrochemical offshore, waste, and chemical applications amongst other.
In both aspects, Further data may be captured relating to the joint or the completion assembly after completion of the joint. An actual quality of the join.t may be measured manually or automatically, possibly based on data captured using the image capture device after completion of the joint, which may be compared to the predicted quality of the joint.
The data captured alter completion may he checked against the actual quality of the joint.
Data captured before or after the completion of the joint may be used to update the database. Therefore, if a predicted quality of the joint does not match the actual quality of the joint after completion, the related data may be stored or updated in the database to provide more accurate predictions of joint quality for future uses of the method or apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of further comprising documenting a result of the comparison in a data storage device or via a printer by utilizing the teachings of Bridgstock as combined with Wust (and with Ochiai and Gronstedt) in order that the related data may be stored or updated in the database to provide more accurate predictions of joint quality for future uses of the method or apparatus.
As to claim 21, Wust does not disclose further comprising detecting personal identification data of a user.
However, Bridgstock discloses and makes obvious further comprising detecting personal identification data of a user (“The image data may also include information relating to the time at which the image was taken, the location at which the image was taken, or the personnel who have captured the image and/or assembled the joint, amongst other factors and any combination thereof”). See page 11, lines 8-20, disclosing:
At the site of the completion assembly 10, which may or may not be remote to the processing device 50, one or more images of the completion assembly 10 or a part thereof are captured by the portable computing device 44, which is also in communication with the processing device 50 either directly through wired or wireless connections or via the control box 12. The images captured by the portable computing device could, in an alternative embodiment, be captured by a further auxiliary image capture device in communication with the processing device 50 or the portable computing device 44. If more than one image is taken of the completion assembly 10, these may be from same perspectives as those reference images of the required assembly. This step of the joining operation will be described in more detail later in this document. The image data may also include information relating to the time at which the image was taken, the location at which the image was taken, or the personnel who have captured the image and/or assembled the joint, amongst other factors and any combination thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of further comprising detecting personal identification data of a user by utilizing the teachings of Bridgstock as combined with Wust (and with Ochiai and Gronstedt) in order that the related data may be stored or updated in the database to provide more accurate predictions of joint quality for future uses of the method or apparatus.
As to claim 22, Wust does not disclose further comprising detecting and storing at least one of a time and a geographical position at a moment of establishment of the joint.
However, Bridgstock discloses and makes obvious further comprising detecting and storing at least one of a time and a geographical position at a moment of establishment of the joint (“The image data may also include information relating to the time at which the image was taken, the location at which the image was taken, or the personnel who have captured the image and/or assembled the joint, amongst other factors and any combination thereof”). See page 11, lines 8-20, disclosing:
At the site of the completion assembly 10, which may or may not be remote to the processing device 50, one or more images of the completion assembly 10 or a part thereof are captured by the portable computing device 44, which is also in communication with the processing device 50 either directly through wired or wireless connections or via the control box 12. The images captured by the portable computing device could, in an alternative embodiment, be captured by a further auxiliary image capture device in communication with the processing device 50 or the portable computing device 44. If more than one image is taken of the completion assembly 10, these may be from same perspectives as those reference images of the required assembly. This step of the joining operation will be described in more detail later in this document. The image data may also include information relating to the time at which the image was taken, the location at which the image was taken, or the personnel who have captured the image and/or assembled the joint, amongst other factors and any combination thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of further comprising detecting and storing at least one of a time and a geographical position at a moment of establishment of the joint by utilizing the teachings of Bridgstock as combined with Wust (and with Ochiai and Gronstedt) in order that the related data may be stored or updated in the database to provide more accurate predictions of joint quality for future uses of the method or apparatus.
Claim(s) 5 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wust (US 20170009917 A1), Bridgstock (GB 2530080 A), Gronstedt (US 3843167 A), and Ochiai (JP 2005016722 A) as applied to claims 3-22 above, and further in view of Kwak (US 20150267852 A1).
As to claim 5, Wust, Bridgstock, Gronstedt, and Ochiai, were applied to make obvious wherein the detecting information comprises reading a barcode or RFID tag attached to the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and/or the clamping sleeve. Bridgstock, especially, has been applied in claim 5 above to make obvious wherein the detecting information comprises reading a barcode or RFID tag attached to the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and/or the clamping sleeve. while making obvious the bar code alternative (see the rejection of claim 5 above), does not disclose the RFID tag alternative. Bridgstone discloses wherein the detecting information comprises reading a barcode or RFID tag attached to the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and/or the clamping sleeve. See page 4, lines 24-32, disclosing:
Component recognition may be conducted be analysing a variety of features of the component such as shape, relative size and/or colour. In a preferred embodiment at least some of the components include identifying indicia, such as alphanumeric codes, bar codes, images, or the like, that can be captured in an image. More preferably, identifying the one or more components comprises identifying a barcode, QR code or other identifying feature which indicates the type, size or any other property of the one or more components. As images of the assembly are captured and analysed by image recognition software, visual identifiers can also be analysed by the software to avoid a system operator having to manually identify the components, which can introduce further human error.
Additionally, Kwak discloses that reading an RFID tag is a known substitute for a barcode when identifying pipe information, such as a diameter. See paragraph 0084, disclosing:
[0084] The material and diameter-identifying unit 930 identifies the material and diameter of an electrofusion coupling pipe. The material and diameter-identifying unit 930 may identify a diameter of an electrofusion coupling pipe by various methods such as using a resistance for material and diameter identification, which is installed on an electrofusion coupling pipe, reading with a reader a bar code or RFID attached to an electrofusion coupling pipe, and allowing a user to directly input the material and diameter information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of wherein the detecting information comprises reading a barcode or RFID tag attached to the first pipe element, the second pipe element, and/or the clamping sleeve by utilizing the teachings of Bridgstock and Kwak as combined with Wust (and Gronstedt and Ochiai) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also avoids a system operator having to manually identify the components, which can introduce further human error and because Kwak discloses that an RFID is a known substitute for a bar code when identifying the material and diameter of an electrofusion coupling pipe.
Claim(s) 9 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wust (US 20170009917 A1), Bridgstock (GB 2530080 A), Gronstedt (US 3843167 A), and Ochiai (JP 2005016722 A) as applied to claims 3-22 above, and further in view of Kimura (US 20030148028 A1).
As to claim 9, Wust does not disclose wherein the compressed-air valve is electrically, pneumatically, or hydraulically operable.
However, Ochiai discloses and makes obvious wherein the compressed-air valve is electrically, pneumatically, or hydraulically operable. See the Ochiai translation, disclosing and electrically operable valve (“disclose wherein the compressed-air valve is electrically, pneumatically, or hydraulically operable.”):
The pressure fluid supply / discharge device 37 includes a known air pressure source 38 configured by combining a compressor, an accumulator, and a pressure adjusting mechanism. The air pressure source 38 is configured to supply preset substantially constant pressure air from its output port. The supply / exhaust fitting 34 of the seal structure 16 is connected to the output port of the air pressure source 38 by the air pressure line 40.
Further, an electromagnetic switching type three-way switching valve 42 is disposed on the pneumatic pipe line 40, and the internal space (working fluid chamber) of the hollow tube 32 according to the switching operation and opening / closing adjustment operation of the three-way switching valve 42. On the other hand, the air pressure source and the atmosphere are selectively connected.
Additionally, Kimura discloses that pneumatic and hydraulic controls are known substitutes for electromagnetic controls. See paragraph 0024, disclosing:
[0024] The regulator of a proper type such as adapted to the variable opening area control for each passage may for example be a flow regulating valve or a pressure regulating valve. The flow regulating valve may be a throttle valve such as a variable orifice valve or a choke valve, or alternatively be a flow adjusting valve, a distributing valve or a converging valve. The pressure regulating valve may be a relief valve, a safety valve, a counter-balance valve, an unloader valve or the like. Although the regulator may be actuated by a fluid pressure such as an oil-hydraulic pressure or a pneumatic pressure, it is more desirable to employ an electromagnetic valve such as a proportional control valve or servo valve.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the compressed-air valve is electrically, pneumatically, or hydraulically operable by utilizing the teachings of Ochiai as combined with Wust (and with Bridgstock and Gronstedt) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also makes it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time, and because Kimura teaches that the compressed-air valve that are electrically, pneumatically, or hydraulically operable are all substitutes for each other.
Claim(s) 10 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wust (US 20170009917 A1), Bridgstock (GB 2530080 A), Gronstedt (US 3843167 A), and Ochiai (JP 2005016722 A) as applied to claims 3-22 above, and further in view of Thackery (US 20190314835 A1).
As to claim 10, Wust discloses wherein the compressed air is supplied from a compressed-air reservoir (“pressure medium container 170”) via a compressed-air hose (“line 171”) or from a compressed-air cartridge or from a compressor (“a compressor”). See paragraph 0050, disclosing:
A fluid pressure medium can be supplied from a pressure medium container 170 into the chamber 130 of the plug-type sleeve via the connection 160 (e.g., via a line 171). Instead of the pressure medium container, a suitable pressure medium pump or a compressor can also be provided.
Similarly, Ochiai as incorporated also discloses wherein the compressed air is supplied from a compressed-air reservoir via a compressed-air hose (“air pressure line 40”) or from a compressed-air cartridge or from a compressor (“a compressor”). See the translation, disclosing:
The pressure fluid supply / discharge device 37 includes a known air pressure source 38 configured by combining a compressor, an accumulator, and a pressure adjusting mechanism. The air pressure source 38 is configured to supply preset substantially constant pressure air from its output port. The supply / exhaust fitting 34 of the seal structure 16 is connected to the output port of the air pressure source 38 by the air pressure line 40.
Additionally, Thackery discloses that it is known to substitute a compressor with a compressed-air cartridge such as a pressurized air cartridge as a source of compressed air. See paragraph 0016.
[0016] In the illustrated embodiment, the spray gun 14 includes an inlet 30 extending rearward from the main body 22 that may be connected to an external source of compressed air 34 (e.g., an air compressor) via an air hose 38. Alternatively, the spray gun 14 may include an inlet at the base of the pistol grip 26, at other locations on the spray gun 14, or an internal inlet that receives air from an internal source of compressed air, such as a pressurized air cartridge, a battery-operated internal compressor, a combustible fuel cartridge, and/or the like.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the compressed air is supplied from a compressed-air reservoir via a compressed-air hose or from a compressed-air cartridge or from a compressor by utilizing the teaching of a compressor from Ochiai as combined with Wust (and with Bridgstock and Gronstedt), and to substitute a compressed air cartridge for a compressor as taught in Thackery in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also makes it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time.
Claim(s) 11 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wust (US 20170009917 A1), Bridgstock (GB 2530080 A), Gronstedt (US 3843167 A), and Ochiai (JP 2005016722 A) as applied to claims 3-22 above, and further in view of Brimm (US 4779848 A)
As to claim 11, Wust does not disclose wherein the valve is configured to control a flow rate and/or a pressure of the fluid pressure medium supplied to the clamping sleeve.
Ochiai however discloses and makes obvious wherein the valve is configured to control a flow rate and/or a pressure of the fluid pressure medium supplied to the clamping sleeve. Ochiai discloses in the translation that:
In such a tube connection structure configured according to this aspect, for example, by monitoring the detection value by the pressure detection means at all times or every appropriate time, the occurrence of any malfunction can be promptly performed. It is also possible to detect and deal with it. In addition, it is possible to easily check the pressure of the working fluid chamber according to changes in various conditions and adjust the pressure based on the detected value. In particular, by using the detection signal of the pressure detection means in this aspect to configure a control system that controls the supply and discharge of the pressure fluid to and from the working fluid chamber, the pressure of the working fluid chamber is automatically set to the target value. It is also possible to adjust to.
Ochiai discloses later in the translation that:
Alternatively, for example, the pressure sensor 44 continuously detects the pressure in the hollow tube 32 while maintaining the state where the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42. Then, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 is input to the controller, and compared with the target pressure value preset in the controller, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 falls within a predetermined error range with respect to the target pressure value. Then, the three-way switching valve 42 is switched. Accordingly, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is appropriately switched between the air pressure source 38 and the atmosphere, and feedback is performed so that the pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is continuously maintained at the target pressure value. It can also be controlled.
As a result, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a higher level and with higher reliability so as to have a predetermined positive pressure. The seal is held.
Alternatively, the detection value of the pressure sensor 44 may be taken at an appropriate interval and recorded. By keeping such a record, it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure 16 over time.
Additionally Brimm discloses that the flow rate is related to the pressure thereacross a valve. See column 5, lines53-60, disclosing:
Referring now most specifically to FIG. 3, the air or other fluid employed to clamp muff 36 to shroud 28 and to conduct heat therefrom is supplied to the muff through a supply pipe 78 and discharged from the muff into a discharge pipe 80. The rate-of-flow of the fluid through the muff and the pressure drop thereacross are controlled by a valve 82 in supply pipe 78 and a valve 84 in discharge pipe 80.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of wherein the valve is configured to control a flow rate and/or a pressure of the fluid pressure medium supplied to the clamping sleeve by utilizing the teachings of Ochiai and Brimm as combined with Wust (and with Bridgstock and Gronstedt) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system that also makes it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time and because Brimm relates the flow rate of liquid and a pressure drop to the control of a valve.
Claim(s) 17 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wust (US 20170009917 A1), Bridgstock (GB 2530080 A), Gronstedt (US 3843167 A), and Ochiai (JP 2005016722 A) as applied to claims 3-22 above, and further in view of Stephens (US 20120041694 A1).
As to claim 17, Wust does not disclose further comprising assessing a quality of the joint based on a characteristic point of the actual pressure profile over time or based on acoustic feedback generated during production of the clamping effect. Wust does disclose a clamping effect is used for manufacturing a joint.
However, Ochiai discloses measuring an actual pressure profile over time. See the translation, disclosing:
Furthermore, a pressure sensor 44 as pressure detecting means is mounted on the pneumatic pipe line 40 so as to be positioned closer to the hollow tube 32 than the three-way switching valve 42. The pressure sensor 44 directly detects the air pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32.
In the seal structure 16 having such a structure, for example, the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42, and the predetermined space is set in the internal space of the hollow tube 32. After filling with pressure air and confirming with the pressure sensor 44 that the inside of the hollow tube 32 has reached the target pressure, the three-way switching valve 42 is shut off and the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is kept sealed. It can be shown.
Thereby, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a predetermined positive pressure. Based on this pressure, the seal cylinder 36 is pressed against the pipe bodies 12 and 14 from the outer peripheral surface, The gap between the end faces of the connecting portions of both the tubular bodies 12 and 14 is fluid-tightly sealed.
Alternatively, for example, the pressure sensor 44 continuously detects the pressure in the hollow tube 32 while maintaining the state where the output port of the air pressure source 38 is connected to the internal space of the hollow tube 32 by the three-way switching valve 42. Then, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 is input to the controller, and compared with the target pressure value preset in the controller, the detection signal of the pressure sensor 44 falls within a predetermined error range with respect to the target pressure value. Then, the three-way switching valve 42 is switched. Accordingly, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is appropriately switched between the air pressure source 38 and the atmosphere, and feedback is performed so that the pressure in the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is continuously maintained at the target pressure value. It can also be controlled.
As a result, the internal space of the hollow tube 32 is maintained at a higher level and with higher reliability so as to have a predetermined positive pressure. The seal is held.
Alternatively, the detection value of the pressure sensor 44 may be taken at an appropriate interval and recorded. By keeping such a record, it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure 16 over time.
Additionally, Bridgstock discloses assessing a quality of the joint based on a result of a joining operation (“automatically analysing said features to predict the quality of the completion assembly or the joint”). Although most of Bridgstock is directed to electrofusion joints, the analysis techniques can be extended to any group of pipe joints (see page 2, lines 30-32, disclosing “During completion of the joint the parts to be joined are joined together to form a joint, for example by electrofusion, welding, bonding or other methods.”)
See the abstract, disclosing:
A method of controlling the completion of an electrofusion joint forming part of a completion assembly, for example, for subterranean piping 16, 18 comprising the steps of: capturing, prior to the completion of the joint, data relating to one or more features of the completion assembly that represents the quality of the completion assembly or the joint; automatically analysing said features to predict the quality of the completion assembly or the joint; automatically generating a quality control signal based on the predicted quality of the completion assembly or the joint; and preventing the completion of the joint until an appropriate quality control signal has been received by a control system of the completion assembly. A control apparatus for controlling completion of an electrofusion joint forming part of a completion assembly, the control apparatus comprising a processing device and control box 12 for electrically linking to an electrofusion fitting 14, the control box adapted to prevent completion of an electrofusion joint comprising an electrofusion fitting linked to the control box until an appropriate quality control signal has been received, wherein the quality control signal is automatically generated by the processing device based upon data representative of the quality of the completion assembly or the joint. The pipes 16, 18 may be supported in a clamping rig 24 with clamps 26, 28, each pipe may include a barcode 30, 32, 34 and a portable computing device 44 may feature an imaging device, which can capture images of the barcodes or the entire joint sub-assembly.
See page 3, lines 18-29, disclosing:
Features which can be representative of the quality of a completion assembly or electrofusion joint are the presence of scraping marks on the joint sub-assembly components to be joined, the relative positions, distances and angles between one or more of the assembly components, the compatibility of the components, size and shape of the components, or identifying features of the components, amongst others. Data relating to any combination of these features can be captured to predict the quality of the joint or assembly.
Preferably, the analysing step comprises transmission of data regarding the measured features to a processing device. A dedicated processing device can be remote or local to the control system and can ensure that adequate processing power is available to perform the automatic analysis of the features. Transmission can be wired, wireless, or any other data transmission method. Data regarding the measures characteristics comprises one or more images of the completion assembly, modifications, or derivative data therefrom.
See also claim 1, reciting:
A method of controlling the completion of a joint formed in a completion assembly comprising the steps of: capturing, prior to the completion of the joint, data relating to one or more features of the completion assembly or the joint that represents the quality of the completion assembly or the joint; automatically analysing said features to predict the quality of the completion assembly or the joint; automaticalry generating a quality control signal based on the predicted quality of the completion assembly or the joint; and preventing the completion of the joint until an appropriate quality control signal has been received by a control system of the completion assembly.
Additionally, Stephens discloses using acoustic signals and feedback for determining pipe quality. See paragraph 0014, disclosing:
[0014] Another method of non-destructive testing involves the transmitting of an acoustic signal along a pipe from a first location and then detecting these same signals at a location farther down the pipe. By noting the average propagation velocity of the acoustic signal as it travels from transmitter to detector, inferences may be drawn as to the average pipe condition along that section of pipe. While this process has the advantages of being non-destructive, it still is only able to provide a cumulative measure of pipe quality over the section being tested between measurement locations and hence is unable to indicate the location where weakness in the pipe wall may occur.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of further comprising assessing a quality of the joint based on a characteristic point of the actual pressure profile over time or based on acoustic feedback generated during production of the clamping effect by utilizing the teachings of Bridgstock and Ochiai as combined with Wust (and Gronstedt) in order to achieve a system control of a clamping system and to provide a cumulative measure of pipe quality over the section being tested between measurement locations by using acoustic feedback that also avoids a system operator having to manually identify the components, which can introduce further human error and make it is possible to efficiently grasp the change and state of the seal structure over time.
Claim(s) 20 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wust (US 20170009917 A1), Bridgstock (GB 2530080 A), Gronstedt (US 3843167 A), and Ochiai (JP 2005016722 A) as applied to claims 3-22 above, and further in view of
As to claim 20, Wust does not disclose further comprising documenting a result of the comparison in a data storage device or via a printer.
However, Bridgstock discloses and makes obvious further comprising documenting (“Data captured before or after the completion of the joint may be used to update the database. Therefore, if a predicted quality of the joint does not match the actual quality of the joint after completion, the related data may be stored or updated in the database to provide more accurate predictions of joint quality for future uses of the method or apparatus.”) a result of the comparison in a data storage device (“database”) or via a printer. See page, lines, disclosing:
In a yet more preferable embodiment, the portable computing device can be adapted to perform at least one of:
a) provide feedback or information via a screen or speaker;
b) include the processing device;
c) store the data representative of the quality of the completion assembly;
d) contain the database;
e) receive data from the database; or
f) store information from the database.
The provision of feedback can enable the operator to complete a joint more quickly and efficiently as discussed above. If the portable computing device contains the processing device, one ess component is needed for the completion assembly and the majority of operators will have access to a portable computing device, it should be understood that the portable computing device may be adapted to perform two or more of the above operations in any combination.
If the portable computing device contains, or can receive or store data from, the database, the analysis and generation of the quality control signal can be performed on the device itself.
The invention also provides a portable computing device which comprises software such that it is adapted to form part of the control apparatus described above. Such a portable computing device may further include a database a described to above.
The invention may be used to control joint quality for systems, particularly pipes, used in utility, petrochemical offshore, waste, and chemical applications amongst other.
In both aspects, Further data may be captured relating to the joint or the completion assembly after completion of the joint. An actual quality of the join.t may be measured manually or automatically, possibly based on data captured using the image capture device after completion of the joint, which may be compared to the predicted quality of the joint.
The data captured alter completion may he checked against the actual quality of the joint.
Data captured before or after the completion of the joint may be used to update the database. Therefore, if a predicted quality of the joint does not match the actual quality of the joint after completion, the related data may be stored or updated in the database to provide more accurate predictions of joint quality for future uses of the method or apparatus.
Additionally, Eggleston discloses that a printer can utilized in additional to a second computer for recording and displaying the information. See page, lines, disclosing:
During and upon completion of the welding process described above, the computer 50 records in its memory the various temperatures, current magnitudes and other variables sensed and determined during the welding process. For example, the computer 50 can record the initial temperature of the heating element and fitting, the size of the fitting, the determined time the constant voltage electric power should be supplied to the fitting, the magnitudes of current flowing over the time constant voltage electric power is supplied to the heating element of the fitting, the final temperature of the heating element, and the total time the constant voltage electric power is supplied to the heating element. Such recorded information can be communicated to a second computer 74 at a remote location by way of the communication interface 69 and a modem 72 connected thereto. The information can be printed by a printer 76 connected to the computer 74 or utilized in any other desired way. If the supply of electric power is terminated as a result of the welding process proceeding abnormally, the nature of the abnormality will be apparent from the recorded information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the additional limitations of further comprising documenting a result of the comparison in a data storage device or via a printer by utilizing the teachings of Bridgstock and Eggleston as combined with Wust (and with Ochiai and Gronstedt) in order that the related data may be stored or updated in the database to provide more accurate predictions of joint quality for future uses of the method or apparatus and printed by a printer if needed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK