DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent No.: US 8,141,157 B2 to Farley et al(hereafter referenced as Farley) in view of Patent No.: US 7,463,590 B2 to Mualem et al(hereafter referenced as Mualem).
Regarding claim 1, Farley discloses “a system for providing an integrated security management framework for an enterprise having a plurality of endpoint devices (security management system 20 [Col.9/lines 29-33]) , each endpoint device comprising a deployed endpoint agent (event collector [Fig.7/item 775]) configured to continuously monitor and record activity (data source 28 can comprise a host detector which monitors network traffic in the form of data packets.[Col.9/lines 55-57]) on the respective endpoint device and further execute one or more sets of detection and response logic rules for managing the detection of (classifier 615 can be responsible for forwarding raw event information to the CoBRA processor 625 and one or more correlation rules 620.[Col.13/lines 44-46]).
Farley does not explicitly disclose “and response to, any activity associated with the respective endpoint device that poses a potential security threat to the enterprise, the system comprising: a server configured to communicate and exchange data with the one or more of the endpoint devices over a network, the server comprising a hardware processor coupled to non-transitory, computer-readable memory containing instructions executable by the processor to cause the server to: provide a security management platform comprising an interface with which an authorized user can interact to monitor endpoint agent activity and manage functionality of at least one endpoint agent deployed on one of the one or more endpoint devices; provide an integrated development environment (IDE) operably coupled to the interface; receive, from the authorized user via the interface, input comprising custom, declarative programming language input to the IDE to write, develop, and/or modify, on-the-fly, one or more customized sets of detection and response logic rules to be executed by an endpoint agent; and output, to the endpoint agent, a customized set of detection and response logic rules.”
However Mualem in an analogous art discloses “and response to, any activity associated with the respective endpoint device that poses a potential security threat to the enterprise, the system comprising: a server configured to communicate and exchange data with the one or more of the endpoint devices over a network(intrusion detection system Mualem[Fig.5/item 100]), the server comprising a hardware processor coupled to non-transitory, computer-readable memory containing instructions executable by the processor to cause the server to: provide a security management platform comprising an interface (network management system Mualem[Fig.5/item 200]) with which an authorized user can interact to monitor endpoint agent activity and manage functionality of at least one endpoint agent deployed on one of the one or more endpoint devices(threat management system Mualem[Fig.4/item 200]) ; provide an integrated development environment (IDE) operably coupled to the interface; receive, from the authorized user via the interface, input comprising custom, declarative programming language input to the IDE to write, develop, and/or modify, on-the-fly, one or more customized sets of detection and response logic rules to be executed by an endpoint agent; and output, to the endpoint agent, a customized set of detection and response logic rules.”(threat management system may include a plurality of Network Manager Daemon (or NMDs) that perform the processing of the parser and analyzer portions in this embodiment, saving, analyzing, aggregating packets from each threat detection system, and propagating information to processing routines of the IMC Core Mualem[Fig.10]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Farley’s system for managing computer security information with Mualem’s threat management and detection system in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Farley discloses a system for managing computer security information , Mualem teaches a threat management system, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 2 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the system further comprises the plurality of endpoint devices” (threat management system may include a plurality of Network Manager Daemon (or NMDs) that perform the processing of the parser and analyzer portions in this embodiment, saving, analyzing, aggregating packets from each threat detection system, and propagating information to processing routines of the IMC Core Mualem[Fig.10]) also see interceptors Mualem [Fig.10]).
Regarding claim 3 in view of claim 2, the references combined disclose “wherein each response logic rule has an associated action to be performed by an endpoint device in response to an event matching the response logic rule”(threat signature detection module in step S45 provides a library of rules Which evaluate every packet, looking for a variety of signatures for threats including but not limited to viruses, Worms, reconnaissance activity, backdoor usage, and buffer overflows Mualem[Col.6./lines 56-60]), “and wherein: each endpoint device has a learning mode in which the endpoint device sends, to the server over the network, a message comprising a copy of an event that matched the response logic rule” (threat signature detection module in step S45 provides a library of rules Which evaluate every packet, looking for a variety of signatures for threats including but not limited to viruses, Worms, reconnaissance activity, backdoor usage, and buffer overflows Mualem[Col.6./lines 56-60]), metadata describing said response logic rule, and a flag indicating that the endpoint device did not execute the action associated with the response logic rule in response to the event matching the response logic rule” (threat signature detection module in step S45 provides a library of rules Which evaluate every packet, looking for a variety of signatures for threats including but not limited to viruses, Worms, reconnaissance activity, backdoor usage, and buffer overflows Mualem[Col.6./lines 56-60]).
Regarding claim 4 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the server is configured to receive, from the endpoint agent, security data based on execution of one or more sets of detection and response logic rules” (threat management system may include a plurality of Network Manager Daemon (or NMDs) that perform the processing of the parser and analyzer portions in this embodiment, saving, analyzing, aggregating packets from each threat detection system, and propagating information to processing routines of the IMC Core Mualem[Fig.10]) also see interceptors Mualem [Fig.10]).
Regarding claim 5 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the one or more customized sets of detection and response logic rules are generated based on a custom, declarative programming language, wherein the custom, declarative programming language is compiled(threat management system Mualem[Fig.4/item 200]), via a compiler module, into byte code, wherein the compiler module is configured to output a compiled rule set.” (threat management system Mualem[Fig.4/item 200])
Regarding claim 6 in view of claim 5, the references combined disclose “wherein the customized set of detection and response logic rules outputted from the server comprises a compiled rule set embedded into an installer executable by the endpoint agent to thereby transmit the compiled rule set to the endpoint agent such that the endpoint agent executes the associated customized set of detection and response logic rules(classifier 615 can be responsible for forwarding raw event information to the CoBRA processor 625 and one or more correlation rules 620 Farley[Col.13/lines 44-46]).
Regarding claim 7 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the authorized user is an individual or group tasked with managing the enterprise's security posture and the enterprise comprises at least one of a business entity, company, organization, and government agency”(permission detection module can optionally associate a user With a physical host. This allows the system administrator to restrict the access privileges of the specified user-host combination Within the network Mualem[Col.13/lines 45-49]).
Regarding claim 8, Farley discloses “a non-transitory computer-readable medium having computer-executable code thereon to provide an integrated security management framework for an enterprise having a plurality of endpoint devices(security management system 20 [Col.9/lines 29-33]), the computer-executable code, when executed by the server, causing a server to: communicate and exchange data with the one or more of one or more of the endpoint
devices over a network, each endpoint device comprising a deployed endpoint agent(event collector [Fig.7/item 775]) configured to continuously monitor and record activity (data source 28 can comprise a host detector which monitors network traffic in the form of data packets.[Col.9/lines 55-57]) on the respective endpoint device and further execute one or more sets of detection and response logic rules for managing the detection of(classifier 615 can be responsible for forwarding raw event information to the CoBRA processor 625 and one or more correlation rules 620.[Col.13/lines 44-46]).
Farley does not explicitly disclose “and response to, activity associated with the respective endpoint device that poses a potential security threat to the enterprise; provide a security management platform comprising an interface with which an authorized user can interact to monitor endpoint agent activity and manage functionality of at least one endpoint agent deployed on one of the one or more endpoint devices;
provide an integrated development environment (IDE) operably coupled to the
interface; receive, from the authorized user via the interface, input comprising custom,
declarative programming language input to the IDE to write, develop, and/or modify, on-
the-fly, one or more customized sets of detection and response logic rules to be executed by an endpoint agent; and output, to the endpoint agent, a customized set of detection and response logic rules.”
However, Mualem in an analogous art discloses “and response to, activity associated with the respective endpoint device that poses a potential security threat to the enterprise; provide a security management platform comprising an interface with which an authorized user can interact to monitor endpoint agent activity(intrusion detection system Mualem[Fig.5/item 100]), and manage functionality of at least one endpoint agent deployed on one of the one or more endpoint devices(network management system Mualem[Fig.5/item 200]); provide an integrated development environment (IDE) operably coupled to the interface; receive, from the authorized user via the interface, input comprising custom, declarative programming language input to the IDE to write, develop, and/or modify, on-the-fly, one or more customized sets of detection and response logic rules to be executed by an endpoint agent; and output, to the endpoint agent, a customized set of detection and response logic rules.” (threat management system may include a plurality of Network Manager Daemon (or NMDs) that perform the processing of the parser and analyzer portions in this embodiment, saving, analyzing, aggregating packets from each threat detection system, and propagating information to processing routines of the IMC Core Mualem[Fig.10]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Farley’s system for managing computer security information with Mualem’s threat management and detection system in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Farley discloses a system for managing computer security information , Mualem teaches a threat management system, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 9 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “wherein the computer- executable code further comprises code that, when executed by the server, configures the server to receive, from an endpoint agent, security data based on execution of one or more sets of detection and response logic rules” (threat signature detection module in step S45 provides a library of rules Which evaluate every packet, looking for a variety of signatures for threats including but not limited to viruses, Worms, reconnaissance activity, backdoor usage, and buffer overflows Mualem[Col.6./lines 56-60]),
Regarding claim 10 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “wherein the computer- executable code further comprises code that, when executed by the server, configures the server to compile a rule set of detection and response logic rules into an installer executable by the endpoint agent to thereby transmit the compiled rule set to the endpoint agent such that the endpoint agent executes the associated customized set of detection and response logic rules” (threat signature detection module in step S45 provides a library of rules Which evaluate every packet, looking for a variety of signatures for threats including but not limited to viruses, Worms, reconnaissance activity, backdoor usage, and buffer overflows Mualem[Col.6./lines 56-60]).
Regarding claim 11 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “wherein the computer- executable code further comprises code that, when executed by the server, configures the server to: compile(threat management system Mualem[Fig.4/item 200]), into byte code, one or more customized sets of detection and response logic rules generated based on a custom, declarative programming language; and to output a compiled rule set to an endpoint agent. (threat management system Mualem[Fig.4/item 200]).
Regarding claim 12 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “wherein one or more of the sets the set of detection and response logic rules comprises at least one rule statement comprising match criteria and an associated action” (threat management system may include a plurality of Network Manager Daemon (or NMDs) that perform the processing of the parser and analyzer portions in this embodiment, saving, analyzing, aggregating packets from each threat detection system, and propagating information to processing routines of the IMC Core Mualem[Fig.10]) also see interceptors Mualem [Fig.10]).
Regarding claim 13 in view of claim 12, the references combined disclose “wherein said one or more sets the set of detection and response logic rules are configured to cause an endpoint agent to: compare event data with the match criteria; and determine an associated action to be performed by the endpoint agent based on a
positive correlation of the event data with the match criteria” (threat management system may include a plurality of Network Manager Daemon (or NMDs) that perform the processing of the parser and analyzer portions in this embodiment, saving, analyzing, aggregating packets from each threat detection system, and propagating information to processing routines of the IMC Core Mualem[Fig.10]) also see interceptors Mualem [Fig.10]).
Regarding claim 14 in view of claim 12, the references combined disclose “wherein the associated action is selected from the group consisting of a suppress action, an alert action, a forward action, a block action, a killprocess action, an isolate action, and a set action.” (permission detection module can optionally associate a user With a physical host. This allows the system administrator to restrict the access privileges of the specified user-host combination Within the network Mualem[Col.13/lines 45-49]).
Regarding claim 15, Farley discloses “a system for providing an integrated security management framework for an enterprise having a plurality of endpoint devices(security management system 20 [Col.9/lines 29-33]), each endpoint device comprising a deployed endpoint agent (event collector [Fig.7/item 775]) configured to continuously monitor and record activity (data source 28 can comprise a host detector which monitors network traffic in the form of data packets.[Col.9/lines 55-57]) on the respective endpoint device and further execute one or more sets of detection and response logic rules for managing the detection of(classifier 615 can be responsible for forwarding raw event information to the CoBRA processor 625 and one or more correlation rules 620.[Col.13/lines 44-46]).
Farley does not explicitly disclose “and response to, any activity associated with the respective endpoint device that poses a potential security threat to the enterprise, the system comprising: means for communicating with the one or more of the endpoint devices over a network; means for providing a security management platform comprising an interface with which an authorized user can interact to monitor endpoint agent activity and manage functionality of at least one endpoint agent deployed on one of the one or more endpoint devices; means for providing an integrated development environment (IDE) operably coupled to the interface; means for receiving, from the authorized user via the interface, input comprising custom, declarative programming language input to the IDE to write, develop, and/or modify, on-the-fly, one or more customized sets of detection and response logic rules to be executed by an endpoint agent; and means for outputting, to the endpoint agent, a customized set of detection and response logic rules.
However, Mualem in an analogous art discloses “and response to, any activity associated with the respective endpoint device that poses a potential security threat to the enterprise, the system comprising: means for communicating with the one or more of the endpoint devices over a network; (intrusion detection system Mualem[Fig.5/item 100]), means for providing a security management platform comprising an interface with which an authorized user can interact to monitor endpoint agent activity and manage functionality of at least one endpoint agent deployed on one of the one or more endpoint devices; means for providing an integrated development environment (IDE) operably coupled to the interface(network management system Mualem[Fig.5/item 200]); means for receiving, from the authorized user via the interface, input comprising custom, declarative programming language input to the IDE to write, develop, and/or modify, on-the-fly, one or more customized sets of detection and response logic rules to be executed by an endpoint agent; and means for outputting, to the endpoint agent, a customized set of detection and response logic rules” (threat management system may include a plurality of Network Manager Daemon (or NMDs) that perform the processing of the parser and analyzer portions in this embodiment, saving, analyzing, aggregating packets from each threat detection system, and propagating information to processing routines of the IMC Core Mualem[Fig.10]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Farley’s system for managing computer security information with Mualem’s threat management and detection system in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Farley discloses a system for managing computer security information , Mualem teaches a threat management system, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 16 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “wherein the system further comprises the plurality of endpoint devices” (security management system 20 [Col.9/lines 29-33]).
Regarding claim 17 in view of claim 16, the references combined disclose “wherein each response logic rule has an associated action to be performed by an endpoint device in response to an event matching the response logic rule(threat signature detection module in step S45 provides a library of rules Which evaluate every packet, looking for a variety of signatures for threats including but not limited to viruses, Worms, reconnaissance activity, backdoor usage, and buffer overflows Mualem[Col.6./lines 56-60]),, and wherein:
each endpoint device has a learning mode in which the endpoint device sends, to a server the server over the network, a message comprising a copy of an event that matched the response logic rule, metadata describing said response logic rule(threat signature detection module in step S45 provides a library of rules Which evaluate every packet, looking for a variety of signatures for threats including but not limited to viruses, Worms, reconnaissance activity, backdoor usage, and buffer overflows Mualem[Col.6./lines 56-60]), and a flag indicating that the endpoint device did not execute the action associated with the response logic rule in response to the event matching the response logic rule” (threat signature detection module in step S45 provides a library of rules Which evaluate every packet, looking for a variety of signatures for threats including but not limited to viruses, Worms, reconnaissance activity, backdoor usage, and buffer overflows Mualem[Col.6./lines 56-60]).
Regarding claim 18 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “further comprising means for receiving, from the endpoint agent, security data based on execution of one or more sets of detection and response logic rules” (threat management system may include a plurality of Network Manager Daemon (or NMDs) that perform the processing of the parser and analyzer portions in this embodiment, saving, analyzing, aggregating packets from each threat detection system, and propagating information to processing routines of the IMC Core Mualem[Fig.10]).
Regarding claim 19 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “wherein the one or more customized sets of detection and response logic rules are generated based on a custom, declarative programming language (threat management system Mualem[Fig.4/item 200]), wherein the custom, declarative programming language is compiled, by a means for compiling, into byte code, wherein the means for compiling compiler module is configured to
output a compiled rule set” (threat management system Mualem[Fig.4/item 200])
Regarding claim 20 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “wherein the authorized user is an individual or group tasked with managing the enterprise's security posture and the enterprise comprises at least one
of a business entity, company, organization, and government agency” (permission detection module can optionally associate a user With a physical host. This allows the system administrator to restrict the access privileges of the specified user-host combination Within the network Mualem[Col.13/lines 45-49]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433