DETAILED ACTION
This final Office action is responsive to amendments filed September 8th, 2026. Claims 1, 10-13, and 15-19 have been amended. Claims 1-19 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 1, filed 09/08/26, with respect to claims 10, 15, and 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of 03/06/26 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-2, filed 09/08/26, with respect to claims 11-15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejection and 35 USC 112(f) claim interpretation of 03/06/26 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2-4, filed 09/08/26, with respect to claims 11-19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(a) rejection of 03/06/26 has been withdrawn.
Applicants’ arguments regarding claim rejections under 35 USC 101 filed 09/08/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 4-7 of the provided remarks, Applicant argues that the amended claims materially alter the eligibility analysis. Under Step 2A Prong 1 analysis, Applicant begins on page 4 to argue that the amended claims should not be reduced to the result of “generating a customized schedule”. Examiner asserts that the present analysis does not “reduce” the claims as argued but merely cites the preamble of the claims which states “A method/system/non-transitory computer readable medium for generating a customized schedule of events”. While Applicant cites the USPTO August 4th, 2025 memorandum and argues “the amended limitations must therefore be evaluated according to what they actually require”, Examiner asserts that the amended claim limitations recite, generating a customized schedule of events; comparing said extracted event data to said user preference data to provide a data comparison; identifying a logistical conflict between at least two candidate events from said master event schedule; and based on said data comparison and said one or more logistical constraints, compiling an event itinerary by selecting events from said master event schedule, including resolving said logistical conflict in selecting events for said event itinerary, which is managing personal behavior as well as mental process. Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
Regarding Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, Applicant begins by arguing on page 5 of the provided remarks, citing again the August 4th, 2025 USPTO memorandum, “the amended claims should therefore be evaluated based on the particular data flow and conflict resolution operations actually recited, rather than solely by the ultimate scheduling result.” Examiner begins by asserting that the previous rejection did not solely focus on the ultimate scheduling result as argued but analyzed each recite claim limitation under Prong 1 and 2 analysis to establish which limitations were directed to the judicial exception or additional elements. The analysis provided within the rejection below maintains this same level of evaluation as required per the MPEP 2106 and the cited August 4th, 2025 USPTO memorandum.
Continuing on pages 5-6 of the provided remarks, Applicant argues that the specification identifies a concrete problem in event-scheduling systems and the amended claims disclosed solution “uses event data extracted from a master schedule together with preference data and logistical criteria to resolve conflicts among candidate events and generate a feasible itinerary”. Examiner respectfully disagrees and begins by asserting, per MPEP 2106.05(a) “the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement.”. Further, “After the examiner has consulted the specification and determined that the disclosed invention improves technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement in technology.” While Applicant cites paragraph [0018] of the as-filed Specification for proof of the argued technical improvement, the amended claims do not recite the argued prevention of impermissible overlap, allowing limited overlap according to priority, and excluding a back-to-back event when stage distance and travel time make attendance impractical. The claimed “resolving said logistical conflict in selecting events for said event itinerary” is recited with a high-level of generality such that the compiled event itinerary is directed to the judicial exception. Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
On page 6 of the provided remarks, Applicant cites Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., 134 F. 4th 1205, 1211-14 (Fed. Cir. 2025). Examiner asserts that the cited case is not applicable as the present event itinerary compilation claims are not analogous to the machine learning application based patents for event scheduling and network map generation. Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
Finally, regarding Step 2B analysis, Applicant argues on page 7 of the provided remarks, “the ordered combination now requires extraction of event data from a received master event schedule, comparison with preference data, identification of a logistical conflict according to specified categories of constraints, and resolution of that conflict when selecting the itinerary events”. Examiner respectfully disagrees and begins by asserting, per MPEP 2106.05, examples of how the Courts conduct the search for an inventive concept including, “The Court considered the additional elements "as an ordered combination," (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1972). Utilizing this analysis there is not ordered combination of additional elements to analyze as the extraction of event data from a received master event schedule, comparison with preference data as the comparison with preference data, identification of a logistical conflict according to specified categories of constraints, and resolution of that conflict when selecting the itinerary events are directed to the abstract idea of both Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity but also Mental Process. Therefore, the 35 USC 101 rejection is maintained. Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments regarding claim rejections under 35 USC 103 filed 09/08/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-10 of the provided remarks, Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not disclose the amended claim limitations. Beginning on page 8 of the provided remarks, Applicant argues that the cited portions of Liu “do not teach identifying a logistical conflict between candidate events and resolving that conflict in selecting among the candidate events”. Examiner notes that these arguments are moot as Liu is not cited to disclose the argued limitations. Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
Continuing on page 8 of the provided remarks, Applicant argues that cited Berger does not disclose the amended claim limitations. Specifically, “geographic ordering of already identified itinerary events is materially different from the claimed conflict resolution”. Examiner respectfully disagrees and begins by asserting that the amended logistical constraints of the claims include event locations, therefore Bergers accounting for geographic locations when ordering personalized itineraries is applicable to the amended claims. Further, Examiner asserts that the amended citations of Berger disclose the identification and generation of an event itinerary to resolve conflict as recited in the amended claims. Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
Finally, on pages 8-9 of the provided remarks, Applicant argues the combination of cited Liu and Berger. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, doing so would evaluate an individual's history to select events that may be preferable for the individual based on supplied criteria, but can avoid the need to disclose personal information that is not already provided by the user, as stated by Berger (Paragraph 0004). Therefore, the 35 USC 103 rejection is maintained. Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5 and 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite "said event schedule" which are a typographical error that should recite "said master event schedule". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter;
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Step 1: Independent claims 1 (method), 11 (system), 16 (non-transitory computer readable medium) and dependent claims 2-10, 12-15, and 17-19, respectively, fall within at least one of the four statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. 101: (i) process; (ii) machine; (iii) manufacture; or (iv) composition of matter.
Step 2A Prong 1: The independent claims recite generating a customized schedule of events, comprising: receiving a master event schedule comprising event data; extracting at least some of said event data from said received master event schedule; receiving user preference data related to said event data; comparing said extracted event data to said user preference data to provide a data comparison; identifying, based on one or more logistical constraints comprising event times or event locations, a logistical conflict between at least two candidate events from said master event schedule; based on said data comparison and said one or more logistical constraints, compiling an event itinerary by selecting events from said master event schedule, including resolving said logistical conflict in selecting events for said event itinerary; and outputting said event itinerary in a visual format (Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity & Mental Process), which are considered to be abstract ideas (See PEG 2019 and MPEP 2106.05). [Examiner notes the underlined limitations above recite the abstract idea].
The steps/functions disclosed above and in the independent claims recite the abstract idea of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity because the claimed limitations are generating a customized schedule of events; comparing said extracted event data to said user preference data to provide a data comparison; based on said data comparison, compiling an event itinerary, including resolving said logistical conflict in selecting events for said event itinerary, which is managing personal behavior. The Applicant’s claimed limitations are generating a customized schedule of events, which recite the abstract idea of Organizing Human Activity.
The steps/functions disclosed above and in the independent claims recite the abstract idea of Mental Process because the claimed limitations are generating a customized schedule of events; extracting at least some of said event data from said master event schedule; comparing said extracted event data to said user preference data to provide a data comparison; identifying, based on one or more logistical constraints comprising event times or event locations, a logistical conflict between at least two candidate events from said master event schedule; based on said data comparison and said one or more logistical constraints, compiling an event itinerary by selecting events from said master event schedule, including resolving said logistical conflict in selecting events for said event itinerary. The Applicant’s claimed limitations are generating a customized schedule of events, which recite the abstract idea of Mental Process.
In addition, dependent claims 2-5, 10, 12, 14-15, and 17 further narrow the abstract idea and recite further defining compiling a revised event itinerary; considering substantive data in said data comparison and said logistical data when compiling said event itinerary; the event schedule; and generating additional information. These processes are similar to the abstract idea noted in the independent claims because they further the limitations of the independent claims which recite a certain method of organizing human activity which include managing personal behavior as well as mental processes. Accordingly, these claim elements do not serve to confer subject matter eligibility to the claims since they recite abstract ideas. Dependent claims 6-9, 13, and 18-19 will be discussed in Prong 2 analysis below.
Step 2A Prong 2: In this application, the above “receiving a master event schedule comprising event data; receive user preference data related to said event data and store at least the extracted event data and the user preference data (claim 11); receiving user preference data related to said event data; outputting said event itinerary in a visual format; cause said event itinerary to be presented in a visual format (claim 11)” steps/functions of the independent claims would not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because receiving/storing data and displaying data merely add insignificant extra-solution activity and merely adds the words to apply it with the judicial exception. Also, the claimed “A system for generating a customized scheduled of events, comprising a processor; A non-transitory computer readable medium storing program instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform a method” would not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because the claimed structure merely adds the words to apply it with the judicial exception and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (See PEG 2019 and MPEP 2106.05).
In addition, dependent claims 2-5, 10, 12, 14-15, and 17 further narrow the abstract idea and dependent claims 3, 6-9, 13, and 18-19 additionally recite “receiving user input from a user related to said event itinerary”; “wherein said event data comprises logistical data comprising event times and event locations and substantive data comprising event descriptions”; “wherein said visual format comprises a heat map grid”; “wherein said visual format comprises a marked-up digital poster”; “wherein said user preference data is received from a user account on a third-party system”; and “wherein said user preference data is received directly from a user” which do not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because receiving/storing data and displaying data merely add insignificant extra-solution activity and the claimed “processor”, “mobile device”, and “non-transitory computer readable medium” which do not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because the claimed structure merely adds the words to apply it with the judicial exception and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (See PEG 2019 and MPEP 2106.05).
The claimed “A system for generating a customized scheduled of events, comprising a processor; A non-transitory computer readable medium storing program instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform a method” are recited so generically (no details whatsoever are provided other than that they are general purpose computing components and regular office supplies) that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements in the claims do no more than use the computer components as a tool. There is no change to the computers and other technology that is recited in the claim, and thus the claims do not improve computer functionality or other technology (See PEG 2019).
Step 2B: When analyzing the additional element(s) and/or combination of elements in the claim(s) other than the abstract idea per se the claim limitations amount(s) to no more than: a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment and merely amounts to the application or instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer (See MPEP 2106.05 and PEG 2019). Further, method claims 1-10; system claims 11-15; and non-transitory computer readable medium claims 16-19 recite “A system for generating a customized scheduled of events, comprising a processor; A non-transitory computer readable medium storing program instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform a method”; however, these elements merely facilitate the claimed functions at a high level of generality and they perform conventional functions and are considered to be general purpose computer components which is supported by Applicant’s specification in Paragraph [0019] and Figure 2. The Applicant’s claimed additional elements are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a general purpose computer and generally link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Also, the above “receiving a master event schedule comprising event data; receive user preference data related to said event data and store at least the extracted event data and the user preference data (claim 11); receiving user preference data related to said event data; outputting said event itinerary in a visual format; cause said event itinerary to be presented in a visual format (claim 11)” steps/functions of the independent claims would not account for significantly more than the abstract idea because receiving data and displaying/presenting data (See MPEP 2106.05) have been identified as well-known, routine, and conventional steps/functions to one of ordinary skill in the art. When viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
In addition, claims 2-5, 10, 12, 14-15, and 17 further narrow the abstract idea identified in the independent claims. The Examiner notes that the dependent claims merely further define the data being analyzed and how the data is being analyzed. Similarly, claims 3, 6-9, 13, and 18-19 additionally recite “receiving user input from a user related to said event itinerary”; “wherein said event data comprises logistical data comprising event times and event locations and substantive data comprising event descriptions”; “wherein said visual format comprises a heat map grid”; “wherein said visual format comprises a marked-up digital poster”; “wherein said user preference data is received from a user account on a third-party system”; and “wherein said user preference data is received directly from a user” which do not account for additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because receiving data and displaying/presenting data (See MPEP 2106.05) have been identified as well-known, routine, and conventional steps/functions to one of ordinary skill in the art and the claimed “processor”; “a mobile device”; and “non-transitory computer readable medium” which do not account for additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the claimed structure merely amounts to the application or instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer and does not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment (See MPEP 2106.05). The additional limitations of the independent and dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The examiner has considered the dependent claims in a full analysis including the additional limitations individually and in combination as analyzed in the independent claim(s). Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (U.S 2007/0088592 A1) in view of Berger (U.S 2018/0165654 A1).
Claims 1 and 16
Regarding Claim 1, Liu discloses the following:
A method for generating a customized schedule of events, comprising [see at least Paragraph 0014 for reference to a method for scheduling events according to network information; Paragraph 0019 for reference to the method being implemented in computer programs; Figure 4 and related text regarding the method for scheduling events according to network information]
receiving a master event schedule comprising event data [see at least Paragraph 0020 for reference to information acquisition module acquires time related network information, event information, and user preference information; Paragraph 0024 for reference to a system owner generates a personal schedule; Figure 4 and related text regarding item 400 ‘A system owner generates a personal schedule’]
extracting at least some of said event data from said received master event schedule [see at least Paragraph 0020 for reference to information acquisition module acquires time related network information, event information, and user preference information; Paragraph 0022 for reference to time-related network information comprising explicit and implicit time information; Paragraph 0022 for reference to information analysis module can be further provided to analyze information of the knowledge domain to require the time-related network information; Paragraph 0024 for reference to a network information search engine, such as a crawler, is used to acquire information from art or movie related domains of the Internet; Paragraph 0024 for reference to the information is then analyzed to obtain detailed time information, such as event time, event location, or event content; Figure 4 and related text regarding item S404 ‘A network information search engine is used to acquire information from art or movie related domains of the Internet’ and item S406 ‘The information is then analyzed to obtain detailed time information’]
receiving user preference data related to said event data [see at least Paragraph 0025 for reference to user preference information is acquired; Figure 4 and related text regarding item S408 ‘User preference information is acquired’]
comparing said extracted event data to said user preference data to provide a data comparison [see at least Paragraph 0021 for reference to the information matching module matches the network information, event information, and user preference information to obtain a matching result; Paragraph 0025 for reference to time-related network information, event information, and user preference information are matched to obtain a matching result; Figure 4 and related text regarding S410 ‘The time-related network information, event information, and user preference information are matched to obtain a matching result and events are scheduled according to the matching result’]
based on said data comparison, compiling an event itinerary [see at least Paragraph 0021 for reference to the event scheduling module schedules events according to the matching result wherein the scheduled events can be recorded in a personal schedule; Paragraph 0025 for reference to events are scheduled according to the matching result; Paragraph 0026 for reference to scheduled events being recorded in a personal schedule]
While Liu discloses the limitations above, it does not disclose identifying, based on one or more logistical constraints comprising event times or event locations, a logistical conflict between at least two candidate events from said master event schedule; based on said data comparison and said one or more logistical constraints, compiling an event itinerary by selecting events from said master event schedule, including resolving said logistical conflict in selecting events for said event itinerary; outputting said event itinerary in a visual format.
However, Berger discloses the following:
receiving a master event schedule comprising event data [see at least Paragraph 0047 for reference to event profiles being structured data sets configured to store data relating to an event including time allotment and selection criteria; Figure 7 and related text regarding item 704 ‘Store, in an event database of the processing server, a plurality of event profiles, wherein each event profile is a structured data set related to an itinerary event including at least a geographic location, a time allotment, an event type, and one or more selection criteria’]
identifying, based on one or more logistical constraints comprising event times or event locations, a logistical conflict between at least two candidate events from said master event schedule [see at least Paragraph 0048 for reference to the querying module executing a query on the event database to identify an event profile having a specific event type and where there is a correspondence between the included selection criteria; Paragraph 0056 for reference to the querying module executing a query on the event database to identify a plurality of event profiles where the included geographic location is included in the supplied geographic area and where the included selection criteria corresponds; Paragraph 0074 for reference to the method including the receipt of a replacement request indicating a selected one of the plurality of itinerary events; Paragraph 0074 for reference to the querying module executing a query on the events database to identify a replacement event profile based on at least a correspondence between the included event type and the time allotment included in the event profile related to the selected itinerary event; Figure 7 and related text regarding item 712]
based on said data comparison and said one or more logistical constraints, compiling an event itinerary by selecting events from said master event schedule, including resolving said logistical conflict in selecting events for said event itinerary [see at least Paragraph 0049 for reference to the analytical module may also be configured to analyze geographic locations and time allotments of a plurality of event profiles to identify an event itinerary based thereon, such as to optimize usage of time; Paragraph 0057 for reference to the analytical module of the processing server may generate a personalized itinerary consisting of the identified events, where the personalized itinerary may be ordered based on event type, time allotment, geographic location, and other criteria; Paragraph 0073 for reference to the query being executed on the events database to identify a personalized itinerary where a number of the plurality of itinerary events is based on the time allotment included in the related event profile for each of the itinerary events and the time and date range; Paragraph 0074 for reference to the analytical module ordering the plurality of itinerary events based on at least the event type and time allotment included in the related event profile; Paragraph 0074 for reference to the analytical module replacing the selected one of the plurality of itinerary events with the itinerary event related to the identified replacement event profile to update the personalized itinerary; Figure 3 and related text regarding item 318 ‘Personalized itinerary’; Figure 7 and related text regarding item 712]
outputting said event itinerary in a visual format [see at least Paragraph 0065 for reference to the display device displaying a personalized itinerary; Figures 5-6 and related text regarding the graphical user interface of the computing device used for the receipt and display of personalized event itineraries; Figure 7 and related text regarding item 714 ‘Electronically transmit, by a transmitting device of the processing server, the personalized itinerary to the computing system]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the itinerary method of Liu to include the conflict identification, resolution, and outputting of Berger. Doing so would evaluate an individual's history to select events that may be preferable for the individual based on supplied criteria, but can avoid the need to disclose personal information that is not already provided by the user, as stated by Berger (Paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 1. Regarding claim 16, Liu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform the method [Paragraphs 0019 and 0028 & Figure 2]. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected as being unpatentable over the combination of Liu and Berger.
Claims 2 and 17
While the combination of Liu and Berger disclose the limitations above, regarding Claim 2, Liu discloses the following:
receiving user input from a user related to said event itinerary [see at least Paragraph 0016 for reference to user reference information can be acquired by user input through a user interface or by analyzing user preference history records; Paragraph 0025 for reference to user preference information is acquired; Figure 4 and related text regarding item S408 ‘User preference information is acquired’]
While Liu discloses the limitations above, it does not disclose based on said user input and said data comparison, compiling a revised event itinerary; and outputting said revised event itinerary in a visual format.
However, Berger discloses the following:
based on said user input and said data comparison, compiling a revised event itinerary [see at least Paragraph 0034 for reference to the user 106 may be able to request replacement or modification to one or more events in the itinerary; Paragraph 0034 for reference to user may continue to repeat the process to customize the event itinerary to their liking, while still relying on the personalized recommendations provided by the processing server; Paragraph 0034 for reference to processing server may receive (e. g., via the computing device) the selection criteria and may identify another event having the same or a related event type and time allotment that complies with the selection criteria, and update the event itinerary accordingly; Paragraph 0039 for reference to the processing server may be configured to accommodate modifications to an event itinerary also using natural language a processing]
outputting said revised event itinerary in a visual format [see at least Paragraph 0034 for reference to the computing device and/or processing server may be configured to save the identified event itinerary for later retrieval by the user; Paragraph 0065 for reference to the display device displaying a personalized itinerary; Figures 5-6 and related text regarding the graphical user interface of the computing device used for the receipt and display of personalized event itineraries; Figure 7 and related text regarding item 714 ‘Electronically transmit, by a transmitting device of the processing server, the personalized itinerary to the computing system]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the itinerary method of Liu to include the revised itinerary outputting of Berger. Doing so would evaluate an individual' s history to select events that may be preferable for the individual based on supplied criteria, but can avoid the need to disclose personal information that is not already provided by the user, as stated by Berger (Paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 2.
Claim 3
While the combination of Liu and Berger disclose the limitations above, regarding Claim 3, Liu discloses the following:
wherein said event data comprises logistical data comprising event times and event locations and substantive data comprising event descriptions [see at least Paragraph 0014 for reference to network information of a preferred knowledge domain can be, for example, Schedules of TV or movie channel, art performances, exhibition information, promotion information, or announces of governments; Paragraph 0014 for reference to time-related network information may comprise explicit and implicit time information. For example, network information, including exact date or time, belongs to explicit time information wherein network information, including season, holiday, certain public affairs, or predicted date, belongs to implicit time information; Paragraph 0020 for reference to information acquisition module acquires time related network information, event information, and user preference information; Paragraph 0024 for reference to a system owner generates a personal schedule; Figure 4 and related text regarding item 400 ‘A system owner generates a personal schedule’]
wherein said substantive data is considered in said data comparison and said logistical data is considered when compiling said event itinerary [see at least Paragraph 0021 for reference to the information matching module matches the network information, event information, and user preference information to obtain a matching result; Paragraph 0025 for reference to time-related network information, event information, and user preference information are matched to obtain a matching result; Figure 4 and related text regarding S410 ‘The time-related network information, event information, and user preference information are matched to obtain a matching result and events are scheduled according to the matching result’]
Claim 4
While the combination of Liu and Berger disclose the limitations above, Liu does not disclose wherein said event schedule comprises a music festival schedule.
Regarding Claim 4, Berger discloses the following:
wherein said event schedule comprises a music festival schedule [see at least Paragraph 0027 for reference to event types may include restaurants, sporting events, concerts, museums, parks, physical activities, tours, etc.,]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the itinerary method of Liu to include the music schedule of Berger. Doing so would evaluate an individual' s history to select events that may be preferable for the individual based on supplied criteria, but can avoid the need to disclose personal information that is not already provided by the user, as stated by Berger (Paragraph 0004).
Claim 8
While the combination of Liu and Berger disclose the limitations above, regarding Claim 8, Liu discloses the following:
wherein said user preference data is received from a user account on a third-party system [see at least Paragraph 0016 for reference to user reference information can be acquired by user input through a user interface or by analyzing user preference history records; Paragraph 0025 for reference to user preference information is acquired; Figure 4 and related text regarding item S408 ‘User preference information is acquired’]
Claim 9
While the combination of Liu and Berger disclose the limitations above, regarding Claim 9, Liu discloses the following:
wherein said user preference data is received directly from a user [see at least Paragraph 0016 for reference to user reference information can be acquired by user input through a user interface or by analyzing user preference history records; Paragraph 0025 for reference to user preference information is acquired; Figure 4 and related text regarding item S408 ‘User preference information is acquired’]
Claim 10
While the combination of Liu and Berger disclose the limitations above, regarding Claim 10, Liu discloses the following:
generating additional information that is related to a subject matter of said event data based on said event itinerary [see at least Paragraph 0020 for reference to information acquisition module acquires time related network information, event information, and user preference information; Paragraph 0022 for reference to time-related network information comprising explicit and implicit time information; Paragraph 0022 for reference to information analysis module can be further provided to analyze information of the knowledge domain to require the time-related network information; Paragraph 0024 for reference to a network information search engine, such as a crawler, is used to acquire information from art or movie related domains of the Internet; Paragraph 0024 for reference to the information is then analyzed to obtain detailed time information, such as event time, event location, or event content; Figure 4 and related text regarding item S404 ‘A network information search engine is used to acquire information from art or movie related domains of the Internet’ and item S406 ‘The information is then analyzed to obtain detailed time information’]
Claim 11
Regarding Claim 11, Liu discloses the following:
A system for generating a customized schedule of events, comprising [see at least Paragraph 0014 for reference to a method for scheduling events according to network information; Paragraph 0019 for reference to the method being implemented in computer programs; Figure 3 and related text regarding a system for scheduling events according to network information; Figure 4 and related text regarding the method for scheduling events according to network information]
a processor configured to [see at least Paragraph 0028 for reference to when implemented on a general-purpose processor, the program code combines with the processor to provide a unique apparatus that operates analogously to specific logic circuits]
receive a master event schedule comprising event data [see at least Paragraph 0020 for reference to information acquisition module acquires time related network information, event information, and user preference information; Paragraph 0024 for reference to a system owner generates a personal schedule; Figure 4 and related text regarding item 400 ‘A system owner generates a personal schedule’]
extract at least some of said event data from said received master event schedule [see at least Paragraph 0020 for reference to information acquisition module acquires time related network information, event information, and user preference information; Paragraph 0022 for reference to time-related network information comprising explicit and implicit time information; Paragraph 0022 for reference to information analysis module can be further provided to analyze information of the knowledge domain to require the time-related network information; Paragraph 0024 for reference to a network information search engine, such as a crawler, is used to acquire information from art or movie related domains of the Internet; Paragraph 0024 for reference to the information is then analyzed to obtain detailed time information, such as event time, event location, or event content; Figure 4 and related text regarding item S404 ‘A network information search engine is used to acquire information from art or movie related domains of the Internet’ and item S406 ‘The information is then analyzed to obtain detailed time information’]
receive user preference data related to said event data and store at least the extracted event data and the user preference data [see at least Paragraph 0016 for reference to user preference information is acquired; Paragraph 0016 for reference to user reference information can be recorded in a tree structure; Paragraph 0025 for reference to user preference information is acquired; Figure 4 and related text regarding item S408 ‘User preference information is acquired’]
compare said extracted event data to said user preference data to provide a data comparison [see at least Paragraph 0021 for reference to the information matching module matches the network information, event information, and user preference information to obtain a matching result; Paragraph 0025 for reference to time-related network information, event information, and user preference information are matched to obtain a matching result; Figure 4 and related text regarding S410 ‘The time-related network information, event information, and user preference information are matched to obtain a matching result and events are scheduled according to the matching result’]
based on said data comparison, generate an event itinerary [see at least Paragraph 0021 for reference to the event scheduling module schedules events according to the matching result wherein the scheduled events can be recorded in a personal schedule; Paragraph 0025 for reference to events are scheduled according to the matching result; Paragraph 0026 for reference to scheduled events being recorded in a personal schedule]
While Liu discloses the limitations above, it does not disclose identifying, based on one or more logistical constraints comprising event times or event locations, a logistical conflict between at least two candidate events from said master event schedule; based on said data comparison and said one or more logistical constraints, compiling an event itinerary by selecting events from said master event schedule, including resolving said logistical conflict in selecting events for said event itinerary; outputting said event itinerary in a visual format.
However, Berger discloses the following:
receive a master event schedule comprising event data [see at least Paragraph 0047 for reference to event profiles being structured data sets configured to store data relating to an event including time allotment and selection criteria; Figure 7 and related text regarding item 704 ‘Store, in an event database of the processing server, a plurality of event profiles, wherein each event profile is a structured data set related to an itinerary event including at least a geographic location, a time allotment, an event type, and one or more selection criteria’]
identify, based on one or more logistical constraints comprising event times or event locations, a logistical conflict between at least two candidate events from said master event schedule [see at least Paragraph 0048 for reference to the querying module executing a query on the event database to identify an event profile having a specific event type and where there is a correspondence between the included selection criteria; Paragraph 0056 for reference to the querying module executing a query on the event database to identify a plurality of event profiles where the included geographic location is included in the supplied geographic area and where the included selection criteria corresponds; Paragraph 0074 for reference to the method including the receipt of a replacement request indicating a selected one of the plurality of itinerary events; Paragraph 0074 for reference to the querying module executing a query on the events database to identify a replacement event profile based on at least a correspondence between the included event type and the time allotment included in the event profile related to the selected itinerary event; Figure 7 and related text regarding item 712]
based on said data comparison and said one or more logistical constraints, generate an event itinerary by selecting events from said master event schedule, including resolving said logistical conflict in selecting events for said event itinerary [see at least Paragraph 0049 for reference to the analytical module may also be configured to analyze geographic locations and time allotments of a plurality of event profiles to identify an event itinerary based thereon, such as to optimize usage of time; Paragraph 0057 for reference to the analytical module of the processing server may generate a personalized itinerary consisting of the identified events, where the personalized itinerary may be ordered based on event type, time allotment, geographic location, and other criteria; Paragraph 0073 for reference to the query being executed on the events database to identify a personalized itinerary where a number of the plurality of itinerary events is based on the time allotment included in the related event profile for each of the itinerary events and the time and date range; Paragraph 0074 for reference to the analytical module ordering the plurality of itinerary events based on at least the event type and time allotment included in the related event profile; Paragraph 0074 for reference to the analytical module replacing the selected one of the plurality of itinerary events with the itinerary event related to the identified replacement event profile to update the personalized itinerary; Figure 3 and related text regarding item 318 ‘Personalized itinerary’; Figure 7 and related text regarding item 712]
cause said event itinerary to be presented in a visual format [see at least Paragraph 0065 for reference to the display device displaying a personalized itinerary; Figures 5-6 and related text regarding the graphical user interface of the computing device used for the receipt and display of personalized event itineraries; Figure 7 and related text regarding item 714 ‘Electronically transmit, by a transmitting device of the processing server, the personalized itinerary to the computing system]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the itinerary method of Liu to include the conflict identification, resolution, and outputting of Berger. Doing so would evaluate an individual's history to select events that may be preferable for the individual based on supplied criteria, but can avoid the need to disclose personal information that is not already provided by the user, as stated by Berger (Paragraph 0004).
Claim 12
While the combination of Liu and Berger disclose the limitations above, regarding Claim 12, Liu discloses the following:
wherein the processor is further configured to receive user input related to said event itinerary [see at least Paragraph 0016 for reference to user reference information can be acquired by user input through a user interface or by analyzing user preference history records; Paragraph 0025 for reference to user preference information is acquired; Figure 4 and related text regarding item S408 ‘User preference information is acquired’]
While Liu discloses the limitations above, it does not disclose generating a revised event itinerary based on said user input and said data comparison.
However, Berger discloses the following:
generate a revised event itinerary based on said user input and said data comparison [see at least Paragraph 0034 for reference to the user 106 may be able to request replacement or modification to one or more events in the itinerary; Paragraph 0034 for reference to user may continue to repeat the process to customize the event itinerary to their liking, while still relying on the personalized recommendations provided by the processing server; Paragraph 0034 for reference to processing server may receive (e. g., via the computing device) the selection criteria and may identify another event having the same or a related event type and time allotment that complies with the selection criteria, and update the event itinerary accordingly; Paragraph 0039 for reference to the processing server may be configured to accommodate modifications to an event itinerary also using natural language a processing]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the itinerary system of Liu to include the revised itinerary outputting of Berger. Doing so would evaluate an individual' s history to select events that may be preferable for the individual based on supplied criteria, but can avoid the need to disclose personal information that is not already provided by the user, as stated by Berger (Paragraph 0004).
Claim 13
While the combination of Liu and Berger disclose the limitations above, regarding Claim 13, Liu discloses the following:
wherein said event itinerary is presented on a mobile device [see at least Paragraph 0023 for reference to notifications can be sent to different destinations, such as computer systems, PDAs, or handheld sets; Figure 3 and related text regarding item 304 ‘notification module’]
Claim 14
While the combination of Liu and Berger disclose the limitations above, Liu does not disclose wherein said event schedule comprises a music festival schedule.
Regarding Claim 14, Berger discloses the following:
wherein said event schedule comprises a music festival schedule [see at least Paragraph 0027 for reference to event types may include restaurants, sporting events, concerts, museums, parks, physical activities, tours, etc.,]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the itinerary system of Liu to include the music schedule of Berger. Doing so would evaluate an individual's history to select events that may be preferable for the individual based on supplied criteria, but can avoid the need to disclose personal information that is not already provided by the user, as stated by Berger (Paragraph 0004).
Claim(s) 5, 6, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (U.S 2007/0088592 A1) in view of Berger (U.S 2018/0165654 A1), as applied in claims 1, 11, and 16, in view of Meisels (U.S 9,552,334 B1).
Claims 5 and 15
While the combination of Liu and Berger disclose the limitations above, they do not disclose wherein said event schedule comprises a conference schedule.
Regarding Claim 5, Meisels discloses the following:
wherein said event schedule comprises a conference schedule [see at least Col 4 lines 28-31 for reference to database tags including Events (“Work Meetings”); Col 17 lines 9-13 for reference to an Auto-Event is used to record and organize unscheduled events, for example by recognizing multiple Moments occurring near each other in place and/or time that have not been tagged to a scheduled Event; Col 18 lines 53-55 for reference to Moment Templates including Recording a Moment at Business Meeting]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the event schedule of Liu to include the work meeting schedule of Meisels. Doing so would provide valuable insight into a person’s own behavior, as stated by Meisels (Col 4 lines 14-15).
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 5.
Claims 6 and 18
While the combination of Liu and Berger disclose the limitations above, they do not disclose wherein said visual format comprises a heat map grid.
Regarding Claim 6, Meisels discloses the following:
wherein said visual format comprises a heat map grid [see at least Col 51 lines 26-31 for reference to the batch process can also generate various “heat maps: visual representations of the earth or regions of the earth with concentrated data points that may represent different people, activities, events, tags, topics, trends, and sentiments that existed or occurred or may exist or occur at a specific point in time or period of time]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the visual format of Berger to include the heat map generation of Meisels. Doing so would provide valuable insight into a person’s own behavior, as stated by Meisels (Col 4 lines 14-15).
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 6.
Claim(s) 7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (U.S 2007/0088592 A1) in view of Berger (U.S 2018/0165654 A1), as applied in claims 1 and 16, in view of Dubey (U.S 2017/0154363 A1).
Claims 7 and 19
While the combination of Liu and Berger disclose the limitations above, they do not disclose wherein said visual format comprises a marked-up digital poster.
Regarding Claim 7, Dubey discloses the following:
wherein said visual format comprises a marked-up digital poster [see at least Paragraph 0129 for reference to sponsored content poster interface provides an interface for the posting of sponsored contents, including a corresponding sponsored content profile, on the social network and an ability to enter sponsored content bids for posted sponsored contents; Paragraph 0156 for reference to a sponsored content poster being created for a campaign within the interface screen]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the visual format of Berger to include the digital campaign poster of Dubey. Doing so would provide the campaign for users of the social network according to the campaign criteria but without necessarily utilizing constant interaction between the servers or common social network resource, as stated by Dubey (Paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lynch et al. (U.S 2008/0059256 A1) discloses an event management and marketing system that utilizes a planning module to allow users to account for logistics associated with events;
Patil et al. (WO 2020/152723 A1) discloses a system and a method for event planning which generates an event plant utilizing a master event plan;
Tenemaza, Maritzol, et al. "Improving itinerary recommendations for tourists through metaheuristic algorithms: an optimization proposal." Ieee Access 8 (2020): 79003-79023.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISTIN E GAVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624