DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12-15, and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/774631 (reference application) and claims 1, 3-6, 9-19 of copending Application No. 18/605166 either in view of US Patent No, 5,949,042 to Dietz, II. Either of the reference applications contain similar concepts as the present application but for pair with a prize redemption device or activated for redemption on the prize redemption device which is disclosed by Dietz, II (col. 8, lines 51-63). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of Dietz, II with either of the parent applications to allow for gaming on the device that you are redeeming the ticket.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising program instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry of a prize-redemption device, cause the processing circuitry to: receive scan data indicative of a scannable verification code printed on a pulltab card of a pulltab game; determine, based on the scan data, a prize-verification code for the pulltab card; verify the pulltab card by: determining, based on a game serial number associated with the prize-verification code, that the pulltab game is paired with the prize-redemption device or activated for redemption on the prize-redemption device; determining, based on the prize-verification code, that the pulltab card is a winning card; and determining, based on the prize-verification code, that the winning card has not already been redeemed; and in response to verifying the pulltab card, cause the prize-redemption device to dispense a cash prize associated with the winning card or an indication of the cash prize. The underlined portions above relate to the abstract ideas of certain methods of organizing human activity (that is they are rules for managing a wagering game) and a mental process (each of these concepts can be done simply by looking at a card and cross-referencing with previously collected data). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the abstract idea is only applied to a computing technology area which is insufficient to bring the claims into patent eligible subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the only additional elements of the claims relate to generic computing parts which the Supreme Court determined in Alice to not be enough to bring claims into patent eligibility.
All dependent claims have been considered but do not bring the claims into patent eligibility.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No, 5,949,042 to Dietz, II.
With regard to claim 1, Dietz, II discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising program instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry of a prize-redemption device, cause the processing circuitry to: receive scan data indicative of a scannable verification code printed on a pulltab card of a pulltab game (col. 6, line 54 – col. 7, line 4);determine, based on the scan data, a prize-verification code for the pulltab card (col. 6, line 54 – col. 7, line 4); verify the pulltab card by: determining, based on a game serial number associated with the prize-verification code, that the pulltab game is paired with the prize-redemption device or activated for redemption on the prize-redemption device (col. 8, lines 51-63); determining, based on the prize-verification code, that the pulltab card is a winning card (col. 8, lines 6-28; col. 8, line 64-col. 9, line 9); and determining, based on the prize-verification code, that the winning card has not already been redeemed (col. 8, lines 6-28; col. 8, line 64-col. 9, line 9); and in response to verifying the pulltab card, cause the prize-redemption device to dispense a cash prize associated with the winning card or an indication of the cash prize (col. 8, lines 6-28; col. 8, line 64-col. 9, line 9).
With regard to claim 2¸Dietz, II discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine that the pulltab card is a winning card by comparing the prize-verification code to a set of game data stored in a local memory of the prize-redemption device (col. 8, lines 29-44).
With regard to claim 8, Dietz, II discloses wherein, in response to verifying the pulltab card, the processing circuitry is further configured to cause a ticket collector of the prize-redemption device to eject the pulltab card into a secure receptacle of the prize- redemption device (col. 7, lines 16-32).
With regard to claim 9, Dietz, II discloses wherein, in response to verifying the pulltab card, the processing circuitry is further configured to update a log of prize- redemption transactions stored in digital memory (col. 8, lines 45-51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietz, II in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0157284 to Wolfe.
With regard to claim 3¸Dietz, II does not appear to explicitly disclose a .csv file. However, the combination of Dietz, II and Wolfe teaches wherein the game data comprises a comma-separated values (.csv) file comprising, for each of a plurality of winning cards of the pulltab game comprising the winning card: the game serial number for the pulltab game; and a denomination code indicating an amount of prize money associated with the winning card (Dietz, II at fig. 1A, 1B; col. 4, lines 14-31; col. 8, lines 45-51; wherein Dietz, II shows all the various information and additionally talks about storing data; Wolfe at 0120).
With regard to claim 4, Dietz, II does not appear to explicitly disclose the exact various digits claimed. However, these number of digits and their designations appear to be merely a matter of Design Choice as there is no criticality shown why using this exact number of digits would materially work any differently than what is done by Dietz, II.
With regard to claim 5, the combination of Dietz, II and Wolfe teaches that the prize-verification code comprises an eleven-digit numeric code, and wherein the .csv file further comprises the elven-digit numeric code (Dietz, II at fig. 1B; Wolfe at 0120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of Wolfe with the disclosure of Dietz, II in order to quickly store the information in a searchable format such as a well-known .csv file.
Claims 10, 12-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietz, II in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0116032 to Lutnick.
With regard to claim 6, Dietz, II does not appear to explicitly disclose wireless communication. However, the combination of Dietz, II and Lutnick teaches wirelessly receive the game data from a remote computing system to exclusively pai the game serial number with the prize-redemption device (Dietz, II at col. 8, lines 29-63; Lutnick at 0912).
Claim 10 contains limitations similar to those presented in claims 1 and 6 and is rejected in like manner.
Claim 12 contains limitations similar to those found in claim 8 and is rejected in like manner.
Claim 13 contains limitations similar to those found in claim 9 and is rejected in like manner.
Claim 14 contains limitations that are similar to those found in claim 1 and is rejected in like manner.
With regard to claim 15¸Dietz, II discloses a system comprising: a computing device configured to generate a pulltab game (col. 8, line 29 – col. 9, line 9) comprising: a set of game data (fig. 1A, 1B); and a set of graphical card images comprising at least one scannable verification code associated with the game data (fig. 1A, 1B). All other limitations presented are similar to those found in claims 1 and 6 and are rejected in like manner.
Claim 17 is similar to limitations found in claim 1 and claim 8 and is rejected in like manner.
Claim 18 has similar limitations found in claims 2 and 9 and is rejected in like manner.
With regard to claim 19, Dietz, II discloses a game serial number for the pulltab game (fig. 1A, 1B); and a denomination code indicating an amount of prize money (col. 8, lines 45 – col. 9, line 9).
Claim 20 includes limitations similar to those found in claim 1 and is rejected in like manner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of Lutnick with the disclosure of Dietz, II in order to provide easy communication such as wireless communication between computers.
Conclusion
/Jay Trent Liddle/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715