DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of election of Species B corresponding to claims 70-81 for prosecution on merits filed on 07/02/2026 is acknowledged.
3. Claims 57-69 and 82-86 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/02/2026.
Therefore, claims 70-81 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 70-77, 79 and 81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Colley (USP 2005/0127880).
As Per claim 70, Colley teaches, a multi-rotor vehicle system comprising,
a system for powering an electric motor for a vehicle, (via a DC motor with controller, [0004], [0060]) the system comprising: a first power source coupleable to the electric motor and configurable to provide power to the electric motor; ( via a DC motor with controller, [0004], [0060]); a second power source coupleable to the electric motor and configurable to provide power to the electric motor, wherein the second power source consumes fuel carried onboard the vehicle; ([0034], [0042], [0043], [0047], [0048]); and one or more controllers (via a DC motor with controller, [0004], [0060]) programmed with instructions that, when executed: control flow of electrical current between the second power source and the first power source; control flow of electrical current between the first power source ( battery bank 34) and the electric motor; control flow of electrical current between the second power source (battery bank 34) and the electric motor; control flow of electrical current between the second power source and the first power source while controlling flow of electrical current between the first power source and the electric motor( Electric motor 14, Figs.2-3); control flow of electrical current between the second power source and the first power source while controlling flow of electrical current between the second power source and the electric motor; and control flow of electrical current between the second power source and the electric motor while controlling flow of electrical current between the first power source and the electric motor, ( [0044], [0042],[0043],[0045], [0046], [0047] [0048], [0050], Figs. 105).
As per Claim 71, Colley teaches the limitation of Claim 70. However, Colley further teaches, wherein: (a) the first power source comprises one or more energy storage devices; and (b) the second power source includes an alternator or generator, wherein the second power source consumes the fuel to produce mechanical movement for the alternator or a generator (battery bank 34, [0004], [0042]).
As per Claim 72, Colley teaches the limitation of Claim 71. However, Colley further teaches, wherein second power source comprises an internal combustion engine. ( Internal combustion engine [0024]).
As per Claim 73, Colley teaches the limitation of Claim 71. However, Colley further teaches, wherein the second power source comprises the alternator (Induction generator 14),[0042]-[0044],[0046]) and wherein the alternator is configured to produce multiphase alternating current. ( by way of “first, second and third phase shift , lines 48, 50 and 52 connected to the first ,second and third output lines 42, 44 and 46”, [0044],[0045], [0047], Fig. ).
As per Claim 74, Colley teaches the limitation of Claim 73. However, Colley further teaches, the system further comprising one or more transistors configured to rectify the multiphase alternating current to produce direct current for the electric motor. (pulse width modulation PWM ,switching transition in DC to DC convert 96, [0048]).
As per Claim 75, Colley teaches the limitation of Claim 73. However, Colley further teaches, the system comprising one or more diodes configured to rectify the multiphase alternating current to produce direct current for the electric motor. ( via diode 114, [0049], Fig.4).
As per Claim 76, Colley teaches the limitation of Claim 70. However, Colley further teaches, the system further comprising a third power source, wherein the first power source comprises a first energy storage device and the third power source comprises a second energy storage device, wherein the second power source is coupleable to the second energy storage device to charge the second energy storage device while first energy storage device provides power to the electric motor (Colley : [0042-0048], Figs. 1-3).
As per Claim 77, Colley teaches the limitation of Claim 70. However, Colley further teaches, wherein the one or more controllers are programmed with instructions that, when executed, throttle the second power source to control the power from the second power source. ([0027], [0048], [0049], Fig.3).
As per Claim 79, Colley teaches the limitation of Claim 70. However, Colley further teaches, wherein the second power source comprises an alternator, (Induction generator 14),[0042]-[0044],[0046], Figs. 1,2) , and wherein the first power source is coupleable to the second power source to commutate the alternator. ( by way of “first, second and third phase shift , lines 48, 50 and 52 connected to the first ,second and third output lines 42, 44 and 46”, [0044],[0045], [0047], Fig.2).
As per Claim 81, Colley teaches the limitation of Claim 70. However, Colley further teaches, wherein the first power source comprises one or more batteries (Colley : Via Battery bank Abstract, [0004]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 78 and 80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colley (USP 2005/0127880) in view of Kuhn, JR (USP 2011/0024555) in view of Van Helden ( USP 2010/0102163).
As per Claim 78, Colley teaches the limitation of Claim 70. However, Colley does not explicitly teach, wherein: the vehicle is an aircraft; the aircraft comprises a rotor coupled to the electric motor; and the system further comprises an electronic speed controller for controlling the electric motor to generate thrust for the aircraft.
In an analogous art, Kuhn Jr. ( Kuhn) teaches, wherein: the vehicle is an aircraft; the aircraft comprises a rotor coupled to the electric motor;( via “a vertical takeoff and landing (VTOL) heavier than air aircraft, comprising: at least a plurality of electric motors coupled to a first rotor of the aircraft where the remaining operative motors are capable of driving the first rotor upon failure of one motor; an electrical energy store coupled to the motors”, [0080], Table -3 and [0083], Table-6; Figs. 1A-2B, 4-6).
In an analogous art, Van Helden teaches, an aircraft configured for vertically ascending and landing, wherein, the system further comprises an electronic speed controller for controlling the electric motor to generate thrust for the aircraft (via aircraft 1 being equipped with thrust motor 6 and on board computer 100 and motor controller 170, and being capable of generating thrust for the aircraft, See [0016], [0021], [0024-0025], [0067-0068], [0096], claims 15 and 23, Figs. .1-2, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Colley and Kuhn and Van Helden before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Kuhn and include the teachings of Colley and Van Helden and configure with the System of Kuhn to acquire an aircraft being equipped with rotor and electric motor and thrust motor and being capable of generating thrust force for the aircraft.
As per Claim 80, Colley teaches the limitation of Claim 70. However, Colley further does not explicitly teach, wherein the fuel is a liquid fuel.
In an analogous art, Kuhn Jr. ( Kuhn) teaches, wherein the fuel is a liquid fuel (Kuhn : [0060]). (See claim 78 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD SHAFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666C