DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-15 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
2. Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim(s) 11-15 does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because of the reasons set forth below.
Claims 11-15 recite “computer readable storage media.” Applicant’s specification, in page paragraph [0059], discloses: A computer-readable storage medium may include, for example, but not limited to, an electronic, magnetic, optical, electromagnetic, infrared, or semiconductor system, apparatus, or device, or any suitable combination of the foregoing, but would not include propagating signals.
As such, computer readable storage media, as disclosed by Applicant’s specification, does not definitively exclude propagating signals, and may include transitory embodiment, which is nonstatutory.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 11, 13, and15 of co-pending Application No. 18/999,608, in view of Nezou et al., (hereinafter, “Nezou”), WO-2025/061600 A1.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the above co-pending application recites most of limitations of claim 1 of the instant application.
However, claim 1 of the above co-pending application lacks determining, by the access point, for one or more epoch groups a number of wireless stations participating in each epoch group of the one or more epoch groups.
Nezou teaches determining, by the access point, for one or more epoch groups a number of wireless stations participating in each epoch group of the one or more epoch groups (i.e., Nezou, in page 15 lines 36-37, discloses the AP station calculates the number NSTA of non-AP stations. Nezou, in page 16 lines 6-7, further disclose NSTA is the number of non-AP stations within the reference privacy group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified method recited in claim 1 of the above co-pending application to determine, by the access point, for one or more epoch groups a number of wireless stations participating in each epoch group of the one or more epoch groups, as taught by Nezou. One would be motivated to do so to allow the sizes of the groups to be appropriately adjusted (i.e., Nezou, page 5 lines 7-8).
Claim 3 of the above co-pending application recites every element of claim 2 of the instant application.
Claim 3 of the above co-pending application recites every element of claim 3 of the instant application.
Claim 5 of the above co-pending application recites every element of claim 4 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 6, claim 11 of the above co-pending application recites most of limitations of claim 6 of the instant application.
However, claim 11 of the above co-pending application lacks determining, by the access point, for one or more epoch groups a number of wireless stations participating in each epoch group of the one or more epoch groups.
Nezou teaches determining, by the access point, for one or more epoch groups a number of wireless stations participating in each epoch group of the one or more epoch groups (i.e., Nezou, in page 15 lines 36-37, discloses the AP station calculates the number NSTA of non-AP stations. Nezou, in page 16 lines 6-7, further disclose NSTA is the number of non-AP stations within the reference privacy group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified a wireless access point recited in claim 6 of the above co-pending application to determine, by the access point, for one or more epoch groups a number of wireless stations participating in each epoch group of the one or more epoch groups, as taught by Nezou. One would be motivated to do so to allow the sizes of the groups to be appropriately adjusted (i.e., Nezou, page 5 lines 7-8).
Claim 13 of the above co-pending application recites every element of claim 7 of the instant application.
Claim 13 of the above co-pending application recites every element of claim 8 of the instant application.
Claim 15 of the above co-pending application recites every element of claim 9 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 6, claim 11 of the above co-pending application recites most of limitations of claim 6 of the instant application.
However, claim 11 of the above co-pending application lacks determining, by the access point, for one or more epoch groups a number of wireless stations participating in each epoch group of the one or more epoch groups.
Nezou teaches determining, by the access point, for one or more epoch groups a number of wireless stations participating in each epoch group of the one or more epoch groups (i.e., Nezou, in page 15 lines 36-37, discloses the AP station calculates the number NSTA of non-AP stations. Nezou, in page 16 lines 6-7, further disclose NSTA is the number of non-AP stations within the reference privacy group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified a wireless access point recited in claim 6 of the above co-pending application to determine, by the access point, for one or more epoch groups a number of wireless stations participating in each epoch group of the one or more epoch groups, as taught by Nezou. One would be motivated to do so to allow the sizes of the groups to be appropriately adjusted (i.e., Nezou, page 5 lines 7-8).
Claims 11-14 recites one or more computer-readable storage media encoded with software comprising computer executable instructions and when the software is executed by processor in a wireless access point apparatus, cause the processor to perform method claims 1-4, discussed above, same rationale of rejections is applied.
Regarding claims 5, 10, and 15, claims 1-20 of the above co-pending application lacks the one or more epoch parameters are encrypted. However, Encryption is well-known in the art for protecting data.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baron et al., (herein, “Baron”), US WO 2025/099056 A1, in view of Nezou et al, (herein, “Nezou”), WO-2025/061600 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Baron teaches a method (i.e., Fig. 9a) comprising:
transmitting, by an access point, one or more wireless frames advertising support for enhanced data privacy (EDP), wherein the one or more wireless frames indicate support for group-based EDP (i.e., a frame sent by an AP station to one or more non-AP stations to indicate the parameters of a Group Epoch series…called Group EDP Epoch advertisement, page 36 lines 8-12);
transmitting, by the access point, one or more epoch parameters associated with a plurality of epoch groups, wherein a first epoch parameter of the one or more epoch parameters comprises epoch timing information and a second epoch parameter indicates a number of wireless stations participating in the corresponding epoch group (i.e. sent by an AP station to one or more non-AP stations to indicate the parameters of a Group Epoch series, page 36 lines 8-18); and
receiving, by the access point, a wireless action frame transmitted by the wireless station, wherein the wireless action frame indicates a first epoch group of the plurality of epoch groups that the wireless station proposes to join (i.e., an EDP non-AP STA sends an EDP Epoch Sequence Response frame to acknowledge the membership of the Group DEP Epoch sequence, page 38 lines 4-11).
Baron does not explicitly teach determining, by the access point, for one or more epoch groups a number of wireless stations participating in each epoch group of the one or more epoch groups; and maintaining a wireless connection with the wireless station using a plurality of over-the-air (OTA) medium access control (MAC) addresses for the wireless station that are rotated at an epoch interval associated with the first epoch group.
Nezou teaches determining, by the access point, for one or more epoch groups a number of wireless stations participating in each epoch group of the one or more epoch groups (i.e. Nezou, in page 15 lines 36-37, discloses the AP station calculates the number NSTA of non-AP stations. Nezou, in page 16 lines 6-7, further disclose NSTA is the number of non-AP stations within the reference privacy group); maintaining a wireless connection with the wireless station using a plurality of over- the-air (OTA) medium access control (MAC) addresses for the wireless station that are rotated at an epoch interval associated with the first epoch group (i.e., Randomized and Changing MAC (RCM) procedure…conducted by AP to obfuscate the values of the PE parameters of all its associated non-AP stations (i.e., OTA MAC address, page 8 lines 29-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Baron to determine, by the access point, for one or more epoch groups a number of wireless stations participating in each epoch group of the one or more epoch groups; and maintain a wireless connection with the wireless station using a plurality of over- the-air (OTA) medium access control (MAC) addresses for the wireless station that are rotated at an epoch interval associated with the first epoch group, as taught by Nezou. One would be motivated to do so to allow the sizes of the groups to be adjusted (i.e., Nezou, page 5 lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 2, Baron teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the one or more wireless frames advertising support for enhanced data privacy (EDP) are beacon frames (i.e., beacon frame, page 25 lines 15-19).
Regarding claim 3, Baron teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the one or more wireless frames advertising support for enhanced data privacy (EDP) are wireless management frames (i.e., beacon frame, page 25 lines 15-19).
.
Regarding claim 4, Baron teaches the method of claim 1.
Baron does not explicitly teach wherein the second epoch parameter identifies a number of wireless stations participating in the corresponding epoch group.
Nezou teaches wherein the second epoch parameter identifies a number of wireless stations participating in the corresponding epoch group (i.e., the number of non-AP stations with the reference privacy group, page 16 lines 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Baron to identify a number of wireless stations participating in the corresponding epoch group, as taught by Nezou. One would be motivated to do so to allow the suitable sizes of the groups to be adjusted (i.e., Nezou, page 5 lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 5, Baron teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the one or more epoch parameters are encrypted (i.e., Epoch parameters can be sent in an encrypted IE, or encrypted frame, page 15 lines 16-17).
Regarding claims 6-10, those claims recite a wireless access point for performing method claims 1-5, discussed above, same rationale of rejections is applied.
Regarding claims 11-15, those claims recite one or more computer readable storage media encoded with software comprising computer executable instructions and when the software is executed by processor in a wireless access point apparatus, cause the processor to perform method claims 1-5, discussed above, same rationale of rejections is applied.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Henry et al., US 2021/0360465 A1, discloses a method for identifying a station that rotates an over the air station address (i.e., abstract).
Sevin et al., US 2025/0071542 A1, discloses a method for changing the value of one or more privacy parameters, such as a MAC address, of target stations within a BSS, at both an AP station and a non-AP station associated with the AP station (i.e., abstract).
Jin et al., US 2013/0223306 A1, discloses, the AP may rotate amongst the groups of STAs to deliver all downlink traffic by controlling the group bits (i.e., page 4 paragraph [0065]).
Ansley, US 2024/0291797 A1, discloses a method and system for providing media access control address rotation (i.e., abstract).
Hornquist Astrand et al., US 2019/0286614 A1, discloses a peer device that wants to join a peer group obtains the most recent epoch period number from the synchronizing server set after it provides to the server set the necessary credentials to join the peer group (i.e., page 7 paragraph [0097]).
/OANH DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441