DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to Claim(s) 1, and the addition of Claim(s) 8 and 9, filed 11/26/2025, are acknowledged and accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-16, filed 11/26/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 6 and 7 under 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are moot because the Applicant is arguing newly amended claims, filed 11/26/2025, not the Non-Final Rejection filed 08/27/2025. Newly amended claims are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seung et al., (hereafter Seung) (KR102303499B1) further in view of Matsuda et al., (hereafter Matsuda) (US 2017/0205753 A1), of record and Sekii et al., (hereafter Sekii) (US 2018/0348504 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Seung teaches a frame module of an optical actuator, the frame module comprising: a base (110, Figures 1 and 2); a carrier (130, Figures 1 and 2) configured to be movable relative to the base (110, Figures 1 and 2) in an optical axis direction (Z-axis direction, Figures 1 and 2); and a shaft (120, Figures 1 and 2) disposed on any one of the base (110, Figures 1 and 2) and the carrier (130, Figures 1 and 2), the shaft (120, Figures 1 and 2) being disposed long in the optical axis direction (Z-axis direction, Figures 1 and 2), the shaft (120, Figures 1 and 2), wherein the other of the base (110, Figures 1 and 2) and the carrier (130, Figures 1 and 2) comprises a shaft guide groove (132, Figure 3) extending in the optical axis direction (Z-axis direction, Figures 1 and 2) from a surface facing the shaft (120, Figures 1 and 2), the shaft guide groove (132, Figure 3) being configured to receive at least a part of the shaft (120, Figures 1 and 2) thereinto, the base (110, Figures 1 and 2) and the carrier (130, Figures 1 and 2), the shaft (120, Figures 1 and 2) is partially embedded (see how 130 fits with 110 in Figure 3) in one surface of any one of the base (110, Figures 1 and 2) and the carrier (130, Figures 1 and 2) by insert injection molding (Figure 5; see also ¶[0094]), wherein the shaft guide groove (132, Figure 3) comprises: a bottom surface (see annotated Figure 3); and first and second inclined surfaces (see oblique surfaces in 132, annotated Figure 3) extending obliquely from both sides of the bottom surface (see annotated Figure 3), respectively, wherein the exposed portion of the shaft (120, Figures 1 and 2) is in direct linear sliding contact with the first and second inclined surfaces (see oblique surfaces in 132, Figure 3) during movement of the carrier (130, Figures 1 and 2) in the optical axis direction (Z-axis direction, Figures 1 and 2).
Seung fails to teach the shaft being made of metal, the carrier is made of a synthetic resin, wherein a lubricant receiving recess formed in an inner surface of the shaft guide groove.
Matsuda teaches a driving force transmission device and image forming apparatus (title and abstract) wherein the shaft (160, Figure 2) being made of metal (¶[0073]), the carrier (150, Figure 2) is made of a synthetic resin (¶[0073]), wherein a lubricant receiving recess (164, Figure 7B) formed in an inner surface of the shaft guide groove (interposed between the groove 164 and the one end 141a of the rotating shaft 141 abutting thereagainst, ¶[0069]),
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Seung having the frame module with the teachings of Matsuda having the carrier made of synthetic resin and a lubricant receiving recess and modifying Seung by forming the first and second inclined surface for the purpose of improving the rotating slidability of the rotating shaft (¶[0069]).
Seung in view of Matsuda fail to teach the lubricant receiving recess being formed on the first and/or second inclined surface and being configured to supply lubricant to sliding contact regions between the exposed portion of the shaft and the first and second inclined surfaces.
Seung teaches an optical actuator, Matsuda teaches a driving force transmission device that uses an optical actuator, and Sekii teaches a rotary drive apparatus that uses an optical actuator.
Sekii teaches the lubricant (oil 50, Figure 3) receiving recess being formed on the first (241, Figure 3) and/or second (242, Figure 3) inclined surface and being configured to supply lubricant (oil 50, Figure 3) to sliding contact regions (see where 241 and 242 and 243 converge, Figure 3) between the exposed portion of the shaft (31, Figure 3) and the first (241, Figure 3) and second (242, Figure 3) inclined surfaces.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Seung in view of Matsuda having the optical actuator with the teachings of Sekii having the lubricant receiving recess being formed on the first and/or second inclined surface and being configured to supply lubricant to sliding contact regions between the exposed portion of the shaft and the first and second inclined surfaces for the purpose of continuous lubrication of the elements, ¶[0046].
With respect to Claim 2, Seung further teaches wherein the base (110, Figures 1 and 2) and the carrier (130, Figures 1 and 2) are disposed such that one surrounds the other (see how 110 surrounds 120, Figure 2) when viewed in the optical axis direction (Z-axis direction, Figures 1 and 2), the shaft (120, Figures 1 and 2) is disposed on an inner peripheral surface of the one (see 130, Figure 2), and the shaft guide groove (132, Figure 3) is disposed in an outer peripheral surface (132 is on the outer corner of 130, Figure 3) of the other facing the inner peripheral surface of the one (110, Figures 1 and 2).
With respect to Claim 3, Seung further teaches wherein the base (110, Figures 1 and 2) and the carrier (130, Figures 1 and 2) are disposed such that one surrounds (see how 110 surrounds 120, Figure 2) the other when viewed in the optical axis direction (Z-axis direction, Figures 1 and 2), the shaft (120, Figures 1 and 2) is disposed on an outer peripheral surface of the other (120, Figure 2), and the shaft guide groove (132, Figure 3) is disposed in an inner peripheral surface of the one (110, Figures 1 and 2) facing the outer peripheral surface of the other (120, Figures 1 and 2).
With respect to Claim 8, Seung in view of Matsuda teach the frame module according to claim 1.
Seung in view of Matsuda fail to teach wherein a plurality of the lubricant receiving recesses are formed in series along the optical axis direction.
Seung teaches an optical actuator, Matsuda teaches a driving force transmission device that uses an optical actuator, and Sekii teaches a rotary drive apparatus that uses an optical actuator.
Sekii teaches a plurality of the lubricant receiving recesses (see both locations of 50 in Figure 3) are formed in series along the optical axis direction (see Figure 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Seung in view of Matsuda having the optical actuator with the teachings of Sekii having a plurality of the lubricant receiving recesses are formed in series along the optical axis direction for the purpose of continuous lubrication of the elements, ¶[0046].
With respect to Claim 9, Seung in view of Matsuda teach the frame module according to claim 8,
Seung in view of Matsuda fail to teach wherein each of the plurality of lubricant receiving recesses is formed across the bottom surface, the first inclined surface, and the second inclined surface of the shaft guide groove.
Seung teaches an optical actuator, Matsuda teaches a driving force transmission device that uses an optical actuator, and Sekii teaches a rotary drive apparatus that uses an optical actuator.
Sekii teaches each of the plurality of lubricant receiving recesses (see both locations of 50 in Figure 3) is formed across the bottom surface, the first inclined surface (241, Figure 3), and the second inclined surface (242, Figure 3) of the shaft guide groove (41, Figure 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Seung in view of Matsuda having the optical actuator with the teachings of Sekii having each of the plurality of lubricant receiving recesses is formed across the bottom surface, the first inclined surface, and the second inclined surface of the shaft guide groove for the purpose of continuous lubrication of the elements, ¶[0046].
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seung (KR102303499B1) in view of Matsuda (US 2017/0205753 A1) and Sekii (US 2018/0348504 A1), and in further view of Hu et al., (hereafter Hu) (US 2018/0299641 A1) and Wang et al., (hereafter Wang) (US 12,153,336 B2).
With respect to Claim 6, Modified Seung in view of Matsuda teach wherein the shaft guide groove (132, Figure 3, of Seung) further comprises: a first guide surface portion (one of 121, Figure 3, of Seung), the first guide surface portion (one of 121, Figure 3, of Seung) disposed on the first inclined surface (see oblique surfaces in 132, annotated Figure 3), the first guide surface portion (one of 121, Figure 3, of Seung) being in contact with a first side of the portion of the shaft (120, Figures 1 and 2) not embedded, first guide surface portion (one of 121, Figure 3, of Seung); and a second guide surface portion (one of 121, Figure 3, of Seung) disposed on the second inclined surface (see annotated Figure 3, of Seung), the second guide surface portion (one of 121, Figure 3, of Seung) being in contact with a second side of the portion of the shaft (120, Figures 1 and 2) not embedded.
Modified Seung fail to teach the first guide surface portion being made of metal and the second guide surface portion being made of metal.
Hu teaches a lens driving mechanism (title and abstract) wherein the first guide surface portion (positioning components 14, Figure 4A) being made of metal (¶[0044]) and the second guide surface portion (metal positioning components 14, Figure 4A) being made of metal (¶[0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine the teachings of Seung in view of Matsuda having the frame module with the teachings of Hu having guide surface portions being made of metal for the purpose of assembly accuracy to solve the problem of images coming out blurry due to poor accuracy during assembly.
With respect to Claim 7, Modified Seung teach wherein the shaft guide groove (132, Figure 3, of Seung) further comprises: a first guide surface portion (one of 121, Figure 3, of Seung) disposed on the first inclined surface (see annotated Figure 3, of Seung), the first guide surface portion (one of 121, Figure 3, of Seung) being in contact with a first side of the portion of the shaft (120, Figures 1 and 2, of Seung) not embedded, the first guide surface portion (one of 121, Figure 3, of Seung); and a second guide surface portion (one of 121, Figure 3, of Seung) disposed on the second inclined surface (see annotated Figure 3, of Seung), the second guide surface portion (one of 121, Figure 3, of Seung) being in contact with a second side of the portion of the shaft (120, Figures 1 and 2, of Seung) not embedded.
Modified Seung fails to teach the first guide surface portion being made of metal, the second guide surface portion being made of metal.
Hu teaches a lens driving mechanism (title and abstract) wherein the first guide surface portion (positioning components 14, Figure 4A) being made of metal (¶[0044]) and the second guide surface portion (metal positioning components 14, Figure 4A) being made of metal (¶[0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine the teachings of Modified Seung in view of Matsuda having the frame module with the teachings of Hu having guide surface portions being made of metal for the purpose of assembly accuracy to solve the problem of images coming out blurry due to poor accuracy during assembly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
-8300.
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872