DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 14-19, in claim 14, the recitation “the heat source” has insufficient antecedent basis in the claims; this would need to recite “a” as this is the first recitation.
Regarding claim 18, as per the rejection above, the recitation “further comprising a heat source” would need to recite “wherein the heat source” for antecedent basis agreement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sowers, Jr et al (US 2019/0271228), hereinafter Sowers, taken in combination with Ethridge (US 2016/0024921) and Taylor et al (US 2008/0003133).
Regarding claim 1, Sowers teaches a system (thermal system 14) for extracting water from soil and or regolith on extraterrestrial bodies, including the Moon and Mars (see title, abstract, Figs 1-5, [0064-0068), comprising: a shielded internal environment (enclosure 16) defined within a cover (body 18) that rests atop granular soil (soil or regolith 2) (see Fig 3,[0064-0066]); the cover comprising cover body (body 18) extending from a rim (skirt 17) to a cover top (at top window 22) (see Fig 3, [0094-0098]); the shielded environment (inside of 16) is not in communication with an outside environment (outside of 16) via the cover body (body 18); a heat source (electric heater 42) disposed in the cover configured to heat the granular soil (2) (see Fig 4, [0099]); a gas collector in the internal environment 16 (“The enclosure 16 includes a container 24 to collect water released from the regolith” see Fig 3, [0070]), while not explicitly “in” cover 18, this makes obvious that it is a part of the enclosure, i.e. broadly understood to be “in” the environment as it is continuous with the interior volume of the cover via conduit26, the container 24 may be a cold trap, understood to be cooled, or have a radiator 25, to further cool the container 24 to allow collection/condensation of evaporated water in the regolith, (see Figs 3-3B, [0074-0081]).
However, Sowers does not teach a blade extending from the rim, wherein the blade is configured to penetrate the granular soil.
Ethridge teaches a system for extraction of volatiles from planetary bodies in a vacuum environment (see title, abstract), Ethridge teaches the system is for extracting volatiles by surrounding the body in a shield, microwave heating and condensing in a cold trap to recover volatiles (see Fig 1a, [0085-0091], i.e. for smaller asteroids), alternately for bigger planetary bodies a shield is deployed and microwave heating is done and product recovered (see Fig 3a, [0113-0122]), in a further embodiment, the valuable volatiles are located at depths below the surface, and therefore an auger blade 412 is needed to disrupt the regolith to liberate the volatiles so they can be heated and recovered (see Figs 4a-4b, [0048-0049], [0123-0125]).
Taylor teaches a system for in situ microwave consolidation of planetary materials (see title, abstract), Taylor teaches the vehicle 10 is provided with plow blade 16 (grading blade 16), mounted on frame 12 (see Fig 1, [0022]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Sowers to include a blade extending from the rim, wherein the blade is configured to penetrate the granular soil because in view of Ethridge, different planetary bodies require different ways to agitate, and evolve volatiles to extract resources from (see Ethridge embodiments above), including with an auger blade, and to mount the blade on the edge of the frame/rim as part of a moving rover was known as taught by Taylor, therefore this would achieve the agitation suggested by Ethridge.
Regarding claim 2, in the modification of claim 1 above, the environment would be connected to a rover, and Ethridge teaches vehicle 56 is associated with system (see Fig 2, [0069]).
Regarding claim 3, in modified Ethridge, Taylor teaches the blade 16 is a plow, which would push debris aside.
Regarding claim 4-9, Ethridge teaches there may be multiple heaters 42 (see Fig 4, [0099]), while not specifically teaching the locations as claimed, in modified Ethridge the skilled artisan would be expected to use constructional design choice and arrive at optimal locations of heaters and type of heaters as claimed through routine skill.
Regarding claim 10, in modified Ethridge, Taylor suggests a forward moving direction (see Fig 1, directional arrow, and the blade 16 moves forward with the vehicle 10 in the forward direction).
Regarding claim 11, Ethridge teaches two cooled containers 24 that may be cryogenically cooled via thermal system 14 as set forth above (see Ethridge Fig 3, [0076]).
Regarding claim 12, in modified Ethridge, Taylor teaches the blade 16 is a plow, which would serve to flip debris.
Regarding claim 13, in modified Ethridge as set forth above, including both blades of Taylor and Ethridge, and via a duplication or parts, the skilled artisan would modify the system with several rows without unexpected results to further first flatten and then agitate the regolith.
Regarding claim 14, Sowers teaches a system (thermal system 14) for extracting water from soil and or regolith on extraterrestrial bodies, including the Moon and Mars (see title, abstract, Figs 1-5, [0064-0068), comprising: a shielded internal environment (enclosure 16) defined within a cover (body 18) that rests atop granular soil (soil or regolith 2) (see Fig 3,[0064-0066]); the cover comprising cover body (body 18) extending from a rim (skirt 17) to a cover top (at top window 22) (see Fig 3, [0094-0098]); the shielded environment (inside of 16) is not in communication with an outside environment (outside of 16) via the cover body (body 18); a heat source (electric heater 42) disposed in the cover configured to heat the granular soil (2) (see Fig 4, [0099]); a gas collector in the internal environment 16 (“The enclosure 16 includes a container 24 to collect water released from the regolith” see Fig 3, [0070]), while not explicitly “in” cover 18, this makes obvious that it is a part of the enclosure, i.e. broadly understood to be “in” the environment as it is continuous with the interior volume of the cover via conduit26, the container 24 may be a cold trap, understood to be cooled, or have a radiator 25, to further cool the container 24 to allow collection/condensation of evaporated water in the regolith, (see Figs 3-3B, [0074-0081]) .
However, Sowers does not teach a blade extending from the rim, wherein the blade is configured to penetrate the granular soil nor the heat source as claimed.
Ethridge teaches a system for extraction of volatiles from planetary bodies in a vacuum environment (see title, abstract), Ethridge teaches the system is for extracting volatiles by surrounding the body in a shield, microwave heating and condensing in a cold trap to recover volatiles (see Fig 1a, [0085-0091], i.e. for smaller asteroids), alternately for bigger planetary bodies a shield is deployed and microwave heating is done and product recovered (see Fig 3a, [0113-0122]), in a further embodiment, the valuable volatiles are located at depths below the surface, and therefore an auger blade 412 is needed to disrupt the regolith to liberate the volatiles so they can be heated and recovered (see Figs 4a-4b, [0048-0049], [0123-0125]), Ethridge teaches there may be multiple heaters 42 (see Fig 4, [0099]),.
Taylor teaches a system for in situ microwave consolidation of planetary materials (see title, abstract), Taylor teaches the vehicle 10 is provided with plow blade 16 (grading blade 16), mounted on frame 12 (see Fig 1, [0022]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Sowers to include a blade extending from the rim in combination with heat source, wherein the blade is configured to penetrate the granular soil because in view of Ethridge, different planetary bodies require different ways to heat, agitate, and evolve volatiles to extract resources from (see Ethridge embodiments above), including with an auger blade, and to mount the blade on the edge of the frame/rim as part of a moving rover was known as taught by Taylor, therefore this would achieve the agitation suggested by Ethridge.
Regarding claims 15-16, in the modification of claim 1 above, the environment would be connected to a rover, and Ethridge teaches vehicle 56 is associated with system (see Fig 2, [0069]) and Taylor suggests a forward moving direction (see Fig 1, directional arrow, and the blade 16 moves forward with the vehicle 10 in the forward direction).
Regarding claim 17, in modified Ethridge, Taylor teaches the blade 16 is a plow, which would push debris aside.
Regarding claims 18-19, Ethridge has taught there may be multiple heaters 42 (see Fig 4, [0099]), while not specifically teaching the locations as claimed, in modified Ethridge the skilled artisan would be expected to use constructional design choice and arrive at optimal locations of heaters and type of heaters as claimed through routine skill.
Regarding claim 20, Sowers teaches a system (thermal system 14) for extracting water from soil and or regolith on extraterrestrial bodies, including the Moon and Mars (see title, abstract, Figs 1-5, [0064-0068), comprising: a shielded internal environment (enclosure 16) defined within a cover (body 18) that rests atop granular soil (soil or regolith 2) (see Fig 3,[0064-0066]); the cover comprising cover body (body 18) extending from a rim (skirt 17) to a cover top (at top window 22) (see Fig 3, [0094-0098]); the shielded environment (inside of 16) is not in communication with an outside environment (outside of 16) via the cover body (body 18); a heat source (electric heater 42) disposed in the cover configured to heat the granular soil (2) (see Fig 4, [0099]); a gas collector in the internal environment 16 (“The enclosure 16 includes a container 24 to collect water released from the regolith” see Fig 3, [0070]), while not explicitly “in” cover 18, this makes obvious that it is a part of the enclosure, i.e. broadly understood to be “in” the environment as it is continuous with the interior volume of the cover via conduit26, the container 24 may be a cold trap, understood to be cooled, or have a radiator 25, to further cool the container 24 to allow collection/condensation of evaporated water in the regolith, (see Figs 3-3B, [0074-0081]). While Sowers doesn’t explicitly teach the temperature is below 100 deg Kelvin, clearly this is deployed in the very cold environment of space/the moon, therefore would be expected to reach very low temperatures such as below 100 deg Kelvin, and further this is directed to method of operating which does not differentiate this system, see MPEP 2114 (II).
However, Sowers does not teach a blade extending from the rim, wherein the blade is configured to penetrate the granular soil.
Ethridge teaches a system for extraction of volatiles from planetary bodies in a vacuum environment (see title, abstract), Ethridge teaches the system is for extracting volatiles by surrounding the body in a shield, microwave heating and condensing in a cold trap to recover volatiles (see Fig 1a, [0085-0091], i.e. for smaller asteroids), alternately for bigger planetary bodies a shield is deployed and microwave heating is done and product recovered (see Fig 3a, [0113-0122]), in a further embodiment, the valuable volatiles are located at depths below the surface, and therefore an auger blade 412 is needed to disrupt the regolith to liberate the volatiles so they can be heated and recovered (see Figs 4a-4b, [0048-0049], [0123-0125]).
Taylor teaches a system for in situ microwave consolidation of planetary materials (see title, abstract), Taylor teaches the vehicle 10 is provided with plow blade 16 (grading blade 16), mounted on frame 12 (see Fig 1, [0022]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Sowers to include a blade extending from the rim, wherein the blade is configured to penetrate the granular soil because in view of Ethridge, different planetary bodies require different ways to agitate, and evolve volatiles to extract resources from (see Ethridge embodiments above), including with an auger blade, and to mount the blade on the edge of the frame/rim as part of a moving rover was known as taught by Taylor, therefore this would achieve the agitation suggested by Ethridge.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,044,126. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are the less limited invention compared with the ‘126 patent and it is held obvious to claim the less limited invention, while incorporating features of dependent claims without unexpected results.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,066,252. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are the less limited invention compared with the ‘252 patent and it is held obvious to claim the less limited invention, while incorporating features of dependent claims without unexpected results.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,091,973. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are the less limited invention compared with the ‘973 patent and it is held obvious to claim the less limited invention, while incorporating features of dependent claims without unexpected results.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Citations from the parent application are cited herein.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772