DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 1/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-16 will be examined hereafter.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the several of the drawings filed 2/2/2025 are not proper black and white line drawings. At least Figures 7-11 appear to be greyscale CAD drawings, and details of the drawings are very difficult to interpret. For example, at least elements 310a, 312, 314 as shown in Figure 11 are blurred and the indicated structure is very difficult to distinguish. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Podkopayev (US 10,683,691).
Regarding claim 1, Podkopayev discloses a powered actuator for a closure panel of a vehicle, comprising: an electric motor (element 302) [configured to rotate a driven shaft]* (see at least column 15, lines 12-25, “Electric motor 302 includes a rotary output shaft driving an input gear component of geartrain unit 304”); a linear actuator (considered at least elements 330, 334, 310, 350) [configured to be coupled to one of a body or the closure panel for moving the closure panel between a fully closed position and a fully open position in response to actuation of the electric motor]*, the linear actuator having an extensible member (considered at least element 350) and a nut (element 334); a cover (element 326) enclosing at least a portion of the extensible member and the nut; a stop feature (element 362) fixed to at least one of the extensible member and the nut; and at least one friction feature (elements 502 and 504) fixed to the cover, [wherein the stop feature contacts the at least one friction feature to releasably hold the closure panel between the fully closed position and the fully open position]*.
Examiner’s note: *The above/below statements in brackets are examples of an intended use statement that fails to further limit the structure of the claimed invention. Since the claimed invention is directed solely to the structure of a powered actuator, the prior art must only be capable of meeting the structural recitation in order to be applicable, and in this case, the examiner maintains that the powered actuator disclosed by Podkopayev is entirely capable of the intended use statement. Note that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 2, Podkopayev discloses wherein the stop feature is moveable along a first axis of the extensible member (See at least Figures 12A-12D).
Regarding claim 3, Podkopayev discloses wherein the stop feature is fixed to the extensible member for conjoint movement with the extensible member along the first axis (See Figure 14, element 362 is fixed with element 350).
Regarding claim 4, Podkopayev discloses wherein the stop feature is fixed to an end of the extensible member (See at least Figures 13 and 14).
Regarding claim 6, Podkopayev discloses wherein the at least one friction feature has a pocket (element 508) sized for receipt of the stop feature therein [to releasably hold the closure panel between the fully closed position and the fully open position]*.
Regarding claim 7, Podkopayev discloses wherein the pocket is annular (See Figure 14).
Regarding claim 9, Podkopayev discloses further including a gearbox (element 304) [configured apply a force to the linear actuator to move one of the extensible member or nut linearly from a first position, corresponding to the fully closed position, to a second position, corresponding to the fully open position, in response to rotation of the driven shaft]*.
Regarding claim 10, Podkopayev discloses wherein the stop feature is fixed to the nut for conjoint movement with the nut in response to rotation of a leadscrew of the linear actuator about the first axis (See Figures 12A-14).
Regarding claim 11, Podkopayev discloses wherein the stop feature is fixed to the extensible member for conjoint movement with the extensible member along a second axis (See Figures 12A-14, element 362 is fixed to element 350 for movement along an axis).
Regarding claim 12, Podkopayev discloses wherein the stop feature is formed at an end of a fastener coupling the extensible member to the nut (See Figure 13, element 340 is pivotably coupled to element 334, and element 362 is configured at the end of that pivoting connection. See at least column 15, liens 49-55, “A pair of pivot posts 360 (only one shown) extend outwardly from opposite surfaces of drive nut 334 and are each retained in one of a corresponding pair of apertured bosses 362 (only one shown) formed respectively in top plate 352 and bottom plate 354. As such, first link segment 340 of connector link 350 is pivotably coupled to drive nut 334”).
Regarding claim 13, Podkopayev discloses wherein the extensible member is coupled to the closure panel for moving the closure panel between the fully closed position and the fully open position in response to the nut translating along the leadscrew (See Figures 12A-14).
Regarding claim 14, Podkopayev discloses wherein the first axis of the leadscrew and the second axis of the extensible member are substantially parallel (See Figures 12A-14).
Regarding claim 15, Podkopayev discloses wherein the at least one friction feature has a pocket (Figure 14, area of element 508) sized for receipt of the stop feature therein to releasably hold the closure panel between the fully closed position and the fully open.
Regarding claim 16, Podkopayev discloses wherein the at least one friction feature includes a plurality of friction features (Figure 14, elements 510 and 508) spaced axially from one another relative to the second axis.
Claims 1-3, 5, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Leonard et al. (US 2021/0293071) (hereinafter Leonard)
Regarding claim 1, Leonard discloses a powered actuator for a closure panel of a vehicle, comprising: an electric motor (element 36) [configured to rotate a driven shaft]* (element 166); a linear actuator (at least elements 190 and 134) [configured to be coupled to one of a body or the closure panel for moving the closure panel between a fully closed position and a fully open position in response to actuation of the electric motor]*, the linear actuator having an extensible member (element 134) and a nut (element 190); a cover (See Figures 3A-4, considered element 148 in combination with element 141) enclosing at least a portion of the extensible member and the nut; a stop feature (element 202) fixed to at least one of the extensible member and the nut; and at least one friction feature (considered portion of element 192 that element 200 engages, see paragraph [0066], “the travel limiter 200 is configured to engage a part of the gearbox 140, such as the torque tube 192 for limiting axial extension of the extensible member 134”) fixed to the cover, [wherein the stop feature contacts the at least one friction feature to releasably hold the closure panel between the fully closed position and the fully open position]*.
Examiner’s note: *The above/below statements in brackets are examples of an intended use statement that fails to further limit the structure of the claimed invention. Since the claimed invention is directed solely to the structure of a powered actuator, the prior art must only be capable of meeting the structural recitation in order to be applicable, and in this case, the examiner maintains that the powered actuator disclosed by Leonard is entirely capable of the intended use statement. Note that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 2, Leonard discloses wherein the stop feature is moveable along a first axis of the extensible member (See at least Figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Leonard discloses wherein the stop feature is fixed to the extensible member for conjoint movement with the extensible member along the first axis (See at least Figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Leonard discloses wherein the extensible member is a leadscrew (element 134 is a “leadscrew”).
Regarding claim 8, Leonard discloses wherein the at least one friction feature is a resilient polymeric material (See paragraph [0066], “the travel limiter 200 includes a bumper 202 of resilient material, such as rubber”).
Regarding claim 9, Leonard discloses further including a gearbox (element 140) [configured apply a force to the linear actuator to move one of the extensible member or nut linearly from a first position, corresponding to the fully closed position, to a second position, corresponding to the fully open position, in response to rotation of the driven shaft]*.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podkopayev (US 10,683,691) in view of Cumbo (US 2019/0112849).
Regarding claim 8, Podkopayev discloses wherein the at least one friction feature is a resilient material (Examiner notes that the material of elements 502 and 504 is necessarily “resilient”). Podkopayev does not explicitly disclose that that material is a resilient polymeric material. Cumbo, however, teaches that it is known in the art to configure an actuator for a closure panel of a vehicle, comprising: an extensible member (See at least Figure 6, element 124); a stop feature (considered surfaces 162 and 166 of element 124) fixed to the extensible member; and at least one friction feature (elements 160 and 164), wherein the stop feature contacts the at least one friction feature to releasably hold the closure panel between the fully closed position and the fully open position (See at least paragraph [0066]), and wherein the at least one friction feature is a resilient polymeric material (paragraph [0065], “First engagement member 160 and second engagement member 164 can be constructed of any desired polymeric or metal material, as desired”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the at least one friction feature of Podkopayev such that constructed from a resilient polymeric material, since polymeric materials are well-known in the art for use in construction of vehicle door components, and since a polymeric material would function as intended for the purpose of Podkopayev, and would be desirable due to the desirable material characteristics of polymers, and since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v.Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Also see In reLeshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960)
Conclusion
/JUSTIN B REPHANN/Examiner, Art Unit 3634