DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-11, 14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2020/0333697) in view of Okuda (US 2017/0227837).
Regarding Claims 1 and 10, Tanaka discloses a projection device (Figure 7; Projection Display Apparatus 14), comprising a light source system (Figure 7; Light Source Device 58), a light valve (Figure 7; DMDs 210, 211 and 212), and a projection lens (Figure 7; Projection Lens 213), wherein the light source system (Figure 7; Light Source Device 58) comprises:
a laser light source module (Figure 1; Laser Light Sources 22, 26 and 30), configured to provide a first light beam (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0021]);
an excitation light source module (Figure 1; Excitation Laser Light Source 47), configured to provide a second light beam (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0021]);
a light-combining element (Figure 1; Dichroic Mirror 44), disposed on a transmission path of the first light beam and the second light beam (see Figure 1);
a first light homogenizing element (Figure 1; Diffusion Plate 51), disposed between the excitation light source module (Figure 1; Excitation Laser Light Source 47) and the light-combining element (Figure 1; Dichroic Mirror 44), wherein the first light homogenizing element (Figure 1; Diffusion Plate 51) is configured to receive and homogenize the second light beam from the excitation light source module (Figure 1; Excitation Laser Light Source 47) to transmit the second light beam to the light-combining element (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0041]-[0042]; wherein it is disclosed that p-polarized light entering dichroic mirror 44 from diffusion plate 51 in the exciting system and passing through dichroic mirror 44 is condensed by condenser lenses 52 and 53, and then enters phosphor plate 57), and a light exit surface of the first light homogenizing element (Figure 1; Diffusion Plate 51) has a first shape (see Figure 1);
a wavelength conversion element (Figure 1; Phosphor Plate 57), configured to receive the second light beam from the light-combining element (Figure 1; Dichroic Mirror 44) and convert the second light beam into a fluorescent light beam (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0043]), wherein the light-combining element (Figure 1; Dichroic Mirror 44) is disposed between the first light homogenizing element (Figure 1; Diffusion Plate 51) and the wavelength conversion element (Figure 1; Phosphor Plate 57), and the light-combining element (Figure 1; Dichroic Mirror 44) is configured to guide the fluorescent light beam from the wavelength conversion element (Figure 1; Phosphor Plate 57) and the first light beam from the laser light source module (Figure 1; Laser Light Sources 22, 26 and 30), so that the first light beam and the fluorescent light beam form a combined light beam (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0045]; wherein it is disclosed that the dichroic mirror 44 passes 96% of blue, green and red laser lights generated by the laser optical system, and reflects 80% of fluorescent light generated by the fluorescence optical system. Accordingly, dichroic mirror 44 can combine blue, green and red laser lights and fluorescent light on the same optical axis); and
a second light homogenizing element (Figure 1; Integrator 62), disposed on a transmission path of the combined light beam (see Figure 1), and configured to receive the combined light beam and generate an illumination light beam (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0103]; wherein it is disclosed that a combined light of laser lights and fluorescent light emitted from light source device 58 passes through condenser lens 59, is then reflected on mirror 60, and is condensed to rod integrator 62 by condenser lens 61. Incident light on rod integrator 62 is reflected multiple times inside rod integrator 62 so that the exiting light has a uniform distribution of light intensity), wherein a light spot formed by the fluorescent light beam on a light incident surface of the second light homogenizing element (Figure 1; Integrator 62) has the first shape (see Figures 1 and 7), a shape of the light incident surface of the second light homogenizing element (Figure 1; Integrator 62) is a second shape (see Figures 1 and 7),
wherein the first light homogenizing element (Figure 1; Diffusion Plate 51) has a deflection angle on a plane perpendicular to an optical axis of the second light beam (see Paragraph [0041]; wherein it is disclosed that the diffusion angle of diffusion plate 51 in the exciting system is as small as approximately 5 degrees),
wherein the light valve (Figure 7; DMDs 210, 211 and 212) is disposed on a transmission path of the illumination light beam of the light source system (Figure 7; Light Source Device 58) and configured to convert the illumination light beam into an image light beam (see Paragraph [0106]), and
wherein the projection lens (Figure 7; Projection Lens 213) is disposed on a transmission path of the image light beam and configured to project the image light beam out of the projection device (see Figure 7; Paragraph [0106]-[0107]; wherein it is disclosed that projection lens 213 magnifies and projects an image light formed by DMD 210, 211, and 212 on a screen).
Tanaka does not expressly disclose that a light spot formed by the fluorescent light beam on a light incident surface of the second light homogenizing element has the first shape, a shape of the light incident surface of the second light homogenizing element is a second shape, and the first shape substantially corresponds to the second shape.
Okuda discloses a projection device (Figure 1; Projection Image Display Device 100), comprising a light source system (Figure 1; First and Second Light Source Units 10a and 10b, Dichroic Mirror 132, Diffusing Element 141, Phosphor Wheel 20 and Integrator Rod 30), a light valve (Figure 1; DMD 40r, 40g and 40b), and a projection lens (Figure 1; Projector 50), wherein the light source system (Figure 1; First and Second Light Source Units 10a and 10b, Dichroic Mirror 132, Diffusing Element 141, Phosphor Wheel 20 and Integrator Rod 30) comprises:
an excitation light source module (Figure 1; First and Second Light Source Unit 10a and 10b), configured to provide a light beam (see Paragraph [0036]);
a light-combining element (Figure 1; Dichroic Mirror 132), disposed on a transmission path of the first light beam and the second light beam (see Figure 1);
a first light homogenizing element (Figure 1; Diffusing Element 141), disposed between the excitation light source module (Figure 1; First and Second Light Source Unit 10a and 10b) and the light-combining element (Figure 1; Dichroic Mirror 132);
a wavelength conversion element (Figure 1; Phosphor Wheel 20), configured to receive the light beam from the light- combining element (Figure 1; Dichroic Mirror 132) and convert the light beam into a fluorescent light beam (see Paragraph [0039]);
a second light homogenizing element (Figure 1; Integrator Rod 30), disposed on a transmission path of the combined light beam (see Figure 1), and configured to receive the combined light beam and generate an illumination light beam (see Paragraph [0041]) wherein
a light spot formed by the fluorescent light beam on a light incident surface of the second light homogenizing element (Figure 1; Integrator Rod 30) has the first shape, a shape of the light incident surface of the second light homogenizing element (Figure 1; Integrator Rod 30) is a second shape, and the first shape substantially corresponds to the second shape (see Paragraphs [0097] and [0098]; wherein it is disclosed that the light intensity distribution (spatial distribution) on the entrance face of integrator rod 30 is approximately similar to the intensity distribution (spatial distribution) of the light emitted by phosphor wheel 20 and wherein it is further disclosed that shape S of the light which enters integrator rod 30 has an aspect ratio identical to the shape (a shape of the opening in the entrance face) of the rectangular entrance face of integrator rod 30 and that the aspect ratio of the diffusion angle characteristic of top-hat diffusing element 141 and the aspect ratio of the opening in the entrance face of integrator rod 30 are generally identical).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projection device of Tanaka such that the light spot formed by the fluorescent light beam on a light incident surface of the second light homogenizing element has the first shape, a shape of the light incident surface of the second light homogenizing element is a second shape, and the first shape substantially corresponds to the second shape, as taught by Okuda, because doing so would increase light utilization efficiency (see Okuda Paragraph [0098]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 11, Tanaka as modified by Okuda discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10 as detailed above.
Tanaka further discloses the deflection angle is greater than 0 degrees and less than or equal to 10 degrees (see Paragraph [0041]; wherein it is disclosed that the diffusion angle of diffusion plate 51 in the exciting system is as small as approximately 5 degrees).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Tanaka as modified by Okuda discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10 as detailed above.
Tanaka further discloses the laser light source module (Figure 1; Laser Light Sources 22, 26 and 30) further comprises:
a laser light source (Figure 1; Laser Light Source 22), configured to generate the first light beam (see Figure 1);
an auxiliary light source (Figure 1; Laser Light Source 30), configured to provide a third light beam (see Figure 1); and
an auxiliary light source beam splitter (Figure 1; Red and Blue Reflective Dichroic Mirrors 33 and 34), disposed on a transmission path of the first light beam and the third light beam (see Figure 1), wherein the auxiliary light source beam splitter (Figure 1; Red and Blue Reflective Dichroic Mirrors 33 and 34) is configured to reflect the third light beam and allow the first light beam to pass through (see Figure 1),
wherein the first light beam, the third light beam, and the fluorescent light beam form the combined light beam (see Figure 1; Paragraph [0037]).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Tanaka as modified by Okuda discloses the limitations of claims 5 and 14 as detailed above.
Tanaka further discloses a first lens group (Figure 1; Condenser Lens 35), disposed between the laser light source module (Figure 1; Laser Light Sources 22, 26 and 30) and the light-combining element (Figure 1; Dichroic Mirror 44); a second lens group (Figure 1; Condenser Lenses 52 and 53), disposed between the wavelength conversion element (Figure 1; Phosphor Plate 57) and the light-combining element (Figure 1; Dichroic Mirror 44).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Tanaka as modified by Okuda discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10 as detailed above.
Tanaka further discloses a diffusion element (Figure 1; Diffusion Plate 36) disposed between the laser light source module (Figure 1; Laser Light Sources 22, 26 and 30) and the light-combining element (Figure 1; Dichroic Mirror 44).
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, Tanaka as modified by Okuda discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10 as detailed above.
Tanaka further discloses a light-combining module (Figure 1; Collimator Lens Array 46 and Condenser Lens 49) disposed on a light exit side of the excitation light source module (Figure 1; Excitation Laser Light Source 47) to combine a plurality of light beams emitted by the excitation light source module (Figure 1; Excitation Laser Light Source 47) into the second light beam (see Figure 1).
Claims 3-4 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2020/0333697) as modified by Okuda (US 2017/0227837) as applied to claims 1 and 10, in view of Chikahisa (US 2017/0013240).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Tanaka as modified by Okuda discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10 as detailed above.
Tanaka as modified by Okuda does not expressly disclose a depolarizer disposed on the transmission path of the combined light beam and located between the light-combining element and the second light homogenizing element.
Chikahisa discloses a depolarizer (Figures 4 and 5; Depolarizing Element D31) disposed on a transmission path of a combined light beam and located between the light-combining element (Figures 4 and 5; Dichroic Mirror DM2) and the second light homogenizing element (see Figures 4 and 5 and Paragraph [0064]; wherein the second light homogenizing element is light tunnel LT2 and wherein it is disclosed that the Depolarizing element D31 is arranged on the optical path between blue light source LD-B and polarization modulator P31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projection device of Tanaka as modified by Okuda to incorporate a depolarizer disposed on a transmission path of a combined light beam, as taught by Chikahisa, because doing so would allow for the polarization of the image light to be more reliably eliminated, and also make it possible to prevent unevenness of the light intensity distribution in the projected image (see Chikahisa Paragraph [0065]).
Regarding Claims 4 and 13, Tanaka as modified by Okuda and Chikahisa discloses the limitations of claims 3 and 12 as detailed above.
Chikahisha further discloses a light incident surface of the depolarizer (Figures 4 and 5; Depolarizing Element D31) and the light incident surface of the second light homogenizing element (Figures 4 and 5; Light Tunnel LT2) are substantially parallel (see Figures 4 and 5), the depolarizer (Figures 4 and 5; Depolarizing Element D31) has a thickness changing direction (see Figures 4 and 5 and Paragraph [0049]), there is an included angle between the thickness changing direction and any side of the second shape, and the included angle is greater than 0 degrees and less than 90 degrees (see Paragraph [0049]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitations which require a number of the auxiliary light source is greater than a number of the laser light source, and the laser light source module further comprises: a first beam splitter, disposed on a transmission path of the first light beam from the laser light source to the auxiliary light source beam splitter, wherein the first light beam comprises a first part and a second part, and the first beam splitter is configured to allow the first part of the first light beam to pass through and reflect the second part of the first light beam; and a second beam splitter, disposed on a transmission path of the second part of the first light beam, and configured to reflect the second part of the first light beam, so that the second part of the first light beam is transmitted to the auxiliary light source beam splitter.
These limitations in combination with the limitations of claims 1 and 5, with respect to claim 6, and claims 10 and 14, with respect to claim 15 would render the claims non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882