DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 6-13, 16-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadi et al. (US 2016/0088287) in view of Warner (US 2016/0094840), and further in view of Ding et al. (US 2025/0173899).
Claim 1, Sadi teaches a calibration parameter generating system, comprising:
“a calibration object” (i.e. calibration surface) (p. 0090);
“a plurality of image capturing devices” (i.e. cameras 112) (p. 0047); and
a processing device (120), being communicatively connected to the plurality of image capturing devices (112), and being configured to perform operations comprising:
“receiving a plurality of calibration image frames from the plurality of image capturing devices (i.e. calibration pattern), the at least surface of the calibration object provides a recognizable viewing angle of 360 degrees” (fig. 4; p. 0090)
Sadi is not entirely clear in teaching the specific feature of:
“wherein the calibration object comprises at least one curved surface, and each of the at least one curved surface comprises at least one feature pattern”;
“wherein each of the plurality of image capturing devices has a field of view, and the fields of view of the plurality of image capturing devices do not overlap with one another”;
“wherein each of the calibration image frames at least comprises a feature sub-pattern on the at least one curved surface corresponding to a calibration object, the at least one curved surface provides a recognizable viewing angle, and the feature sub-pattern is a part of the at least one feature pattern”; and
generating a calibration parameter of each of the image capturing devices based on the feature sub-pattern of each of the calibration image frames, wherein the calibration parameter generating system comprises an inside-out multi-camera array, the inside-out multi-camera array is composed of the plurality of image capturing devices, and the plurality of image capturing devices are located in an internal region of the calibration object.
Warner teaches the specific feature of:
“wherein the calibration object (i.e. calibration target) comprises at least one curved surface (100), and each of the at least one curved surface comprises at least one feature pattern” (106, 120, 130 etc.) (fig. 1-3B; p. 0022-0026);
“wherein each of the calibration image frames at least comprises a feature sub-pattern on the at least one curved surface corresponding to a calibration object (i.e. grid pattern on the calibration target), the at least one curved surface provides a recognizable viewing angle (i.e. and the feature sub-pattern is a part of the at least one feature pattern”) (100, 106, 120, 130 etc.) (fig. 1-3B; p. 0022-0026); and
“generating a calibration parameter (i.e. positions and unique patterns of calibration process) of each of the image capturing devices based on the feature sub-pattern of each of the calibration image frames” (106, 120, 130 etc.) (fig. 1-3B; p. 0022-0026, 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided calibration patterns as taught by Warner to the system of Sadi to calibrate numerous cameras of different angles (p. 0026).
Ding teaches the specific features of:
“wherein each of the plurality of image capturing devices has a field of view, and the fields of view of the plurality of image capturing devices do not overlap with one another” (i.e. FOV of cameras do not have to be overlapped 82, 83) (p. 0034);
“wherein the calibration parameter (i.e. calibrate based on calibration chart) generating system comprises an inside-out multi-camera array (i.e. camera array), the inside-out multi-camera array is composed of the plurality of image capturing devices (82, 83), and the plurality of image capturing devices are located in an internal region of the calibration object” (i.e. inside the calibration space) (p. 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided non overlapping camera calibration as taught by Ding to the system of Sadi to provide calibration of a multiple cameras together (p. 0004, 0034).
Claim 2, Sadi teaches the calibration parameter generating system of claim 1, wherein the processing device is further configured to perform the following operations:
calibrating a position information and a direction information corresponding to each of the image capturing devices based on the calibration parameter of each of the image capturing devices (i.e. position and direction orientation) (p. 0053-0054).
Claim 3, Sadi teaches the calibration parameter generating system of claim 1, wherein the processing device further comprises:
a storage, being configured to store a plurality of viewing angle images corresponding to the calibration object and a position relationship and a device posture corresponding to each of the viewing angle images (i.e. calibration process is stored in memory) (p. 0089);
wherein the operation of generating the calibration parameter (i.e. calibration parameters) of each of the image capturing devices (p. 0090).
Said is silent regarding the specific features of:
comparing the plurality of viewing angle images and the feature sub-pattern of each of the calibration image frames to determine the position relationship and the device posture of each of the plurality of image capturing devices; and
generating the calibration parameter of each of the image capturing devices based on the position relationship and the device posture of each of the plurality of image capturing devices.
Warner teaches the specific features of:
comparing the plurality of viewing angle images and the feature sub-pattern (fig. 3A-B) of each of the calibration image frames to determine the position relationship and the device posture of each of the plurality of image capturing devices (fig. 1-3B; p. 0022-0026); and
generating the calibration parameter (i.e. positions and unique patterns of calibration process) of each of the image capturing devices based on the position relationship and the device posture of each of the plurality of image capturing devices (fig. 1-3B; p. 0022-0026, 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided calibration patterns as taught by Warner to the system of Sadi to calibrate numerous cameras of different angles (p. 0026).
Claim 5, Sadi teaches The calibration parameter generating system of claim 1, wherein the calibration parameter generating system comprises an inside-out multi-camera array (fig. 4), the inside-out multi-camera array is composed of the plurality of image capturing devices (112), and the plurality of image capturing devices are located in an internal region of the calibration object (fig. 4; p. 0066-0068)..
Claim 6, Sadi teaches the calibration parameter generating system of claim 5, wherein the calibration image frames correspond to a same first surface of the at least one surface of the calibration object (i.e. calibration surface for stitching views of multiple cameras) (p. 0047, 0089-0091).
Sadi is not entirely clear in teaching the specific feature of:
“a curved surface”.
Warner teaches the specific feature of:
“a curved surface” (100) (fig. 1-3B; p. 0022-0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided calibration patterns as taught by Warner to the system of Sadi to calibrate numerous cameras of different angles (p. 0026).
Claim 7, Sadi teaches The calibration parameter generating system of claim 1, wherein the image capturing devices comprise a first image capturing device, a second image capturing device, and a third image capturing device (i.e. multiple cameras 112) (p. 0047), and the processing device further performs the following operations:
performing a panoramic calibration operation based on a position relationship between any two of the image capturing devices (i.e. record images in panoramic view) and the feature sub-pattern (i.e. surface calibration pattern) of each of the calibration image frames to generate the calibration parameters (i.e. calibration parameters) of each of the image capturing devices (p. 0047, 0089-0091).
Claim 8, Sadi is silent regarding the calibration parameter generating system of claim 1, wherein the calibration object corresponds to one of a cylindrical shape, a curved shape, a spherical shape, and a ring shape, or a combination thereof.
Warner teaches the calibration parameter generating system of claim 1, wherein the calibration object corresponds to one of a cylindrical shape (figs. 1-2) (p. 0022-0026), a curved shape, a spherical shape, and a ring shape, or a combination thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided calibration patterns for curves surfaces as taught by Warner to the system of Sadi to calibrate numerous cameras of different angles (p. 0026).
Claim 9, Sadi is not entirely clear in teaching the calibration parameter generating system of claim 1, wherein the at least one curved surface of the calibration object comprises only one continuous surface, and the continuous surface provides the recognizable viewing angle of 360 degrees.
Warner teaches the calibration parameter generating system of claim 1, wherein the at least one curved surface of the calibration object comprises only one continuous surface, and the continuous surface provides the recognizable viewing angle of 360 degrees (figs. 1-2) (p. 0022-0026), a curved shape, a spherical shape, and a ring shape, or a combination thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided calibration patterns for curves surfaces as taught by Warner to the system of Sadi to calibrate numerous cameras of different angles (p. 0026).
Claim 10, Sadi is silent regarding the calibration parameter generating system of claim 1, wherein the at least one curved surface of the calibration object comprises only two continuous surfaces, and each of the continuous surfaces provides the recognizable viewing angle exceeding 180 degrees.
Warner teaches the calibration parameter generating system of claim 1, wherein the at least one curved surface of the calibration object comprises only two continuous surfaces (i.e. planar surface can be of any configuration), and each of the continuous surfaces provides the recognizable viewing angle exceeding 180 degrees (i.e. 360 degrees) (figs. 1-2) (p. 0022-0026, 0033).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided calibration patterns for curves surfaces as taught by Warner to the system of Sadi to calibrate numerous cameras of different angles (p. 0026).
Claim 11 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 1.
Claim 12 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 2.
Claim 13 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 3.
Claim 15 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 5.
Claim 16 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 6.
Claim 17 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 7.
Claim 18 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 8.
Claim 19 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 9.
Claim 20 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6-13, 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 6-13, 16-20 are rejected.
Inquiries
MUSHFIKH I. ALAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2426
/MUSHFIKH I ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 10/28/2026