DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1, 8, 9, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Salcedo (USPN 20120008242).
Regarding claim 1, Salcedo discloses an electronic circuit (such as a PAD protection circuit 15a of figure 1, and details in figures 2a, b), comprising:
a first circuit node (a first node N1);
a second circuit node (a second N2);
a bipolar transistor (such as a PNP transistor 22) comprising an emitter region (an emitter region 42c of a PNP transistor 22, see figure 2b) connected to one of the first circuit node (N1) and the second circuit node (N2), a collector region (a collector region 54b) connected to the other one of the first circuit node (N1) and the second circuit node (N2), and a base region (a base region 51b) (see figure 2b);
a trigger element (a resistor 23, see figure 2a, 2b) connected between the emitter region (the emitter region 42c) and the base region (51b) of the bipolar transistor (22); and
an avalanche diode (a Zener diode 27a),
wherein the bipolar transistor (the PNP transistor 22) and the avalanche diode (the Zener diode 27a) are integrated in a semiconductor body (a body 40 shown in figure 7b),
wherein the emitter region (the emitter region 42c) and the collector region (the collector region 54b) are spaced apart from each other in a lateral direction of the semiconductor body (see figure 7b),
wherein the base region (51b), the and the collector region 54b) of the bipolar transistor (22), at the same time, form the avalanche diode (27a).
Regarding claim 8, Salcedo discloses wherein the trigger element comprises a resistor (23).
Regarding claim 9, Salcedo discloses wherein the trigger element comprises a diode (42, see figure 2a).
Regarding claim 11, Salcedo discloses wherein the bipolar transistor (22) is a PNP bipolar transistor (see par. 0060).
Regarding claim 12, Salcedo discloses wherein a breakdown voltage of the avalanche diode (27) is between 30 V and 1000 V (15V to 80 V, see par. 0052).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salcedo (USPN 20120008242) in view of Nath et al (USPN 2021/0280699).
Regarding claim 10, Salcedo discloses all limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose the trigger element as claimed.
Nath discloses an ESD protection circuit (100, see figure 1) comprises a trigger element (110), wherein the trigger element is integrated in a polysilicon layer (260) formed above a first surface of a semiconductor body (205)(see figure 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the trigger element of Salcedo to incorporate a trigger element integrated with a polysilicon layer as disclosed by Nath in order to provide better ESD protection with lower parasitic capacitance.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANNY NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838