DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/03/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending in this application.
Oath/Declaration
The receipt of Oath/Declaration is acknowledged.
Drawings
6. The receipt of Drawings is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US PAT. No. 9,740,970 B2).
Referring to Claim 1, kim teaches a server system (See Kim, Fig. 1, Image Forming System 1000) comprising:
at least one memory (See Kim, Fig. 2, Storage unit 250) storing instructions (See Kim, Col. lines 28-33, the storage unit 250 may store various kinds of firmwares, drivers, and software programs for performing an image forming function supported by the image forming apparatus 200. Further, the storage unit 250 may store the printing data received through the communication interface unit 210.);
at least one processor that is in communication with the at least one memory and that, when executing the instructions, cooperates with the at least one memory to execute processing (See Kim, Fig. 2, Processor embodied within the Communication Interference Unit 210, Col. 6 lines 20-25, The communication interface unit 210 communicates with at least one external apparatus and may perform communications through not only a local area network (LAN) and an Internet network, but also a universal serial bus (USB) port and a memory card slot), the processing including:
controlling to render print data received from a terminal (See Kim, Col. 6 lines 26-29, the communication interface unit 210 may render at least one page included in a file to receive a plurality of strip information including each image segmented into a plurality of regions);
storing print data generated by the rendering (See Kim, Col. 9 lines 31-33, the storage unit 250 may store the printing data received through the communication interface unit 210.); and
in a case where an error occurs in the rendering (See Kim, Col. 8 lines 51-54, If it is determined that all the strip information is not received in the image forming apparatus 200, the control unit 240 may control the user interface unit 220 to represent an error that all the strip information is not received.), notifying a terminal of the error (See Kim, Col. 8 lines 54-59, the control unit 240 may control the user interface unit 220 to transmit the error that all the strip information is not received to the user interface unit 220 in a text message format or notify a user of the error in forms such as a change in a screen color and flickering of a warning light.).
Referring to Claim 2, Kim teaches the server system according to claim 1 (See Kim, Fig. 1, Image Forming System 1000), wherein
in the notifying (See Kim, Fig. 11, Step: S1120, Col. 17 lines 5-9, the image forming apparatus 200 displays the error screen (user interface) that all the strips configuring the page are not included on the user terminal transmitting the unique information and the strip information (S1120).), the error is notified using a message function (See Kim, Fig. 11, Col. 17 lines 9-10, The error screen may display the error as a text message.).
Referring to Claim 3, Kim teaches the server system according to claim 2 (See Kim, Fig. 1, Image Forming System 1000), wherein
the terminal of a transmission source of the print data (See Kim, Fig. 1, Mobile apparatus 100, Col. 5 lines 27-30, The mobile apparatus 100 may generate, store and transmit the print data to the image forming apparatus) and the terminal of a notification destination of the error are different terminals (See Kim, Fig. 1 User Interface 320, Col. 10 lines 23-24, the user interface unit 320 may display an error screen that the printing data are lost.).
Referring to Claim 4, Kim teaches the server system according to claim 3 (See Kim, Fig. 1, Image Forming System 1000), wherein
in the notifying, if no error occurs in the rendering of the print data, identification information of the print data generated by the rendering is transmitted to the terminal of the notification destination of the error (See Kim, Col. 14 lines 51-63, if it is determined that all the strip information is received (S860, Y), the printing is performed (S890). However, if it is determined that all the strip information is not received (S860, N), the error information that all the strip information is not received is notified to the user and a user may be asked whether to perform the printing using only the received strip information (S870). If a user issues an error printing command to print incomplete printing data using only the received strip information as a response to the inquiry on whether to perform the printing (S870, Y), the error printing that some of the strip information is omitted is performed using the received strip information (S890).).
Referring to Claim 5, Kim teaches the server system according to claim 1 (See Kim, Fig. 1, Image Forming System 1000), wherein
in the notifying, the error is notified to a transmission destination according to a timing at which the error has occurred (See Kim, Fig. 12, Col. 17 lines 61-67 and Col. 18 lines 1-5, when the image forming apparatus 200 receives up to Strip_N from the mobile apparatus 100 and does not receive the next strip information for a predetermine time (S1235), the number of strip information received up to Strip_N is compared with the number of strip information configuring the detected page. As the comparison result, if it is determined that the number of strip information received up to Strip_N disagrees with the number of strip information configuring the detected page (S1240), the image forming apparatus 200 transmits an error message that all the strip information is not received to the mobile apparatus 100 (S1245).).
Referring to Claim 6, Kim teaches the server system according to claim 5 (See Kim, Fig. 1, Image Forming System 1000), wherein
in the notifying, an error that occurs when opening the print data for the rendering is notified to the terminal of a transmission source of the print data (See Kim, Col. 8 lines 51-59, If it is determined that all the strip information is not received in the image forming apparatus 200, the control unit 240 may control the user interface unit 220 to represent an error that all the strip information is not received. In detail, the control unit 240 may control the user interface unit 220 to transmit the error that all the strip information is not received to the user interface unit 220 in a text message format or notify a user of the error in forms such as a change in a screen color and flickering of a warning light.), and an error that occurs during the rendering of the print data is notified to a designated terminal (See Kim, Col. 11 lines 33-42, If it is determined that all the strip information is not included in the printing data stored in the storage unit 330, the control unit 340 may control the user interface unit 320 to represent the error that all the strip information is not received. In detail, the control unit 340 may control the user interface unit 320 to transmit the error that all the strip information is not received of the user interface unit 320 in a text message format or notify a user of the error in forms such as a change in a screen color and flickering of a warning light.).
Referring to Claim 7, Kim teaches the server system according to claim 1 (See Kim, Fig. 1, Image Forming System 1000), wherein
the processing further includes transmitting identification information of the print data generated by the rendering and stored to the terminal of a transmission source of the print data (See Kim, Col. 15 lines 29-40, Referring to FIG. 9, when PCLm format printing data including a plurality of strip information, including each image segmented into a plurality of regions by rendering at least one page included in a file, and different unique information corresponding to the plurality of strip information are stored and the user inputs a command to start an inspection on whether there is no loss or omission of the stored PCLm format printing data, a page object region of the PCLm file is parsed (S910). Further, a final number, as the unique information sequentially allocated to each strip information described in the page object region, is extracted (S920).).
Referring to Claim 8, Kim teaches the server system according to claim 7 (See Kim, Fig. 1, Image Forming System 1000), wherein
in the transmitting, in a case where the rendering of the print data succeeds, the identification information is transmitted (See Kim, Col. 9 lines 58-67 and Col. 10 lines 1-2, the communication interface unit 310 may render at least one page included in a file to receive a plurality of strip information including each image segmented into a plurality of regions and printing data including different unique information corresponding to the plurality of strip information, respectively. In detail, the communication interface unit 310 may sequentially receive the unique information and the plurality of strip information. Further, the communication interface unit 310 may not receive the printing data which are streamable by segmenting an image of a page but may receive the printing data which are compressed into one file and transmitted.).
Referring to Claim 9, Kim teaches the server system according to claim 7 (See Kim, Fig. 1, Image Forming System 1000), wherein
in the transmitting, the identification information is transmitted in accordance with reception of the print data from the terminal (See Kim, Col. 16 lines 51-56, When the printing data are transmitted by inputting a command to retry the transmission of the printing data from the user terminal (S1040, Y), the following procedure is performed by again comparing the total number of strip information based on the unique information with the number of received strip information (S1010).)).
Referring to Claim 10, Kim teaches the server system according to claim 1 (See Kim, Fig. 1, Image Forming System 1000), wherein
the rendering of the print data is performed by a data conversion server (See Kim, Col. 5 lines 60-65, the printing data which are stored in the mobile apparatus 100 and the printing control terminal device 300 may be data which are converted to enable the image forming apparatus 200 to print files generated from applications like a word processor or an image edition/manufacturing tool.).
Referring to Claim 11, Kim teaches the server system according to claim 1 (See Kim, Fig. 1, Image Forming System 1000), wherein
the rendering of the print data is performed before a user performs, in an image forming apparatus, an operation for performing printing of the print data (See Kim, Col. 14 lines 19-25, the unique information is obtained from the printing data which include the plurality of strip information including each image segmented into a plurality of regions by rendering at least one page included in a file and the unique information having information on numbers allocated to the plurality of strip information, respectively (S810).).
Referring to Claim 12, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable herein. Thus, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 12 is explicitly/inherently taught as evidenced by (See Kim, Figs. 2 and 3, Image forming apparatus 200 and Printing control terminal device 300, Col. 15 lines 20-25 and Col. 16 lines 12-18, The above-mentioned image forming method may be performed by the configuration of the image forming apparatus 200 of Fig. 2 and may be performed by recording programs including computer readable code or instructions in a non-transitory computer readable record medium and enabling a processor to execute the programs and the printing data inspecting method may be performed by the configuration of the printing control terminal device 300 of FIG. 3, for example, and may be performed by recording programs including computer readable code or instructions in a non-transitory computer readable record medium and enabling a processor to execute the programs.).
Referring to Claim 13, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable herein. The structural elements of “An server system” in claim 1 perform all of the operations of “An error notification method” in claim 13. Thus, “An error notification method” in claim 13 is rejected for reasons explicitly taught in the rejection of claim 1.
Cited Art
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Li et al. (US PG. PUB. No. 2023/0052448 A1) discloses An image frame loss detection method is performed by a computer device, including: acquiring first coded data respectively corresponding to a plurality of first image frames and a color signal corresponding to at least one second image frame; obtaining second coded data corresponding to at least one second image frame generated by a terminal device through image rendering of a color signal based on the coded data respectively corresponding to the plurality of first image frames; and comparing the first coded data respectively corresponding to the plurality of first image frames with the second coded data corresponding to the at least one second image frame to determine whether a frame loss occurs. The first coded data and the second coded data each include color-coded data respectively corresponding to M image blocks of a correspond image frame, and each of the M image blocks has a color in the image frame.
Conclusion
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683