Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 2/03/2025 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,227,121. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are a broader recitation of the ‘121 patent. A comparison of the claims is provided below:
Instant Application
19/043,606
US Patent
12,227,121
Comparison
1. A harness kit for emergency lights, comprising: a junction box; a power cable extending from the junction box; a first light cable extending from the junction box; and a second light cable extending from the junction box, wherein each of the first light cable, second light cable, and the power cable comprises: a ground wire; a signal wire; and a first function voltage wire, wherein the junction box includes: a ground circuit path connecting the ground wire of the power cable with the ground wires of the first and second light cables; a first voltage circuit path connecting the first function voltage wire of the power cable to the first function voltage wires of the first and second light cables; and a signal circuit path connecting the signal wire of the power cable to the signal wire to at least one of the first and second light cables.
1. A harness kit for emergency lights, comprising: a junction box; a power cable extending from the junction box; a first light cable extending from the junction box, wherein the first light cable comprises: a proximal end extending from the junction box; and a first modular connector disposed on a distal end of the first light cable, wherein the first modular connector is configured to connect with an emergency light; and a second light cable extending from the junction box, wherein the second light cable comprises: a proximal end extending from the junction box; and a second modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the second light cable, wherein the second modular connector is configured to connect with an emergency light; wherein each of the first light cable, second light cable, and the power cable comprises: a ground wire; a signal wire; and a first function voltage wire, wherein the junction box includes: a ground circuit path connecting the ground wire of the power cable with the ground wires of the first and second light cables; a first voltage circuit path connecting the first function voltage wire of the power cable to the first function voltage wires of the first and second light cables; and a signal circuit path connecting the signal wire of the power cable to the signal wire to at least one of the first and second light cables; wherein the power cable comprises: a proximal end extending from the junction box; and a third modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the power cable; a controller, wherein the controller comprises: a switch box; an input cable extending from the switch box; an output cable extending form the switch box, wherein a third modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the power cable, the output cable has a fourth modular connector at a distal end, and the fourth modular connector is connected to the third modular connector; wherein each of the first light cable, second light cable, the power cable, and the output cable of the controller comprises: a ground wire; a signal wire; and a first function voltage wire; and wherein the input cable comprises: a positive voltage wire; and a ground wire.
Claim 1 of the 606 application is a broader recitation of claim 1 of the 121 patent. See underlined portions for comparison.
2. The harness kit of claim 1, wherein each of the first light cable, second light cable, and the power cable comprises a second function voltage wire.
3. The harness kit of claim 1, wherein each of the first light cable, second light cable, and the power cable comprises a second function voltage wire.
Claims are identical
3. The harness kit of claim 2, wherein the junction box further comprises: a second voltage circuit path connecting the second function voltage wire of the power cable to the second function voltage wires of the first and second light cables.
4. The harness kit of claim 3, wherein the junction box further comprises: a second voltage circuit path connecting the second function voltage wire of the power cable to the second function voltage wires of the first and second light cables.
Claims are identical
4. The harness kit of claim 1, wherein the signal circuit path connects the signal wire of the power cable to the signal wires of the first and second light cables.
5. The harness kit of claim 1, wherein the signal circuit path connects the signal wire of the power cable to the signal wires of the first and second light cables.
Claims are identical
5. The harness kit of claim 1, wherein the signal circuit path connects the signal wire of the power cable to the signal wire of the first light cable, and the signal wire of the second light cable is floating.
6. The harness kit of claim 1, wherein the signal circuit path connects the signal wire of the power cable to the signal wire of the first light cable, and the signal wire of the second light cable is floating.
Claims are identical
6. The harness kit of claim 5, further comprising:a signal cable extending from the junction box, wherein the signal cable comprises a first signal wire, and the first signal wire is connected the signal wire of the second light cable.
7. The harness kit of claim 6, further comprising: a signal cable extending from the junction box, wherein the signal cable comprises a first signal wire, and the first signal wire is connected the signal wire of the second light cable.
Claims are identical
7. The harness kit of claim 1, further comprising: a controller, wherein the controller comprises: a switch box; an input cable extending from the switch box; and an output cable extending form the switch box.
1. A harness kit for emergency lights, comprising: … wherein the controller comprises: a switch box; an input cable extending from the switch box; an output cable extending form the switch box, wherein a third modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the power cable, the output cable has a fourth modular connector at a distal end, and the fourth modular connector is connected to the third modular connector; wherein each of the first light cable, second light cable, the power cable, and the output cable of the controller comprises: a ground wire; a signal wire; and a first function voltage wire; and wherein the input cable comprises: a positive voltage wire; and a ground wire.
Claim 7 is a broader recitation of claim 1 of the 121 patent. See underlined portions for comparison.
8. The harness kit of claim 7, wherein each of the first light cable, second light cable, the power cable, and the output cable of the controller comprises: a ground wire; a signal wire; and a first function voltage wire; and wherein the input cable comprises: a positive voltage wire; and a ground wire.
1. A harness kit for emergency lights, comprising: … wherein the controller comprises: a switch box; an input cable extending from the switch box; an output cable extending form the switch box, wherein a third modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the power cable, the output cable has a fourth modular connector at a distal end, and the fourth modular connector is connected to the third modular connector; wherein each of the first light cable, second light cable, the power cable, and the output cable of the controller comprises: a ground wire; a signal wire; and a first function voltage wire; and wherein the input cable comprises: a positive voltage wire; and a ground wire.
Claim 8 is a broader recitation of claim 1 of the 121 patent. See underlined portions for comparison.
9. The harness kit of claim 8, wherein the switch box comprises: a first on-and-off switch connected between the positive voltage wire of the input cable and the first function voltage wire of the output cable; and a second on-and-off switch connected between the positive voltage wire of the input cable and the second function voltage wire of the output cable.
8. The harness kit of claim 1, wherein the switch box comprises: a first on-and-off switch connected between the positive voltage wire of the input cable and the first function voltage wire of the output cable; and
a second on-and-off switch connected between the positive voltage wire of the input cable and the second function voltage wire of the output cable.
Claims are identical
10. The harness kit of claim 9, wherein the switch box further comprises: a signal switch connected between the positive voltage wire of the input cable and the signal wire of the power cable.
9. The harness kit of claim 8, wherein the switch box further comprises: a signal switch connected between the positive voltage wire of the input cable and the signal wire of the power cable.
Claims are identical
11. The harness kit of claim 1, further comprising: a splitter cable comprises: an input cable; and two or more output cables, wherein the input cable is configured to connect with the first light cable or the second light cable, and the two or more output cables are configured to connect with two or more emergency lights.
10. The harness kit of claim 1, further comprising: a splitter cable comprises: an input cable; and two or more output cables, wherein the input cable is configured to connect with the first light cable or the second light cable, and the two or more output cables are configured to connect with two or more emergency lights.
Claims are identical
12. The harness kit of claim 11, wherein the two or more output cables have different lengths.
11. The harness kit of claim 10, wherein the two or more output cables have different lengths.
Claims are identical
13. The harness kit of claim 11, further comprising a cable retainer disposed over a joint between the input cable of the splitter cable and the first or second light cable.
12. The harness kit of claim 10, further comprising a cable retainer disposed over a joint between the input cable of the splitter cable and the first or second light cable.
Claims are identical
14. The harness kit of claim 1, wherein the junction box comprises:a housing defining an inner volume, wherein the proximal ends of the power cable, the first light cable, and the second light cable are disposed in the inner volume.
13. The harness kit of claim 1, wherein the junction box comprises: a housing defining an inner volume, wherein the proximal ends of the power cable, the first light cable, and the second light cable are disposed in the inner volume.
Claims are identical
15. The harness kit of claim 14, further comprising a sealing material disposed in the inner volume.
14. The harness kit of claim 13, further comprising a sealing material disposed in the inner volume.
Claims are identical
16. The harness kit of claim 15, wherein the housing includes a plurality of wire organizers.
15. The harness kit of claim 14, wherein the housing includes a plurality of wire organizers.
Claims are identical
17. A harness kit for emergency lights, comprising: a junction box; a power cable extending from the junction box; a first light cable extending from the junction box, wherein the first light cable comprises: a proximal end extending from the junction box; and a first modular connector disposed on a distal end of the first light cable, wherein the first modular connector is configured to connect with an emergency light; and a second light cable extending from the junction box, wherein the second light cable comprises: a proximal end extending from the junction box; and a second modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the second light cable, wherein the second modular connector is configured to connect with an emergency light, wherein each of the first light cable, second light cable, and the power cable comprises: a ground wire; a signal wire; and a first function voltage wire, wherein the junction box includes: a ground circuit path connecting the ground wire of the power cable with the ground wires of the first and second light cables; a first voltage circuit path connecting the first function voltage wire of the power cable to the first function voltage wires of the first and second light cables; and a signal circuit path connecting the signal wire of the power cable to the signal wire to at least one of the first and second light cables.
1. A harness kit for emergency lights, comprising: a junction box; a power cable extending from the junction box; a first light cable extending from the junction box, wherein the first light cable comprises: a proximal end extending from the junction box; and a first modular connector disposed on a distal end of the first light cable, wherein the first modular connector is configured to connect with an emergency light; and a second light cable extending from the junction box, wherein the second light cable comprises: a proximal end extending from the junction box; and a second modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the second light cable, wherein the second modular connector is configured to connect with an emergency light; wherein each of the first light cable, second light cable, and the power cable comprises: a ground wire; a signal wire; and a first function voltage wire, wherein the junction box includes: a ground circuit path connecting the ground wire of the power cable with the ground wires of the first and second light cables; a first voltage circuit path connecting the first function voltage wire of the power cable to the first function voltage wires of the first and second light cables; and a signal circuit path connecting the signal wire of the power cable to the signal wire to at least one of the first and second light cables; wherein the power cable comprises: a proximal end extending from the junction box; and a third modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the power cable; a controller, wherein the controller comprises: a switch box; an input cable extending from the switch box; an output cable extending form the switch box, wherein a third modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the power cable, the output cable has a fourth modular connector at a distal end, and the fourth modular connector is connected to the third modular connector; wherein each of the first light cable, second light cable, the power cable, and the output cable of the controller comprises: a ground wire; a signal wire; and a first function voltage wire; and wherein the input cable comprises: a positive voltage wire; and a ground wire.
Claim 17 of the 606 application is a broader recitation of claim 1 of the 121 patent. See underlined portions for comparison.
18. The harness kit of claim 17, wherein the power cable comprises: a proximal end extending from the junction box; and a third modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the power cable.
1. A harness kit for emergency lights, comprising: … wherein the controller comprises: a switch box; an input cable extending from the switch box; an output cable extending form the switch box, wherein a third modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the power cable, the output cable has a fourth modular connector at a distal end, and the fourth modular connector is connected to the third modular connector; wherein each of the first light cable, second light cable, the power cable, and the output cable of the controller comprises: a ground wire; a signal wire; and a first function voltage wire; and wherein the input cable comprises: a positive voltage wire; and a ground wire.
19. The harness kit of claim 18, wherein the first modular connector and the third modular connector are different.
2. The harness kit of claim 1, wherein the first modular connector and the third modular connector are different.
Claim 19 is identical to claim 2
20. The harness kit of claim 18, further comprising:a third light cable, wherein the third light cable comprises:a proximal end extending from the junction box; and a fourth modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the third light cable, wherein the fourth modular connector is configured to connect with an emergency light.
16. The harness kit of claim 1, further comprising: a third light cable, wherein the third light cable comprises: a proximal end extending from the junction box; and a fourth modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the third light cable, wherein the fourth modular connector is configured to connect with an emergency light.
Claim 20 is identical to claim 16
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “each of the first light cable, second light cable, the power cable, and the output cable of the controller comprises: a ground wire; a signal wire; and a first function voltage wire” when claim 1 already recites “each of the first light cable, second light cable, and the power cable comprises: a ground wire; a signal wire; and a first function voltage wire”. It is unclear if the applicant intends for each of the first light cable, second light cable, and power cable to comprise an additional ground wire, signal wire, and first function voltage wire or if the output cable of the controller further comprises a ground wire, signal wire, and first function voltage wire. The examiner is interpreting the claim as “the output cable of the controller comprises: a ground wire, a signal wire; and a first function voltage wire”.
Claims 9-10 are rejected since they are dependent upon claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 11-12, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bean (US 10,207,642) in view of Walker (US 2024/0138042).
Claim 1: Bean teaches a harness kit for emergency lights, comprising: a junction box (200, fig. 1) (junction box, see para [0020]); a power cable (120, fig. 1) (one of cables of 308, fig. 3) (power via cable 120, see para [ 0037]) extending from the junction box (200); a first light cable (120, fig. 2) (another one of cables of 308, fig. 3) extending from the junction box (200); and a second light cable (120, fig. 2) (a third one of cables of 308, fig. 3) extending from the junction box (200), wherein each of the first light cable (120), second light cable (120), and the power cable (120) comprises: a signal wire (signal lines, see para [0038]); and a first function voltage wire (308 passes voltage, see para [0058]), wherein the junction box includes: a ground circuit path (ground path in fig. 6) connecting the ground wire of the power cable (120); a first voltage circuit path (voltage path in fig. 6) connecting the first function voltage wire of the power cable (120) to the first function voltage wires of the first and second light cables (see fig. 6); and a signal circuit path (signal path in fig. 6) connecting the signal wire of the power cable (120) to the signal wire to at least one of the first and second light cables (see fig. 6).
However, Bean is silent about each of the first light cable, the second light cable, and the power cable comprises a ground wire, and the ground circuit path connecting the ground wire of the power cable with the ground wires of the first and second light cables.
Walker teaches each of the first light cable (cable of 58, fig. 3), second light cable (cable of 58, fig. 3), and the power cable (+12V cable of 58, fig. 3) comprises: a ground wire (GND of 48, fig. 3).
Therefore, in view of Walker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add ground wires to each of the first light cable, the second light cable, and the power cable where the ground circuit path connecting the ground wire of the power cable with the ground wires of the first and second light cables, in order to provide grounding and prevent electrical damage and hazards for the first and second light cables.
Claim 4: Bean teaches the signal circuit path connects the signal wire of the power cable to the signal wires of the first and second light cables (see fig. 6).
Claim 5: Bean teaches the signal circuit path connects the signal wire of the power cable to the signal wire of the first light cable (see fig. 6), and the signal wire of the second light cable is floating (see figs. 4-5).
Claim 6: Bean fails to teach a signal cable extending from the junction box, wherein the signal cable comprises a first signal wire, and the first signal wire is connected the signal wire of the second light cable.
Walker teaches a signal cable (33, fig. 1) (signal trigger wire, see para [0030]), wherein the signal cable (33) comprises a first signal wire (53, fig. 8), and the first signal wire (53) is connected the signal wire (43, fig. 1) of the second light cable.
Therefore, in view of Walker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a signal cable extending from the junction box where the signal cable comprises a first signal wire, and the first signal wire is connected the signal wire of the second light cable, in order to selectively control individual lights of the lighting system.
Claim 7: Bean teaches a controller (320, fig. 6), controller (320, fig. 6) comprises: a switch box (322, fig. 6).
Bean fails to teach the controller comprises: an input cable extending from the switch box; and an output cable extending form the switch box.
Walker teaches a controller (58, fig. 3), wherein the controller (8-zone controller ) comprises: a switch box (box of 58, fig. 3); an input cable (GND, +12V cable of 58, fig. 3) extending from the switch box; and an output cable (12V LED cables, fig. 3) extending form the switch box.
Therefore, in view of Walker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a switch box to the controller of Bean where there is an input cable extending from the switch box; and an output cable extending form the switch box, in order to individually control multiple lights of the lighting system.
Claim 8: As best understood, Bean fails to teach the output cable of the controller comprises: a ground wire; a signal wire; and a first function voltage wire the input cable comprises: a positive voltage wire; and a ground wire.
Walker teaches the output cable (12V LED cables, fig. 3) of the controller comprises: a signal wire (one wires of 12V LED, fig. 3); and a first function voltage wire (another one of the wires of 12V LED, fig. 3); and the input cable (GND, +12V cable of 58, fig. 3) comprises: a positive voltage wire (+12V cable fig. 3); and a ground wire (GND, fig. 3). Therefore, in view of Walker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a switch box to the controller of Bean where there is an input cable extending from the switch box; and an the input cable comprises: a positive voltage wire; and a ground wire, in order to individually control multiple lights of the lighting system.
Furthermore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the ground wire for the output cable of the controller to provide a ground for the LEDs thereby preventing electrical damage, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 9: Bean teaches a switch box (322, fig. 6) comprises a first on-and-off switch (322, fig. 6) between the positive voltage wire of the input cable and the first function voltage wire of the output cable (see fig. 6).
However, Bean is silent about a second on-and-off switch connected between the positive voltage wire of the input cable and the second function voltage wire of the output cable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate a second on-and-off switch placed between the positive voltage wire of the input cable and the first function voltage wire of the output cable to allow selective control of the second light cable, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 11: Bean fails to teach a splitter cable comprises: an input cable; andt wo or more output cables, wherein the input cable is configured to connect with the first light cable or the second light cable, and the two or more output cables are configured to connect with two or more emergency lights.
Walker teaches a splitter cable (splitter hub, fig. 6) comprises: an input cable (left input cable on left in fig. 6); and two or more output cables (right output cables in fig. 6), wherein the input cable is configured to connect with the first light cable or the second light cable (42, fig. 6), and the two or more output cables (see fig. 6)are configured to connect with two or more emergency lights (12V LEDs, fig. 6).
Therefore, in view of Walker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a splitter cable which comprises an input cable; and two or more output cables, wherein the input cable is configured to connect with the first light cable or the second light cable, and the two or more output cables are configured to connect with two or more emergency lights, in order to connect additional lights.
Claim 12: Bean is silent about the two or more output cables have different lengths.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the length of the output cables to extend the lights to a desired position, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 14: Bean teaches the junction box (200, fig. 5) comprises: a housing (202, fig. 5) defining an inner volume (see fig. 5), wherein the proximal ends of the power cable, the first light cable, and the second light cable are disposed in the inner volume (see figs. 4-6).
Claim 15: Bean teaches a sealing material (rubber gasket, see para [0017]) disposed in the inner volume (seal the opening, see para [0017]).
Claim 16: Bean teaches the housing (202) includes a plurality of wire organizers (212, fig. 5).
Claim 17: Bean teaches a harness kit for emergency lights, comprising: a junction box (200, fig. 1) (junction box, see para [0020]); a power cable (120, fig. 1) (one of cables of 308, fig. 3) (power via cable 120, see para [ 0037]) extending from the junction box (200); a first light cable (120, fig. 2) (another one of cables of 308, fig. 3) extending from the junction box (200); and wherein the first light cable (120) comprises: a proximal end extending from the junction box (see figs. 1-4); and wherein the first modular connector is configured to connect with an emergency light; and a second light cable (120, fig. 2) (a third one of cables of 308, fig. 3) extending from the junction box (200), wherein the second light cable comprises: a proximal end extending from the junction box (see figs. 1-4); and a ground wire (ground line, see para [0038]); wherein each of the first light cable (120), second light cable (120), and the power cable (120) comprises: a signal wire (signal lines, see para [0038]); and a first function voltage wire (308 passes voltage, see para [0058]), wherein the junction box includes: a ground circuit path (ground path in fig. 6) connecting the ground wire of the power cable (120); a first voltage circuit path (voltage path in fig. 6) connecting the first function voltage wire of the power cable (120) to the first function voltage wires of the first and second light cables (see fig. 6); and a signal circuit path (signal path in fig. 6) connecting the signal wire of the power cable (120) to the signal wire to at least one of the first and second light cables (see fig. 6).
However, Bean is silent about the first light cable comprises: a first modular connector disposed on a distal end of the first light cable, wherein the second light cable comprises: a second modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the second light cable, wherein the second modular connector is configured to connect with an emergency light, each of the first light cable, the second light cable, and the power cable comprises a ground wire, and the ground circuit path connecting the ground wire of the power cable with the ground wires of the first and second light cables.
Walker teaches the first light cable (right cable of 58, fig. 3) comprises: a first modular connector (right connector of cable to right of 58, fig. 3) disposed on a distal end of the first light cable (see fig. 3), wherein the second light cable (another right cable of 58, fig. 3) comprises: a second modular connector (right connector of another cable to right of 58, fig. 3) is disposed on a distal end of the second light cable, wherein the second modular connector is configured to connect with an emergency light (cables could be connected to 12V LEDs), each of the first light cable (cable of 58, fig. 3), second light cable (cable of 58, fig. 3), and the power cable (+12V cable of 58, fig. 3) comprises: a ground wire (GND of 48, fig. 3).
Therefore, in view of Walker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add ground wires to each of the first light cable, the second light cable, and the power cable where the ground circuit path connecting the ground wire of the power cable with the ground wires of the first and second light cables, in order to provide grounding and prevent electrical damage and hazards for the first and second light cables and connect the kit to different lighting systems.
Claim 18: Bean teaches the power cable (120) comprises: a proximal end extending from the junction box (see figs. 1-4).
Bean fails to teach a third modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the power cable.
Walker teaches a power cable (left cable of 58, fig. 3) a third modular connector (connector of left cable of 58, fig. 3) is disposed on a distal end of the power cable (see fig. 3).
Therefore, in view of Walker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a third modular connector to be disposed on a distal end of the power cable where the third modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the power cable, in order to provide connection to various different lighting systems.
Claim 19: Bean fails to teach the first modular connector and the third modular connector are different.
Walker teaches the first modular connector and the third modular connector are different (see fig. 3).
Therefore, in view of Walker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a first and third modular connector where the first modular connector and the third modular connector are different, in order to provide connection to various different lighting systems.
Claim 20: Bean fails to teach a third light cable, wherein the third light cable comprises: a proximal end extending from the junction box; and a fourth modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the third light cable, wherein the fourth modular connector is configured to connect with an emergency light.
Walker teaches a third light cable (right cable of 58, fig. 3), wherein the third light cable comprises: a proximal end (left end of right cable of 58) extending from the junction box (box of 58); and a fourth modular connector (right connector of right cable of 58) is disposed on a distal end of the third light cable (see fig. 3), wherein the fourth modular connector is configured to connect with an emergency light (12V LEDs).
Therefore, in view of Walker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a third light cable, wherein the third light cable comprises: a proximal end extending from the junction box; and a fourth modular connector is disposed on a distal end of the third light cable, wherein the fourth modular connector is configured to connect with an emergency light, in order to add an additional light to the kit.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bean (US 10,207,642) in view of Walker (US 2024/0138042) as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Deyaf et al. (US 11,364,837) (hereinafter Deyaf).
Claim 2: Bean in view of Walker fails to teach each of the first light cable, second light cable, and the power cable comprises a second function voltage wire.
Deyaf teaches each of the first light cable (see fig. 1-3), second light cable (see fig. 1-3), and the power cable (see fig. 2 ) comprises a second function voltage wire (pair of data wires, see Col. 8 lines 17-31).
Therefore, in view of Deyaf, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a second function voltage wire to each of the first light cable, second light cable, and the power cable, in order to add a color changing function or flashing pattern to the lights.
Claim 3: Bean in view of Walker fails to teach the junction box further comprises: a second voltage circuit path connecting the second function voltage wire of the power cable to the second function voltage wires of the first and second light cables.
Deyaf teaches a second voltage circuit path (path between the pair of data wires to light controller in fig. 3) connecting the second function voltage wire of the power cable to the second function voltage wires of the first and second light cables (see figs. 1-3).
Therefore, in view of Deyaf, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a second voltage circuit path to the junction box of Bean where the second voltage circuit path connects the second function voltage wire of the power cable to the second function voltage wires of the first and second light cables , in order to add a color changing function or flashing pattern to the lights.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 10 and 13 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and a terminal disclaimer is timely filed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art taken as a whole does not show nor suggest the switch box further comprises: a signal switch connected between the positive voltage wire of the input cable and the signal wire of the power cable with respect to claim(s) 10, a cable retainer disposed over a joint between the input cable of the splitter cable and the first or second light cable with respect to claim 13, as specifically called for in the claimed combinations.
Conclusion
/ZHENG SONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875