DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/03/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneyama (JP 2002238197).
Regarding claim 1, Yoneyama teach:
A stator (abstract) comprising:
a core back (by 10) with an annular shape surrounding a central axis in a circumferential direction (Fig 2);
a plurality of teeth (see annotated Fig 2 below) extending radially outward from the core back (by 10) and arranged in the circumferential direction; and
a coil (8) wound around each of the plurality of teeth;
wherein a current of any phase of three-phase alternating current flows through the coil (para 2);
at least a portion of an extending line connecting a first coil (8) wound around a first tooth of the plurality of teeth and a second coil (8) through which a current with a same phase as a phase of the first coil flows is located in a slot between any two of the plurality of teeth except the first tooth and a second tooth adjacent to the first tooth (Fig 9, para 2); and
the extending line is located at a root of any of the two of the plurality of teeth in the slot (see annotated Fig 11 below).
Yoneyama teaches the invention as discussed above, but in different embodiments (Figs 4-9,11).
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of combining Yoneyama’s teachings to make applicant’s invention, as it would permit one to reduce the size of the machine (para 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Yoneyama to make applicant’s currently claimed invention.
The motivation to do so is it would permit one to reduce the machine’s size (para 1 of Yoneyama) and be based on cost.
Regarding claim 2/1, Yoneyama teach wherein the extending line is wired to avoid a region within a predetermined range on an outer side in the radial direction from an inner peripheral surface of the core back (see annotated Figs above).
Regarding claim 3/1, Yoneyama teach wherein a third tooth on which the second coil is located and the first tooth oppose each other in the radial direction (see annotated Figs above).
Regarding claim 4/3, Yoneyama teach the invention as discussed above, except
wherein twelve of the teeth are provided.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of wherein twelve of the teeth are provided, as it would permit one to scale the size of the machine and power.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Yoneyama wherein twelve of the teeth are provided.
The motivation to do so is it would permit one to scale the machine’s size and power.
Regarding claim 8/1, Yoneyama teach wherein a number of the extending lines located in the slot is two or less (see annotated Figs above).
Regarding claim 9/1, Yoneyama teach a motor comprising: the stator according to claim 1; a shaft (1, Fig 12) extending along the central axis; and a rotor (6,7) that is rotatable with respect to the stator (by 8).
Regarding claim 10/9, Yoneyama teach wherein the rotor (6,7) surrounds an outer periphery of the stator (by 8) in the radial direction.
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneyama (JP 2002238197) in view of Koshiba et al. (DE 112019004624).
Regarding claim 5/1, Yoneyama teach the invention as discussed above, except
wherein an end of the coil is located outside a center position of each of the plurality of teeth in the radial direction.
Koshiba et al. disclose wherein an end (31, Figs 11,13) of the coil is located outside a center position of each of the plurality of teeth in the radial direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Yoneyama wherein an end of the coil is located outside a center position of each of the plurality of teeth in the radial direction, as Koshiba et al. disclose.
The motivation to do so is it would permit one to counteract a decrease in productivity of a stator of a rotating electrical machine (“technical problem” of Koshiba et al.).
Regarding claim 6/5, Yoneyama teach wherein the coil is wound around each of the plurality of teeth in two or less layers (Fig 1 shows the coils wound in 2 layers).
Regarding claim 7/5, Yoneyama in view of Koshiba et al. teach the invention as discussed above, except wherein a number of turns of the coil is twenty or less.
However, since Yoneyama teaches the importance of reducing thickness and conductor size affecting overall size (para 6 after “description”), a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of wherein a number of turns of the coil is twenty or less, as it would permit one to scale the size of the machine, simplify manufacturing and reduce cost.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Yoneyama in view of Koshiba et al. wherein a number of turns of the coil is twenty or less.
The motivation to do so is it would permit one to scale the machine’s size, simplify manufacturing and reduce cost.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for details.
NAISHADH N. DESAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/NAISHADH N DESAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834