DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-27 have been examined.
P = paragraph e.g. P[0001] = paragraph[0001]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per Claim 13, it is unclear what device or structure performs the claimed “automatically unlocking the access-controlled travel path and transitioning the access-controlled travel path to an open state by exiting the access-controlled travel path”.
Also, it is unclear if the same device or structure performs the “unlocking” and the “exiting”.
Therefore, the claim is unclear.
As per Claim 19, the limitations “applying, automatically by engaging the aisle threshold, travel restrictions to the materials handling vehicle as the materials handling vehicle travels into the aisle lane; requesting, automatically by engaging the aisle threshold, authorization for the materials handling vehicle to access the aisle lane by interrogating a server via a communications device on the materials handling vehicle, to verify a state of the aisle, wherein the state of the aisle comprises an open state or a closed state” and “denying the materials handling vehicle access to the aisle lane if the materials handling vehicle does not have access rights to the aisle lane” are unclear. Specifically, if the materials handling vehicle “travels into the aisle lane” as implied in the “applying” step, it is unclear how the materials handling vehicle can be denied access to the “aisle lane” as per the “denying” step when the materials handling vehicle is already in the “aisle lane” as per the “applying” step. Furthermore, it is unclear what purpose it would serve to request “authorization for the materials handling vehicle to access the aisle lane” in the “requesting” step if the materials handling vehicle already “travels into the aisle lane” as per the preceding “applying” step.
Therefore, the claim is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 13 and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Collett et al. (2019/0033882).
Regarding Claim 1, Collett et al. teaches the claimed process for access control in an industrial environment, the process comprising:
receiving an electronic message that indicates that a materials handling vehicle is approaching an access-controlled travel path (“The materials handling vehicles described herein may incorporated automated guidance vehicle (AGV) functionality using, for example, wire guidance or other guidance features for AGV positioning functionality such as radio-frequency identification (RFID) tags. For example, RFID tags may be disposed throughout a warehouse environment to act as active or passive transponders communicating with the materials handling vehicles and/or one or more networks to assist with vehicle tracking, navigation, and traffic management through the warehouse environment”, see P[0043] and “Referring again to FIG. 2, the mediated materials handling vehicle 400 approaches a trigger point 252 at an initial boundary of an entry/prompt zone 254. At the trigger point 252, the mediated materials handling vehicle 400 sends a request to proceed to the server”, see P[0053], and “The navigation subsystem 42 is configured to determine whether the materials handling vehicle 400 is approaching, or has arrived at, a potentially contested intersection 271A, 271B by establishing or recognizing an entry zone 274 associated with the potentially contested intersection 271A, 271B, and indicating a presence of the materials handling vehicle 400 in the entry zone 274. The navigation subsystem 42 may establish the entry zone 274 as a virtual boundary in the warehouse environment 10. Alternatively, the navigation subsystem 42 may establish the entry zone 274 as a literal entry zone defined by boundary elements in the warehouse environment 10. As a non-limiting example, one or more RFID tags arranged near the intersection 271A, 271B, at the end of an aisle. In embodiments, the materials handling vehicle 400 may include hardware configured to establish or recognize the entry zone 274 associated with the potentially contested intersection 271A, 271B, which hardware may include a sensor array including at least one of a laser sensor, a radar sensor, and an image sensor”, see P[0082]), the materials handling vehicle having a travel system that comprises a normal travel mode (“…the mediated materials handling vehicle 400 approaches a trigger point 252 at an initial boundary of an entry/prompt zone 254…”, see P[0053]), a limp travel mode (“If no other materials handling vehicle is in the intersection, the server will grant permission, and other materials handling vehicles will be denied and requested to wait until the current materials handling vehicle leaves the intersection”, see P[0047], where the “limp travel mode” encompasses a mode that stops the vehicle), and a restricted travel mode (“…the server sends back a wait request to the materials handling vehicle. The materials handling vehicle may re-request permission to enter the intersection after a period of time such as, for example, after between 5 seconds to about 10 seconds”, see P[0048], where the “restricted travel mode” encompasses a mode that causes the vehicle to wait for a period of time and send a req-request);
generating an electronic permission request to enter the access-controlled travel path responsive to the received electronic message (“When an autonomous or semi-autonomous materials handling vehicle (such as a truck or forklift) approaches an intersection, the materials handling vehicle may announce that approach to the server via a reference to the unique identifier associated with the intersection. The materials handling vehicle may request permission to enter the intersection from the server”, see P[0047]);
issuing an electronic command to set the travel system of the materials handling vehicle to the limp travel mode as the materials handling vehicle engages an entry threshold of the access-controlled travel path (“Referring back to FIG. 1A, in a following step 104, the materials handling vehicle sends a request to proceed through the intersection to a server. Referring again to FIG. 2, the mediated materials handling vehicle 400 approaches a trigger point 252 at an initial boundary of an entry/prompt zone 254. At the trigger point 252, the mediated materials handling vehicle 400 sends a request to proceed to the server”, see P[0053]);
receiving an electronic permission response, wherein the electronic permission response is received responsive to the generated electronic permission request, the electronic permission response indicating whether the access-controlled travel path is in an open state or a closed state (“If no other materials handling vehicle is in the intersection, the server will grant permission, and other materials handling vehicles will be denied and requested to wait until the current materials handling vehicle leaves the intersection”, see P[0047]); and
issuing an electronic command to set the travel system of the materials handling vehicle to the restricted travel mode when the access-controlled travel path is in the closed state (“…the server sends back a wait request to the materials handling vehicle. The materials handling vehicle may re-request permission to enter the intersection after a period of time such as, for example, after between 5 seconds to about 10 seconds”, see P[0048]), and issuing an electronic command to set the travel system of the materials handling vehicle to the normal travel mode when the access-controlled travel path is in the open state (“If no other materials handling vehicle is in the intersection, the server will grant permission, and other materials handling vehicles will be denied and requested to wait until the current materials handling vehicle leaves the intersection. The materials handling vehicle will enter and proceed through the intersection and notify the server when the materials handling vehicle, including any associated components such as attached carts, is clear of the intersection”, see P[0047]).
Regarding Claim 2, Collett et al. teaches the claimed process of claim 1, wherein receiving the electronic message further comprises:
receiving the electronic message responsive to receiving by a processing device on the materials handling vehicle, data from at least one of:
a location sensor that is coupled to the materials handling vehicle;
a location tracking system on the materials handling vehicle; or
a radio frequency identification tag via a radio frequency identification transceiver (“The materials handling vehicles described herein may incorporated automated guidance vehicle (AGV) functionality using, for example, wire guidance or other guidance features for AGV positioning functionality such as radio-frequency identification (RFID) tags. For example, RFID tags may be disposed throughout a warehouse environment to act as active or passive transponders communicating with the materials handling vehicles and/or one or more networks to assist with vehicle tracking, navigation, and traffic management through the warehouse environment”, see P[0043] and “Alternatively, the navigation subsystem 42 may establish the entry zone 274 as a literal entry zone defined by boundary elements in the warehouse environment 10. As a non-limiting example, one or more RFID tags arranged near the intersection 271A, 271B, at the end of an aisle”, see P[0082]);
the data indicating that the materials handling vehicle is approaching the access-controlled travel path (“The materials handling vehicles described herein may incorporated automated guidance vehicle (AGV) functionality using, for example, wire guidance or other guidance features for AGV positioning functionality such as radio-frequency identification (RFID) tags. For example, RFID tags may be disposed throughout a warehouse environment to act as active or passive transponders communicating with the materials handling vehicles and/or one or more networks to assist with vehicle tracking, navigation, and traffic management through the warehouse environment”, see P[0043] and “Alternatively, the navigation subsystem 42 may establish the entry zone 274 as a literal entry zone defined by boundary elements in the warehouse environment 10. As a non-limiting example, one or more RFID tags arranged near the intersection 271A, 271B, at the end of an aisle”, see P[0082]).
Regarding Claim 5, Collett et al. teaches the claimed process of claim 1 further comprising:
performing, responsive to the generated electronic permission request, a verification that at least one other materials handling vehicle is within the access-controlled travel path before issuing the electronic command to set the travel system of the materials handling vehicle to the restricted travel mode (“…if there are one or more other materials handling vehicles in the intersection when the materials handling vehicle requests permission to enter the intersection from the server, the server sends back a wait request to the materials handling vehicle”, se P[0048]) (“At the stop point, the materials handling vehicle may check if the zones are clear through obstacle detection conducted through the laser scanner. If the zones are clear, the materials handling vehicle may proceed up to the speed limit associated with the intersection and/or set by materials handling vehicle rules or local road rules”, see P[0074]).
Regarding Claim 6, Collett et al. teaches the claimed process of claim 1 further comprising:
performing, responsive to the generated electronic permission request, a verification that the access-controlled travel path is at least one of:
currently being used by a resource before issuing the electronic command to set the travel system of the materials handling vehicle to the restricted travel mode (“…if there are one or more other materials handling vehicles in the intersection when the materials handling vehicle requests permission to enter the intersection from the server, the server sends back a wait request to the materials handling vehicle”, se P[0048]); and
currently designated as reserved by a resource before issuing the electronic command to set the travel system of the materials handling vehicle to the restricted travel mode.
Regarding Claim 7, Collett et al. teaches the claimed process of claim 1 further comprising:
implementing a resource allocation scheme that performs at least one of:
sets a location access time limit for materials handling vehicles to remain in the access-controlled travel path, whereupon a resource within the access- controlled travel path that exceeds its location access time limit is automatically required to exit the access-controlled travel path; and
sets a priority for materials handling vehicles to remain in the access- controlled travel path, whereupon a resource within the access-controlled travel path with a lower priority than an approaching resource with a higher priority is automatically required to exit the access-controlled travel path (“…if there are one or more other materials handling vehicles in the intersection when the materials handling vehicle requests permission to enter the intersection from the server, the server sends back a wait request to the materials handling vehicle”, se P[0048]) (“At the stop point, the materials handling vehicle may check if the zones are clear through obstacle detection conducted through the laser scanner. If the zones are clear, the materials handling vehicle may proceed up to the speed limit associated with the intersection and/or set by materials handling vehicle rules or local road rules”, see P[0074]).
Regarding Claim 9, Collett et al. teaches the claimed process of claim 1 wherein:
the access-controlled travel path comprises an aisle in an industrial environment (“…aisle intersection…”, see P[0014] and “…a materials handling vehicle in a warehouse environment”, see P[0041]); and
generating the electronic permission request comprises transmitting, via a transceiver on the materials handling vehicle, the electronic permission request to access the aisle when the received location data indicates proximity to the entry threshold implemented as an aisle threshold of the aisle (“…the network interface hardware 712 can include a communication transceiver for sending and/or receiving any wired or wireless communication”, see P[0125] and “…a materials handling vehicle may announce when the materials handling vehicle is approaching a controlled area through reference to a unique identifier that is associated with the controlled area and may request permission to enter from the server”, see P[0051]).
Regarding Claim 13, Collett et al. teaches the claimed process of claim 1 further comprising at least one of:
automatically unlocking the access-controlled travel path and transitioning the access-controlled travel path to an open state by exiting the access-controlled travel path (“If no other materials handling vehicle is in the intersection, the server will grant permission, and other materials handling vehicles will be denied and requested to wait until the current materials handling vehicle leaves the intersection”, see P[0047]); or
transmitting an exit signal when the materials handling vehicle has:
occupied the access-controlled travel path; and
has traveled back over the entry threshold so as to exit the access- controlled travel path.
Regarding Claim 18, Collett et al. teaches the claimed process of claim 1 further comprising:
displaying, at a user interface, information related to a status of an access-controlled travel path within an environment, wherein the status of the access-controlled travel path comprises a select one of an open state and a closed state (“Some embodiments may feature infrastructure-based intersection mediation, where a piece of infrastructure such as a smart traffic light may mediate the intersection. In embodiments, implementation may utilize external infrastructure, such as a physical smart traffic light, a virtual traffic light run on a server, smart RFID pills disposed on or within a warehouse floor or other intersection locations, for example, and the like. A materials handling vehicle mounted display could also be used to indicate this information with respect to manual materials handling vehicles that comprise had suitable connectivity and display systems”, see P[0100]);
receiving a reservation request where the access-controlled travel path status is open (“When an autonomous or semi-autonomous materials handling vehicle (such as a truck or forklift) approaches an intersection, the materials handling vehicle may announce that approach to the server via a reference to the unique identifier associated with the intersection. The materials handling vehicle may request permission to enter the intersection from the server”, see P[0047]); and
electronically identifying the access-controlled travel path as having the closed status during a time associated with the reservation (“Some embodiments may feature infrastructure-based intersection mediation, where a piece of infrastructure such as a smart traffic light may mediate the intersection. In embodiments, implementation may utilize external infrastructure, such as a physical smart traffic light, a virtual traffic light run on a server, smart RFID pills disposed on or within a warehouse floor or other intersection locations, for example, and the like. A materials handling vehicle mounted display could also be used to indicate this information with respect to manual materials handling vehicles that comprise had suitable connectivity and display systems”, see P[0100], where a “time associated with the reservation” includes any time before or during sending of the request).
Regarding Claim 19, Collett et al. teaches the claimed process for access control in an industrial environment, the process comprising:
engaging, by a materials handling vehicle, an aisle threshold within an environment, wherein the aisle threshold precedes an aisle lane (“Referring again to FIG. 2, the mediated materials handling vehicle 400 approaches a trigger point 252 at an initial boundary of an entry/prompt zone 254. At the trigger point 252, the mediated materials handling vehicle 400 sends a request to proceed to the server”, see P[0053]);
applying, automatically by engaging the aisle threshold, travel restrictions to the materials handling vehicle as the materials handling vehicle travels into the aisle lane (“When an autonomous or semi-autonomous materials handling vehicle (such as a truck or forklift) approaches an intersection, the materials handling vehicle may announce that approach to the server via a reference to the unique identifier associated with the intersection. The materials handling vehicle may request permission to enter the intersection from the server”, see P[0047]);
requesting, automatically by engaging the aisle threshold, authorization for the materials handling vehicle to access the aisle lane by interrogating a server via a communications device on the materials handling vehicle, to verify a state of the aisle, wherein the state of the aisle comprises an open state or a closed state (“When an autonomous or semi-autonomous materials handling vehicle (such as a truck or forklift) approaches an intersection, the materials handling vehicle may announce that approach to the server via a reference to the unique identifier associated with the intersection. The materials handling vehicle may request permission to enter the intersection from the server”, see P[0047]);
performing a first action set if the state of the aisle is open, the first action set comprising:
determining whether the materials handling vehicle has access rights to the aisle lane (“If no other materials handling vehicle is in the intersection, the server will grant permission, and other materials handling vehicles will be denied and requested to wait until the current materials handling vehicle leaves the intersection”, see P[0047]);
authorizing the materials handling vehicle to access the aisle lane if the materials handling vehicle has access rights to the aisle (“If no other materials handling vehicle is in the intersection, the server will grant permission, and other materials handling vehicles will be denied and requested to wait until the current materials handling vehicle leaves the intersection”, see P[0047]), wherein authorization comprises:
converting the state of the aisle to closed to other vehicles (“If no other materials handling vehicle is in the intersection, the server will grant permission, and other materials handling vehicles will be denied and requested to wait until the current materials handling vehicle leaves the intersection”, see P[0047]); and
removing the travel restrictions on the materials handling vehicle (“If no other materials handling vehicle is in the intersection, the server will grant permission, and other materials handling vehicles will be denied and requested to wait until the current materials handling vehicle leaves the intersection”, see P[0047]); and
denying the materials handling vehicle access to the aisle lane if the materials handling vehicle does not have access rights to the aisle lane (“If no other materials handling vehicle is in the intersection, the server will grant permission, and other materials handling vehicles will be denied and requested to wait until the current materials handling vehicle leaves the intersection”, see P[0047]); and
performing a second action if the state of the aisle is closed, the second action comprising maintaining the travel restrictions to the materials handling vehicle while the materials handling vehicle is within the aisle lane (“If no other materials handling vehicle is in the intersection, the server will grant permission, and other materials handling vehicles will be denied and requested to wait until the current materials handling vehicle leaves the intersection”, see P[0047]).
Regarding Claim 20, Collett et al. teaches the claimed access control system, comprising:
a processing device on a materials handling vehicle (see P[0080]);
a travel system that affects at least one travel related performance parameter and/or at least one power related performance parameter of the materials handling vehicle (see P[0080]), the travel system comprising a normal travel mode (“…the mediated materials handling vehicle 400 approaches a trigger point 252 at an initial boundary of an entry/prompt zone 254…”, see P[0053]), a limp travel mode (“If no other materials handling vehicle is in the intersection, the server will grant permission, and other materials handling vehicles will be denied and requested to wait until the current materials handling vehicle leaves the intersection”, see P[0047], where the “limp travel mode” encompasses a mode that stops the vehicle), and a restricted travel mode (“…the server sends back a wait request to the materials handling vehicle. The materials handling vehicle may re-request permission to enter the intersection after a period of time such as, for example, after between 5 seconds to about 10 seconds”, see P[0048], where the “restricted travel mode” encompasses a mode that causes the vehicle to wait for a period of time and send a req-request), wherein the travel system is communicatively coupled to the processing device; and
a wireless transceiver on the materials handling vehicle that is communicatively coupled to the processing device (see P[0098] and P[0125]);
wherein the processing device includes a controller (see P[0080]) comprising:
a memory device storing executable instructions (see P[0123]); and
a processor communicably coupled to the memory device (see P[0123]); and
wherein the processor, when executing the executable instructions read out from the memory device:
receives an electronic message that indicates that the materials handling vehicle is approaching an access-controlled travel path (“The materials handling vehicles described herein may incorporated automated guidance vehicle (AGV) functionality using, for example, wire guidance or other guidance features for AGV positioning functionality such as radio-frequency identification (RFID) tags. For example, RFID tags may be disposed throughout a warehouse environment to act as active or passive transponders communicating with the materials handling vehicles and/or one or more networks to assist with vehicle tracking, navigation, and traffic management through the warehouse environment”, see P[0043] and “Referring again to FIG. 2, the mediated materials handling vehicle 400 approaches a trigger point 252 at an initial boundary of an entry/prompt zone 254. At the trigger point 252, the mediated materials handling vehicle 400 sends a request to proceed to the server”, see P[0053], and “The navigation subsystem 42 is configured to determine whether the materials handling vehicle 400 is approaching, or has arrived at, a potentially contested intersection 271A, 271B by establishing or recognizing an entry zone 274 associated with the potentially contested intersection 271A, 271B, and indicating a presence of the materials handling vehicle 400 in the entry zone 274. The navigation subsystem 42 may establish the entry zone 274 as a virtual boundary in the warehouse environment 10. Alternatively, the navigation subsystem 42 may establish the entry zone 274 as a literal entry zone defined by boundary elements in the warehouse environment 10. As a non-limiting example, one or more RFID tags arranged near the intersection 271A, 271B, at the end of an aisle. In embodiments, the materials handling vehicle 400 may include hardware configured to establish or recognize the entry zone 274 associated with the potentially contested intersection 271A, 271B, which hardware may include a sensor array including at least one of a laser sensor, a radar sensor, and an image sensor”, see P[0082]);
generates an electronic permission request to enter the access-controlled travel path responsive to the received electronic message (“When an autonomous or semi-autonomous materials handling vehicle (such as a truck or forklift) approaches an intersection, the materials handling vehicle may announce that approach to the server via a reference to the unique identifier associated with the intersection. The materials handling vehicle may request permission to enter the intersection from the server”, see P[0047]);
issues an electronic command to set the travel system of the materials handling vehicle to the limp travel mode as the materials handling vehicle engages an entry threshold (“Referring back to FIG. 1A, in a following step 104, the materials handling vehicle sends a request to proceed through the intersection to a server. Referring again to FIG. 2, the mediated materials handling vehicle 400 approaches a trigger point 252 at an initial boundary of an entry/prompt zone 254. At the trigger point 252, the mediated materials handling vehicle 400 sends a request to proceed to the server”, see P[0053]);
receives, via the wireless transceiver of the materials handling vehicle, an electronic permission response, wherein the electronic permission response is received responsive to the generated electronic permission request, the electronic permission response indicating whether the access-controlled travel path is in an open state or a closed state (“If no other materials handling vehicle is in the intersection, the server will grant permission, and other materials handling vehicles will be denied and requested to wait until the current materials handling vehicle leaves the intersection”, see P[0047]); and
issues an electronic command to set the travel system of the materials handling vehicle to the restricted travel mode when the access-controlled travel path is in the closed state (“…the server sends back a wait request to the materials handling vehicle. The materials handling vehicle may re-request permission to enter the intersection after a period of time such as, for example, after between 5 seconds to about 10 seconds”, see P[0048]), and
issues an electronic command to set the travel system of the materials handling vehicle to the normal travel mode when the access-controlled travel path is in the open state (“If no other materials handling vehicle is in the intersection, the server will grant permission, and other materials handling vehicles will be denied and requested to wait until the current materials handling vehicle leaves the intersection. The materials handling vehicle will enter and proceed through the intersection and notify the server when the materials handling vehicle, including any associated components such as attached carts, is clear of the intersection”, see P[0047]).
Regarding Claim 21, Collett et al. teaches the claimed system of claim 20 further comprising:
a localized communication device on the materials handling vehicle, wherein the localized communication device functions as a location sensor capable of interacting with an anchor to designate location data identifying the proximity of an access-controlled travel path associated with the anchor, the localized communication device communicatively coupled to the processing device (“The navigation subsystem 42 is configured to determine whether the materials handling vehicle 400 is approaching, or has arrived at, a potentially contested intersection 271A, 271B by establishing or recognizing an entry zone 274 associated with the potentially contested intersection 271A, 271B, and indicating a presence of the materials handling vehicle 400 in the entry zone 274. The navigation subsystem 42 may establish the entry zone 274 as a virtual boundary in the warehouse environment 10. Alternatively, the navigation subsystem 42 may establish the entry zone 274 as a literal entry zone defined by boundary elements in the warehouse environment 10. As a non-limiting example, one or more RFID tags arranged near the intersection 271A, 271B, at the end of an aisle. In embodiments, the materials handling vehicle 400 may include hardware configured to establish or recognize the entry zone 274 associated with the potentially contested intersection 271A, 271B, which hardware may include a sensor array including at least one of a laser sensor, a radar sensor, and an image sensor”, see P[0082]); wherein:
the processor receives the electronic message from the localized communication device (“The navigation subsystem 42 is configured to determine whether the materials handling vehicle 400 is approaching, or has arrived at, a potentially contested intersection 271A, 271B by establishing or recognizing an entry zone 274 associated with the potentially contested intersection 271A, 271B, and indicating a presence of the materials handling vehicle 400 in the entry zone 274. The navigation subsystem 42 may establish the entry zone 274 as a virtual boundary in the warehouse environment 10. Alternatively, the navigation subsystem 42 may establish the entry zone 274 as a literal entry zone defined by boundary elements in the warehouse environment 10. As a non-limiting example, one or more RFID tags arranged near the intersection 271A, 271B, at the end of an aisle. In embodiments, the materials handling vehicle 400 may include hardware configured to establish or recognize the entry zone 274 associated with the potentially contested intersection 271A, 271B, which hardware may include a sensor array including at least one of a laser sensor, a radar sensor, and an image sensor”, see P[0082]).
Regarding Claim 22, Collett et al. teaches the claimed system of claim 20, wherein the processor issues an electronic command to set the travel system of the materials handling vehicle to the limp travel mode by controlling the travel system to restrict a forward travel distance of the materials handling vehicle to a predetermined distance beyond the entry threshold (“Referring again to FIG. 2, the mediated materials handling vehicle 400 approaches a trigger point 252 at an initial boundary of an entry/prompt zone 254. At the trigger point 252, the mediated materials handling vehicle 400 sends a request to proceed to the server”, see P[0053]).
Collett et al. does not expressly recite the claimed
and limits thereafter, a travel direction of the materials handling vehicle to a reverse travel direction.
However, Lalonde et al. (2018/0178376) teaches that if a robotic device reversing or backtracking if it cannot progress in an aisle (Lalonde et al.; see P[0112]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Collett et al. with the teachings of Lalonde et al., and limits thereafter, a travel direction of the materials handling vehicle to a reverse travel direction, as rendered obvious by Lalonde et al., in order to provide for “backtracking, reversing, or otherwise travelling backward to a previous position” when progress cannot be made (Lalonde et al.; see P[0112]).
Regarding Claim 23, Collett et al. teaches the claimed system of claim 20, wherein the processor, when executing the executable instructions:
transmits an exit signal when the materials handling vehicle has occupied the access-controlled travel path and travels back over the entry threshold, thus exiting the access-controlled travel path (“The materials handling vehicle may notify the server when the materials handling vehicle exits the intersection”, see P[0050]).
Regarding Claim 24, Collett et al. teaches the claimed system of claim 20, wherein the localized communication device comprises a radio frequency identification reader that receives data representing location data from a radio frequency identification tag (“The navigation subsystem 42 is configured to determine whether the materials handling vehicle 400 is approaching, or has arrived at, a potentially contested intersection 271A, 271B by establishing or recognizing an entry zone 274 associated with the potentially contested intersection 271A, 271B, and indicating a presence of the materials handling vehicle 400 in the entry zone 274. The navigation subsystem 42 may establish the entry zone 274 as a virtual boundary in the warehouse environment 10. Alternatively, the navigation subsystem 42 may establish the entry zone 274 as a literal entry zone defined by boundary elements in the warehouse environment 10. As a non-limiting example, one or more RFID tags arranged near the intersection 271A, 271B, at the end of an aisle. In embodiments, the materials handling vehicle 400 may include hardware configured to establish or recognize the entry zone 274 associated with the potentially contested intersection 271A, 271B, which hardware may include a sensor array including at least one of a laser sensor, a radar sensor, and an image sensor”, see P[0082]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collett et al. (2019/0033882) in view of Lalonde et al. (2018/0178376).
Regarding Claim 3, Collett et al. teaches the claimed process of claim 1, wherein:
issuing the electronic command to set the travel system of the materials handling vehicle to the limp travel mode as the materials handling vehicle engages the entry threshold of the access-controlled travel path comprises:
restricting a forward travel distance of the materials handling vehicle into the access-controlled travel path, to a predetermined distance beyond the entry threshold (“Referring again to FIG. 2, the mediated materials handling vehicle 400 approaches a trigger point 252 at an initial boundary of an entry/prompt zone 254. At the trigger point 252, the mediated materials handling vehicle 400 sends a request to proceed to the server”, see P[0053]).
Collett et al. does not expressly recite the claimed
and limiting thereafter, a travel direction of the materials handling vehicle to a reverse travel direction that exits the access-controlled travel path.
However, Lalonde et al. (2018/0178376) teaches that if a robotic device reversing or backtracking if it cannot progress in an aisle (Lalonde et al.; see P[0112]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Collett et al. with the teachings of Lalonde et al., and limiting thereafter, a travel direction of the materials handling vehicle to a reverse travel direction that exits the access-controlled travel path, as rendered obvious by Lalonde et al., in order to provide for “backtracking, reversing, or otherwise travelling backward to a previous position” when progress cannot be made (Lalonde et al.; see P[0112]).
Regarding Claim 4, Collett et al. teaches the claimed process of claim 3 further comprising:
engaging a timer that sets a limited amount of wait time that the materials handling vehicle can remain in the limp travel mode, to provide an opportunity for the access-controlled travel path to clear to the open state before issuing a command for the travel system to implement the restricted travel mode (“…the server sends back a wait request to the materials handling vehicle. The materials handling vehicle may re-request permission to enter the intersection after a period of time such as, for example, after between 5 seconds to about 10 seconds”, see P[0048]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collett et al. (2019/0033882) in view of Sharma et al. (2022/0234872).
Regarding Claim 8, Collett et al. does not expressly recite the claimed process of claim 1 further comprising:
implementing a partial segregation of a locked access-controlled travel path to grant access where a determination is made that allowing access of the materials handling vehicle to the access-controlled travel path, despite designation of the closed state, would not violate an access rule.
However, Sharma et al. (2022/0234872) teaches implementing a partial segregation of a locked access-controlled travel path to grant access where a determination is made that allowing access of the materials handling vehicle to the access-controlled travel path, despite designation of the closed state, would not violate an access rule (Sharma et al.; “A subset of nodes in the path to the destination node is enabled for the duration of the lock. In another embodiment, each region of the temporary space is annotated with a metadata pair. In case of temporary spaces, the distance between the columns or lane determines the validity of a lock. For example, a lock is considered invalid if two regions are locked and the boundaries of the two regions are within predetermined lock area range of each other. Since both regions may have different values of the lock area range, the larger of the two is used to determine validity…an auto parallel region is created, for example, enclosing all four lanes of the temp space, so that MRRP allows forklifts to go to nodes within a lock area range of each other as long as they are in the temp space region”, see P[0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Collett et al. with the teachings of Sharma et al., and implementing a partial segregation of a locked access-controlled travel path to grant access where a determination is made that allowing access of the materials handling vehicle to the access-controlled travel path, despite designation of the closed state, would not violate an access rule, as rendered obvious by Sharma et al., in order to “control and manage the synchronization between devices (mobile racks, virtual conveyors, sheet shutters, etc.), area around a device, device space (temporary space) and vehicles (automated forklift, etc.)” (Sharma et al.; see P[0048]).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collett et al. (2019/0033882) in view of Swift et al. (2020/0339132).
Regarding Claim 10, Collett et al. does not expressly recite the claimed process of claim 1 further comprising:
utilizing a display on the materials handling vehicle as a locked access interface to graphically display an indication of at least one locked access-controlled travel path, a time each displayed access-controlled travel path has been locked, a prediction of how long each displayed access-controlled travel path will be locked, or a combination thereof.
However, Swift et al. (2020/0339132) teaches utilizing a display on the materials handling vehicle as a locked access interface to graphically display an indication of at least one locked access-controlled travel path, a time each displayed access-controlled travel path has been locked, a prediction of how long each displayed access-controlled travel path will be locked, or a combination thereof (Swift et al.; “…the system (e.g., via the platform 114 and/or direct communication by the industrial vehicle 108) can warn other industrial vehicle operators (e.g., by communicating a message to nearby industrial vehicles that is presented on an operator display) that an operator in training is driving down the same aisle as the other vehicle operators”, see P[0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Collett et al. with the teachings of Swift et al., and the process of claim 1 further comprising utilizing a display on the materials handling vehicle as a locked access interface to graphically display an indication of at least one locked access-controlled travel path, a time each displayed access-controlled travel path has been locked, a prediction of how long each displayed access-controlled travel path will be locked, or a combination thereof, as rendered obvious by Swift et al., in order to “warn other industrial vehicle operators” (Swift et al.; see P[0070]).
Regarding Claim 11, Collett et al. does not expressly recite the claimed process of claim 1 further comprising:
utilizing a display on the materials handling vehicle to form an intercom for communication with another materials handling vehicle within the access-controlled travel path that has the access-controlled travel path locked to the closed state.
However, Swift et al. (2020/0339132) teaches utilizing a display on the materials handling vehicle to form an intercom for communication with another materials handling vehicle within the access-controlled travel path that has the access-controlled travel path locked to the closed state (Swift et al.; “…the system (e.g., via the platform 114 and/or direct communication by the industrial vehicle 108) can warn other industrial vehicle operators (e.g., by communicating a message to nearby industrial vehicles that is presented on an operator display) that an operator in training is driving down the same aisle as the other vehicle operators”, see P[0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Collett et al. with the teachings of Swift et al., and the process of claim 1 further comprising utilizing a display on the materials handling vehicle to form an intercom for communication with another materials handling vehicle within the access-controlled travel path that has the access-controlled travel path locked to the closed state, as rendered obvious by Swift et al., in order to “warn other industrial vehicle operators” (Swift et al.; see P[0070]).
Regarding Claim 12, Collett et al. does not expressly recite the claimed process of claim 1 further comprising:
utilizing a display on the materials handling vehicle to enable an operator of the materials handling vehicle to define at least one parameter defining a lock placed on the access-controlled travel path, the at least one parameter defining a start time of desired restricted access, a duration of restricted access, a size of a restricted access area within the access-controlled travel path, or combinations thereof.
However, Swift et al. (2020/0339132) teaches utilizing a display on the materials handling vehicle to enable an operator of the materials handling vehicle to define at least one parameter defining a lock placed on the access-controlled travel path, the at least one parameter defining a start time of desired restricted access, a duration of restricted access, a size of a restricted access area within the access-controlled travel path, or combinations thereof (Swift et al.; “…the system (e.g., via the platform 114 and/or direct communication by the industrial vehicle 108) can warn other industrial vehicle operators (e.g., by communicating a message to nearby industrial vehicles that is presented on an operator display) that an operator in training is driving down the same aisle as the other vehicle operators”, see P[0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Collett et al. with the teachings of Swift et al., and the process of claim 1 further comprising utilizing a display on the materials handling vehicle to enable an operator of the materials handling vehicle to define at least one parameter defining a lock placed on the access-controlled travel path, the at least one parameter defining a start time of desired restricted access, a duration of restricted access, a size of a restricted access area within the access-controlled travel path, or combinations thereof, as rendered obvious by Swift et al., in order to “warn other industrial vehicle operators” (Swift et al.; see P[0070]).
Claims 14-16, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collett et al. (2019/0033882) in view of Wellman et al. (9,202,186).
Regarding Claim 14, Collett et al. does not expressly recite the claimed process of claim 1 further comprising:
reporting a current coordinate location of the materials handling vehicle to a remote server while the materials handling vehicle remains in the access-controlled travel path.
However, Wellman et al. (9,202,186) teaches communicating position information to a server to implement tracking (Wellman et al.; “The position information may be communicated to the mobile asset application server 14, depending upon the particular implementation, such as to implement forklift tracking, to trigger the communication of geofence information and/or for other suitable applications”, see col.31, particularly lines 46-58), and when using the system of Wellman et al. with a “materials handling vehicle”, it would be obvious to communicate the position information to the server at any point in time, such as “while the materials handling vehicle remains in the access-controlled travel path”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Collett et al. with the teachings of Wellman et al., and the process of claim 1 further comprising reporting a current coordinate location of the materials handling vehicle to a remote server while the materials handling vehicle remains in the access-controlled travel path, as rendered obvious by Wellman et al., in order to “implement forklift tracking” (Wellman et al.; see col.31, lines 49-53), and in order to track the materials handling vehicle at any point in time.
Regarding Claim 15, Collett et al. does not expressly recite the claimed process of claim 1 further comprising:
receiving operator logon information that identifies an operator of the materials handling vehicle; and
transmitting the operator logon information with the electronic permission request to access the access-controlled travel path; and wherein:
receiving the electronic permission response further comprises receiving an electronic permission response that is based on the operator logon information.
However, Wellman et al. (9,202,186) teaches receiving operator logon information that identifies an operator of a materials handling vehicle in the form of an operator ID, and transmitting the operator logon information, and manipulating instant messaging systems using the operator ID, where a server may forward instant messages to a mobile asset (Wellman et al.; “When an operator logs onto a mobile asset 12, based upon preferences associated with the operator ID, the appropriate language may be selected. As an example, the interface controller 50 on the asset may communicate the operator ID to the mobile asset application server 14”, see col.20, particularly lines 4-20, and see col.35, particularly lines 57-67 and col.36, particularly lines 1-5, and “…when an operator logs into an asset, the wireless communications interface controller 50 may transmit the operator ID and relevant tracking information, such as a corresponding asset identification to the mobile asset application server 14. By knowing the operator ID and corresponding asset ID, instant messaging systems can be manipulated”, see col.36, particularly lines 6-16). Therefore, to send the operator “logon information” at any time when communicating data from the vehicle or mobile asset would be obvious, where the “with” of “transmitting the operator logon information with the electronic permission request to access the access-controlled travel path” encompasses sending the “logon information” and the “request” within a specific time period which may clearly occur if the operator first logs on and then the request is sent within a specific time period. Furthermore, the limitation “based on the operator logon information” is rendered obvious by the teachings of allowing for communication between the mobile asset and server by using the operator ID, which renders obvious communications being “based” on the operator ID.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Collett et al. with the teachings of Wellman et al., and the process of claim 1 further comprising: receiving operator logon information that identifies an operator of the materials handling vehicle; and transmitting the operator logon information with the electronic permission request to access the access-controlled travel path; and wherein: receiving the electronic permission response further comprises receiving an electronic permission response that is based on the operator logon information, as rendered obvious by Wellman et al., in order to provide a “customization function may comprise a customizing operation of a component of the materials handling vehicle according to any number and/or type of operator-defined preferences” (Wellman et al.; see col.28, particularly lines 10-27) and “forward or otherwise originate pages, instant messages or other communications to specific mobile assets and/or asset operators” (Wellman et al.; see col.35, lines 60-63) and so that “instant messaging systems can be manipulated” (Wellman et al.; see col.36, lines 10).
Regarding Claim 16, Collett et al. does not expressly recite the claimed process of claim 1 further comprising:
receiving an override command from an operator of the materials handling vehicle to alter the state of the access-controlled travel path; and
transmitting the override command.
However, Wellman et al. (5,258,911) teaches receiving an override command from an operator of the materials handling vehicle to alter the state of the access-controlled travel path, and transmitting the override command (Wellman et al.; “…manual operation of the manual release switch 120 by the operator will be required to override the end of aisle control program before the vehicle can resume normal operation. This override may be necessary before the vehicle can continue travel and is indicated by a flashing light 122 and an audible alarm 124 associated with the manual release switch 120”, see col.9, particularly lines 22-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Collett et al. with the teachings of Wellman et al., and the process of claim 1 further comprising: receiving an override command from an operator of the materials handling vehicle to alter the state of the access-controlled travel path; and transmitting the override command, as rendered obvious by Wellman et al., in order to “resume normal operation” (Wellman et al.; see col.9, lines 25-29).
Regarding Claim 25, Collett et al. does not expressly recite the claimed system of claim 20, wherein the processor, when executing the executable instructions:
receives operator logon information that identifies an operator of a materials handling vehicle, wherein the operator logon information comprises a modifiable permission parameter; and
transmits the operator logon information with the electronic permission request to access the access-controlled travel path via the transceiver; and
wherein:
the electronic permission response is further based on the operator logon information.
However, Wellman et al. (9,202,186) teaches receives operator logon information that identifies an operator of a materials handling vehicle, wherein the operator logon information comprises a modifiable permission parameter in the form of an operator ID, and transmitting the operator logon information with the electronic permission request to access the access-controlled travel path via the transceiver, and manipulating instant messaging systems using the operator ID, where a server may forward instant messages to a mobile asset (Wellman et al.; “When an operator logs onto a mobile asset 12, based upon preferences associated with the operator ID, the appropriate language may be selected. As an example, the interface controller 50 on the asset may communicate the operator ID to the mobile asset application server 14”, see col.20, particularly lines 4-20, and see col.35, particularly lines 57-67 and col.36, particularly lines 1-5, and “…when an operator logs into an asset, the wireless communications interface controller 50 may transmit the operator ID and relevant tracking information, such as a corresponding asset identification to the mobile asset application server 14. By knowing the operator ID and corresponding asset ID, instant messaging systems can be manipulated”, see col.36, particularly lines 6-16). Therefore, to send the operator “logon information” at any time when communicating data from the vehicle or mobile asset would be obvious, where the “with” of “transmits the operator logon information with the electronic permission request to access the access-controlled travel path via the transceiver” encompasses sending the “logon information” and the “request” within a specific time period which may clearly occur if the operator first logs on and then the request is sent within a specific time period. Furthermore, the limitation “based on the operator logon information” is rendered obvious by the teachings of allowing for communication between the mobile asset and server by using the operator ID, which renders obvious communications being “based” on the operator ID.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Collett et al. with the teachings of Wellman et al., and wherein the processor, when executing the executable instructions: receives operator logon information that identifies an operator of a materials handling vehicle, wherein the operator logon information comprises a modifiable permission parameter; and transmits the operator logon information with the electronic permission request to access the access-controlled travel path via the transceiver; and wherein: the electronic permission response is further based on the operator logon information, as rendered obvious by Wellman et al., in order to provide a “customization function may comprise a customizing operation of a component of the materials handling vehicle according to any number and/or type of operator-defined preferences” (Wellman et al.; see col.28, particularly lines 10-27) and “forward or otherwise originate pages, instant messages or other communications to specific mobile assets and/or asset operators” (Wellman et al.; see col.35, lines 60-63) and so that “instant messaging systems can be manipulated” (Wellman et al.; see col.36, lines 10).
Regarding Claim 26, Collett et al. does not expressly recite the claimed system of claim 20, wherein the processor, when executing the executable instructions:
receives an override command from an operator of the materials handling vehicle to alter the state of the access-controlled travel path; and
transmits the override command via the transceiver.
However, Wellman et al. (5,258,911) teaches receiving an override command from an operator of the materials handling vehicle to alter the state of the access-controlled travel path, and transmitting the override command via the transceiver (Wellman et al.; “…manual operation of the manual release switch 120 by the operator will be required to override the end of aisle control program before the vehicle can resume normal operation. This override may be necessary before the vehicle can continue travel and is indicated by a flashing light 122 and an audible alarm 124 associated with the manual release switch 120”, see col.9, particularly lines 22-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Collett et al. with the teachings of Wellman et al., and wherein the processor, when executing the executable instructions: receives an override command from an operator of the materials handling vehicle to alter the state of the access-controlled travel path; and transmits the override command via the transceiver, as rendered obvious by Wellman et al., in order to “resume normal operation” (Wellman et al.; see col.9, lines 25-29).
Claims 17 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collett et al. (2019/0033882) in view of Budnovitch (2002/0163444).
Regarding Claim 17, Collett et al. does not expressly recite the claimed process of claim 1 further comprising:
transmitting, upon entry of the materials handling vehicle into the access-controlled travel path, an electronic command to toggle a visual indicator disposed proximally to the entry threshold, to cause the visual indicator to visually represent the closed state; and
transmitting, upon exit of the materials handling vehicle from the access- controlled travel path, an electronic command to toggle the visual indicator to cause the visual indicator to visually represent the open state.
However, Budnovitch (2002/0163444) teaches a logic unit that actuates a switching unit to control appropriate indicators (Budnovitch; see P[0044]) to indicate a presence of a moving vehicle such as a forklift in a warehouse (Budnovitch; see P[0053]-P[0054]), where simply using the system of Budnovitch at an “entry threshold” would provide for “toggling” the indicators based on an entry of the vehicle indicating the “closed state” and representing the “open state” when the vehicle has exited the area covered by the system of Budnovitch.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Collett et al. with the teachings of Budnovitch, and the process of claim 1 further comprising: transmitting, upon entry of the materials handling vehicle into the access-controlled travel path, an electronic command to toggle a visual indicator disposed proximally to the entry threshold, to cause the visual indicator to visually represent the closed state; and transmitting, upon exit of the materials handling vehicle from the access- controlled travel path, an electronic command to toggle the visual indicator to cause the visual indicator to visually represent the open state, as rendered obvious by Budnovitch, in order to provide for “detecting moving vehicles, such as forklifts, and for providing sufficient position-based warning to other vehicles” (Budnovitch; see P[0054]).
Regarding Claim 27, Collett et al. does not expressly recite the claimed system of claim 20, wherein the processor, when executing the executable instructions:
transmits via the transceiver, upon entry of the materials handling vehicle into the access-controlled travel path, an electronic command to toggle visual indicators that are disposed proximally to the access-controlled travel path threshold to a closed configuration; and
transmits, upon exit of the materials handling vehicle from the access-controlled travel path, an electronic command to toggle visual indicators that are disposed proximally to the access-controlled travel path threshold to an open configuration.
However, Budnovitch (2002/0163444) teaches a logic unit that actuates a switching unit to control appropriate indicators (Budnovitch; see P[0044]) to indicate a presence of a moving vehicle such as a forklift in a warehouse (Budnovitch; see P[0053]-P[0054]), where simply using the system of Budnovitch at an “entry threshold” would provide for “toggling” the indicators based on an entry of the vehicle indicating the “closed state” and representing the “open state” when the vehicle has exited the area covered by the system of Budnovitch.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Collett et al. with the teachings of Budnovitch, and wherein the processor, when executing the executable instructions: transmits via the transceiver, upon entry of the materials handling vehicle into the access-controlled travel path, an electronic command to toggle visual indicators that are disposed proximally to the access-controlled travel path threshold to a closed configuration; and transmits, upon exit of the materials handling vehicle from the access-controlled travel path, an electronic command to toggle visual indicators that are disposed proximally to the access-controlled travel path threshold to an open configuration, as rendered obvious by Budnovitch, in order to provide for “detecting moving vehicles, such as forklifts, and for providing sufficient position-based warning to other vehicles” (Budnovitch; see P[0054]).
Conclusion
/ISAAC G SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662