DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the arch pouch is placed on top of the insole, in claims 12, 15” and (an out sole and a vamp coupled to the outer sole, claim 13) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 12, 15, recites the limitation “the arch pouch is placed on top of the insole”, renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which structure encompassed by such limitation? the claim is interpreted to as “the arch pouch is placed on the insole”.
Claim 13, recites the limitation “an outer sole coupled to the vamp”, renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which structure encompassed by such limitation.
Claims 14-20 are dependent of claim 13, and are likewise indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Finkelstein (20060010717).
Regarding claim 1, Finkelstein discloses a foot comforting device (fig.2, 9-10), comprising: an insole (fig.9, 25/4, 20A, 50); and an arch pouch (20/20A, par [0060]) formed in an arch region of the insole, the arch pouch containing a plurality of foam beads having different dimensions (bladders 20A, 4 and/or 5 having a plurality of different sizes and shapes of particles 8, par [0057, 0047]), wherein when a foot of a user is placed on the sole, the plurality of foam beads conform to an arch of the foot (par [0060].
Regarding claims 3-4, 6, Finkelstein discloses the foot comforting device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of foam beads conform to an arch of a foot of another user, when the foot of the other user is placed on the insole (fig.2, and par [0057]); wherein the arch pouch is formed of Thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) material, and is shaped to the arch region of the insole (par [058]); wherein the arch pouch is sealed to the insole (fig.2, and col.1, lines 15-40).
Regarding claims 9-12, Finkelstein discloses the foot comforting device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of foam beads move within the arch pouch based on movement of the foot of the user to allow automatic customization of shape of the arch pouch with respect to the arch of the foot of the user (par [0045, 0052]); wherein the plurality of foam beads are adapted to move freely within the arch pouch based on movement of arch of the foot of the user, to enable the arch pouch to automatically adjust to the movement of the arch of the foot of the user (par [0045, 0052]); wherein the arch pouch comprises one or more rounded corners to prevent the plurality of foam beads from getting caught in sharp edges and allow the plurality of foam beads to flow naturally and form an accurate shape of the arch of the foot of the user (par [0041]); wherein the arch pouch is placed on top of the insole (see the combination of Finkelstein).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finkelstein (20060010717) in view of DiNucci (11090182).
Regarding claim 2, Finkelstein does not disclose wherein the insole is made of an injection molded closed cell Ethylene-Vinyl Acetate (EVA) foam. DiNucci teaches a similar footwear article fig.1A, foot device 100 having a shell over 102 and a soft insole layer 104; the shell layer 102 may be formed of any material known in the art including, but not limited to, plastic, ethylene vinyl acetate, and the like. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the material Ethylene-Vinyl Acetate (EVA) foam for the footwear article of Finkelstein as taught by DiNucci in order to provide an insole and support for the foot of user.
Claims 5, 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finkelstein (20060010717) in view of Levy et al. (2012/0147650—hereinafter, Levy).
Regarding claim 5, Finkelstein discloses the foot comforting device as claimed in claim 1, and the bladders 2A, 4 and/or 5 having a plurality of different sizes and shapes of particles 8, par [0057, 0047]. But Finkelstein does not disclose a diameter of each of the plurality of foam beads ranges from 2mm to 5mm and the plurality of foam beads are formed of Polyphenylene Ether (PPE) material. However, Levy teaches another similar footwear article fig.1 having an upper, a sole 14, fig.3A shows a sole component 140 having a plurality of foam particles 141, 142, and fig.3B a first foam particles 144a can have a different size or shape than the second foam particles 144b (par [0138, 0181], and [0184] states that the particles having diameter from 0.2 to 10 millimeters). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide a diameter of each of the plurality of foam beads ranges from 2mm to 5mm and the plurality of foam beads are formed of Polyphenylene Ether (PPE) material for the arch support of Finkelstein as taught by Levy in order to provide and support the arch of the sole of the footwear article.
Regarding claims 7-8, Finkelstein discloses the foot comforting device as claimed in claim 1, the bladders 2A, 4 and/or 5 having a plurality of different sizes and shapes of particles 8, par [0057, 0047]. But Finkelstein does not disclose wherein the plurality of foam beads comprise at least a first set of foam beads having a first dimension, a second set of foam beads having a second dimension and a third set of foam beads having a third dimension, wherein the third dimension is smaller than the second dimension, and the second dimension is smaller than the first dimension; wherein the third set of foam beads having the third dimension get pushed between spaces formed between the first set of foam beads and the second set of foam beads, when the foot of the user is placed on the arch pouch, to enable customization of shape of the arch pouch with respect to the arch of the foot. However, Levy teaches another similar footwear article fig.1 having an upper, an insole 14, fig.3A shows a sole component 140 having a plurality of foam particles 141, 142, and fig.3B a first foam particles 144a can have a different size or shape than the second foam particles 144b (par [0138, 0181], and [0184] states that the particles having diameter from 0.2 to 10 millimeters). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide as the claimed invention for the footwear article of Finkelstein as taught Levy in order to provide a durable and flexible arch support member to provide comfortable of the insole of the footwear article of Finkelstein.
Claim(s) 13, 15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finkelstein (20060010717) in view of Martinez (2021/0321717).
Regarding claim 13, Finkelstein disclose a footwear, comprising: an outer sole (23, 24, fig.9); a footwear comforting device (the structure of element 25, 4, 20A or 50) configured to be arranged on the outer sole such that the foot of the user is supported over the footwear comforting device, wherein the footwear comforting device comprises: an insole (element 25); and an arch pouch (20A) formed in an arch region of the insole (fig.9-10, par [0060]), the arch pouch containing a plurality of foam beads having different dimensions, wherein when the foot of the user is placed on the insole, the plurality of foam beads conform to an arch of the foot (bladders 2A, 4 and/or 5 having a plurality of different sizes and shapes of particles 8, par [0057, 0047]). But Finkelstein does not explicitly disclose a vamp coupled to the outer sole to receive a foot of a user, and adapted to the cover at least a forepart of the foot of user. However, Martinez teaches another similar footwear article fig.8 shows an insole (100) having a plurality of pad supports 106, 110 and 112. And Fig.8 shows the footwear article having an outsole 602 and an insole 100 and a metal shank 802 and an upper or vamp upper 702, par [0048]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide a vamp or an upper of Martines to couple to the footwear article of Finkelstein in order to provide a coverable upper/vamp to protect the forepart of the user foot.
Regarding claim 15, Finkelstein further discloses the footwear as claimed in claim 13, wherein the arch pouch the arch pouch is placed on top of the insole, and is formed of Thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) material (par [0058]), and is shaped to the arch region of the insole (fig.9-10).
Regarding claims 18-20, Finkelstein further discloses the footwear as claimed in claim 13, wherein the plurality of foam beads move within the arch pouch based on movement of the foot of the user to allow automatic customization of shape of the arch pouch with respect to the arch of the foot of the user (par [0045]); wherein the plurality of foam beads are adapted to move freely within the arch pouch based on movement of arch of the foot of the user, to enable the arch pouch to automatically adjust to the movement of the arch of the foot of the user (par [0045]); wherein the arch pouch comprises one or more rounded corners to prevent the plurality of foam beads from getting caught in sharp edges and allow the plurality of foam beads to flow naturally and form an accurate shape of the arch of the foot of the user (par [0041]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finkelstein (20060010717) in view of Martinez (2021/0321717) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of DiNucci (11090182).
Regarding claim 14, Finkelstein does not disclose wherein the insole is made of an injection molded closed cell Ethylene-Vinyl Acetate (EVA) foam. DiNucci teaches a similar footwear article fig.1A, foot device 100 having a shell over 102 and a soft insole layer 104; the shell layer 102 may be formed of any material known in the art including, but not limited to, plastic, ethylene vinyl acetate, and the like. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the material Ethylene-Vinyl Acetate (EVA) foam for the footwear article of Finkelstein as taught by DiNucci in order to provide an insole and support for the foot of user.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finkelstein (20060010717) in view of Martinez (2021/0321717) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Levy et al. (2012/0147650—hereinafter, Levy).
Regarding claim 16, Finkelstein discloses the foot comforting device as claimed in claim 1, and the bladders 2A, 4 and/or 5 having a plurality of different sizes and shapes of particles 8, par [0057, 0047]. But Finkelstein does not disclose a diameter of each of the plurality of foam beads ranges from 2mm to 5mm and the plurality of foam beads are formed of Polyphenylene Ether (PPE) material. However, Levy teaches another similar footwear article fig.1 having an upper, a sole 14, fig.3A shows a sole component 140 having a plurality of foam particles 141, 142, and fig.3B a first foam particles 144a can have a different size or shape than the second foam particles 144b (par [0138, 0181], and [0184] states that the particles having diameter from 0.2 to 10 millimeters). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide a diameter of each of the plurality of foam beads ranges from 2mm to 5mm and the plurality of foam beads are formed of Polyphenylene Ether (PPE) material for the arch support of Finkelstein as taught by Levy in order to provide and support the arch of the sole of the footwear article.
Regarding claim 17, Finkelstein discloses the foot comforting device as claimed in claim 1, the bladders 2A, 4 and/or 5 having a plurality of different sizes and shapes of particles 8, par [0057, 0047]. But Finkelstein does not disclose wherein the plurality of foam beads comprise at least a first set of foam beads having a first dimension, a second set of foam beads having a second dimension and a third set of foam beads having a third dimension, wherein the third dimension is smaller than the second dimension, and the second dimension is smaller than the first dimension, the third set of foam beads having the third dimension get pushed between spaces formed between the first set of foam beads and the second set of foam beads, when the foot of the user is placed on the arch pouch, to enable customization of shape of the arch pouch with respect to the arch of the foot. However, Levy teaches another similar footwear article fig.1 having an upper, an insole 14, fig.3A shows a sole component 140 having a plurality of foam particles 141, 142, and fig.3B a first foam particles 144a can have a different size or shape than the second foam particles 144b (par [0138, 0181], and [0184] states that the particles having diameter from 0.2 to 10 millimeters). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide as the claimed invention for the footwear article of Finkelstein as taught Levy in order to provide a durable and flexible arch support member to provide comfortable to the arch of user when is worn.
Conclusion
/Timothy K Trieu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732