DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been presented and pending in the application.
Allowable Subject Matter
After careful consideration and search of the present claimed invention(s), the examiner finds the claims 1-12 are allowable over the prior art of record. More specifically, the prior art of record does not teach the combinations of the claim 1 as a whole; therefore, the claims 1-12 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAINDEL et al. (US 2024/0004683 A1).
Examiner relies on the entire teachings of the RAINDEL reference for this rejection; therefore, the examiner advises the applicant to carefully consider the entire teachings of the RAINDEL to better understand the examiner’s position and interpretations applied to the claimed invention. The examiner also advises the applicant to carefully consider the entire teachings of the prior art of record, since the examiner relies on them for support of the well-known prior art teachings.
The RAINDEL reference teaches functionally/operationally equivalent teachings of the claimed invention, when the examiner applies Broadest Reasonable Interpretation, as follows:
CLAIMS 13-20
RAINDEL REF. TEACHINGS (emphasis added)
13. A method comprising: distributing, by a performance management circuit,
Fig 1 & 3 with accompanying description where the MIGRATION CONTROL 116 teaches, along with 160-180, the performance management circuit
respective indications of available bandwidth to ones of a plurality of agent circuits included in a computer system
par 39-41, “migration control 116 scans through each relevant latency tolerance…shown using decision operation 310…operation 312 determines whether sufficient time exists to perform the page migration…whether sufficient time exist…pending page migration 171 and 172 are both performed” (examiner notes that the sufficient time(s) for page migration(s) teaches the claimed available bandwidth, the devices 156/158/116 teaches the claimed agent circuits, see also figure 9)
implemented on one or more co-packaged integrated circuit dies;
Not expressly taught, but obvious from the figures 1/9 teachings where one skilled in the art can easily recognize and/or motive to implement the figure 1/9 teachings (i.e., well-known to applicant from the applicant’s own and others & to one skilled in the art as commonly well-known practices in the art)
receiving, by a latency escalation detector circuit coupled to a given agent circuit of the plurality of agent circuits, a respective indication of available bandwidth for the given agent circuit;
par 39-41, “migration control 116 scans through each relevant latency tolerance…shown using decision operation 310…operation 312 determines whether sufficient time exists to perform the page migration…whether sufficient time exist…pending page migration 171 and 172 are both performed” (examiner notes that the sufficient time(s) teaches the claimed available bandwidth, the device 156/158/116 teaches the claimed agent circuits, see also figure 9, & the ML COMPONENT 164 with MIGRATION INFORAMATION 166 teaches the claimed escalation detector)
based on determining that the respective indication of available bandwidth is insufficient for the given agent circuit,
par 42, “If there is insufficient time…Operation 314 starts timer 162…Timer 162 lapses in operation 316…”
asserting, by the latency escalation detector circuit, a trigger signal; and based on the asserting of the trigger signal,
par 37, “based on a trigger condition, reporting, by the device 156, latency tolerance 181 of device 156, with the trigger condition comprising lapse of a timer…comprises sending an interrupt signal”
capturing, by a snapshot circuit, current values from a set of registers in the given agent circuit without affecting a state of the set of registers.
Par 39, “estimates an amount of time required for the page migration, based on at least a prior page migration (e.g., in page migration information 166) …estimation had previously been performed by ML component 164… migration control 116 merely looks up the result the result during operation” (examiner note that the look up the result of the ML 164/166 teaches the claimed capturing, by a snapshot circuit”)
14. The method of claim 13, wherein determining that the respective indication of available bandwidth is insufficient includes: determining, by the latency escalation detector circuit, a current latency tolerance based on current activity the given agent circuit; and
Obvious from the teachings of par 39-41, “migration control 116 scans through each relevant latency tolerance…shown using decision operation 310…operation 312 determines whether sufficient time exists to perform the page migration…whether sufficient time exist…pending page migration 171 and 172 are both performed” (examiner notes that the sufficient time(s) teaches the claimed available bandwidth, the device 156/158/116 teaches the claimed agent circuits, see also figure 9, & the ML COMPONENT 164 with MIGRATION INFORAMATION 166 teaches the claimed escalation detector); see also par 25-32, “Determination of whether sufficient time exists…”
determining, by the latency escalation detector circuit, that the current latency tolerance for the given agent circuit is insufficient to satisfy a target latency tolerance.
par 42, “If there is insufficient time…Operation 314 starts timer 162…Timer 162 lapses in operation 316…”; see also par 25-32, “Determination of whether sufficient time exists…”
15. The method of claim 14, further comprising capturing, based on determining that the current latency tolerance is insufficient, up-to-date values for the current and target latency tolerances, and a minimum determined value of the current latency tolerance.
Obvious from the teachings of Par 39, “estimates an amount of time required for the page migration, based on at least a prior page migration (e.g., in page migration information 166) …estimation had previously been performed by ML component 164… migration control 116 merely looks up the result the result during operation” (examiner note that the look up the result of the ML 164/166 teaches the claimed capturing, by a snapshot circuit” & the ML training can easily include values or desired values such as minimum or maximum that can be used and/or beneficial to the overall operations of figure 1/9)
16. The method of claim 13, further comprising reducing, by the given agent circuit in response to the asserting of the trigger signal, activity that consumes available bandwidth.
Obvious from the teachings of par 42, “If there is insufficient time…Operation 314 starts timer 162…Timer 162 lapses in operation 316…” (examiner notes that the starting the timer delays one or more migration operations which reduces available bandwidth)
17. An apparatus, comprising: an agent circuit configured to: receive an indication of a current available bandwidth for a communication fabric, coupled to the agent circuit, that is configured to support transactions between the agent circuit and other circuit blocks; and
Teachings of the claim 13 are similarly applied
issue real-time (RT) transactions via the communication fabric in accordance with the indication, wherein RT transactions have a higher priority than other types of transactions;
Par 38, “page migration queue 170 is sorted so that the most urgent page migrations are addressed first…” (examiner notes that it is well-known in the art to give RT transactions priority over other less priority transactions)
a latency escalation detector circuit that is coupled to the agent circuit and configured to: receive the indication of the current available bandwidth; determine that the indicated current available bandwidth is insufficient for tasks assigned to the agent circuit; and based on the determination that the indicated current available bandwidth is insufficient, assert a trigger signal; and a snapshot circuit that is coupled to the agent circuit and configured to: based on the assertion of the trigger signal, capture current values from a particular set of registers in the agent circuit without affecting a state of the particular set of registers.
Teachings of the claim 13 are similarly applied
18. The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the snapshot circuit includes a buffer circuit, and wherein the snapshot circuit is further configured to: capture, prior to the trigger signal, a series of values from the particular set of registers; and store the series of values in the buffer circuit.
Obvious from the teachings of Par 39, “estimates an amount of time required for the page migration, based on at least a prior page migration (e.g., in page migration information 166) …estimation had previously been performed by ML component 164… migration control 116 merely looks up the result the result during operation” (examiner note that the look up the result of the ML 164/166 teaches the claimed capturing, by a snapshot circuit” & the ML training can easily include values or desired values such as minimum or maximum that can be used and/or beneficial to the overall operations of figure 1/9)
19. The apparatus of claim 17, further comprising a different snapshot circuit that is coupled to the agent circuit and configured to: based on the assertion of the trigger signal, capture current values from a different set of registers in the agent circuit without affecting a state of the different set of registers, wherein the particular set and different set are mutually exclusive.
Obvious from the teachings of Par 39, “estimates an amount of time required for the page migration, based on at least a prior page migration (e.g., in page migration information 166) …estimation had previously been performed by ML component 164… migration control 116 merely looks up the result the result during operation” (examiner note that the look up the result of the ML 164/166 teaches the claimed capturing, by a snapshot circuit” & the ML training can easily include values or desired values such as minimum or maximum that can be used and/or beneficial to the overall operations of figure 1/9)
20. The apparatus of claim 19, wherein a number of captured values in the particular set is different than a number of captured values in the different set.
Obvious from the teachings of Par 39, “estimates an amount of time required for the page migration, based on at least a prior page migration (e.g., in page migration information 166) …estimation had previously been performed by ML component 164… migration control 116 merely looks up the result the result during operation” (examiner note that the look up the result of the ML 164/166 teaches the claimed capturing, by a snapshot circuit” & the ML training can easily include values or desired values such as minimum or maximum that can be used and/or beneficial to the overall operations of figure 1/9)
Examiner notes that the RAINDEL reference does not expressly disclose or identically label the claimed limitation “available bandwidth”; however, the RAINDEL reference does teach the functionally equivalent limitations or operations of “sufficient time exists to perform the page migration” that provides the substantially identical functional limitations of the claimed “available bandwidth”, as discussed above in detail. In addition, the claimed invention does not actually utilize the “capture current value”, other than simply store/capture; as a result, the examiner applies Broadest Reasonable Interpretation to the “capture current value” (i.e., no specific functional & operational limitation of the claimed “capture current value” is recited by the claimed invention). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to come up with the claimed invention from the functionally equivalent teachings of the RAINDEL reference for the detailed teachings and reasons discussed above.
/CHRISTOPHER B SHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181