DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Olsen et al. (US 2023/0373198 A1).
Re: Claim 1, Olsen discloses the claimed invention including a flexible tube container (70) comprising a tube head (74) and a skirt (72), the skirt being formed from an extruded multilayered tube (Para. 95, extruded), the extruded multilayered tube comprising an inner layer (110) made of polyethylene (Para. 36, polyethylene), an outer layer (101) made of polyethylene (Para. 36, polyethylene) and at least two barrier layers (104, 108), the at least two barrier layers being spaced of at least 40 μm (Para. 63, at least 40 to 127 μm).
Re: Claim 2, Olsen discloses the claimed invention including the extruded multilayered tube is exempt from a longitudinal weld or joint or seam (Fig. 3, Para. 100, seamless).
Re: Claim 3, Olsen discloses the claimed invention including the at least two barrier layers are spaced by at least one separating layer (105) comprising polyethylene (Fig. 6, Para. 65, polyethylene).
Re: Claim 5, Olsen discloses the claimed invention including the at least one separating layer comprises tie-layer resin (Fig. 6, Para. 65, polyethylene).
Re: Claim 6, Olsen discloses the claimed invention including the tie-layer resin is an anhydride modified ethylene acrylate resin (Fig. 6, Para. 65, anhydride modified ethylene acrylate resin).
Re: Claim 7, Olsen discloses the claimed invention including the at least one separating layer comprises a mixture of polyethylene and tie-layer resin (Para. 65, mixture).
Re: Claim 8, Olsen discloses the claimed invention including the at least one separating layer comprises between 60% and 95% of polyethylene (Para. 64, may be 60-95 percent).
Re: Claim 9, Olsen discloses the claimed invention including the at least one separating layer comprises between 5% and 40% of tie-layer resin (Para. 64, may be 10-40 percent).
Re: Claim 10, Olsen discloses the claimed invention including the at least two barrier layers are made of EVOH with an ethylene content less than 32 mol % (Para. 69, 32 percent).
Re: Claim 11, Olsen discloses the claimed invention including the total thickness of the extruded multilayered tube is comprised between 250 and 500 μm (Para. 23, 250 μm).
Re: Claim 12, Olsen discloses the claimed invention including the thickness of the separating layer is comprised between 40 and 130 μm (Para. 63, 1-5 Mil or 25 to 127 μm).
Re: Claim 13, Olsen discloses the claimed invention including the extruded multilayered tube comprises tie layer (103) between the outer layer and one of the at least two barrier layers and/or between the inner layer and one of the at least two barrier layers (Depicted in Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsen et al. (US 2023/0373198 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Bellmore (US 2024/0308740 A1).
Re: Claim 4, Olsen discloses the claimed invention including the polyethylene of the separating layer except for using HDPE. However, Bellmore teaches a separating layer (120) made of HDPE (Para. 32, hdpe).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include an HDPE separating layer as taught by Bellmore, since such a modification is known in the art to provide a material with durability, chemical resistance, and ease of manufacturing, and further it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References cited on the PTO-892 provide additional examples of multilayer containers.
/CHARLES P. CHEYNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754