Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US 2022/0235913 in view of Bohn US 2017/0068039.
1. Lee discloses a light pipe (Fig 7 & 8) apparatus, comprising: at least two clear diffusion sheets (first sheet: 31, 41: resin layer may have one or both of a diffusing agent and a phosphor, paragraph 0039; at least second sheet 45, may have impurities, also may have phosphor and/or ink particles may be added to at least one of the first and second light transmitting layers 41 and 45, see paragraph 0059) aligned adjacent each other (see Fig 7 and 8), wherein each clear diffusion sheet comprises an edge and a façade (see edge and front faces of sheets in Fig 7 and 8); at least two light sources (21 22, Fig 7 and 8), where each light source is configured to illuminate a respective one of the at least two clear diffusion sheets (light emitted from the light sources illuminates the sheets) via the edge such that light is emitted from the façade; a mask 51 disposed adjacent a first sheet of the at least two clear diffusion sheets (see paragraph 0051, “The light blocking layer 51 may be implemented using a masking film"), wherein the mask comprises a slot 53 aligned with a façade of the first sheet such that lighted emitted from the façade passes through the slot (see Fig 7 and 8; light is emitted through slot(s) 53 toward light pipe 70); and a light pipe (lens plate 70 is interpreted as a light pipe) aligned with the slot such that light passing through the slot illuminates at least a portion of the light pipe (Fig 7, 8).
Lee fails to teach each light source is configured to illuminate a respective one of the at least two clear diffusion sheets via the edge such that light is emitted from the façade. Bohn teaches each light source is configured to illuminate a respective one of the at least two clear diffusion sheets via the edge such that light is emitted from the façade (see Fig. 4; Bohn shows edge-light diffusion plates 408 410 by light sources 412, 420 arranged by the edge of the respective diffuser plates; see paragraph 0037-0040). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to look to the teachings of Bohn and reconfigure the device such that each diffusion sheet is edge-light by a light source rather than backlight, which is well-known in the art. One would have been motivated to make this modification for applications where providing the device with a more compact, slim profile is desired.
2. Lee discloses the light pipe (Fig 7 & 8) apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the at least two light sources comprise an array of light emitting devices (light sources may be pluralities of LEDs, paragraph 0047).
3. Lee discloses the light pipe (Fig 7 & 8) apparatus of claim 2, see claim 1 for modifying in view of Bohn for edge-lighting the diffusion plates with light sources (see Fig. 4; Bohn shows edge-light diffusion plates 408 410 by light sources 412, 420 arranged by the edge of the respective diffuser plates; see paragraph 0037-0040). Bohn further teaches wherein each array of light emitting devices is aligned with the edge of a corresponding clear diffusion sheet to provide edge lighting of the corresponding clear diffusion sheet (see Figures 3 and 4 which both show arrays of LEDs corresponding to edges of the diffusing sheets).
4. Lee discloses the light pipe (Fig 7 & 8) apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least two clear diffusion sheets are disposed different distances from the mask (see Fig 7 and 8 of Lee, first sheet: 31, 41 and second sheet 45 are at different distances from mask 45) such that a width of light projected through the slot depends on a distance between the mask and a respective clear diffusion sheet (width of light emitted from first and second sheet respectively would depend on distance, asse Fig 7 and 8).
6. Lee discloses the light pipe (Fig 7 & 8) apparatus of claim 1, wherein the slot 53 comprises a longitudinal shape configured to substantially align with the light pipe 70 (see longitudinal shape of slot 53 which aligns with 70, Fig 7-8, Lee).
7. Lee discloses the light pipe (Fig 7 & 8) apparatus of claim 6, wherein the longitudinal shape of the slot 53 comprises an opening through the mask that substantially spans a length (see length D1, Fig 1, 7, 8, paragraph 0052), and teaches that the length of D1 can be adjusted/increased, but is silent to teaching the opening through the mask that substantially spans a length of the at least two clear diffusion sheets and the light pipe. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to change the length of the opening in the mask to spanning a length of the diffusion sheets and light pipe for applications where reducing the stereoscopic effect is desired (paragraph 0052) or to reduce the masking of light emitted therethrough, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
8. Lee discloses a method of projecting light from a light pipe (Fig 7 & 8, paragraph 0003, 0039) apparatus, the method comprising: emitting light from at least two light sources (21 22, Fig 7 and 8), where each light source is configured to illuminate a respective one of at least two clear diffusion sheets (light emitted from the light sources illuminates the sheets; (first sheet: 31, 41 and second sheet 45); filtering light emitted from the at least two clear diffusion sheets via a mask 51 disposed adjacent a first sheet of the at least two clear diffusion sheets (see Fig 7 and 8), wherein the mask comprises a slot 53 aligned with a façade of the first sheet (aligned with front of sheet 45, see Fig 7-8) such that lighted emitted from the façade passes through the slot (see Fig 7-8); and projecting light from a light pipe 70 aligned with the slot such that light passing through the slot illuminates at least a portion of the light pipe (light passing through 53 illuminates 70, see Fig 7-8).
Lee fails to teach each light source is configured to illuminate a respective one of the at least two clear diffusion sheets via the edge such that light is emitted from a façade of each clear diffusion sheet. Bohn teaches each light source is configured to illuminate a respective one of the at least two clear diffusion sheets via the edge such that light is emitted from a façade of each clear diffusion sheet (see Fig. 4; Bohn shows edge-light diffusion plates 408 410 by light sources 412, 420 arranged by the edge of the respective diffuser plates; see paragraph 0037-0040). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to look to the teachings of Bohn and reconfigure the device such that each diffusion sheet is edge-light by a light source rather than backlight, which is well-known in the art as an alternate illuminating means. One would have been motivated to make this modification for applications where providing the device with a more compact, slim profile is desired.
9. Lee discloses the method of claim 8, wherein emitting light from each of the at least two light sources comprise emitting light from an array of light emitting devices (light sources may be pluralities of LEDs, paragraph 0047).
12. The method of claim 8, wherein filtering light via the mask comprises filtering light in a longitudinal shape via the slot (slot 53, Fig 7-8) such that the filtered light substantially aligns with the light pipe (light filtered through 53 aligns with light pipe 70, see Fig 7-8).
13. The method of claim 8, wherein projecting light from the light pipe comprises projecting light having a longitudinal shape that substantially spans a length of the light pipe (light having a longitudinal shape is capable of emitting from 70, see Fig 7-8).
14. The method of claim 8, comprising illuminating a full width of the light pipe by activating one of the light sources associated with the clear diffusion sheet nearest the mask (length mask D1 can be adjusted/increased, see Fig 1, 7, 8, paragraph 0052). Regarding illuminating a full width of the light pipe by activating one of the light sources associated with the clear diffusion sheet nearest the mask, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to change the length of the opening in the mask to spanning a length of the diffusion sheets and light pipe thereby illuminating a full width when illuminated by the nearest diffusion sheet, for applications where reducing the stereoscopic effect is desired (paragraph 0052) or to reduce the masking of light emitted therethrough, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 5, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Bohn, as applied to claims 4 and 8 above, and further in view of Fattal US 2022/0035088.
5. Lee discloses the light pipe (Fig 7 & 8) apparatus of claim 4; see claim 1 for modifying in view of Bohn for edge-lighting the diffusion plates with light sources (see Fig. 4; Bohn shows edge-light diffusion plates 408 410 by light sources 412, 420 arranged by the edge of the respective diffuser plates; see paragraph 0037-0040). Lee fails to specifically teach individually emitting light from each of the at least two light sources. Fattal teaches individual activation at least two light sources (see paragraph 0058). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to provide the controller and related components of Fattal to allow individual control of the light sources in Lee to allow more versatility and control of light emitted in the device of Lee. The combination with Lee enables alteration of the width of light projected through the slot thereby altering the portion of the light pipe that is illuminated (individual illumination of the different layers would achieve this because of the respective differences in light emitted from the closest diffusion plate 45 compared to the diffusion plate further away from mask 51, see Fig 7-8 Lee).
10. Lee discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the at least two clear diffusion sheets are disposed different distances from the mask (see Fig 7 and 8 of Lee, first sheet: 31, 41 and second sheet 45 are at different distances from mask 45) such that an angle of light passing through the slot depends on a distance between the mask and a respective diffusion sheet (see Fig 7 and 8, angle of light emitted from first and second sheet respectively would depend on distance).
Lee fails to specifically teach individually emitting light from each of the at least two light sources. Fattal teaches individual activation at least two light sources (see paragraph 0058). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to provide the controller and related components of Fattal to allow individual control of the light sources in Lee to allow more versatility and control of light emitted in the device of Lee.
11. The method of claim 8, wherein the at least two clear diffusion sheets are disposed different distances from the mask (see Fig 7 and 8 of Lee, first sheet: 31, 41 and second sheet 45 are at different distances from mask 45). See above for combining with Bohn for illuminating respective one of the at least two clear diffusion sheets via the edge (see Fig. 4; Bohn shows edge-light diffusion plates 408 410 by light sources 412, 420 arranged by the edge of the respective diffuser plates; see paragraph 0037-0040). The combination fails to further teach altering a width of the portion of the light pipe being illuminated by edge lighting of each of the at least two clear diffusion sheets individually. Fattal teaches individual activation at least two light sources (see paragraph 0058). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to provide the controller and related components of Fattal to allow individual control of the light sources in Lee to allow more versatility and control of light emitted in the device of Lee. The combination with Lee enables altering a width of the portion of the light pipe being illuminated by edge lighting of each of the at least two clear diffusion sheets, by selective activation of individual light sources.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. George US 20170343166 discloses a light pipe with a proximal end, an opposing distal end, a length between the proximal end and the distal end, and a surface, the surface having an emitting portion and an overlay portion, where the light pipe is a material capable of transmitting light.
Chua US 7513669 discloses a light pipe and plurality of LED dies arranged in an array, each LED emitting light having an excitation wavelength, the light source emitting light within a cone of angles. The light pipe is positioned to receive the light within the cone of angles through an edge surface such that the light within the predetermined cone of angles is totally reflected from the top surface. The light pipe has features that redirect some of the light at angles such that some of the redirected light exits through the top surface.
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875