Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species B in the reply filed on 3/10/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 6 recites limitations not represented in the species/figures elected by applicant. Therefore, claim 6 is also withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 8-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12213474. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claims recite the same novel arrangement of the bait holder/sensing module/detector/bait station structure/functions, etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 is indefinite for simultaneously reciting “independent of any triggering” and “pre-determined intervals” where a pre-determined interval is a type of trigger.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1&2) as being anticipated by Zirkle US 20170360026.
Regarding claim 1, Zirkle discloses a bait station for pest control, the bait station comprising:
an enclosure defining an access chamber and a bait chamber (105 of figure 1 to the same degree as applicant’s elected species), wherein the access chamber includes at least one entry port configured to permit entry of a pest into the enclosure (125), and wherein the bait chamber is configured to hold therein bait material (130); and
a load sensing module (140), wherein:
(i) the load sensing module is configured to sense changes in weight of bait material positioned in said bait chamber (paragraph 0023), and
(ii) the load sensing module is configured to output an output signal indicative of the sensed changes in the weight of the bait material (paragraphs 0026-0031), and
(iii) the load sensing module or the bait station is configured to transmit said output signal to a remote location (paragraph 0032); and
wherein: (a) the load sensing module is arranged in the bait chamber (figure 1), or (b) the load sensing module is located outside an internal space of the bait chamber or the access chamber to prevent damage to electrical componentry by pests.
Regarding claim 4, Zirkle discloses the bait station in accordance with claim 1, wherein the load sensing module comprises one or more load cells arranged relative to a platform portion of the bait chamber, wherein each load cell is coupled with one or more bait holding members configured to sense changes in weight of the bait material (paragraph 0027 describes contact points being the cells and the platform being the platform and the holding member may be the top surface areas associated with the contact points of the platform).
Regarding claim 19, Zirkle discloses the bait station in accordance with claim 1, wherein the load sensing module is configured to undertake weight measurements at pre-determined intervals independently of any triggering (paragraph 0028 describes “when the sensor 140 is a digital weight scale, a continuously variable analog signal may be transmitted from the sensor 140 to the wireless communication module 150. The analog signal provided by a digital weight scale may be accurate and allow for greater resolution as to the status of bait 130 consumption within the bait station 100. The analog signal generated by a digital weight scale may ultimately be displayed in its native form, namely the weight of the remaining bait, or it may be configured to output a representation of a percentage of remaining bait 130 through a conversion algorithm.”).
Regarding claim 20, Zirkle discloses the bait station in accordance with claim 1, wherein the load sensing module comprises a plurality of load cells, and wherein the load cells are configured to undertake weight measurements at a pre-determined sampling rate (paragraph 0027 describes a number of contact points which would be the plurality of load cells, and rest of paragraph 0027 describes the measurements collected by the contact points which correlate to the weight of the bait at times/rates which would be a pre-determined rate, etc.).
Regarding claim 21, Zirkle discloses the bait station in accordance with claim 1, wherein the bait station comprises a trans-receiver unit which is configured to transmit, to a remotely located server or to a remotely located computing device, the output signal indicative of the sensed changes in the weight of the bait material (150 of figure 1 and paragraph 0032).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zirkle in view of Power US 20190124913.
Regarding claim 2, Zirkle teaches the bait station in accordance with claim 1, but does not specify further comprising a detector module associated with the access chamber, wherein (i) the detector module is configured to detect presence of a pest in the access chamber, and (ii) the detector module is configured to output a signal indicative of presence or otherwise of a pest.
Power; however, does teach such type of sensor (paragraph 0005 “A sensor is in communication with the counting mechanism. The counting mechanism can be mechanically actuated or electronically activated when the sensor detects an event including, but not limited to, the presence of a rodent entering through the opening of the bait chamber.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such a sensor, in order to enable power saving options for when no rodent is present for example.
Regarding claim 3, the references teach the bait station in accordance with claim 2, wherein the detector module is operatively coupled with the load sensing module and is configured to activate the load sensing module to sense changes in the weight of the bait material in response to detecting presence of the pest in the access chamber (see claim 2 rejection where the “counting mechanism” may be exchanged for the “load sensing module” since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zirkle.
Regarding claim 18, Zirkle teaches the bait station in accordance with claim 1, but does not specify wherein the load sensing module is located outside an internal space of the bait chamber or the access chamber to prevent damage to electrical componentry by pests.
Zirkle; however, does teach separate compartments for the same reason (110 of figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide various orientations of partition walls, in order to prolong the lifespan of the device; since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose or make obvious the combination of limitations recited in claims 1 and 8; particularly the specific arrangement of the horizontal elongate bait holding member, the upper and lower portions of the supporting clip, and the load sensing module, etc.
Claims 22-25 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: similar to those described above in claims 1 and 8, etc.
Conclusion
/JESSICA B WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644