Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1 and 19, “a forward section of the forward portion” is vague and indefinite since “the forward portion” has no antecedent basis in the claims and it is not clear to what element it is the forward portion.
In claims 1, 19, and 20, “LED” is vague and indefinite. An acronym should be written out in full at least once within each independent claim in order to ensure what the phrase is claiming.
In claims 1, 19, and 20, it is vague and indefinite to claim a first directional sensor aimed in a first direction and a second omnidirectional sensor aimed in a second direction. Since an omnidirectional sensor has by definition no primary direction in which to be aimed, it is not clear how it is aimed in a second direction or how this direction would be defined, or how this second direction relates to the first direction.
In claims 1 and 20, the phrase “within a recess from a front edge of the frame portion” is vague and indefinite. It is not clear what structural limitations are intended or included by “a recess from a front edge”.
Claims 1-5 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker et al (2023/0176388) in view of Ehrlich et al (2024/0167787).
Parker et al disclose an optical reflex aiming device 800 for a firearm comprising most claimed elements including a housing 104, 108; an optical element 127, 112 in the housing; an illumination device 804 to project light onto the optical element to display a reticle, the reticle having a first light intensity; a light sensor arrangement comprising a first sensor 820 and a second sensor 824, each sensor providing a respective signal; where the first sensor monitors light reflected from the target and the second sensor monitors the ambient light proximate the sight (paragraph 89); a power supply 812 (e.g. battery); a processor 808 configured to adjust the light intensity of the reticle as a function of the two sensor signals (paragraph 89), depending on the light thresholds of the detected light; and a motion sensor 816 to suspend (i.e. turn off) light adjustment. Parker et al fail to show the illumination device comprises a plurality of LEDs. Ehrlich et al teach that it is well known in sight illumination devices to have any one of a large number of light elements, including a plurality of LEDs. See paragraph 67. Motivation to combine is the mere substitution of particular lighting elements to perform the same function. To employ the teachings of Ehrlich et al on the aiming device of Parker et al and have a plurality of LEDs is considered to have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application’s filing.
Claims 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker et al (2023/0176388) in view of Ehrlich et al (2024/0167787) as applied to claims 1-5 and 14-20 above, and further in view of Beckman (2002/0196366).
Parker et al fail to specify that the first sensor is a directional sensor pointed at the target and the second sensor is an omnidirectional sensor; a network adapter to transmit date from the aiming device to a remote device; or the particular parameters of the sensor viewing angles. Beckman teaches that it is well known to use both a directional and an omnidirectional sensor in a rifle scope. Motivation to combine is the substitution of particular types of sensors to provide the same function of measuring light data at a particular angle, i.e. towards the target, and in an omnidirectional manner near the sight. Beckman also teach the transmission of data (paragraphs 60, 68) from the aiming device to a remote device (i.e. bullet 801). Motivation to combine is the improved performance available by being able to use sighting data to increase control over the fired bullet. To employ the teachings of Beckman on the sight device of Parker et al and have a direction and an omnidirectional light sensor, and a networked communication system is considered to have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Application’s filing. Also, the mere employment of particular sensing angles is considered to have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since choice of measurement directions are inherently required and it would be well within obvious engineering practice to select angles to provide desired performance, and the particular claimed parameters show no unexpected results.
Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,264,894 in view of Ehrlich et al (2024/0167787).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim substantially the same optical aiming device, except, first, the patented claims include additional elements. However, the mere elimination of an element and its function is considered to be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. Secondly, the current claims specify a plurality of LEDs for illumination. However, Ehrlich et al teach that it is well known in sight illumination devices to have any one of a large number of light elements, including a plurality of LEDs. See paragraph 67. Motivation to combine is the mere substitution of particular lighting elements to perform the same function. To employ the teachings of Ehrlich et al on the patent claims and have a plurality of LEDs is considered to have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application’s filing.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J. Woodrow Eldred/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641
JWE