DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The IDS received on 04/30/2026 has been considered.
The previous claim interpretation remains.
In light of the amendments, claim 23 has been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
In light of the amendments, claims 10-11 and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
In light of the amendments, claim 23 does not have a 101 rejection.
In light of the amendments, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Notice to Applicant
In the amendment dated 04/30/2026, the following has occurred: claims 10 and 22 have been amended; claims 1-9 and 12-13 have been canceled; claims 11 and 14-21 remain unchanged; and claim 23 has been added.
Claims 10-11 and 14-23 are pending.
Effective Filing Date: 04/16/2021
Response to Arguments
Claim Interpretation:
No arguments.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejection:
Examiner withdraws the 112(b) rejection in view of the amendments to the claims.
35 U.S.C. 101 Rejections:
Applicant respectfully disagrees that the claims are directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.. Applicant points to Step 2A and states that the claims are not directed towards an abstract idea. Applicant elaborates by stating that the abstract idea of the present claims does not fall into the certain methods of organizing human activity section as defined in the MPEP. Examiner however respectfully agrees and disagrees. The abstract groupings themselves may not be expanded upon, this is true. The examples provided by the MPEP are not limiting however. The present claims recite steps which reflect human activity as they explain how one can organize leukapheresis, with additional elements of computing components.
Additionally, Applicant argues that the claims recite additional elements which integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Applicant further states that there are two aspects which make manufacturing a therapeutic product difficult in practice. First, the scheduling aspect of this is difficult and time sensitive. Second, the specialized laboratories are needed to generate these cells and time and flexibility are needed. Examiner however respectfully disagrees with Applicant. The steps which Applicant is referring to as being time sensitive are considered part of the abstract idea. The improvement in the timing of the process is an improvement to the abstract idea itself. The additional elements themselves are computing components which do nothing more than take the abstract idea and apply it using computing components.
Lastly, Applicant argues with respect to Step 2B and states that the present claims are similar to claim 1 of Example 3 and claim 2 of Example 4. Examiner however respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 of Example 3 recites significantly more as the ordered combination of limitations reflects an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself (the improved blue noise mask allows the computer to use less memory). Claim 2 of Example 4 recites claim limitations which are more than just mathematical operations themselves. The present claims however do not have anything analogous to these Examples above.
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections:
Applicant argues with respect to a newly-added limitation (involving sending an alert based on appointment availability) of the independent claim. This limitation has been addressed with additional art.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/30/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “a scheduling module” in claims 10 and 14-22.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Paragraphs [0056] and [0062] of the specification outline that the modules are software.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 23 recites a server initiation of steps performed by a system including “performing a leukapheresis procedure…”, “transferring the collected T cells…”, “labeling the container…”, “transmitting the collected…”, “creating transfected T cells…”, “receiving the transfected T cells…”, and “infusing the transfected T cells…” The specification lacks written description for how the server initiates these steps. Is the server performing these steps? If so, there is a lack of support?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 10-11 and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 10-11 and 14-22 are drawn to a system which is within the four statutory categories. Claims 10-11 and 14-22 are further directed to an abstract idea on the grounds set out in detail below. As discussed below, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional computer elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide conventional computer functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A:
Prong One:
Claim 10 recites a system for scheduling a patient-specific immunotherapy procedure, the system comprising:
a) a scheduling module that 1) provides a calendar with available dates and times for scheduling a leukapheresis appointment;
b) a server computing device in communication with the scheduling module;
c) a database in communication with the server computing device;
d) a network in communication with the scheduling module; and
e) a plurality of client computing devices in communication with the scheduling module via the network,
wherein the calendar is stored in the database,
wherein one of the client computing devices 2) sends a request to the scheduling module to schedule an available leukapheresis appointment date and time for the patient,
wherein the scheduling module 3) receives the request to schedule the leukapheresis appointment for the patient and updates the calendar in real time that can be accessed by each of the plurality of client computing devices,
4) wherein upon receiving the request on the scheduling module to schedule the leukapheresis appointment, 4a) the scheduling module communicates the request to the server computing device, the server computing device 4b) accesses the calendar stored in the database, and the server computing device 4c) generates a list of available dates and times available for the leukapheresis appointment,
5) wherein the list of available dates and times available for the leukapheresis appointment is communicated to the scheduling module for display on a client computing device,
6) wherein the scheduling module sends an alert to the client computing devices in real-time if the leukapheresis appointment becomes unavailable or if an alternative leukapheresis appointment becomes available
7) wherein the scheduling module automatically generates an apheresis kit drop-off time before the scheduled leukapheresis appointment, and updates the calendar in real time to include the drop off time for the apheresis kit,
8) wherein the server computing device generates a patient-specific identifier associated with the leukapheresis appointment, the patient-specific identifier comprising a patient identity element, a sales order identifier, and a cell order lot number, and
9) wherein the server computing device automatically generates a final product date based on the scheduled leukapheresis appointment date and time, the final product date estimates when a final product of engineered cells from the patient will be available for infusion into the patient, and the scheduling module updates the calendar with the final product date.
Claim 10 recites, in part, performing the steps of 1) provides a calendar with available dates and times for scheduling a leukapheresis appointment, 2) sends a request to schedule an available leukapheresis appointment date and time for the patient, 3) receives the request to schedule the leukapheresis appointment for the patient and updates the calendar in real time that can be accessed by each of the plurality of clients, 4) wherein upon receiving the request to schedule the leukapheresis appointment, 4a) communicates the request, 4b) accesses the calendar stored in the database (if pen and paper or human memory), 4c) generates a list of available dates and times available for the leukapheresis appointment, and 5) wherein the list of available dates and times available for the leukapheresis appointment is communicated for display, 6) wherein something sends an alert in real-time if the leukapheresis appointment becomes unavailable or if an alternative leukapheresis appointment becomes available, 7) wherein something automatically generates an apheresis kit drop-off time before the scheduled leukapheresis appointment, and updates the calendar in real time to include the drop off time for the apheresis kit, 8) wherein something generates a patient-specific identifier associated with the leukapheresis appointment, the patient-specific identifier comprising a patient identity element, a sales order identifier, and a cell order lot number, and 9) wherein something automatically generates a final product date based on the scheduled leukapheresis appointment date and time, the final product date estimates when a final product of engineered cells from the patient will be available for infusion into the patient, and the scheduling module updates the calendar with the final product date. These steps correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, more particularly, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including following rules or instructions). For example, the claim describes how one can organize and schedule a procedure for a patient.
Depending claims 11 and 14-22 include all of the limitations of claim 10, and therefore likewise incorporate the above described abstract idea. Depending claim 11 recites the additional step of “sends manufacturing process updates for the final product of engineered cells from the patient to the server computing device via the network”; claim 14 adds the additional step of “automatically sends an alert to a remote facility with the scheduled drop-off time and a desired location for the apheresis kit, wherein the remote facility will deliver the apheresis kit at the scheduled drop-off time to the desired location”; claim 15 adds the additional step of “sends a request to the scheduling module via the network to schedule a courier pick-up time for cells collected from the patient during the scheduled leukapheresis appointment”; claim 16 adds the additional step of “updates the calendar in real time to display available date and time slots for leukapheresis appointments and booked date and time slots for leukapheresis appointments”; claim 17 adds the additional step of “requests the scheduling module to reschedule the leukapheresis appointment for another available date and time displayed on the calendar”; claim 18 adds the additional step of “updates the calendar with the rescheduled leukapheresis appointment in real time”; claim 19 adds the additional step of “requests the scheduling module to cancel the scheduled leukapheresis appointment”; claim 20 adds the additional step of “updates the calendar with the canceled leukapheresis appointment in real time”; claim 21 adds the additional step of “sends to the scheduling module via the network a number of available leukapheresis appointments for each day on the calendar”; and claim 22 adds the additional steps of “estimates the final product date by considering when the apheresis kit drop-off time is scheduled for, when the leukapheresis appointment is scheduled for, and whether a manufacturing facility has availability to process a sample comprising white blood cells collected from leukapheresis appointment” and “wherein the final product date is communicated to the scheduling module for display on at least one of the plurality of client computing devices”. These additional limitations only further serve to limit the abstract idea. Thus, depending claims 11 and 14-22 are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent claim 10 (Step 2A (Prong One): YES).
Prong Two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of – using a) a scheduling module, b) a server computing device in communication with the scheduling module, c) a database in communication with the server computing device, d) a network in communication with the scheduling module, and e) a plurality of client computing devices in communication with the scheduling module via the network to perform the claimed steps.
The a) scheduling module, b) server computing device, c) database, d) network, and e) plurality of client computing devices in communication with the scheduling module via the network in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic components performing generic computer functions) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (see: Applicant’s specification, paragraph [0093] where the computing components are not limited to special purpose components, see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A (Prong Two): NO).
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using a) a scheduling module, b) a server computing device, c) a database, d) a network, and e) a plurality of client computing devices to perform the claimed steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components that do not offer “significantly more” than the abstract idea itself because the claims do not recite an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of any computer itself, or provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. It should be noted that the claims do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the Specification recites mere generic computer components, as discussed above that are being used to apply certain mental steps, certain method steps of organizing human activity, or certain mathematical steps. Specifically, MPEP 2106.05(f) recites that the following limitations are not significantly more:
Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2360, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
The current invention generates an appointment date utilizing a) a scheduling module, b) a server computing device, c) a database, d) a network, and e) a plurality of client computing devices, thus these computing components are adding the words “apply it” with mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible (Step 2B: NO).
Claims 10-11 and 14-22 are therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11, 16, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2020/026880 to Susarchick et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,803,425 to Wason and further in view of U.S. 2019/0311305 to LEE.
As per claim 10, Susarchick et al. teaches a system for scheduling a patient-specific immunotherapy procedure, (see: paragraph [0006] where there is a system of scheduling immunotherapy) the system comprising:
--a scheduling module that provides a calendar with available dates and times for scheduling a leukapheresis appointment; (see: 114 of FIG. 1B and paragraph [0065] where there is a scheduling module which provides a calendar and times for scheduling appointments as displayed in FIG. 4D)
--a server computing device in communication with the scheduling module; (see: paragraphs [0055] and [0062] where there is a server in communication with scheduling module)
--a database in communication with the server computing device; (see: paragraph [0055] where there is a database in communication with the server)
--a network in communication with the scheduling module; (see: FIG. 1B where there is a network connected to the scheduling module) and
--a plurality of client computing devices in communication with the scheduling module via the network, (see: 102 of FIG. 1B where there are a plurality of client computing devices in communication with 114)
--wherein the calendar is stored in the database, (see: paragraph [0065] where calendaring information is being provided and stored in the server database)
--wherein one of the client computing devices sends a request to the scheduling module to schedule an available leukapheresis appointment date and time for the patient, (see: paragraph [0062] where the client devices 102 are communicating with the server 106. Also see: FIGS. 4C and 4D and paragraph [0065] where 114 may be part of 106 and there is a schedule helper which is used to schedule an apheresis appointment. The date and time are being selected here from available days and times using a portal from a client device as described in paragraph [0056]. The client computing devices here are sending a request via portal to the server with the scheduling module 114 to schedule an appointment)
--wherein the scheduling module receives the request to schedule the leukapheresis appointment for the patient, (see: FIGS. 4C and 4D and paragraph [0065] where there is a schedule helper which is used to schedule an apheresis appointment. The date and time are being selected here from available days and times. The scheduling module here is in contact with a server database. Also see: paragraph [0044] where there is acceptance of an available timeslot. There is reception here of a request for an appointment timeslot) and
--wherein the scheduling module automatically generates an apheresis kit drop-off time before the scheduled leukapheresis appointment, (see: paragraph [0145] and FIG. 4D where there is an automatically scheduled drop-off time for a kit) and updates the calendar in real time to include the drop off time for the apheresis kit, (see: FIG. 4D where there is a displaying of the updated kit delivery time)
--wherein the server computing device generates a patient-specific identifier associated with the leukapheresis appointment, the patient-specific identifier comprising a patient identity element, a sales order identifier, and a cell order lot number; (see: paragraph [0007] where there is a computing device which generates an identifier associated with the cell order request (leukapheresis appointment), the identifier here includes an identity element, a sales order identifier, and a cell order lot number) and
--wherein the server computing device automatically generates a final product date based on the scheduled leukapheresis appointment date and time, the final product date estimates when a final product of engineered cells from the patient will be available for infusion into the patient, (see: FIG. 1B and paragraph [0065] where there is an estimation of the delivery date for the biological sample. The date here is being generated automatically based on the appointment date and time) and the scheduling module updates the calendar with the final product date (see: FIG. 5B and paragraph [0153] where there is display of the final delivery date/time where the tracking module is updating statuses. Thus, the calendar here is being updated with the final product data and time).
Susarchick et al. further states that only available dates/times are being displayed in FIG. 4D, thus the calendar would be updated for any further patient who would like to schedule an appointment as they would only be able to view available times. Susarchick et al. may also teach the limitation:
1) --wherein the scheduling module updates the calendar in real time that can be accessed by each of the plurality of client computing devices.
However, Examiner has provided an additional reference with an explicit recitation below if Susarchick et al. is determined to not teach the above-recited “updating” limitation.
Susarchick et al. may also not further, specifically teach:
2) --wherein upon receiving the request on the scheduling module to schedule the leukapheresis appointment, the scheduling module communicates the request to the server computing device, the server computing device accesses the calendar stored in the database, and the server computing device generates a list of available dates and times available for the leukapheresis appointment,
3) --wherein the list of available dates and times available for the leukapheresis appointment is communicated to the scheduling module for display on a client computing device; and
4) --wherein the scheduling module sends an alert to the client computing devices in real-time if the leukapheresis appointment becomes unavailable or if an alternative leukapheresis appointment becomes available.
Wason teaches:
1) --wherein the scheduling module updates the calendar in real time that can be accessed by each of the plurality of client computing devices, (see: FIG. 19 and column 7, lines 40-44 where there is an updating of the calendar in real time, so when a patient is trying to request a time slot that is now no longer available the user is informed of this change. Another device, which may be the one being displayed in FIG. 19 is able to see the calendar information that the device of FIG. 18 sees)
2) --wherein upon receiving the request on the scheduling module to schedule the leukapheresis appointment, the scheduling module communicates the request to the server computing device, the server computing device accesses the calendar stored in the database, and the server computing device generates a list of available dates and times available for the leukapheresis appointment, (see: column 7, lines 30-44 where upon receiving a request to schedule an appointment, there is accessing of a calendar with available appointment data. The appointments being for leukapheresis was taught in the Susarchick et al. reference) and
3) --wherein the list of available dates and times available for the leukapheresis appointment is communicated to the scheduling module for display on a client computing device (see: column 7, lines 30-44 where there is a real time display of the available calendar dates and times where there are booked dates and available dates. The appointments being for leukapheresis was taught in the Susarchick et al. reference).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have 1) wherein the scheduling module updates the calendar in real time that can be accessed by each of the plurality of client computing devices, have 2) wherein upon receiving the request on the scheduling module to schedule the leukapheresis appointment, the scheduling module communicates the request to the server computing device, the server computing device accesses the calendar stored in the database, and the server computing device generates a list of available dates and times available for the leukapheresis appointment and have 3) wherein the list of available dates and times available for the leukapheresis appointment is communicated to the scheduling module for display on a client computing device as taught by Wason in the system as taught by Susarchick et al. with the motivation(s) of improving patient appointment scheduling (see: column 1, lines 21-24 of Wason).
LEE teaches:
4) --wherein the scheduling module sends an alert to the client computing devices in real-time if the leukapheresis appointment becomes unavailable or if an alternative leukapheresis appointment becomes available (see: paragraphs [0053] and [0061] where a notification is sent when an appointment becomes available. The appointment being related to leukapheresis was already taught in the base references).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have 4) wherein the scheduling module sends an alert to the client computing devices in real-time if the leukapheresis appointment becomes unavailable or if an alternative leukapheresis appointment becomes available as taught by Wason in the system as taught by Susarchick et al. with the motivation(s) of efficiently using services (see: paragraph [0003] of LEE).
As per claim 11, Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination teaches the system of claim 10, see discussion of claim 10. Susarchick et al. further teaches wherein one of the client computing devices sends manufacturing process updates for the final product of engineered cells from the patient to the server computing device via the network (see: FIG. 5B and paragraph [0153] where there is display of the final delivery date/time where the tracking module is updating statuses. Thus, the calendar here is being updated with the final product date and time. Also see: paragraph [0055] where the 102 devices are used for chain of custody tracking, and paragraph [0146] where these 102 devices are being used to input updates about the manufacturing process via events).
As per claim 16, Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination teaches the system of claim 10, see discussion of claim 10. Susarchick et al. further teaches leukapheresis appointments (see: paragraph [0145] where there is an appointment for a procedure, also see: paragraph [0044] where there is a leukapheresis procedure).
Wason further teaches wherein the scheduling module updates the calendar in real time to display available date and time slots for leukapheresis appointments and booked date and time slots for leukapheresis appointments (see: column 7, lines 30-44 where there is a real time display of the available calendar dates and times where there are booked dates and available dates).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 10, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 21, Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination teaches the system of claim 10, see discussion of claim 10. Susarchick et al. further teaches of a leukapheresis appointment (see: paragraph [0145] where there is an appointment for a procedure. Also see: paragraph [0044] where there is a leukapheresis procedure).
Susarchick et al. may further teach of the availability of appointments for each day, however it does not specifically teach wherein one of the client computing devices sends to the scheduling module via the network a number of available appointments for each day on the calendar.
Wason teaches wherein one of the client computing devices sends to the scheduling module via the network a number of available appointments for each day on the calendar (see: FIG. 11 where there are a number of available appointments being displayed. Also see: FIG. 14 where there are appointments for each day. Depending on which day is selected, multiple appointments are being displayed for each day).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 10, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 22, Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination teaches the system of claim 10, see discussion of claim 10. Susarchick et al. further teaches wherein the server computing device estimates the final product date by considering when the apheresis kit drop-off time is scheduled for, when the leukapheresis appointment is scheduled for, and whether a manufacturing facility has availability to process a sample comprising white blood cells collected from leukapheresis appointment, (see: FIG. 1B and paragraph [0065] where there is an estimation of the delivery date for the biological sample. The date here is being generated automatically and considers the drop-off time and appointment time as it factors in the schedule. Also see: paragraph [0145] where the facility is being determined to have the availability to process the sample) and
--wherein the final product date is communicated to the scheduling module for display on at least one of the plurality of client computing devices (see: paragraph [0154] where there is communication of the final product delivery process. This includes the date).
As per claim 23, Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination teaches the system of claim 10, see discussion of claim 10. Susarchick et al. further teaches wherein the server computing device initiates a process to create transfected T cells for infusion into the patient's bloodstream, the process comprising:
--performing a leukapheresis procedure during the leukapheresis appointment on a sample of the patient's blood to collect T cells from the sample; (see: paragraph [0007] where there is performing of a procedure on a sample during an appointment)
--transferring the collected T cells to a container; (see: paragraph [0007] where there is transferring of T cells to a container)
--labeling the container with the patient-specific identifier; (see: paragraph [0007] where there is labeling of the container with an identifier)
--transmitting the collected T cells to a manufacturing facility; (see: paragraph [0007] where there is transmitting the T cells to a manufacturing facility)
--creating transfected T cells from the collected T cells using a cell modification technique; (see: paragraph [0007] where there is creation of transfected T cells from the T cells using a cell modification technique)
--receiving the transfected T cells from the manufacturing facility; (see: paragraph [0007] where there is reception of the transfected T cells) and
--infusing the transfected T cells into the patient's bloodstream, (see: paragraph [0007] where there is infusion using the transfected T cells)
--wherein the server computing device records a tracking event for each step in the process, (see: paragraph [0007] where the computing device records each step of the process)
--wherein each tracking event includes the patient-specific identifier, (see: paragraph [0007] where each event includes a patient-specific identifier) and
--wherein each tracking event comprises a chain of custody of the patient's T cells during the process (see: paragraph [0007] where there is a chain of custody during the process).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2020/026880 to Susarchick et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,803,425 to Wason further in view of U.S. 2019/0311305 to LEE as applied to claim 10, and further in view of U.S. 2021/0390502 to Phillips et al.
As per claim 14, Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination teaches the system of claim 10, see discussion of claim 10. Susarchick et al. further teaches an item as an apheresis kit (see: paragraph [0145] where there is a kit).
Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination may not further, specifically teach wherein scheduling module automatically sends an alert to a remote facility with the scheduled drop-off time and a desired location for the item, wherein the remote facility will deliver the item at the scheduled drop-off time to the desired location.
Phillips et al. teaches:
--wherein scheduling module automatically sends an alert to a remote facility with the scheduled drop-off time and a desired location for the item, wherein the remote facility will deliver the item at the scheduled drop-off time to the desired location (see: paragraph [0028] where there is an alert to a remote facility (courier) with the desired drop-off time and location (one or more rules). The courier here will deliver the item at the desired location and time).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have wherein scheduling module automatically sends an alert to a remote facility with the scheduled drop-off time and a desired location for the item, wherein the remote facility will deliver the item at the scheduled drop-off time to the desired location as taught by Phillips et al. in the system as taught by Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination with the motivation(s) of improving delivery of sensitive items (see: paragraph [0002] of Phillips et al.).
As per claim 15, Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination teaches the system of claim 10, see discussion of claim 10. Susarchick et al. further teaches of a package in the form of cells collected from the patient during the scheduled leukapheresis appointment (see: paragraph [0007] where there are collected T cells during an appointment).
Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination may not further, specifically teach wherein one of the client computing devices sends a request to the scheduling module via the network to schedule a courier pick-up time for a package.
Phillips et al. teaches:
--wherein one of the client computing devices sends a request to the scheduling module via the network to schedule a courier pick-up time for a package (see: paragraph [0028] where there is an alert to a remote facility (courier) with the desired drop-off time and location (one or more rules). The courier here will deliver the item at the desired location and time).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have wherein one of the client computing devices sends a request to the scheduling module via the network to schedule a courier pick-up time for a package as taught by Phillips et al. in the system as taught by Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination with the motivation(s) of being a sensitive item which needs to be delivered (see: paragraph [0002] of Phillips et al.).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2020/026880 to Susarchick et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,803,425 to Wason further in view of U.S. 2019/0311305 to LEE as applied to claim 10, and further in view of U.S. 2017/0024704 to Tompkins et al.
As per claim 17, Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination teaches the system of claim 10, see discussion of claim 10. Susarchick et al. further teaches of a leukapheresis appointment (see: paragraph [0145] where there is an appointment for a procedure. Also see: paragraph [0044] where there is a leukapheresis procedure).
Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination may not further, specifically teach wherein one of the client computing devices requests the scheduling module to reschedule the appointment for another available date and time displayed on the calendar.
Tompkins et al. teaches:
--wherein one of the client computing devices requests the scheduling module to reschedule the appointment for another available date and time displayed on the calendar (see: paragraphs [0014] and [0030] where there is a rescheduling of an appointment. A device here is requesting another time and date. The time and date are displayed in FIG. 14 of Wason).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have wherein one of the client computing devices requests the scheduling module to reschedule the appointment for another available date and time displayed on the calendar as taught by Tompkins et al. in the system as taught by Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination with the motivation(s) of optimizing appointments (see: paragraph [0002] of Tompkins et al.).
As per claim 18, Susarchick et al., Wason, LEE, and Tompkins et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 17, see discussion of claim 17. Susarchick et al. further teaches of a leukapheresis appointment (see: paragraph [0145] where there is an appointment for a procedure. Also see: paragraph [0044] where there is a leukapheresis procedure).
Tompkins et al. further teaches wherein the scheduling module updates the calendar with the rescheduled appointment in real time (see: paragraph [0029] where there is a master calendar which is updated. This would include for a rescheduling).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 17, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 19, Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination teaches the system of claim 10, see discussion of claim 10. Susarchick et al. further teaches of a leukapheresis appointment (see: paragraph [0145] where there is an appointment for a procedure. Also see: paragraph [0044] where there is a leukapheresis procedure).
Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination may not further, specifically teach wherein one of the client computing devices requests the scheduling module to cancel the scheduled leukapheresis appointment.
Tompkins et al. teaches:
--wherein one of the client computing devices requests the scheduling module to cancel the scheduled leukapheresis appointment (see: paragraph [0016] where an indication of a cancellation is being sent. A device here is requesting to cancel the time and date).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have wherein one of the client computing devices requests the scheduling module to cancel the scheduled leukapheresis appointment as taught by Tompkins et al. in the system as taught by Susarchick et al., Wason, and LEE in combination with the motivation(s) of optimizing appointments (see: paragraph [0002] of Tompkins et al.).
As per claim 20, Susarchick et al., Wason, LEE, and Tompkins et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 19, see discussion of claim 19. Susarchick et al. further teaches of a leukapheresis appointment (see: paragraph [0145] where there is an appointment for a procedure. Also see: paragraph [0044] where there is a leukapheresis procedure).
Tompkins et al. further teaches wherein the scheduling module updates the calendar with the canceled appointment in real time (see: paragraph [0029] where there is a master calendar which is updated. This would include for a cancellation).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 19, and incorporated herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN G.S. SANGHERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684