DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13, 15, 17-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dorscht EP EP3647600A1 published 2020.
Dorscht discloses (references made to the translation):
11. A method for controlling a vehicle component, the method comprising: determining, via a controller, that an electrical contact of the vehicle component is energized [see e.g. “The control unit may be adapted to determine whether an electrical resistor is connected to the terminal based on a measurement of a current through the sense resistor or a voltage (in other words: a voltage drop) across the sense resistor.” in 0032 of the translation]; determining, via the controller, that a resistor is electrically connected to the electrical contact in response to determining that the electrical contact is energized [see e.g. “The control unit may be adapted to determine whether an electrical resistor is connected to the terminal based on a measurement of a current through the sense resistor or a voltage (in other words: a voltage drop) across the sense resistor.” in 0032 of the translation]; determining, via the controller, a resistance value of the resistor in response to determining that the resistor is electrically connected to the electrical contact [see e.g. “In this embodiment, the resistance in the accessory unit can be determined, for example, by a voltage drop across the measuring resistor.” in 0032 of the translation]; identifying, via the controller, the vehicle component based on the resistance value (see e.g. “If the value of the resistance is determined, it can be recognized which accessory unit is connected. It will be understood that either a type of accessory unit can be determined or a unique identification of the accessory unit can be determined.” in 0018); and controlling, via the controller, an operation of the vehicle component based on a control signal (see e.g. “The control unit can operate and/or control the accessory unit as required, knowing the accessory unit or the type of accessory unit.” in 0019).
12. The method of claim 11, wherein identifying the vehicle component based on the resistance value includes: assigning, via the controller, an address to the vehicle component based on the identified vehicle component (see e.g. “In the event that several similar accessory units are connected to a connection of the vacuum device, for example, recognition and / or assignment can take place via address selection switches or preprogrammed addresses.” in 0050).
13. The method of claim 11, wherein the vehicle component is one selected from the group consisting of a pump, a fan, a compressor, and a valve (see e.g. “The accessory unit can comprise, for example, a heating element, a fan, a flooding valve, a blocking gas valve, a control relay, for example for a roughing pump, a pressure measuring device and/or an, in particular integrated, measuring tube.” in 0053).
15. The method of claim 11, wherein determining that the electrical contact is energized includes: determining, via the controller, that the electrical contact is receiving power [see e.g. “In this embodiment, the resistance in the accessory unit can be determined, for example, by a voltage drop across the measuring resistor.” in 0032 of the translation].
17. The method of claim 11, wherein the resistor is connected between the electrical contact and a power source terminal (see e.g. “It can be provided that the connection has at least one supply contact for the electrical supply of the accessory unit. The accessory unit therefore does not require an additional power connection, which simplifies the arrangement”).
18. The method of claim 11, wherein the electrical contact is a single pin connection (see e.g. 46 in Fig 11).
20. The method of claim 11, comprising: determining, via the controller, that the electrical contact is electrically connected to a power source terminal; and identifying, via the controller, the vehicle component based on determining that the electrical contact is electrically connected to the power source terminal (see e.g. “determining whether an electrical resistor is connected (in other words, connected to) the port; and if it is determined that an electrical resistor is connected to the port, detecting and/or driving the accessory unit based on the connected electrical resistor.” in 0008).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorscht EP3647600A1 published 2020 in view of Yoshitomi US 20090009122.
Dorscht discloses (references made to the translation):
1. A fluid control system comprising: a fluid control system component (see e.g. “The accessory unit can comprise, for example, a heating element, a fan, a flooding valve, a blocking gas valve, a control relay, for example for a roughing pump, a pressure measuring device and/or an, in particular integrated, measuring tube.” in 0053); a pinout configuration with an electrical contact configured to receive and transmit signals related to an operation of the fluid control system component and an address selection (see e.g. Figs 10-11 and see e.g. “determining whether an electrical resistor is connected (in other words, connected to) the port; and if it is determined that an electrical resistor is connected to the port, detecting and/or driving the accessory unit based on the connected electrical resistor.” in 0008; and see e.g. “In the event that several similar accessory units are connected to a connection of the vacuum device, for example, recognition and / or assignment can take place via address selection switches or preprogrammed addresses.” in 0050); and a controller 56 communicatively connected to the fluid control system component, the controller configured to: determine that the electrical contact is energized ; determine that a resistor is electrically connected to the electrical contact in response to determining that the electrical contact is energized [see e.g. “The control unit may be adapted to determine whether an electrical resistor is connected to the terminal based on a measurement of a current through the sense resistor or a voltage (in other words: a voltage drop) across the sense resistor.” in 0032 of the translation]; determine a resistance value of the resistor in response to determining that the resistor is electrically connected to the electrical contact [see e.g. “In this embodiment, the resistance in the accessory unit can be determined, for example, by a voltage drop across the measuring resistor.” in 0032 of the translation]; identify the fluid control system component based on the resistance value (see e.g. “If the value of the resistance is determined, it can be recognized which accessory unit is connected. It will be understood that either a type of accessory unit can be determined or a unique identification of the accessory unit can be determined.” in 0018); and transmit a control signal to the motor to control the operation of the fluid control system component (see e.g. “The control unit can operate and/or control the accessory unit as required, knowing the accessory unit or the type of accessory unit.” in 0019).
Regarding the limitations “including a motor”, Dorscht discloses “For example, in an accessory unit designed as a fan, the rotational speed is controlled as a function of a temperature in or on the vacuum device. This activation can take place on the one hand via a supply contact and on the other hand via a communication contact, wherein the accessory unit is then caused to adapt the rotational speed itself.” in 0040 wherein the control of the rotational speed of the fan would be understood to be the rotational speed of a motor of the fan). In any event, if a motor for the fan were needed to control the speed of the fan, the examiner turns to Yoshitomi which discloses a motor to control fan speed via a control circuit (see e.g. the abstract). Before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a fan motor to control the fan speed via a control in the system of Dorscht to gain the benefit of using a known device for controlling fan speed.
Dorscht as modified above discloses (all references to the translation):
2. The fluid control system of claim 1, wherein identifying the fluid control system component based on the resistance value includes: assigning, via the controller, an address to the fluid control system component based on the identified fluid control system component (see e.g. “In the event that several similar accessory units are connected to a connection of the vacuum device, for example, recognition and / or assignment can take place via address selection switches or preprogrammed addresses.” in 0050).
3. The fluid control system of claim 1, wherein the fluid control system component is one selected from the group consisting of a pump, a fan, a compressor, and a valve (see e.g. “The accessory unit can comprise, for example, a heating element, a fan, a flooding valve, a blocking gas valve, a control relay, for example for a roughing pump, a pressure measuring device and/or an, in particular integrated, measuring tube.” in 0053).
4. The fluid control system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: determine that the operation of the fluid control system component is activated (see e.g. 0038, 0040); and transmit the control signal to the motor based on determining that the operation of the fluid control system component is activated (see e.g. “The control unit can operate and/or control the accessory unit as required, knowing the accessory unit or the type of accessory unit.” in 0019 and “For example, in an accessory unit designed as a fan, the rotational speed is controlled as a function of a temperature in or on the vacuum device. This activation can take place on the one hand via a supply contact and on the other hand via a communication contact, wherein the accessory unit is then caused to adapt the rotational speed itself.” in 0040 wherein the control of the rotational speed of the fan would be control of the motor of the fan as per Yoshitomi).
5. The fluid control system of claim 1, wherein determining that the electrical contact is energized includes: determine, via the controller, that the electrical contact is receiving power [see e.g. “In this embodiment, the resistance in the accessory unit can be determined, for example, by a voltage drop across the measuring resistor.” in 0032 of the translation].
6. The fluid control system of claim 1, wherein the resistor is electrically connected between the electrical contact and a power source terminal (see e.g. 52 in Fig 11 and 0032).
7. The fluid control system of claim 1, wherein the electrical contact is a single pin connection (see e.g. 46 in Fig 11).
10. The fluid control system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: determine that the electrical contact is electrically connected to a power source terminal; and identify the fluid control system component based on determining that the electrical contact is electrically connected to the power source terminal (see e.g. “determining whether an electrical resistor is connected (in other words, connected to) the port; and if it is determined that an electrical resistor is connected to the port, detecting and/or driving the accessory unit based on the connected electrical resistor.” in 0008).
Regarding claim 14, Dorscht discloses determining, via the controller, that the operation of the vehicle component is activated (see e.g. 0038, 0040); and transmitting the control signal to a motor of the vehicle component based on determining that the operation of the vehicle component is activated (see e.g. “The control unit can operate and/or control the accessory unit as required, knowing the accessory unit or the type of accessory unit.” in 0019 and “For example, in an accessory unit designed as a fan, the rotational speed is controlled as a function of a temperature in or on the vacuum device. This activation can take place on the one hand via a supply contact and on the other hand via a communication contact, wherein the accessory unit is then caused to adapt the rotational speed itself.” in 0040 wherein the control of the rotational speed of the fan would be understood to be the rotational speed of a motor of the fan). In any event, if a motor for the fan were needed to control the speed of the fan, the examiner turns to Yoshitomi which discloses a motor to control fan speed via a control circuit (see e.g. the abstract). Before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a fan motor to control the fan speed via a control in the system of Dorscht to gain the benefit of using a known device for controlling fan speed.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorscht EP EP3647600A1 published 2020 in view of 5 Advantages of CAN Bus Protocol, by Total Phase, published 2019.
Regarding claim 16, Dorscht discloses determining, via the controller, that the vehicle component is connected to a bus (see e.g. 0047) but does not disclose the use of a CAN bus.
Total Phase discloses the use of a CAN bus protocol (see Total Phase).
A simple substitution of one communication bus protocol for another with a predictable result of communicating across network has been held obvious as per MPEP 2143 I (B).
Before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a CAN bus as taught by Total Phase in the system of to gain e.g. any of the benefits listed by Total Phase.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
See form PTO-892 for additional prior art made of record but not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Thomas Fink/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746