DETAILED ACTION
Designations of the Particular Relevance of the Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of the Action for Applicant’s convenience. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the reference in totality as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or explained by the Examiner. MPEP § 707.05.
Manner of Making Amendments under 37 C.F.R. § 1.121
Any amendatory submission by Applicant must comply with the requirements of 37 C.F.R. § 1.121(c) and MPEP § 714(II)(C) regarding the manner of presenting amended claims. That is, amended text must be properly indicated. Failure to provide a compliant amendment may result in the amendment being treated as non-compliant and not entered.
Pursuant to MPEP § 714(II)(C), all changes to currently amended claims must be shown relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. Deleted matter ordinarily must be shown by strike-through; however, when deleting five (5) or fewer consecutive characters, deletion by double brackets may be used and, in certain circumstances, is required. In particular, where strike-through cannot be readily perceived—such as when deleting a single numeral, punctuation mark, or other short character string—double brackets must be used to clearly identify the deleted matter. For example, deletion of punctuation marks standing alone (e.g., commas, periods, semicolons, parentheses, or quotation marks) should be indicated by double brackets rather than strike-through.
Similarly, the text of any added subject matter must be presented in a manner such that the underlining is readily perceptible. Where underlining of added matter cannot be easily perceived, including, for example, the addition, deletion, or substitution of one or more characters, punctuation marks, numerals, or word fragments, the amendment shall instead be presented by deleting the entire affected text and adding the complete replacement text with underlining. Examples include, without limitation, amendments correcting misspellings, changing a singular term to a plural term or vice versa, adding or deleting prefixes or suffixes, or modifying punctuation or numerals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0039582 (hereinafter, “SHAH”) in view of US 2025/0310893 (hereinafter, “CIRIK”).
Regarding claim 1, SHAH discloses:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (UE 160) in a communication system (wireless communications architecture 100), the method comprising:
receiving, via higher layer signaling, a first configuration of a list of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states; (¶ 0138: At 1701, the UE receives transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information specifying an indicated TCI state set including one or more activated TCI states; ¶ 0028: Unified TCI state pools may be configured via higher-layer signaling; ¶ 0037: After the UE receives a higher-layer configuration of unified TCI states, such via RRC configuration, and before application of an indicated TCI state from the configured TCI states)
receiving a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) mapping TCI states among the TCI states in the list to codepoints of a TCI field in downlink control information (DCI); (¶ 0031: The signaling medium that is used to update unified TCI state may be a UE-specific DCI with or without PDSCH assignment. The unified TCI state may be indicated by a codepoint value in a TCI field of DCI format 1_1 or 1_2, wherein the codepoint value maps to one or more activated unified TCI states (e.g., up to 8 activated states) activated by MAC CE command. Each of codepoint values may be mapped to a joint DL/UL TCI state, a pair of DL and UL TCI states, a DL-only TCI state for separate DL/UL TCI states, or a UL-only TCI state for separate DL/UL TCI states)
receiving the DCI including the TCI field with a codepoint; (¶ 0031: The signaling medium that is used to update unified TCI state may be a UE-specific DCI with or without PDSCH assignment. The unified TCI state may be indicated by a codepoint value in a TCI field of DCI format 1_1 or 1_2, wherein the codepoint value maps to one or more activated unified TCI states (e.g., up to 8 activated states) activated by MAC CE command. Each of codepoint values may be mapped to a joint DL/UL TCI state, a pair of DL and UL TCI states, a DL-only TCI state for separate DL/UL TCI states, or a UL-only TCI state for separate DL/UL TCI states)
identifying an indicated TCI state based on the codepoint; (¶ 0056: [T]he UE may use a predetermined rule to identify unified TCI states/TRP association such that the order of TCI state ID or order of TCI states in codepoint mapping in MAC CE (e.g., the smallest/largest/specific ID or TCI state) is based on the order of target resource ID)
identifying first transmission power for a first uplink transmission . . . ; and (¶ 0051: [T]he UL power control parameter setting including pathloss RS should be derived based on the setting associated with indicated unified TCI for the SRS resource with the lowest ID in that SRS resource set. The pathloss RS and power control parameters (e.g., P0, alpha, closed loop index) for target UL channels and RSs may be associated with UL or joint TCI states per BWP via RRC configuration)
transmitting the first uplink transmission based on the first transmission power. (¶ 0139: At 1804, the UE applies a configuration of the default TCI state to carry out at least one of uplink (UL) transmissions)
It appears that SHAH does not explicitly disclose:
based on a pathloss offset value included in the indicated TCI state
In the same field of endeavor, however, CIRIK teaches:
based on a pathloss offset value included in the indicated TCI state (¶ 0350: [T]he first TCI state may comprise/have/indicate/provide the first pathloss offset value)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHAH’s transmission configuration indicator (TCI) framework to provide pathloss offset value as taught by CIRIK to the wireless device may determine a pathloss offset for determination of the transmission power for the uplink-only communication, so as to reduce the interference and/or increase the data rate. See CIRIK, at ¶ 0202.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of SHAH and CIRIK, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. SHAH does not appear to explicitly disclose:
wherein at least some of the TCI states in the list respectively include pathloss offset values.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CIRIK teaches:
wherein at least some of the TCI states in the list respectively include pathloss offset values. (¶ 0350: [T]he first TCI state may comprise/have/indicate/provide the first pathloss offset value; ¶ 0004: [A] wireless device may receive one or more configuration parameters (e.g., a state list and/or pathloss offset values associated with the state list))
Regarding claim 3, the combination of SHAH and CIRIK, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. SHAH further discloses:
further comprising
receiving, via the higher layer signaling, a second configuration of unified TCI state type, wherein, in case that the second configuration indicates joint, the TCI states in the list are joint TCI states for uplink and downlink operation, and wherein, in case that the second configuration indicates separate, the TCI states in the list are uplink TCI states. (¶ 0028: Unified TCI state pools may be configured via higher-layer signaling for each bandwidth part (BWP)/component carrier (CC). In general, TCI states for DL and UL transmission may be configured from separate pools, although in case of joint DL/UL TCI states, the same DL TCI state pool may be shared for UL transmissions, as well. That is, the unified TCI state may be either a joint DL/UL TCI state (i.e. JointULDL type), which means the serving cell is configured with a single pool for both DL and UL operations (DLorJoint-TCIState-r17), or a pair of separate DL and UL TCI states (i.e. separateULDL type), which means the serving cell may be configured with two pools, one pool for DL operation (DLorJoint-TCIState-r17) and one pool for UL operation (UL-TCIState-r17))
Regarding claim 4, the combination of SHAH and CIRIK, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. SHAH does not appear to explicitly disclose:
further comprising:
receiving a second MAC CE to update the pathloss offset value;
identifying an updated pathloss offset value based on the second MAC CE;
identifying second transmission power for second uplink transmission based on the updated pathloss offset value; and
transmitting the second uplink transmission based on the second transmission power.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CIRIK teaches:
receiving a second MAC CE to update the pathloss offset value; identifying an updated pathloss offset value based on the second MAC CE; identifying second transmission power for second uplink transmission based on the updated pathloss offset value; and (¶ 0460: FIG. 24 shows an example method for pathloss offset update control command in wireless communication. . . . At step 2406, the wireless device may receive (e.g., from a base station) a message (e.g., a medium-access control (MAC) control element (CE)), wherein the MAC-CE may comprise a serving cell identifier indicating the cell, a bandwidth part (BWP) indicator field indicating a BWP of the cell, a TCI state identifier indicating the first TCI state from the list of TCI states, and a pathloss offset field mapped to a second pathloss offset value in a preconfigured table. The preconfigured table may comprise pathloss offset values with increments of a step size)
transmitting the second uplink transmission based on the second transmission power. (¶ 0460: At step 2408, the wireless device may send, via the cell, (e.g., to the base station) second uplink transmissions using a second transmission power, wherein the second transmission power may be determined based on the pathloss reference signal associated with the first TCI state, and the second pathloss offset value indicated by the MAC CE)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of SHAH and CIRIK, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 4. CIRIK further discloses:
wherein the second MAC CE includes at least one of:
a serving cell identifier (ID) field; an uplink bandwidth part (BWP) ID field; a pathloss reference signal ID field; a pathloss reference signal group field; an activated pathloss reference signal ID field; a pathloss offset value field; or a TCI state field. (¶ 0460: [T]he MAC-CE may comprise a serving cell identifier indicating the cell, a bandwidth part (BWP) indicator field indicating a BWP of the cell, a TCI state identifier indicating the first TCI state from the list of TCI states, and a pathloss offset field mapped to a second pathloss offset value in a preconfigured table)
Regarding claim 6, SHAH discloses:
A user equipment (UE) (UE 160, 2005 / electronic device 1901) in a communication system (network environment 1900), the UE comprising:
a transceiver; and (radio 2015)
a processor (processing circuit 2020) coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
receive, via higher layer signaling, a first configuration of a list of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states, (¶ 0138: At 1701, the UE receives transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information specifying an indicated TCI state set including one or more activated TCI states; ¶ 0028: Unified TCI state pools may be configured via higher-layer signaling; ¶ 0037: After the UE receives a higher-layer configuration of unified TCI states, such via RRC configuration, and before application of an indicated TCI state from the configured TCI states)
receive a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) mapping TCI states among the TCI states in the list to codepoints of a TCI field in downlink control information (DCI), (¶ 0031: The signaling medium that is used to update unified TCI state may be a UE-specific DCI with or without PDSCH assignment. The unified TCI state may be indicated by a codepoint value in a TCI field of DCI format 1_1 or 1_2, wherein the codepoint value maps to one or more activated unified TCI states (e.g., up to 8 activated states) activated by MAC CE command. Each of codepoint values may be mapped to a joint DL/UL TCI state, a pair of DL and UL TCI states, a DL-only TCI state for separate DL/UL TCI states, or a UL-only TCI state for separate DL/UL TCI states)
receive the DCI including the TCI field with a codepoint, (¶ 0031: The signaling medium that is used to update unified TCI state may be a UE-specific DCI with or without PDSCH assignment. The unified TCI state may be indicated by a codepoint value in a TCI field of DCI format 1_1 or 1_2, wherein the codepoint value maps to one or more activated unified TCI states (e.g., up to 8 activated states) activated by MAC CE command. Each of codepoint values may be mapped to a joint DL/UL TCI state, a pair of DL and UL TCI states, a DL-only TCI state for separate DL/UL TCI states, or a UL-only TCI state for separate DL/UL TCI states)
identify an indicated TCI state based on the codepoint, (¶ 0056: [T]he UE may use a predetermined rule to identify unified TCI states/TRP association such that the order of TCI state ID or order of TCI states in codepoint mapping in MAC CE (e.g., the smallest/largest/specific ID or TCI state) is based on the order of target resource ID)
identify first transmission power for a first uplink transmission . . . , and (¶ 0051: [T]he UL power control parameter setting including pathloss RS should be derived based on the setting associated with indicated unified TCI for the SRS resource with the lowest ID in that SRS resource set. The pathloss RS and power control parameters (e.g., P0, alpha, closed loop index) for target UL channels and RSs may be associated with UL or joint TCI states per BWP via RRC configuration)
transmit the first uplink transmission based on the first transmission power. (¶ 0139: At 1804, the UE applies a configuration of the default TCI state to carry out at least one of uplink (UL) transmissions)
It appears that SHAH does not explicitly disclose:
based on a pathloss offset value included in the indicated TCI state
In the same field of endeavor, however, CIRIK teaches:
based on a pathloss offset value included in the indicated TCI state (¶ 0350: [T]he first TCI state may comprise/have/indicate/provide the first pathloss offset value)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHAH’s transmission configuration indicator (TCI) framework to provide pathloss offset value as taught by CIRIK to the wireless device may determine a pathloss offset for determination of the transmission power for the uplink-only communication, so as to reduce the interference and/or increase the data rate. See CIRIK, at ¶ 0202.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of SHAH and CIRIK, as applied above, renders obvious the UE of claim 6. SHAH does not appear to explicitly disclose:
wherein at least some of the TCI states in the list respectively include pathloss offset values.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CIRIK teaches:
wherein at least some of the TCI states in the list respectively include pathloss offset values. (¶ 0350: [T]he first TCI state may comprise/have/indicate/provide the first pathloss offset value; ¶ 0004: [A] wireless device may receive one or more configuration parameters (e.g., a state list and/or pathloss offset values associated with the state list))
Regarding claim 8, the combination of SHAH and CIRIK, as applied above, renders obvious the UE of claim 6. SHAH further discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to receive, via the higher layer signaling, a second configuration of a unified TCI state type, wherein, in case that the second configuration indicates joint, the TCI states in the list are joint TCI states for uplink and downlink operation, and wherein, in case that the second configuration indicates separate, the TCI states in the list are uplink TCI states. (¶ 0028: Unified TCI state pools may be configured via higher-layer signaling for each bandwidth part (BWP)/component carrier (CC). In general, TCI states for DL and UL transmission may be configured from separate pools, although in case of joint DL/UL TCI states, the same DL TCI state pool may be shared for UL transmissions, as well. That is, the unified TCI state may be either a joint DL/UL TCI state (i.e. JointULDL type), which means the serving cell is configured with a single pool for both DL and UL operations (DLorJoint-TCIState-r17), or a pair of separate DL and UL TCI states (i.e. separateULDL type), which means the serving cell may be configured with two pools, one pool for DL operation (DLorJoint-TCIState-r17) and one pool for UL operation (UL-TCIState-r17))
Regarding claim 9, the combination of SHAH and CIRIK, as applied above, renders obvious the UE of claim 6. SHAH does not appear to explicitly disclose:
wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive a second MAC CE to update the pathloss offset value, identify an updated pathloss offset value based on the second MAC CE,
identify second transmission power for second uplink transmission based on the updated pathloss offset value, and
transmit the second uplink transmission based on the second transmission power.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CIRIK teaches:
receive a second MAC CE to update the pathloss offset value, identify an updated pathloss offset value based on the second MAC CE, identify second transmission power for second uplink transmission based on the updated pathloss offset value, and (¶ 0460: FIG. 24 shows an example method for pathloss offset update control command in wireless communication. . . . At step 2406, the wireless device may receive (e.g., from a base station) a message (e.g., a medium-access control (MAC) control element (CE)), wherein the MAC-CE may comprise a serving cell identifier indicating the cell, a bandwidth part (BWP) indicator field indicating a BWP of the cell, a TCI state identifier indicating the first TCI state from the list of TCI states, and a pathloss offset field mapped to a second pathloss offset value in a preconfigured table. The preconfigured table may comprise pathloss offset values with increments of a step size)
transmit the second uplink transmission based on the second transmission power. (¶ 0460: At step 2408, the wireless device may send, via the cell, (e.g., to the base station) second uplink transmissions using a second transmission power, wherein the second transmission power may be determined based on the pathloss reference signal associated with the first TCI state, and the second pathloss offset value indicated by the MAC CE)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of SHAH and CIRIK, as applied above, renders obvious the UE of claim 9. CIRIK further discloses:
wherein the second MAC CE includes at least one of:
a serving cell identifier (ID) field; an uplink bandwidth part (BWP) ID field; a pathloss reference signal ID field; a pathloss reference signal group field; an activated pathloss reference signal ID field; a pathloss offset value field; or a TCI state field. (¶ 0460: [T]he MAC-CE may comprise a serving cell identifier indicating the cell, a bandwidth part (BWP) indicator field indicating a BWP of the cell, a TCI state identifier indicating the first TCI state from the list of TCI states, and a pathloss offset field mapped to a second pathloss offset value in a preconfigured table)
Regarding claim 11, SHAH discloses:
A method performed by a base station (gNB 110) in a communication system (wireless communications architecture 100), the method comprising:
transmitting, via higher layer signaling, a first configuration of a list of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states; (¶ 0138: At 1701, the UE receives transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information specifying an indicated TCI state set including one or more activated TCI states; ¶ 0004: [T]he unified TCI framework simplifies signaling is by allowing the base station to indicate the transmission parameters for different reference signals using a single TCI field in the downlink control information (DCI); ¶ 0028: Unified TCI state pools may be configured via higher-layer signaling; ¶ 0037: After the UE receives a higher-layer configuration of unified TCI states, such via RRC configuration, and before application of an indicated TCI state from the configured TCI states)
transmitting a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) mapping TCI states among the TCI states in the list to codepoints of a TCI field in downlink control information (DCI); (¶ 0031: The signaling medium that is used to update unified TCI state may be a UE-specific DCI with or without PDSCH assignment. The unified TCI state may be indicated by a codepoint value in a TCI field of DCI format 1_1 or 1_2, wherein the codepoint value maps to one or more activated unified TCI states (e.g., up to 8 activated states) activated by MAC CE command. Each of codepoint values may be mapped to a joint DL/UL TCI state, a pair of DL and UL TCI states, a DL-only TCI state for separate DL/UL TCI states, or a UL-only TCI state for separate DL/UL TCI states; ¶ 0004: [T]he unified TCI framework simplifies signaling is by allowing the base station to indicate the transmission parameters for different reference signals using a single TCI field in the downlink control information (DCI))
transmitting the DCI including the TCI field with a codepoint; and (¶ 0031: The signaling medium that is used to update unified TCI state may be a UE-specific DCI with or without PDSCH assignment. The unified TCI state may be indicated by a codepoint value in a TCI field of DCI format 1_1 or 1_2, wherein the codepoint value maps to one or more activated unified TCI states (e.g., up to 8 activated states) activated by MAC CE command. Each of codepoint values may be mapped to a joint DL/UL TCI state, a pair of DL and UL TCI states, a DL-only TCI state for separate DL/UL TCI states, or a UL-only TCI state for separate DL/UL TCI states; ¶ 0004: [T]he unified TCI framework simplifies signaling is by allowing the base station to indicate the transmission parameters for different reference signals using a single TCI field in the downlink control information (DCI))
receiving a first uplink transmission associated with first transmission power, (¶ 0139: At 1804, the UE applies a configuration of the default TCI state to carry out at least one of uplink (UL) transmissions; ¶ 0004: [T]he unified TCI framework simplifies signaling is by allowing the base station to indicate the transmission parameters for different reference signals using a single TCI field in the downlink control information (DCI))
. . .
SHAH does not appear to explicitly disclose:
wherein the first transmission power is based on a pathloss offset value included in a TCI state indicated by the codepoint.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CIRIK teaches:
wherein the first transmission power is based on a pathloss offset value included in a TCI state indicated by the codepoint. (¶ 0350: [T]he first TCI state may comprise/have/indicate/provide the first pathloss offset value)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHAH’s transmission configuration indicator (TCI) framework to provide pathloss offset value as taught by CIRIK to the wireless device may determine a pathloss offset for determination of the transmission power for the uplink-only communication, so as to reduce the interference and/or increase the data rate. See CIRIK, at ¶ 0202.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of SHAH and CIRIK, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 11. SHAH does not appear to explicitly disclose:
wherein at least some of the TCI states in the list respectively include pathloss offset values.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CIRIK teaches:
wherein at least some of the TCI states in the list respectively include pathloss offset values. (¶ 0350: [T]he first TCI state may comprise/have/indicate/provide the first pathloss offset value; ¶ 0004: [A] wireless device may receive one or more configuration parameters (e.g., a state list and/or pathloss offset values associated with the state list))
Regarding claim 13, the combination of SHAH and CIRIK, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 11. SHAH further discloses:
further comprising
transmitting, via the higher layer signaling, a second configuration of a unified TCI state type, wherein, in case that the second configuration indicates joint, the TCI states in the list are joint TCI states for uplink and downlink operation, and wherein, in case that the second configuration indicates separate, the TCI states in the list are uplink TCI states. (¶ 0028: Unified TCI state pools may be configured via higher-layer signaling for each bandwidth part (BWP)/component carrier (CC). In general, TCI states for DL and UL transmission may be configured from separate pools, although in case of joint DL/UL TCI states, the same DL TCI state pool may be shared for UL transmissions, as well. That is, the unified TCI state may be either a joint DL/UL TCI state (i.e. JointULDL type), which means the serving cell is configured with a single pool for both DL and UL operations (DLorJoint-TCIState-r17), or a pair of separate DL and UL TCI states (i.e. separateULDL type), which means the serving cell may be configured with two pools, one pool for DL operation (DLorJoint-TCIState-r17) and one pool for UL operation (UL-TCIState-r17))
Regarding claim 14, the combination of SHAH and CIRIK, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 11. SHAH does not appear to explicitly disclose:
further comprising:
transmitting a second MAC CE to update the pathloss offset value; and
receiving second uplink transmission associated with second transmission power,
wherein the second transmission power is based on an updated pathloss offset value associated with the second MAC CE.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CIRIK teaches:
transmitting a second MAC CE to update the pathloss offset value; and receiving second uplink transmission associated with second transmission power, wherein the second transmission power is based on an updated pathloss offset value associated with the second MAC CE. (¶ 0460: FIG. 24 shows an example method for pathloss offset update control command in wireless communication. . . . At step 2406, the wireless device may receive (e.g., from a base station) a message (e.g., a medium-access control (MAC) control element (CE)), wherein the MAC-CE may comprise a serving cell identifier indicating the cell, a bandwidth part (BWP) indicator field indicating a BWP of the cell, a TCI state identifier indicating the first TCI state from the list of TCI states, and a pathloss offset field mapped to a second pathloss offset value in a preconfigured table. The preconfigured table may comprise pathloss offset values with increments of a step size. At step 2408, the wireless device may send, via the cell, (e.g., to the base station) second uplink transmissions using a second transmission power, wherein the second transmission power may be determined based on the pathloss reference signal associated with the first TCI state, and the second pathloss offset value indicated by the MAC CE)
Regarding claim 15, the combination of SHAH and CIRIK, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 14. CIRIK further discloses:
wherein the second MAC CE includes at least one of:
a serving cell identifier (ID) field; an uplink bandwidth part (BWP) ID field; a pathloss reference signal ID field; a pathloss reference signal group field; an activated pathloss reference signal ID field; a pathloss offset value field; or a TCI state field. (¶ 0460: [T]he MAC-CE may comprise a serving cell identifier indicating the cell, a bandwidth part (BWP) indicator field indicating a BWP of the cell, a TCI state identifier indicating the first TCI state from the list of TCI states, and a pathloss offset field mapped to a second pathloss offset value in a preconfigured table)
Regarding claim 16, SHAH discloses:
A base station (BS) (gNB 110) in a communication system (wireless communications architecture 100),
. . .
transmit, via higher layer signaling, a first configuration of a list of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states, (¶ 0138: At 1701, the UE receives transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information specifying an indicated TCI state set including one or more activated TCI states; ¶ 0004: [T]he unified TCI framework simplifies signaling is by allowing the base station to indicate the transmission parameters for different reference signals using a single TCI field in the downlink control information (DCI); ¶ 0028: Unified TCI state pools may be configured via higher-layer signaling; ¶ 0037: After the UE receives a higher-layer configuration of unified TCI states, such via RRC configuration, and before application of an indicated TCI state from the configured TCI states)
transmit a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) mapping TCI states among the TCI states in the list to codepoints of a TCI field in downlink control information (DCI), (¶ 0031: The signaling medium that is used to update unified TCI state may be a UE-specific DCI with or without PDSCH assignment. The unified TCI state may be indicated by a codepoint value in a TCI field of DCI format 1_1 or 1_2, wherein the codepoint value maps to one or more activated unified TCI states (e.g., up to 8 activated states) activated by MAC CE command. Each of codepoint values may be mapped to a joint DL/UL TCI state, a pair of DL and UL TCI states, a DL-only TCI state for separate DL/UL TCI states, or a UL-only TCI state for separate DL/UL TCI states; ¶ 0004: [T]he unified TCI framework simplifies signaling is by allowing the base station to indicate the transmission parameters for different reference signals using a single TCI field in the downlink control information (DCI))
transmit the DCI including the TCI field with a codepoint, and (¶ 0031: The signaling medium that is used to update unified TCI state may be a UE-specific DCI with or without PDSCH assignment. The unified TCI state may be indicated by a codepoint value in a TCI field of DCI format 1_1 or 1_2, wherein the codepoint value maps to one or more activated unified TCI states (e.g., up to 8 activated states) activated by MAC CE command. Each of codepoint values may be mapped to a joint DL/UL TCI state, a pair of DL and UL TCI states, a DL-only TCI state for separate DL/UL TCI states, or a UL-only TCI state for separate DL/UL TCI states; ¶ 0004: [T]he unified TCI framework simplifies signaling is by allowing the base station to indicate the transmission parameters for different reference signals using a single TCI field in the downlink control information (DCI))
receive a first uplink transmission associated with first transmission power, (¶ 0139: At 1804, the UE applies a configuration of the default TCI state to carry out at least one of uplink (UL) transmissions; ¶ 0004: [T]he unified TCI framework simplifies signaling is by allowing the base station to indicate the transmission parameters for different reference signals using a single TCI field in the downlink control information (DCI))
. . .
SHAH does not appear to explicitly disclose:
the BS comprising:
a transceiver; and
a processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
wherein the first transmission power is based on a pathloss offset value included in a TCI state indicated by the codepoint.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CIRIK teaches:
the BS comprising: (computing device 1530)
a transceiver; and (network interface 1539)
a processor (processor 1531) coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
wherein the first transmission power is based on a pathloss offset value included in a TCI state indicated by the codepoint. (¶ 0350: [T]he first TCI state may comprise/have/indicate/provide the first pathloss offset value)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SHAH’s transmission configuration indicator (TCI) framework to provide pathloss offset value as taught by CIRIK to the wireless device may determine a pathloss offset for determination of the transmission power for the uplink-only communication, so as to reduce the interference and/or increase the data rate. See CIRIK, at ¶ 0202.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of SHAH and CIRIK, as applied above, renders obvious the BS of claim 16. SHAH does not appear to explicitly disclose:
wherein at least some of the TCI states in the list respectively include pathloss offset values.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CIRIK teaches:
wherein at least some of the TCI states in the list respectively include pathloss offset values. (¶ 0350: [T]he first TCI state may comprise/have/indicate/provide the first pathloss offset value; ¶ 0004: [A] wireless device may receive one or more configuration parameters (e.g., a state list and/or pathloss offset values associated with the state list))
Regarding claim 18, the combination of SHAH and CIRIK, as applied above, renders obvious the BS of claim 16. SHAH further discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to
transmit, via the higher layer signaling, a second configuration of unified TCI state type, wherein, in case that the second configuration indicates joint, the TCI states in the list are joint TCI states for uplink and downlink operation, and wherein, in case that the second configuration indicates separate, the TCI states in the list are uplink TCI states. (¶ 0028: Unified TCI state pools may be configured via higher-layer signaling for each bandwidth part (BWP)/component carrier (CC). In general, TCI states for DL and UL transmission may be configured from separate pools, although in case of joint DL/UL TCI states, the same DL TCI state pool may be shared for UL transmissions, as well. That is, the unified TCI state may be either a joint DL/UL TCI state (i.e. JointULDL type), which means the serving cell is configured with a single pool for both DL and UL operations (DLorJoint-TCIState-r17), or a pair of separate DL and UL TCI states (i.e. separateULDL type), which means the serving cell may be configured with two pools, one pool for DL operation (DLorJoint-TCIState-r17) and one pool for UL operation (UL-TCIState-r17))
Regarding claim 19, the combination of SHAH and CIRIK, as applied above, renders obvious the BS of claim 16. SHAH does not appear to explicitly disclose:
wherein the processor is further configured to:
transmit a second MAC CE to update the pathloss offset value, and
receive second uplink transmission associated with second transmission power,
wherein the second transmission power is based on an updated pathloss offset value associated with the second MAC CE.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CIRIK teaches:
transmit a second MAC CE to update the pathloss offset value, and receive second uplink transmission associated with second transmission power, wherein the second transmission power is based on an updated pathloss offset value associated with the second MAC CE. (¶ 0460: FIG. 24 shows an example method for pathloss offset update control command in wireless communication. . . . At step 2406, the wireless device may receive (e.g., from a base station) a message (e.g., a medium-access control (MAC) control element (CE)), wherein the MAC-CE may comprise a serving cell identifier indicating the cell, a bandwidth part (BWP) indicator field indicating a BWP of the cell, a TCI state identifier indicating the first TCI state from the list of TCI states, and a pathloss offset field mapped to a second pathloss offset value in a preconfigured table. The preconfigured table may comprise pathloss offset values with increments of a step size. At step 2408, the wireless device may send, via the cell, (e.g., to the base station) second uplink transmissions using a second transmission power, wherein the second transmission power may be determined based on the pathloss reference signal associated with the first TCI state, and the second pathloss offset value indicated by the MAC CE)
Regarding claim 20, the combination of SHAH and CIRIK, as applied above, renders obvious the BS of claim 19. CIRIK further discloses:
wherein the second MAC CE includes at least one of:
a serving cell identifier (ID) field; an uplink bandwidth part (BWP) ID field; a pathloss reference signal ID field; a pathloss reference signal group field; an activated pathloss reference signal ID field; a pathloss offset value field; or a TCI state field. (¶ 0460: [T]he MAC-CE may comprise a serving cell identifier indicating the cell, a bandwidth part (BWP) indicator field indicating a BWP of the cell, a TCI state identifier indicating the first TCI state from the list of TCI states, and a pathloss offset field mapped to a second pathloss offset value in a preconfigured table)
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644