DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-18, 24, and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (US 2015/0086268).
With regards to claim 17 and 27, Johnson et al. discloses a grinder system for a grinder truck (1), comprising: a grinder head (3) including cutting teeth, the grinder head being configured to be rotatably secured to the grinder truck (figure 1-3; paragraph 0021); a controller (55) operatively coupled to the grinder head (paragraph 0025); and a display screen (60) operatively coupled to the controller, the display screen being configured to display an interface, the interface including buttons,wherein one of the buttons is configured such that selection of the one of the buttons causes the controller to control the grinder head to initiate a first motion corresponding to a first cut type; and wherein another of the buttons is configured such that selection of the another of the buttons causes the controller to control the grinder head to initiate a second motion corresponding to a second cut type, the second motion being different from the first motion and the second cut type being different from the first cut type (paragraph 0047; figures 1-10).
As to claim 18 and 28, Johnson discloses wherein the first cut type is one of a rumble cut type, a reflector cut type, a sine wave cut type, and a grind cut type; and wherein the second cut type is another of the rumble cut type, the reflector cut type, the sine wave cut type and the grind cut type (paragraph 0047).
As to claim 24, Johnson et al. discloses wherein the cutting teeth are coated with carbide or diamond (paragraph 0022).
As to claim 26, Johnson et al. discloses wherein the grinder head includes panels (2) concealing the cutting teeth (paragraph 0022).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-23 and 29-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 2015/0086268).
As to claim 19 and 29, Johnson discloses multiple buttons, the buttons corresponding to a different one of: a rumble cut type, a sine wave cut type. Johnson et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Johnson et al. does not explicitly teach four of the buttons corresponding to a different one of: a rumble cut type, a reflector cut type, a sine wave cut type, and a grind cut type. However, it would have been within the level of one skilled in the art to include a button for each cut type as claimed, since it would provide the operator with an easy way to change cut type when operating the machine. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art to modify the grinder system of Johnson et al., to include four buttons as claimed, provide the operator with an easy way to change cut type when operating the machine.
As to claim 20-21 and 30-31, Johnson et al. discloses the controller (60) is configured to control a depth of the first cut type and the second cut type to be cut by the grinder head (paragraph 0008, 0025 and 0042). Johnson et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Johnson et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the interface includes additional buttons configured to receive inputs for selecting a depth. However, it would have be within the level of one skilled in the art to include buttons to control the depth of the grinder head so that the operator can manually control the height of the grinder head. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art to modify the grinder system of Johnson et al., to include button to manually control the depth of the cut.
As to claim 22 and 32, Johnson et al. discloses wherein the interface includes buttons configured to receive inputs for selecting different profiles between cuts of a rumble strip to be cut by the grinder head (paragraph 0047). Johnson et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Johnson et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the interface includes additional buttons configured to receive inputs for selecting a spacing. However, it would have be within the level of one skilled in the art to include buttons to control the spacing between cuts so that the operator can manually control the spacing of the grinder head. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art to modify the grinder system of Johnson et al., to include button to manually control the spacing of the cut.
As to claim 23 and 33, Johnson et al. discloses wherein the interface includes buttons configured to receive inputs for selecting different profiles (paragraph 0047). Johnson et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Johnson et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the interface includes additional buttons configured to receive inputs for selecting a slope of one of the first cut type and the second cut type to be cut by the grinder head. However, it would have be within the level of one skilled in the art to include buttons to control the slope of the cuts so that the operator can manually control the slope of the grinder head. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art to modify the grinder system of Johnson et al., to include button to manually control the slope of the cut.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 2015/0086268) in view of Bertrand (US 5,421,669).
As to claim 25, Johnson et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Johnson et al. does not explicitly teach further comprising three cylinders operably connected to the grinder head and configured to move the grinder head along three mutually perpendicular axes. Bertrand teaches a grinder truck (15) having a grinder head (77) rotatably secured to the truck, and a linear cylinder (34/41) to control x position, a vertical cylinder (53/51/55/57) to control the up/down y position and a horizontal cylinder (29) to control the left/right z position (figure 2). It would have been obvious to on of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Johnson et al to include three cylinders as taught by Bertrand, since it would provide control of the cutter in the x, y, z directions.
Conclusion
/CARIB A OQUENDO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678