DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The applicant is reminded that “As filing a terminal disclaimer, or filing a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the patent’s claims, is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims, the rejection will not be held in abeyance.” (Emphasis added.) See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1.
Claims 1, 9 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,361 B2 to Schoepp (hereinafter “Schoepp”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of 12,214,361 anticipate the claims in the pending application, as discussed below.
Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 of Schoepp teaches a tooth for a fragmenting machine (Claim 1; the fragmenting machine includes a tooth), the tooth comprising:
a main body including a leading working surface and an attachment surface to secure the main body to the fragmenting machine (Claim 1; the tooth includes a main body having an attachment surface and a leading working surface), the attachment surface including an outer perimeter defining a footprint of the tooth (Claim 1), wherein the leading working surface is oriented to face a rotational direction of the fragmenting machine (Claim 1; the leading working surface faces the rotational direction);
a first edge including a plurality of first cutting claws (Claim 1; the first edge includes three cutting claws, i.e., a plurality), each of the plurality of first cutting claws extending beyond the footprint of the tooth (Claim 1), the first edge having a first trailing surface facing opposite from the rotational direction (Claim 1), each of the plurality of first cutting claws including a portion of the leading working surface and a portion of the first trailing surface (Claim 1); and
a second edge having a plurality of second cutting claws (Claim 1; the second edge includes three cutting claws, i.e., a plurality), each of the plurality of second cutting claws extending beyond the footprint of the tooth (Claim 1), the second edge having a second trailing surface facing opposite from the rotational direction (Claim 1), each of the plurality of second cutting claws including a portion of the leading working surface and a portion of the second trailing surface (Claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Claim 1 of Schoepp teaches a tooth for a fragmenting machine (Claim 1; the fragmenting machine includes a tooth), the tooth comprising:
a main body including an attachment surface to secure the main body to the fragmenting machine (Claim 1; the tooth includes a main body having an attachment surface), the attachment surface including an outer perimeter defining a footprint of the tooth (Claim 1);
a first edge including a plurality of first cutting claws (Claim 1; the first edge includes three cutting claws, i.e., a plurality), each of the plurality of first cutting claws extending beyond the footprint of the tooth (Claim 1) and including a first working surface (Claim 1; the tooth includes a leading work surface and the claws include a portion of the leading working surface), the first working surface having a first leading working surface oriented to face a rotational direction of the fragmenting machine and a first trailing working surface oriented to face opposite from the rotational direction (Claim 1; the tooth including the claws includes a first leading working surface facing the rotational direction and a trailing surface opposite from the rotational direction); and
a second edge including a plurality of second cutting claws (Claim 1; the second edge includes three cutting claws, i.e., a plurality), each of the plurality of second cutting claws extending beyond the footprint of the tooth (Claim 1) and including a second working surface (Claim 1; the tooth includes a leading work surface and the claws include a portion of the leading working surface), the second working surface having a second leading working surface oriented to face the rotational direction and a second trailing working surface oriented to face opposite from the rotational direction (Claim 1; the tooth including the claws includes a first leading working surface facing the rotational direction and a trailing surface opposite from the rotational direction).
Regarding claim 20, claim 1 of Schoepp teaches a tooth for a fragmenting machine (Claim 1), the tooth comprising:
a main body including an attachment surface to secure the main body to the fragmenting machine (Claim 1), the attachment surface including an outer perimeter defining a footprint of the tooth (Claim 1); and
a first edge including a plurality of first cutting claws (Claim 1; the first edge includes at least three cutting claws, i.e., a plurality), each of the plurality of first cutting claws extending beyond the footprint of the tooth (Claim 1) and including a first working surface (Claim 1), the first working surface having a first leading working surface oriented to face a rotational direction of the fragmenting machine and a first trailing working surface oriented to face opposite from the rotational direction (Claim 1),
wherein the first leading working surface and the first trailing working surface are configured to fragment a waste material (Claim 1; a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the surfaces of the tooth for a fragmenting machine in claim 1 are configured to fragment a material, including waste material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 20, each of these are independent claims that recite a surface “oriented to face a rotational direction of the fragmenting machine” which renders the claims indefinite because the claims are each directed to a tooth, i.e., the fragmenting machine is not part of the claim, so it is unclear how a surface of the tooth may be oriented to face the rotational direction of a machine that it is not even attached to, e.g., if the tooth is disassembled from the machine then it is unclear how any surface would be oriented to face the rotational direction. For the purpose of examination, these claim limitations will be interpreted as the surface is configured to be oriented to face the rotational direction, i.e., the tooth and surface are capable of being attached to a fragmenting machine and have the surface face the rotational direction. The same issue is present in the limitations regarding the trailing surface facing opposite from the rotational direction, and these phrases will be interpreted as the trailing surface is configured to face the direction opposite to the rotational direction. Claims 2-8 and 10-19 depend from one of claims 1 and 9 and fail to clarify the indefinite language. Claim 10 depends from claim 9 and recites the same language regarding the surface oriented to face the rotational direction, so it is indefinite for the same reasons discussed above and will be interpreted in the same manner.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the claims each recite “a metallic coating covering the leading working surface associated with each of the plurality of first cutting claws and with the first trailing surface” (and claim 6 recites the same but for the second cutting claws) which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear what is required for the leading working surface to be “associated” with each of the plurality of cutting claws and with the first trailing surface, i.e., is this referring to the leading working surface on the cutting claws or is the associated leading surface the surfaces near the claws and trailing surface as well. For the purpose of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as a metallic coating covering the leading working surface. Claim 7 depends from claims 5 and 6 and fails to clarify the indefinite language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2013/0126651 A1 to Carson.
Regarding claim 1, Carson teaches a tooth for a fragmenting machine (Abstract; Fig. 1), the tooth comprising:
a main body including a leading working surface and an attachment surface to secure the main body to the fragmenting machine (Figs. 1 and 6 show the tooth includes a main body including a working surface, i.e., the front facing surface in Fig. 6, and an attachment surface, i.e., the surface attached to the mount in Fig. 6), the attachment surface including an outer perimeter defining a footprint of the tooth (Figs. 1 and 6), wherein the leading working surface is oriented to face a rotational direction of the fragmenting machine (Figs. 1 and 6);
a first edge including a plurality of first cutting claws 24 (Figs. 1-2 and 6), each of the plurality of first cutting claws extending beyond the footprint of the tooth (Fig. 1 shows that the teeth extend beyond the footprint of the tooth because the surfaces under the teeth are inclined such that the footprint is smaller than the leading surface), the first edge having a first trailing surface facing opposite from the rotational direction (Figs. 1-2; Para. [0021]; the teeth each include surfaces under the nose 34 that face opposite to the rotation direction), each of the plurality of first cutting claws including a portion of the leading working surface and a portion of the first trailing surface (Figs. 1-2; Para. [0021]; the top of the teeth are part of the leading surface and the area under nose 34 is the trailing portion); and
a second edge having a plurality of second cutting claws 24 (Figs. 1-2 and 6), each of the plurality of second cutting claws extending beyond the footprint of the tooth (Fig. 1 shows that the teeth extend beyond the footprint of the tooth because the surfaces under the teeth are inclined such that the footprint is smaller than the leading surface), the second edge having a second trailing surface facing opposite from the rotational direction (Figs. 1-2; Para. [0021]; the teeth each include surfaces under the nose 34 that face opposite to the rotation direction), each of the plurality of second cutting claws including a portion of the leading working surface and a portion of the second trailing surface Figs. 1-2; Para. [0021]; the top of the teeth are part of the leading surface and the area under nose 34 is the trailing portion).
Regarding claim 2, Carson teaches the tooth of claim 1 (Figs. 1-2), wherein the main body includes an opening extending therethrough to receive a fastener, wherein the fastener is configured to secure the tooth to the fragmenting machine (Figs. 1 and 6 show that the main body of the tooth includes an opening, and a fastener is received in that opening to secure the tooth to a machine).
Regarding claim 3, Carson teaches the tooth of claim 2 (Figs. 1-2), wherein the main body includes a cavity to receive a head of the fastener therein Figs. 1 and 2 show that the main body includes a cavity configured to receive a fastener head).
Regarding claim 4, Carson teaches the tooth of claim 3 (Figs. 1-2), wherein the cavity is hex shaped to receive a hex-shaped fastener head (Fig. 1 shows the upper portion of the cavity is hex shaped).
Regarding claim 9, Carson teaches a tooth for a fragmenting machine (Figs. 1 and 6), the tooth comprising:
a main body including an attachment surface to secure the main body to the fragmenting machine (Figs. 1 and 6 show the tooth includes a main body including an attachment surface, i.e., the surface attached to the mount in Fig. 6), the attachment surface including an outer perimeter defining a footprint of the tooth (Figs. 1 and 6);
a first edge including a plurality of first cutting claws 24 (Figs. 1-2 and 6), each of the plurality of first cutting claws 24 extending beyond the footprint of the tooth (Fig. 1 shows that the teeth extend beyond the footprint of the tooth because the surfaces under the teeth are inclined such that the footprint is smaller than the leading surface) and including a first working surface (Figs. 1 and 6), the first working surface having a first leading working surface oriented to face a rotational direction of the fragmenting machine (Figs. 1-2 and 6; Para. [0021]; the teeth each include surfaces on the top that would face the rotational direction, as shown in Fig. 6) and a first trailing working surface oriented to face opposite from the rotational direction (Figs. 1-2; Para. [0021]; the teeth each include surfaces under the nose 34 that face opposite to the rotation direction); and
a second edge including a plurality of second cutting claws 24 (Figs. 1-2 and 6), each of the plurality of second cutting claws 24 extending beyond the footprint of the tooth (Fig. 1 shows that the teeth extend beyond the footprint of the tooth because the surfaces under the teeth are inclined such that the footprint is smaller than the leading surface) and including a second working surface (Figs. 1 and 6), the second working surface having a second leading working surface oriented to face the rotational direction (Figs. 1-2 and 6; Para. [0021]; the teeth each include surfaces on the top that would face the rotational direction, as shown in Fig. 6) and a second trailing working surface oriented to face opposite from the rotational direction (Figs. 1-2; Para. [0021]; the teeth each include surfaces under the nose 34 that face opposite to the rotation direction).
Regarding claim 10, Carson teaches the tooth of claim 9 (Fig. 1), wherein the main body includes a leading body surface oriented to face the rotational direction (Figs. 1 and 6 show that the main body includes a leading surface that is configured to face the rotational direction).
Regarding claim 11, Carson teaches the tooth of claim 10 (Fig. 1), wherein the main body includes an opening extending from the leading body surface to the attachment surface (Figs. 1 and 6 show the opening in the main body), wherein a fastener is receivable through the opening to secure the tooth to the fragmenting machine (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Carson teaches the tooth of claim 11 (Fig. 1), wherein the opening is positioned between the first edge and the second edge (Figs. 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 13, Carson teaches the tooth of claim 12 (Fig. 1), wherein the opening including a cylindrical opening portion and a cavity portion, wherein the cavity portion has a greater diameter than the cylindrical opening portion (Figs. 1 and 6 show that the opening includes a larger hexagonal shaped cavity on the top surface and a cylindrical opening at the bottom of the cavity, i.e., the fastener in Fig. 6 is shown having a cylindrical body that has been received within the opening).
Regarding claim 14, Carson teaches the tooth of claim 13 (Fig. 1), wherein a head of the fastener is receivable within the cavity portion and configured to engage the cavity portion (Figs. 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 15, Carson teaches the tooth of claim 14 (Fig. 1), the cavity portion is hex shaped to receive a hex-shaped fastener head (Figs. 1 and 6 show the cavity is hex shaped).
Regarding claim 16, Carson teaches the tooth of claim 9 (Fig. 1), wherein the first leading working surface and the first trailing working surface are configured to engage and fragment a waste material (Figs. 1 and 6; the tooth is capable of fragmenting waste material depending on the hardness of the waste).
Regarding claim 20, Carson teaches the tooth for a fragmenting machine (Figs. 1 and 6), the tooth comprising:
a main body including an attachment surface to secure the main body to the fragmenting machine, the attachment surface including an outer perimeter defining a footprint of the tooth (Figs. 1 and 6 show the tooth includes a main body including an attachment surface, i.e., the surface attached to the mount in Fig. 6); and
a first edge including a plurality of first cutting claws 24 (Figs. 1-2 and 6), each of the plurality of first cutting claws extending beyond the footprint of the tooth (Fig. 1 shows that the teeth extend beyond the footprint of the tooth because the surfaces under the teeth are inclined such that the footprint is smaller than the leading surface) and including a first working surface (Figs. 1 and 6 show the tooth includes a first working surface, i.e., the front of the tooth in Fig. 6), the first working surface having a first leading working surface oriented to face a rotational direction of the fragmenting machine (Figs. 1 and 6) and a first trailing working surface oriented to face opposite from the rotational direction (Figs. 1-2; Para. [0021]; the top of the teeth are part of the leading surface and the area under nose 34 is the trailing portion),
wherein the first leading working surface and the first trailing working surface are configured to fragment a waste material (Figs. 1 and 6; the tooth is capable of fragmenting waste material depending on the hardness of the waste).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carson in view of US 2002/0125353 A1 to Bardos.
Regarding claim 5, Carson teaches the tooth of claim 1 (Figs. 1-2).
Carson fails to explicitly teach the tooth further comprising a metallic coating covering the leading working surface associated with each of the plurality of first cutting claws and with the first trailing surface.
Bardos teaches a tooth for a fragmenting machine including a metallic coating on the outer surface of the tooth (Figs. 8-10; Paras. [0062] and [0064]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the tooth of Carson to include a metallic coating as taught by Bardos so that the tooth may be protected from wear by the coating (Bardos, Paras. [0062] and [0064]). It is noted that providing the wear material on the working surfaces of the tooth in Carson results in the metallic coating covering the leading working surface and the trailing surface associated with the first cutting claws.
Regarding claim 6, modified Carson teaches the tooth of claim 5 (Figs. 1-2), wherein the metallic coating covers the leading working surface associated with each of the plurality of second cutting claws and with the second trailing surface (Bardos, Paras. [0062] and [0064]; Figs. 8-10; modified Carson includes the metallic coating of Bardos, which is applied to the working surfaces and therefore would also cover the leading working surface and trailing surfaces associated with the second cutting claws.
Regarding claim 7, modified Carson teaches the tooth of claim 6 (Figs. 1-2), wherein the metallic coating is a welded overlay (Bardos, Paras. [0062] and [0064]; Figs. 8-10; modified Carson includes the metallic coating of Bardos, which teaches that the metallic coating is welded-on).
Regarding claim 17, Carson teaches the tooth of claim 9 (Fig. 1).
Carson fails to explicitly teach the tooth further comprising a metallic coating covering the first leading working surface, the first trailing working surface, the second leading working surface, and the second trailing working surface.
Bardos teaches a tooth for a fragmenting machine including a metallic coating on the outer surface of the tooth (Figs. 8-10; Paras. [0062] and [0064]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the tooth of Carson to include a metallic coating as taught by Bardos so that the tooth may be protected from wear by the coating (Bardos, Paras. [0062] and [0064]). It is noted that providing the wear material on the working surfaces of the tooth in Carson results in the metallic coating covering the leading working surfaces and the trailing surfaces.
Regarding claim 18, modified Carson teaches the tooth of claim 17 (Fig. 1), wherein the metallic coating is a welded overlay (Bardos, Paras. [0062] and [0064]; Figs. 8-10; modified Carson includes the metallic coating of Bardos, which teaches that the metallic coating is welded-on).
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carson.
Regarding claim 8, Carson teaches the tooth of claim 1 (Fig. 1).
Carson fails to explicitly teach wherein the main body, the plurality of first cutting claws, and the plurality of second cutting claws are integrally formed in a single casting. However, making a device that is multiple parts integral has been held to be “merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.” MPEP 2144.04(V)(B) (citing In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965)). In Carson, the claw is a separate component and a different material than the tooth body (Para. [0018]), and the material of the claw is harder so as to have more wear resistance than the material of the tooth body (Id.). It would have been a matter of obvious engineering choice to form the tooth of Carson as a single casting made from the material of the claw (i.e., tungsten carbide or steel) so that the entire tooth has higher wear resistance.
Regarding claim 19, Carson teaches the tooth of claim 9 (Fig. 1).
Carson fails to explicitly teach wherein the main body, the plurality of first cutting claws, and the plurality of second cutting claws are integrally formed in a single casting. However, making a device that is multiple parts integral has been held to be “merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.” MPEP 2144.04(V)(B) (citing In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965)). In Carson, the claw is a separate component and a different material than the tooth body (Para. [0018]), and the material of the claw is harder so as to have more wear resistance than the material of the tooth body (Id.). It would have been a matter of obvious engineering choice to form the tooth of Carson as a single casting made from the material of the tooth (i.e., tungsten carbide or steel) so that the entire tooth has higher wear resistance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2011/0226880 A1 (Figs. 3-5) US D567,832 S (Figs. 1-5) and US 2003/0116665 A1 (Figs. 2-4 and 9-10) each teach a tooth for a fragmenting machine including a first claw and a second claw, i.e., the angled edges on top of the tooth, with the claws extending beyond the footprint of the attachment surface of the tooth.
/MATTHEW STEPHENS/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/JARED O BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725 30 September 2026