DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are cancelled by a preliminary amendment. Claims 21-41 are pending in this application.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers related to the foreign provisional application JP 2021-099667 (15 June 2021), to which Applicant’s has claimed priority, as required by 37 CFR 1.55. However, Applicant is advised that an English language translation has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting Rejections
Claims 21, 32 and 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 15 of US Patent 12,236,045 issued from co-pending Application No. 17/837,076 (parent application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same and overlapping robotic surgical system and methods of use thereof comprising a moveable medical cart comprising a robot arm, a controller, imaging components, and displays that provide guide information based on the images. The parent application is a species that anticipates the genera of instant claims 21, 32 and 41, providing pivot positioning guidance as well as overlay (superimposed) guide information.
Claims 21, 32 and 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 15 of US Patent 12,441,001 issued from copending Application No. 18/392568 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same and overlapping robotic surgical system and methods of use thereof comprising a moveable medical cart comprising a robot arm, a controller, imaging components, and displays that provide guide information based on the images. The ‘568 application is a species that anticipates the genera of instant claims 21, 32 and 41, providing pivot positioning guidance as well as overlay (superimposed) guide information.
Claims 21, 32 and 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 , 16, 17, of US Patent 12,527,634 issued from copending Application No. 17/580,681 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same and overlapping robotic surgical system and methods of use thereof comprising displays that overlap or superimpose guide information. The ‘681 application is a species that anticipates the generas of instant claims 21, 32 and 41.
Claims 21, 32 and 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13, and 16 of copending Application No. 18/259082 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same and overlapping robotic surgical system and methods of use thereof comprising a moveable medical cart comprising a robot main body, a controller, imaging components, and displays that provide guide information based on the images. The ‘082 application is a genera that is anticipated by the species of instant claims 21, 32 and 41, providing superimposed guide information.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 32, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Larkin et al. (US PGPub 2008/0004603).
Consider Claims 21, 32 and 41.
Claim 21. Larkin teaches:
21. (New) A surgical robot comprising: (Larkin: abstract, An endoscope captures images of a surgical site for display in a viewing area of a monitor. When a tool is outside the viewing area, a GUI indicates the position of the tool by positioning a symbol in a boundary area around the viewing area so as to indicate the tool position. The distance of the out-of-view tool from the viewing area may be indicated by the size, color, brightness, or blinking or oscillation frequency of the symbol. A distance number may also be displayed on the symbol. The orientation of the shaft or end effector of the tool may be indicated by an orientation indicator superimposed over the symbol, or by the orientation of the symbol itself. When the tool is inside the viewing area, but occluded by an object, the GUI superimposes a ghost tool at its current position and orientation over the occluding object. [0014] [0027] FIG. 1 illustrates, as an example, a top view of an operating room employing a robotic surgical system. The robotic surgical system in this case is a Minimally Invasive Robotic Surgical (MIRS) system 100 including a Console (“C”) utilized by a Surgeon (“S”) while performing a minimally invasive diagnostic or surgical procedure, usually with assistance from one or more Assistants (“A”), on a Patient (“P”) who is lying down on an Operating table (“O”).)
21. a robot main body including a manipulator arm to which a surgical instrument is attached; (Larkin: [0029] [0031] The number of surgical tools used at one time and consequently, the number of robotic arms being used in the system 100 will generally depend on the diagnostic or surgical procedure and the space constraints within the operating room, among other factors. If it is necessary to change one or more of the tools being used during a procedure, the Surgeon may instruct the Assistant to remove the tool no longer being used from its robotic arm, and replace it with another tool 131 from a Tray (“T”) in the operating room. To aid the Assistant in identifying the tool to be replaced, each of the robotic arms 122, 128 and 129 may have an identifying number or color indicator printed on it, such as on its setup joint.)
21.a medical cart including a steering wheel, the medical cart moving the robot main body; (Examiner Note: master manipulators includes control devices108 and input devices 109 includes hand operated controllers, listing several types and would anticipate a steering wheel; Larkin: [0028] The Console includes a 3-D monitor 104 for displaying an image of a surgical site to the Surgeon, one or more manipulatable master manipulators 108 and 109 (also referred to herein as “control devices” and “input devices”), and a processor 102. The control devices 108 and 109 may include any one or more of a variety of input devices such as joysticks, gloves, trigger-guns, hand-operated controllers, or the like. The processor 102 is a personal computer that is integrated into the Console or positioned next to it.)
21.an imaging device on the robot main body; (Larkin: [0029] The Surgeon performs a minimally invasive surgical procedure by manipulating the control devices 108 and 109 so that the processor 102 causes their respectively associated slave manipulators 128 and 129 (also referred to herein as “robotic arms” and “patient-side manipulators”) to manipulate their respective removably coupled surgical instruments 138 and 139 (also referred to herein as “tools”) accordingly, while the Surgeon views the surgical site in 3-D, as it is captured by a stereoscopic endoscope 140 (having left and right cameras for capturing left and right stereo views) and displayed on the Console 3-D monitor 104.)
21.a display to display an image of a patient captured by the imaging device; (Larkin: [0028] The Console includes a 3-D monitor 104 for displaying an image of a surgical site to the Surgeon, one or more manipulatable master manipulators 108 and 109 (also referred to herein as “control devices” and “input devices”), and a processor 102. The control devices 108 and 109 may include any one or more of a variety of input devices such as joysticks, gloves, trigger-guns, hand-operated controllers, or the like. The processor 102 is a personal computer that is integrated into the Console or positioned next to it. [0032] Preferably, the monitor 104 is positioned near the Surgeon's hands so that it will display a projected image that is oriented so that the Surgeon feels that he or she is actually looking directly down onto the operating site. To that end, an image of the tools 138 and 139 preferably appear to be located substantially where the Surgeon's hands are located. To do this, the processor 102 preferably changes the orientations of the control devices 108 and 109 so as to match the orientations of their associated tools 138 and 139 as seen by the endoscope 140.)
21.and a controller configured to: display a mark at a fixed position on the display, the mark representing a relative position of the robot main body and the patient; (Larkin: [0033] The processor 102 performs various functions in the system 100. One important function that it performs is to translate and transfer the mechanical motion of control devices 108 and 109 to their respective robotic arms 128 and 129 through control signals over bus 110 so that the Surgeon can effectively move and/or manipulate their respective tools 138 and 139. Another important function is to implement a method for indicating positions of a tool when the tool is outside a camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, or occluded within the camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, as described herein. Still another important function is to implement a method for readily identifying tools and/or their respective patient-side manipulators on the monitor 104 to facilitate Surgeon/Assistant communications. [0036] To indicate tool positions to the Surgeon for out-of-view or occluded tools, the processor 102 is configured with a Graphical User Interface (“GUI”) computer program which implements a method for indicating tool positions on the monitor 104, as described in reference to FIG. 8. Before describing this aspect of the GUI, however, examples of output generated by the GUI are illustrated and described in reference to FIGS. 4-7.)
21.superimpose guide information indicating a moving direction of the medical cart based on the steering wheel on the image captured by the imaging device and display the guide information; (Larkin: [0040] Although the tools shown in FIGS. 4-7 appear as 2-D images, it is to be appreciated that this is not to be construed as a limitation, but rather as a simplification for descriptive purposes only. Preferably, 3-D images are displayed in the viewing area 300. The symbols and in particular, end effector or tool shaft orientation indications superimposed on the symbols, may appear in 2-D or 3-D in the boundary area 400. Also, although the examples described herein refer to images captured by the endoscope 140, it is to be appreciated that the various aspects of the present invention are also applicable to images captured by other types of imaging devices such as those using MRI, ultrasound, or other imaging modalities, which may be displayed in the viewing area 300 of the monitor 104. [0041] FIG. 4 illustrates, as a first example, a GUI generated screen that is displayed on the monitor 104, wherein a first symbol 410 is placed in the boundary area 400 to indicate the position of the out-of-view tool 138, and an orientation indicator 411 is superimposed on the symbol 410 to indicate the current orientation of an end effector 215 of the out-of-view tool 138. An in-view tool 139 is shown partially extending into the viewing area 300 from a second symbol 420 in the boundary area 400.)
21.and change the guide information based on a change in the steering wheel. (Larkin: [0029] The Surgeon performs a minimally invasive surgical procedure by manipulating the control devices 108 and 109 so that the processor 102 causes their respectively associated slave manipulators 128 and 129 (also referred to herein as “robotic arms” and “patient-side manipulators”) to manipulate their respective removably coupled surgical instruments 138 and 139 (also referred to herein as “tools”) accordingly, while the Surgeon views the surgical site in 3-D, as it is captured by a stereoscopic endoscope 140 (having left and right cameras for capturing left and right stereo views) and displayed on the Console 3-D monitor 104. [0033] The processor 102 performs various functions in the system 100. One important function that it performs is to translate and transfer the mechanical motion of control devices 108 and 109 to their respective robotic arms 128 and 129 through control signals over bus 110 so that the Surgeon can effectively move and/or manipulate their respective tools 138 and 139. Another important function is to implement a method for indicating positions of a tool when the tool is outside a camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, or occluded within the camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, as described herein. Still another important function is to implement a method for readily identifying tools and/or their respective patient-side manipulators on the monitor 104 to facilitate Surgeon/Assistant communications.)
Claim 32. Larkin teaches:
Larkin teaches:
32. (New) A control method of a surgical robot, the control method comprising (Larkin: abstract, An endoscope captures images of a surgical site for display in a viewing area of a monitor. When a tool is outside the viewing area, a GUI indicates the position of the tool by positioning a symbol in a boundary area around the viewing area so as to indicate the tool position. The distance of the out-of-view tool from the viewing area may be indicated by the size, color, brightness, or blinking or oscillation frequency of the symbol. A distance number may also be displayed on the symbol. The orientation of the shaft or end effector of the tool may be indicated by an orientation indicator superimposed over the symbol, or by the orientation of the symbol itself. When the tool is inside the viewing area, but occluded by an object, the GUI superimposes a ghost tool at its current position and orientation over the occluding object. [0014] [0027] FIG. 1 illustrates, as an example, a top view of an operating room employing a robotic surgical system. The robotic surgical system in this case is a Minimally Invasive Robotic Surgical (MIRS) system 100 including a Console (“C”) utilized by a Surgeon (“S”) while performing a minimally invasive diagnostic or surgical procedure, usually with assistance from one or more Assistants (“A”), on a Patient (“P”) who is lying down on an Operating table (“O”).)
32. :capturing an image by an imaging device; (Larkin: [0029] The Surgeon performs a minimally invasive surgical procedure by manipulating the control devices 108 and 109 so that the processor 102 causes their respectively associated slave manipulators 128 and 129 (also referred to herein as “robotic arms” and “patient-side manipulators”) to manipulate their respective removably coupled surgical instruments 138 and 139 (also referred to herein as “tools”) accordingly, while the Surgeon views the surgical site in 3-D, as it is captured by a stereoscopic endoscope 140 (having left and right cameras for capturing left and right stereo views) and displayed on the Console 3-D monitor 104.)
32. displaying an image of a patient captured by the imaging device on a display; (Larkin: [0028] The Console includes a 3-D monitor 104 for displaying an image of a surgical site to the Surgeon, one or more manipulatable master manipulators 108 and 109 (also referred to herein as “control devices” and “input devices”), and a processor 102. The control devices 108 and 109 may include any one or more of a variety of input devices such as joysticks, gloves, trigger-guns, hand-operated controllers, or the like. The processor 102 is a personal computer that is integrated into the Console or positioned next to it. [0032] Preferably, the monitor 104 is positioned near the Surgeon's hands so that it will display a projected image that is oriented so that the Surgeon feels that he or she is actually looking directly down onto the operating site. To that end, an image of the tools 138 and 139 preferably appear to be located substantially where the Surgeon's hands are located. To do this, the processor 102 preferably changes the orientations of the control devices 108 and 109 so as to match the orientations of their associated tools 138 and 139 as seen by the endoscope 140.)
32. receiving a steering operation on a steering wheel of a medical cart that moves a robot main body including a manipulator arm to which a surgical instrument is attached; (Examiner Note: master manipulators includes control devices108 and input devices 109 includes hand operated controllers, listing several types and would anticipate a steering wheel; Larkin: [0028] The Console includes a 3-D monitor 104 for displaying an image of a surgical site to the Surgeon, one or more manipulatable master manipulators 108 and 109 (also referred to herein as “control devices” and “input devices”), and a processor 102. The control devices 108 and 109 may include any one or more of a variety of input devices such as joysticks, gloves, trigger-guns, hand-operated controllers, or the like. The processor 102 is a personal computer that is integrated into the Console or positioned next to it.)
32. displaying a mark at a fixed position on the display, the mark representing a relative position of the robot main body and the patient; (Larkin: [0033] The processor 102 performs various functions in the system 100. One important function that it performs is to translate and transfer the mechanical motion of control devices 108 and 109 to their respective robotic arms 128 and 129 through control signals over bus 110 so that the Surgeon can effectively move and/or manipulate their respective tools 138 and 139. Another important function is to implement a method for indicating positions of a tool when the tool is outside a camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, or occluded within the camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, as described herein. Still another important function is to implement a method for readily identifying tools and/or their respective patient-side manipulators on the monitor 104 to facilitate Surgeon/Assistant communications. [0036] To indicate tool positions to the Surgeon for out-of-view or occluded tools, the processor 102 is configured with a Graphical User Interface (“GUI”) computer program which implements a method for indicating tool positions on the monitor 104, as described in reference to FIG. 8. Before describing this aspect of the GUI, however, examples of output generated by the GUI are illustrated and described in reference to FIGS. 4-7.)
32. superimposing guide information indicating a moving direction of the medical cart based on a steering wheel on the image captured by the imaging device and displaying the guide information on the display; (Larkin: [0040] Although the tools shown in FIGS. 4-7 appear as 2-D images, it is to be appreciated that this is not to be construed as a limitation, but rather as a simplification for descriptive purposes only. Preferably, 3-D images are displayed in the viewing area 300. The symbols and in particular, end effector or tool shaft orientation indications superimposed on the symbols, may appear in 2-D or 3-D in the boundary area 400. Also, although the examples described herein refer to images captured by the endoscope 140, it is to be appreciated that the various aspects of the present invention are also applicable to images captured by other types of imaging devices such as those using MRI, ultrasound, or other imaging modalities, which may be displayed in the viewing area 300 of the monitor 104. [0041] FIG. 4 illustrates, as a first example, a GUI generated screen that is displayed on the monitor 104, wherein a first symbol 410 is placed in the boundary area 400 to indicate the position of the out-of-view tool 138, and an orientation indicator 411 is superimposed on the symbol 410 to indicate the current orientation of an end effector 215 of the out-of-view tool 138. An in-view tool 139 is shown partially extending into the viewing area 300 from a second symbol 420 in the boundary area 400.)
32. and changing the guide information based on changing the steering wheel. (Larkin: [0029] The Surgeon performs a minimally invasive surgical procedure by manipulating the control devices 108 and 109 so that the processor 102 causes their respectively associated slave manipulators 128 and 129 (also referred to herein as “robotic arms” and “patient-side manipulators”) to manipulate their respective removably coupled surgical instruments 138 and 139 (also referred to herein as “tools”) accordingly, while the Surgeon views the surgical site in 3-D, as it is captured by a stereoscopic endoscope 140 (having left and right cameras for capturing left and right stereo views) and displayed on the Console 3-D monitor 104. [0033] The processor 102 performs various functions in the system 100. One important function that it performs is to translate and transfer the mechanical motion of control devices 108 and 109 to their respective robotic arms 128 and 129 through control signals over bus 110 so that the Surgeon can effectively move and/or manipulate their respective tools 138 and 139. Another important function is to implement a method for indicating positions of a tool when the tool is outside a camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, or occluded within the camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, as described herein. Still another important function is to implement a method for readily identifying tools and/or their respective patient-side manipulators on the monitor 104 to facilitate Surgeon/Assistant communications.)
21. a robot main body including a manipulator arm to which a surgical instrument is attached; (Larkin: [0029] [0031] The number of surgical tools used at one time and consequently, the number of robotic arms being used in the system 100 will generally depend on the diagnostic or surgical procedure and the space constraints within the operating room, among other factors. If it is necessary to change one or more of the tools being used during a procedure, the Surgeon may instruct the Assistant to remove the tool no longer being used from its robotic arm, and replace it with another tool 131 from a Tray (“T”) in the operating room. To aid the Assistant in identifying the tool to be replaced, each of the robotic arms 122, 128 and 129 may have an identifying number or color indicator printed on it, such as on its setup joint.)
Claim 41. Larkin teaches:
Larkin teaches:
41. (New) A surgical robot comprising: (Larkin: abstract, An endoscope captures images of a surgical site for display in a viewing area of a monitor. When a tool is outside the viewing area, a GUI indicates the position of the tool by positioning a symbol in a boundary area around the viewing area so as to indicate the tool position. The distance of the out-of-view tool from the viewing area may be indicated by the size, color, brightness, or blinking or oscillation frequency of the symbol. A distance number may also be displayed on the symbol. The orientation of the shaft or end effector of the tool may be indicated by an orientation indicator superimposed over the symbol, or by the orientation of the symbol itself. When the tool is inside the viewing area, but occluded by an object, the GUI superimposes a ghost tool at its current position and orientation over the occluding object. [0014] [0027] FIG. 1 illustrates, as an example, a top view of an operating room employing a robotic surgical system. The robotic surgical system in this case is a Minimally Invasive Robotic Surgical (MIRS) system 100 including a Console (“C”) utilized by a Surgeon (“S”) while performing a minimally invasive diagnostic or surgical procedure, usually with assistance from one or more Assistants (“A”), on a Patient (“P”) who is lying down on an Operating table (“O”).)
41. a robot main body including a manipulator arm to which a surgical instrument is attached; (Larkin: [0029] [0031] The number of surgical tools used at one time and consequently, the number of robotic arms being used in the system 100 will generally depend on the diagnostic or surgical procedure and the space constraints within the operating room, among other factors. If it is necessary to change one or more of the tools being used during a procedure, the Surgeon may instruct the Assistant to remove the tool no longer being used from its robotic arm, and replace it with another tool 131 from a Tray (“T”) in the operating room. To aid the Assistant in identifying the tool to be replaced, each of the robotic arms 122, 128 and 129 may have an identifying number or color indicator printed on it, such as on its setup joint.)
41. a medical cart moving the robot main body; (Examiner Note: master manipulators includes control devices108 and input devices 109 includes hand operated controllers, listing several types and would anticipate a steering wheel; Larkin: [0028] The Console includes a 3-D monitor 104 for displaying an image of a surgical site to the Surgeon, one or more manipulatable master manipulators 108 and 109 (also referred to herein as “control devices” and “input devices”), and a processor 102. The control devices 108 and 109 may include any one or more of a variety of input devices such as joysticks, gloves, trigger-guns, hand-operated controllers, or the like. The processor 102 is a personal computer that is integrated into the Console or positioned next to it.)
41. an imaging device on the robot main body; (Larkin: [0029] The Surgeon performs a minimally invasive surgical procedure by manipulating the control devices 108 and 109 so that the processor 102 causes their respectively associated slave manipulators 128 and 129 (also referred to herein as “robotic arms” and “patient-side manipulators”) to manipulate their respective removably coupled surgical instruments 138 and 139 (also referred to herein as “tools”) accordingly, while the Surgeon views the surgical site in 3-D, as it is captured by a stereoscopic endoscope 140 (having left and right cameras for capturing left and right stereo views) and displayed on the Console 3-D monitor 104.)
41. a display to display an image of a patient captured by the imaging device; (Larkin: [0028] The Console includes a 3-D monitor 104 for displaying an image of a surgical site to the Surgeon, one or more manipulatable master manipulators 108 and 109 (also referred to herein as “control devices” and “input devices”), and a processor 102. The control devices 108 and 109 may include any one or more of a variety of input devices such as joysticks, gloves, trigger-guns, hand-operated controllers, or the like. The processor 102 is a personal computer that is integrated into the Console or positioned next to it. [0032] Preferably, the monitor 104 is positioned near the Surgeon's hands so that it will display a projected image that is oriented so that the Surgeon feels that he or she is actually looking directly down onto the operating site. To that end, an image of the tools 138 and 139 preferably appear to be located substantially where the Surgeon's hands are located. To do this, the processor 102 preferably changes the orientations of the control devices 108 and 109 so as to match the orientations of their associated tools 138 and 139 as seen by the endoscope 140.)
41. and a controller configured to: display a mark at a fixed position on the display, the mark representing a relative position of the robot main body and the patient; (Larkin: [0033] The processor 102 performs various functions in the system 100. One important function that it performs is to translate and transfer the mechanical motion of control devices 108 and 109 to their respective robotic arms 128 and 129 through control signals over bus 110 so that the Surgeon can effectively move and/or manipulate their respective tools 138 and 139. Another important function is to implement a method for indicating positions of a tool when the tool is outside a camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, or occluded within the camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, as described herein. Still another important function is to implement a method for readily identifying tools and/or their respective patient-side manipulators on the monitor 104 to facilitate Surgeon/Assistant communications. [0036] To indicate tool positions to the Surgeon for out-of-view or occluded tools, the processor 102 is configured with a Graphical User Interface (“GUI”) computer program which implements a method for indicating tool positions on the monitor 104, as described in reference to FIG. 8. Before describing this aspect of the GUI, however, examples of output generated by the GUI are illustrated and described in reference to FIGS. 4-7.)
41. superimpose guide information indicating a moving direction of the medical cart based on a position of the imaging device with respect to a posture of the robot main body on the image captured by the imaging device and display the guide information; (Larkin: [0040] Although the tools shown in FIGS. 4-7 appear as 2-D images, it is to be appreciated that this is not to be construed as a limitation, but rather as a simplification for descriptive purposes only. Preferably, 3-D images are displayed in the viewing area 300. The symbols and in particular, end effector or tool shaft orientation indications superimposed on the symbols, may appear in 2-D or 3-D in the boundary area 400. Also, although the examples described herein refer to images captured by the endoscope 140, it is to be appreciated that the various aspects of the present invention are also applicable to images captured by other types of imaging devices such as those using MRI, ultrasound, or other imaging modalities, which may be displayed in the viewing area 300 of the monitor 104. [0041] FIG. 4 illustrates, as a first example, a GUI generated screen that is displayed on the monitor 104, wherein a first symbol 410 is placed in the boundary area 400 to indicate the position of the out-of-view tool 138, and an orientation indicator 411 is superimposed on the symbol 410 to indicate the current orientation of an end effector 215 of the out-of-view tool 138. An in-view tool 139 is shown partially extending into the viewing area 300 from a second symbol 420 in the boundary area 400.)
41. and change the guide information based on the position of the imaging device with respect to the posture of the robot main body. (Larkin: [0029] The Surgeon performs a minimally invasive surgical procedure by manipulating the control devices 108 and 109 so that the processor 102 causes their respectively associated slave manipulators 128 and 129 (also referred to herein as “robotic arms” and “patient-side manipulators”) to manipulate their respective removably coupled surgical instruments 138 and 139 (also referred to herein as “tools”) accordingly, while the Surgeon views the surgical site in 3-D, as it is captured by a stereoscopic endoscope 140 (having left and right cameras for capturing left and right stereo views) and displayed on the Console 3-D monitor 104. [0033] The processor 102 performs various functions in the system 100. One important function that it performs is to translate and transfer the mechanical motion of control devices 108 and 109 to their respective robotic arms 128 and 129 through control signals over bus 110 so that the Surgeon can effectively move and/or manipulate their respective tools 138 and 139. Another important function is to implement a method for indicating positions of a tool when the tool is outside a camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, or occluded within the camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, as described herein. Still another important function is to implement a method for readily identifying tools and/or their respective patient-side manipulators on the monitor 104 to facilitate Surgeon/Assistant communications.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larkin et al. (US PGPub 2008/0004603), in view of Meyer et al. (US Patent 10,016,900), hereby referred to as “Meyer”.
Consider Claims 21-22, 32-33 and 41.
Larkin teaches the robot of Claim 21 , the control method of Claim 32 and the robot of Claim 41.
Even if Larkin does not specifically teach a “steering wheel” or the features of Claims 22 and 33.
Meyer teaches:
21. (New) A surgical robot comprising: / 32. (New) A control method of a surgical robot, the control method comprising (Meyer: abstract, Certain aspects relate to systems and techniques for surgical robotic arm admittance control. In one aspect, there is provided a system including a robotic arm and a processor. The processor may be configured to determine a force at a reference point on the robotic arm based on an output of a torque sensor and receive an indication of a direction of movement of the reference point. The processor may also determine that a component of the force is in the same direction as the direction of movement of the reference point, generate at least one parameter indicative of a target resistance to movement of the robotic arm, and control the motor, based on the at least one parameter, to move the robotic arm in accordance with the target resistance.)
21.a medical cart including a steering wheel, the medical cart moving the robot main body; / 32. receiving a steering operation on a steering wheel of a medical cart that moves a robot main body including a manipulator arm to which a surgical instrument is attached; (Meyer: column 3 lines 50-67, column 4 lines 1-10; A. Robotic System—Cart.The robotically-enabled medical system may be configured in a variety of ways depending on the particular procedure. FIG. 1 illustrates an embodiment of a cart-based robotically-enabled system 10 arranged for a diagnostic and/or therapeutic bronchoscopy procedure. During a bronchoscopy, the system 10 may comprise a cart 11 having one or more robotic arms 12 to deliver a medical instrument, such as a steerable endoscope 13, which may be a procedure-specific bronchoscope for bronchoscopy, to a natural orifice access point (i.e., the mouth of the patient positioned on a table in the present example) to deliver diagnostic and/or therapeutic tools. As shown, the cart 11 may be positioned proximate to the patient's upper torso in order to provide access to the access point. Similarly, the robotic arms 12 may be actuated to position the bronchoscope relative to the access point. The arrangement in FIG. 1 may also be utilized when performing a gastro-intestinal (GI) procedure with a gastroscope, a specialized endoscope for GI procedures. FIG. 2 depicts an example embodiment of the cart in greater detail. With continued reference to FIG. 1, once the cart 11 is properly positioned, the robotic arms 12 may insert the steerable endoscope 13 into the patient robotically, manually, or a combination thereof.
22. (New) The surgical robot according to claim 21, wherein the controller is configured to display the guide information based on the steering wheel and a position of the imaging device with respect to a posture of the robot main body. / 33. (New) The control method of a surgical robot according to claim 32, wherein the displaying of the guide information on the display includes displaying the guide information on the display based on the steering wheel and a position of the imaging device with respect to a posture of the robot main body. (Meyer: Column 5 lines 3-29, While the cart 11 may be positioned close to the patient, the tower 30 may be stowed in a remote location to stay out of the way during a procedure. In support of the robotic systems described above, the tower 30 may include component(s) of a computer-based control system that stores computer program instructions, for example, within a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium such as a persistent magnetic storage drive, solid state drive, etc. The execution of those instructions, whether the execution occurs in the tower 30 or the cart 11, may control the entire system or sub-system(s) thereof. For example, when executed by a processor of the computer system, the instructions may cause the components of the robotics system to actuate the relevant carriages and arm mounts, actuate the robotics arms, and control the medical instruments. For example, in response to receiving the control signal, the motors in the joints of the robotics arms may position the arms into a certain posture. Column 7 lines 6-37, The cart base 15 balances the weight of the column 14, carriage 17, and arms 12 over the floor. Accordingly, the cart base 15 houses heavier components, such as electronics, motors, power supply, as well as components that either enable movement and/or immobilize the cart. For example, the cart base 15 includes rollable wheel-shaped casters 25 that allow for the cart to easily move around the room prior to a procedure. After reaching the appropriate position, the casters 25 may be immobilized using wheel locks to hold the cart 11 in place during the procedure. Positioned at the vertical end of column 14, the console 16 allows for both a user interface for receiving user input and a display screen (or a dual-purpose device such as, for example, a touchscreen 26) to provide the physician user with both pre-operative and intra-operative data. Potential pre-operative data on the touchscreen 26 may include pre-operative plans, navigation and mapping data derived from pre-operative computerized tomography (CT) scans, and/or notes from pre-operative patient interviews. Intra-operative data on display may include optical information provided from the tool, sensor and coordinate information from sensors, as well as vital patient statistics, such as respiration, heart rate, and/or pulse. The console 16 may be positioned and tilted to allow a physician to access the console from the side of the column 14 opposite carriage 17. From this position the physician may view the console 16, robotic arms 12, and patient while operating the console 16 from behind the cart 11. As shown, the console 16 also includes a handle 27 to assist with maneuvering and stabilizing cart 11. FIG. 3 illustrates an embodiment of a robotically-enabled system 10 arranged for ureteroscopy.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Larkin’s method and system for surgical assistance and guidance using a computerized GUI-based tool position indicator with the improvements of Meyer for the surgical robotic arm admittance control. The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following findings: Both are directed towards the same field of endeavor, and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Larkin in order to ensure the incorporation of Meyer’s algorithm for ascertaining position and posture using image analysis into the overall surgical guidance and assistance algorithm. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Larkin, while the teaching of Meyer continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of ensuring that the overall display of the guide information further incorporates in both posture and position of the arm and different tools. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Consider Claim 23 and 34.
The combination of Larkin and Meyer teaches:
23. (New) The surgical robot according to claim 21, wherein the guide information includes a guideline extending along the moving direction of the medical cart from a vicinity of a center of a display screen of the display. / 34. (New) The control method of a surgical robot according to claim 32, wherein the guide information includes a guideline extending along the moving direction of the medical cart from a vicinity of a center of a display screen of the display. (Larkin: [0037] In each of the FIGS. 4-7, the viewing area 300 of the monitor 104 may correspond to the FOV of the endoscope 140 (with proper scaling of the entire FOV) such as depicted in FIG. 10, or it may correspond to only a portion of the FOV of the endoscope 140 (with proper scaling corresponding to a ZOOM-IN of images in the portion of the FOV displayed on the monitor 104) such as depicted in FIG. 11. Tools within the viewing area 300 are seen in bold line in the viewing area 300. Circumscribing the viewing area 300 is a boundary area 400, in which, non-clickable symbols or clickable icons (hereinafter cumulatively referred to as “symbols”) are positioned so as to indicate positions of corresponding tools. [0039] Tools outside the viewing area 300 are seen in dotted line for the purposes of explaining certain aspects of the method implemented by the GUI. It is to be appreciated that these dotted lined tools (or dotted line tool extensions) are not seen by the Surgeon on the monitor 104. Their relative positions with respect to the viewing area 300 in FIGS. 4-7, however, correspond to their relative positions in or to the FOV of the endoscope 140 in the endoscope camera frame of reference. Meyer: column 14 lines 21-47, As shown in FIG. 15, the localization system 90 may include a localization module 95 that processes input data 91-94 to generate location data 96 for the distal tip of a medical instrument. The location data 96 may be data or logic that represents a location and/or orientation of the distal end of the instrument relative to a frame of reference. The frame of reference can be a frame of reference relative to the anatomy of the patient or to a known object, such as an EM field generator (see discussion below for the EM field generator). The various input data 91-94 are now described in greater detail. Pre-operative mapping may be accomplished through the use of the collection of low dose CT scans. Pre-operative CT scans generate two-dimensional images, each representing a “slice” of a cutaway view of the patient's internal anatomy. When analyzed in the aggregate, image-based models for anatomical cavities, spaces and structures of the patient's anatomy, such as a patient lung network, may be generated. Techniques such as center-line geometry may be determined and approximated from the CT images to develop a three-dimensional volume of the patient's anatomy, referred to as preoperative model data 91. The use of center-line geometry is discussed in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 14/523,760, the contents of which are herein incorporated in its entirety. Network topological models may also be derived from the CT-images, and are particularly appropriate for bronchoscopy)
Consider Claim 24 and 35.
The combination of Larkin and Meyer teaches:
24. (New) The surgical robot according to claim 23, wherein the medical cart is turned by steering wheel; andthe guideline extends arcuately along a turning direction of the medical cart. / 35. (New) The control method of a surgical robot according to claim 34, wherein the medical cart is turned by steering the steering wheel; andthe guideline extends arcuately along a turning direction of the medical cart. (Larkin: [0037] In each of the FIGS. 4-7, the viewing area 300 of the monitor 104 may correspond to the FOV of the endoscope 140 (with proper scaling of the entire FOV) such as depicted in FIG. 10, or it may correspond to only a portion of the FOV of the endoscope 140 (with proper scaling corresponding to a ZOOM-IN of images in the portion of the FOV displayed on the monitor 104) such as depicted in FIG. 11. Tools within the viewing area 300 are seen in bold line in the viewing area 300. Circumscribing the viewing area 300 is a boundary area 400, in which, non-clickable symbols or clickable icons (hereinafter cumulatively referred to as “symbols”) are positioned so as to indicate positions of corresponding tools. [0039] Tools outside the viewing area 300 are seen in dotted line for the purposes of explaining certain aspects of the method implemented by the GUI. It is to be appreciated that these dotted lined tools (or dotted line tool extensions) are not seen by the Surgeon on the monitor 104. Their relative positions with respect to the viewing area 300 in FIGS. 4-7, however, correspond to their relative positions in or to the FOV of the endoscope 140 in the endoscope camera frame of reference. Meyer: column 14 lines 21-47, As shown in FIG. 15, the localization system 90 may include a localization module 95 that processes input data 91-94 to generate location data 96 for the distal tip of a medical instrument. The location data 96 may be data or logic that represents a location and/or orientation of the distal end of the instrument relative to a frame of reference. The frame of reference can be a frame of reference relative to the anatomy of the patient or to a known object, such as an EM field generator (see discussion below for the EM field generator). The various input data 91-94 are now described in greater detail. Pre-operative mapping may be accomplished through the use of the collection of low dose CT scans. Pre-operative CT scans generate two-dimensional images, each representing a “slice” of a cutaway view of the patient's internal anatomy. When analyzed in the aggregate, image-based models for anatomical cavities, spaces and structures of the patient's anatomy, such as a patient lung network, may be generated. Techniques such as center-line geometry may be determined and approximated from the CT images to develop a three-dimensional volume of the patient's anatomy, referred to as preoperative model data 91. The use of center-line geometry is discussed in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 14/523,760, the contents of which are herein incorporated in its entirety. Network topological models may also be derived from the CT-images, and are particularly appropriate for bronchoscopy)
Consider Claim 25.
The combination of Larkin and Meyer teaches:
25. (New) The surgical robot according to claim 23, wherein the display displays an image of a trocar for inserting an endoscope from a body surface of a patient, the image being captured by the imaging device; and the controller is configured to: display the mark for aligning the robot main body with the trocar at the center of the display screen of the display; and display the guideline extending along the moving direction of the medical cart based on the steering wheel so as to enable the medical cart to be moved along the guideline to align the mark with the image of the trocar. (Larkin: [0037] In each of the FIGS. 4-7, the viewing area 300 of the monitor 104 may correspond to the FOV of the endoscope 140 (with proper scaling of the entire FOV) such as depicted in FIG. 10, or it may correspond to only a portion of the FOV of the endoscope 140 (with proper scaling corresponding to a ZOOM-IN of images in the portion of the FOV displayed on the monitor 104) such as depicted in FIG. 11. Tools within the viewing area 300 are seen in bold line in the viewing area 300. Circumscribing the viewing area 300 is a boundary area 400, in which, non-clickable symbols or clickable icons (hereinafter cumulatively referred to as “symbols”) are positioned so as to indicate positions of corresponding tools. [0039] Tools outside the viewing area 300 are seen in dotted line for the purposes of explaining certain aspects of the method implemented by the GUI. It is to be appreciated that these dotted lined tools (or dotted line tool extensions) are not seen by the Surgeon on the monitor 104. Their relative positions with respect to the viewing area 300 in FIGS. 4-7, however, correspond to their relative positions in or to the FOV of the endoscope 140 in the endoscope camera frame of reference. Meyer: column 14 lines 21-47, As shown in FIG. 15, the localization system 90 may include a localization module 95 that processes input data 91-94 to generate location data 96 for the distal tip of a medical instrument. The location data 96 may be data or logic that represents a location and/or orientation of the distal end of the instrument relative to a frame of reference. The frame of reference can be a frame of reference relative to the anatomy of the patient or to a known object, such as an EM field generator (see discussion below for the EM field generator). The various input data 91-94 are now described in greater detail. Pre-operative mapping may be accomplished through the use of the collection of low dose CT scans. Pre-operative CT scans generate two-dimensional images, each representing a “slice” of a cutaway view of the patient's internal anatomy. When analyzed in the aggregate, image-based models for anatomical cavities, spaces and structures of the patient's anatomy, such as a patient lung network, may be generated. Techniques such as center-line geometry may be determined and approximated from the CT images to develop a three-dimensional volume of the patient's anatomy, referred to as preoperative model data 91. The use of center-line geometry is discussed in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 14/523,760, the contents of which are herein incorporated in its entirety. Network topological models may also be derived from the CT-images, and are particularly appropriate for bronchoscopy)
Consider Claim 26.
The combination of Larkin and Meyer teaches:
26. (New) The surgical robot according to claim 21, wherein the controller is configured to control the display to display the guide information when the medical cart moves forward. (Larkin: [0037] In each of the FIGS. 4-7, the viewing area 300 of the monitor 104 may correspond to the FOV of the endoscope 140 (with proper scaling of the entire FOV) such as depicted in FIG. 10, or it may correspond to only a portion of the FOV of the endoscope 140 (with proper scaling corresponding to a ZOOM-IN of images in the portion of the FOV displayed on the monitor 104) such as depicted in FIG. 11. Tools within the viewing area 300 are seen in bold line in the viewing area 300. Circumscribing the viewing area 300 is a boundary area 400, in which, non-clickable symbols or clickable icons (hereinafter cumulatively referred to as “symbols”) are positioned so as to indicate positions of corresponding tools. [0039] Tools outside the viewing area 300 are seen in dotted line for the purposes of explaining certain aspects of the method implemented by the GUI. It is to be appreciated that these dotted lined tools (or dotted line tool extensions) are not seen by the Surgeon on the monitor 104. Their relative positions with respect to the viewing area 300 in FIGS. 4-7, however, correspond to their relative positions in or to the FOV of the endoscope 140 in the endoscope camera frame of reference. Meyer: column 14 lines 21-47, As shown in FIG. 15, the localization system 90 may include a localization module 95 that processes input data 91-94 to generate location data 96 for the distal tip of a medical instrument. The location data 96 may be data or logic that represents a location and/or orientation of the distal end of the instrument relative to a frame of reference. The frame of reference can be a frame of reference relative to the anatomy of the patient or to a known object, such as an EM field generator (see discussion below for the EM field generator). The various input data 91-94 are now described in greater detail. Pre-operative mapping may be accomplished through the use of the collection of low dose CT scans. Pre-operative CT scans generate two-dimensional images, each representing a “slice” of a cutaway view of the patient's internal anatomy. When analyzed in the aggregate, image-based models for anatomical cavities, spaces and structures of the patient's anatomy, such as a patient lung network, may be generated. Techniques such as center-line geometry may be determined and approximated from the CT images to develop a three-dimensional volume of the patient's anatomy, referred to as preoperative model data 91. The use of center-line geometry is discussed in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 14/523,760, the contents of which are herein incorporated in its entirety. Network topological models may also be derived from the CT-images, and are particularly appropriate for bronchoscopy)
Consider Claim 27.
The combination of Larkin and Meyer teaches:
27. (New) The surgical robot according to claim 21, further comprising:an enable switch to allow or disallow movement of the medical cart; andthe controller is configured to control the display to update and display the guide information only while an enabling signal is received from the enable switch. (Meyer: Column 7 lines 6-37, The cart base 15 balances the weight of the column 14, carriage 17, and arms 12 over the floor. Accordingly, the cart base 15 houses heavier components, such as electronics, motors, power supply, as well as components that either enable movement and/or immobilize the cart. For example, the cart base 15 includes rollable wheel-shaped casters 25 that allow for the cart to easily move around the room prior to a procedure. After reaching the appropriate position, the casters 25 may be immobilized using wheel locks to hold the cart 11 in place during the procedure. Positioned at the vertical end of column 14, the console 16 allows for both a user interface for receiving user input and a display screen (or a dual-purpose device such as, for example, a touchscreen 26) to provide the physician user with both pre-operative and intra-operative data. Potential pre-operative data on the touchscreen 26 may include pre-operative plans, navigation and mapping data derived from pre-operative computerized tomography (CT) scans, and/or notes from pre-operative patient interviews. Intra-operative data on display may include optical information provided from the tool, sensor and coordinate information from sensors, as well as vital patient statistics, such as respiration, heart rate, and/or pulse. The console 16 may be positioned and tilted to allow a physician to access the console from the side of the column 14 opposite carriage 17. From this position the physician may view the console 16, robotic arms 12, and patient while operating the console 16 from behind the cart 11. As shown, the console 16 also includes a handle 27 to assist with maneuvering and stabilizing cart 11. FIG. 3 illustrates an embodiment of a robotically-enabled system 10 arranged for ureteroscopy.)
Consider Claim 28 and 39.
The combination of Larkin and Meyer teaches:
28. (New) The surgical robot according to claim 21, wherein the controller is configured to: acquire a height of the imaging device based on a coordinate system for controlling the robot main body; / 39. (New) The control method of a surgical robot according to claim 32, wherein displaying the guide information on the display includes: acquiring a height of the imaging device based on a coordinate system for controlling the robot main body; (Larkin: [0056] In 802, a determination is made whether the position of the tool is within the viewing area 300 of the monitor 104, which is equivalent in this example to determining whether the tool is within the FOV of the endoscope 140. This latter determination may be performed using epipolar geometry. Referring to FIG. 9, for example, the endoscope 140 includes two cameras, C1 and C2, separated by a baseline distance “b”, and having image planes, I1 and I2, defined at the focal length “f” of the cameras. The image planes, I1 and I2, are warped using a conventional stereo rectification algorithm to remove the effects of differing internal and external camera geometries. [0057] A point P in the camera reference frame is projected onto the image planes, I1 and I2, at image points, P1 and P2, by an epipolar plane containing the point P, the two optical centers of the cameras, C1 and C2, and the image points, P1 and P2. The position of the point P may then be determined in the camera reference frame using known values for the baseline distance “b” and focal length “f”, and a disparity “d” calculated from the distances of the image points, P1 and P2, from their respective image plane center points (i.e., at the intersections of the x-axis with the y1 and y2 axes). Meyer: column 6 lines 6-32, FIG. 2 provides a detailed illustration of an embodiment of the cart from the cart-based robotically-enabled system shown in FIG. 1. The cart 11 generally includes an elongated support structure 14 (often referred to as a “column”), a cart base 15, and a console 16 at the top of the column 14. The column 14 may include one or more carriages, such as a carriage 17 (alternatively “arm support”) for supporting the deployment of one or more robotic arms 12 (three shown in FIG. 2). The carriage 17 may include individually configurable arm mounts that rotate along a perpendicular axis to adjust the base of the robotic arms 12 for better positioning relative to the patient. The carriage 17 also includes a carriage interface 19 that allows the carriage 17 to vertically translate along the column 14. The carriage interface 19 is connected to the column 14 through slots, such as slot 20, that are positioned on opposite sides of the column 14 to guide the vertical translation of the carriage 17. The slot 20 contains a vertical translation interface to position and hold the carriage at various vertical heights relative to the cart base 15. Vertical translation of the carriage 17 allows the cart 11 to adjust the reach of the robotic arms 12 to meet a variety of table heights, patient sizes, and physician preferences. Similarly, the individually configurable arm mounts on the carriage 17 allow the robotic arm base 21 of robotic arms 12 to be angled in a variety of configurations.)
28. and control the display to display the guide information based on the steering wheel, a planar position of the imaging device with respect to a posture of the robot main body, and the acquired height of the imaging device. / 39. and displaying the guide information on the display based on the steering wheel, a planar position of the imaging device with respect to a posture of the robot main body, and the acquired height of the imaging device. (Larkin: [0037] In each of the FIGS. 4-7, the viewing area 300 of the monitor 104 may correspond to the FOV of the endoscope 140 (with proper scaling of the entire FOV) such as depicted in FIG. 10, or it may correspond to only a portion of the FOV of the endoscope 140 (with proper scaling corresponding to a ZOOM-IN of images in the portion of the FOV displayed on the monitor 104) such as depicted in FIG. 11. Tools within the viewing area 300 are seen in bold line in the viewing area 300. Circumscribing the viewing area 300 is a boundary area 400, in which, non-clickable symbols or clickable icons (hereinafter cumulatively referred to as “symbols”) are positioned so as to indicate positions of corresponding tools. [0039] Tools outside the viewing area 300 are seen in dotted line for the purposes of explaining certain aspects of the method implemented by the GUI. It is to be appreciated that these dotted lined tools (or dotted line tool extensions) are not seen by the Surgeon on the monitor 104. Their relative positions with respect to the viewing area 300 in FIGS. 4-7, however, correspond to their relative positions in or to the FOV of the endoscope 140 in the endoscope camera frame of reference. Meyer: column 14 lines 21-47, As shown in FIG. 15, the localization system 90 may include a localization module 95 that processes input data 91-94 to generate location data 96 for the distal tip of a medical instrument. The location data 96 may be data or logic that represents a location and/or orientation of the distal end of the instrument relative to a frame of reference. The frame of reference can be a frame of reference relative to the anatomy of the patient or to a known object, such as an EM field generator (see discussion below for the EM field generator). The various input data 91-94 are now described in greater detail. Pre-operative mapping may be accomplished through the use of the collection of low dose CT scans. Pre-operative CT scans generate two-dimensional images, each representing a “slice” of a cutaway view of the patient's internal anatomy. When analyzed in the aggregate, image-based models for anatomical cavities, spaces and structures of the patient's anatomy, such as a patient lung network, may be generated. Techniques such as center-line geometry may be determined and approximated from the CT images to develop a three-dimensional volume of the patient's anatomy, referred to as preoperative model data 91. The use of center-line geometry is discussed in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 14/523,760, the contents of which are herein incorporated in its entirety. Network topological models may also be derived from the CT-images, and are particularly appropriate for bronchoscopy)
Consider Claim 36.
The combination of Larkin and Meyer teaches:
36. (New) The control method of a surgical robot according to claim 34, wherein displaying the image of the patient captured by the imaging device on the display comprises displaying an image of a trocar for inserting an endoscope from a body surface of the patient, the image being captured by the imaging device; 36. and displaying the guide information on the display based on the steering wheel and the position of the imaging device with respect to the posture of the robot main body includes: displaying the mark for aligning the robot main body with the trocar at the center of the display screen of the display; 36. and displaying the guideline extending along the moving direction of the medical cart based on the steering wheel so as to enable the medical cart to be moved along the guideline to align the mark with the image of the trocar. (Larkin: [0029] The Surgeon performs a minimally invasive surgical procedure by manipulating the control devices 108 and 109 so that the processor 102 causes their respectively associated slave manipulators 128 and 129 (also referred to herein as “robotic arms” and “patient-side manipulators”) to manipulate their respective removably coupled surgical instruments 138 and 139 (also referred to herein as “tools”) accordingly, while the Surgeon views the surgical site in 3-D, as it is captured by a stereoscopic endoscope 140 (having left and right cameras for capturing left and right stereo views) and displayed on the Console 3-D monitor 104. [0033] The processor 102 performs various functions in the system 100. One important function that it performs is to translate and transfer the mechanical motion of control devices 108 and 109 to their respective robotic arms 128 and 129 through control signals over bus 110 so that the Surgeon can effectively move and/or manipulate their respective tools 138 and 139. Another important function is to implement a method for indicating positions of a tool when the tool is outside a camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, or occluded within the camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, as described herein. Still another important function is to implement a method for readily identifying tools and/or their respective patient-side manipulators on the monitor 104 to facilitate Surgeon/Assistant communications. [0048] FIG. 7 illustrates, as a fourth example, a GUI generated screen that is displayed on the monitor 104, wherein both tools 138 and 139 are positioned so as to be within the viewing area 300, but the end effector of the tool 138 is occluded by an object 700. In this case, since each of the tools is in the viewing area 300, their respective symbols 710 and 420 are at maximum size. Although the end effector of the tool 138 is occluded by the object 700, a ghost image 711 (e.g., a computer model) of the end effector is shown at the proper position and orientation over the object 700. If the ghost image 711 is too distracting, then an outline of the end effector may be used instead, as either a programmed or surgeon selected option. [0049] As previously described, the symbols 420, 410, 510, 610, and 710 may be non-clickable symbols or clickable icons. In the former case, if the Surgeon passes the cursor of a pointing device such as a mouse over the non-clickable symbol, additional information about the associated tool may be provided. In the latter case, if the Surgeon clicks on the clickable icon using the pointing device, additional information about the associated tool may be provided. The additional information in either case is information that is in addition to that identifying its associated patient-side manipulator, which may be indicated by its color or a number that is always displayed on or adjacent to the symbol. Examples of such additional information may include identification of the tool's type and its associated master manipulator. The additional information may be provided in a separate window such as a picture-in-picture, or it may be provided as text adjacent to, or superimposed over, the symbol. When the separate window is provided, the additional information may further include a zoomed out, computer generated view of the surgical site including the FOV of the endoscope 140 and computer-generated models of all tools outside of it. [0050] Although shown as circles, the symbols 420, 410, 510, 610, and 710 may be displayed in any one or more of many different shapes. For example, when the tool is positioned so as to be viewed inside the viewing area 300, then the symbol may take the form of a computer model of the tool shaft so that a ghost shaft is displayed in the boundary area 400. On the other hand, when the tool is positioned so as to be outside of the viewing area 300, then the symbol may take the form of a computer model of the distal end of the tool so that a ghost end effector is displayed in the boundary area 400. As the tool moves from outside of the viewing area 300 into the viewing area 300, the symbol would then seamlessly change from the ghost end effector to the ghost shaft, and vice versa when the tool moves from inside of the viewing area 300 to outside of the viewing area 300. The orientation of the ghost shaft or ghost end effector, as the case may be, would preferably match that of the actual tool. When the tool is outside of the viewing area 300, the size of the ghost end effector may indicate its distance from the viewing area 300, as previously described for the symbols. Likewise, in order to identify the tool and/or its patient-side manipulator, the ghost shaft or ghost end effector, as the case may be, may be color coded or numerically numbered as previously described for the symbols. Meyer: The robotic arms 110 and 120 may include a first robotic arm 110 and a second robotic arm 120, respectively. However, aspects of this disclosure are also applicable to systems having a greater or fewer number of robotic arms. In the embodiment of FIG. 16, the first robotic arm 110 includes a plurality of linkages 111, a plurality of joints 113, and an IDM 115. Each of the joints 113 connects two adjacent linkages 111. Although not illustrated, the first robotic arm 110 may also include a torque sensor configured to detect torque between two of the linkages 111. In certain implementations, a given joint 113 may house a corresponding torque sensor configured to detect torque between the two linkages 111 adjacent to the given joint 113. Thus, the torque sensor may be located in the joint 113 and may be coupled to the two adjacent linkages 111. A torque sensor may also be provided in the joint 113 that connects the first robotic arm 110 to the cart 105. In certain implementations, the torque sensor(s) may be implemented via a plurality of strain gauges configured to minimize the effects of torques that are not along the axis of rotation of the corresponding joint 113 from affecting the output of the torque sensor. Meyer: column 17 lines 40-67, column 18 lines 1-3, Additionally, a motor (not illustrated) may be located in each of the joints 113 and may be coupled to the two adjacent linkages 111. Thus, a given joint 113 may further house the motor, which is configured to apply a force between the two adjacent linkages 111 (or between a linkage 111 and the cart 105) in order to adjust the positioning of the two adjacent linkages 111. The IDM 115 may be connected to a distal end of the robotic arm 110. By actuating the motor in one or more of the joints 113 of the first robotic arm 110, the motors may be operable to adjust the posture or pose of the first robotic arm 110, and thus the IDM 115 (e.g., by adjusting the position and/or orientation of one or more joints 113 of the first robotic arm 110) and thereby control a steerable instrument attached to the IDM 115. Each of the joints 113 may further house a position sensor configured to measure the relative position of the two adjacent linkages 111. Thus, a given joint 113 may further house the position sensor, which may be configured to measure the angle between the two adjacent linkages 111. The system may be able to determine the position of each of the linkages 111 in the first robotic arm 110 based on the output of each of the position sensors. Additionally, as discussed below, the output of the position sensors may be used to determine a force applied to a reference point on the first robotic arm 110. In certain embodiments, a given position sensor may include an encoder. The encoder may be configured to measure the speed and/or position of the motor shaft by reading, for example, coded visual information printed on the motor shaft and may provide feedback to the system representative of the speed and/or position of the motor.)
Consider Claim 29 and 37.
The combination of Larkin and Meyer teaches:
29. (New) The surgical robot according to claim 21, further comprising:a selection operation unit to allow the operator to select whether or not the guide information is displayed on the display. / 37. (New) The control method of a surgical robot according to claim 32, wherein displaying of the guide information on the display includes displaying the guide information on the display when the medical cart moves forward. (Larkin: [0029] The Surgeon performs a minimally invasive surgical procedure by manipulating the control devices 108 and 109 so that the processor 102 causes their respectively associated slave manipulators 128 and 129 (also referred to herein as “robotic arms” and “patient-side manipulators”) to manipulate their respective removably coupled surgical instruments 138 and 139 (also referred to herein as “tools”) accordingly, while the Surgeon views the surgical site in 3-D, as it is captured by a stereoscopic endoscope 140 (having left and right cameras for capturing left and right stereo views) and displayed on the Console 3-D monitor 104. [0033] The processor 102 performs various functions in the system 100. One important function that it performs is to translate and transfer the mechanical motion of control devices 108 and 109 to their respective robotic arms 128 and 129 through control signals over bus 110 so that the Surgeon can effectively move and/or manipulate their respective tools 138 and 139. Another important function is to implement a method for indicating positions of a tool when the tool is outside a camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, or occluded within the camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, as described herein. Still another important function is to implement a method for readily identifying tools and/or their respective patient-side manipulators on the monitor 104 to facilitate Surgeon/Assistant communications. [0048] FIG. 7 illustrates, as a fourth example, a GUI generated screen that is displayed on the monitor 104, wherein both tools 138 and 139 are positioned so as to be within the viewing area 300, but the end effector of the tool 138 is occluded by an object 700. In this case, since each of the tools is in the viewing area 300, their respective symbols 710 and 420 are at maximum size. Although the end effector of the tool 138 is occluded by the object 700, a ghost image 711 (e.g., a computer model) of the end effector is shown at the proper position and orientation over the object 700. If the ghost image 711 is too distracting, then an outline of the end effector may be used instead, as either a programmed or surgeon selected option. [0049] As previously described, the symbols 420, 410, 510, 610, and 710 may be non-clickable symbols or clickable icons. In the former case, if the Surgeon passes the cursor of a pointing device such as a mouse over the non-clickable symbol, additional information about the associated tool may be provided. In the latter case, if the Surgeon clicks on the clickable icon using the pointing device, additional information about the associated tool may be provided. The additional information in either case is information that is in addition to that identifying its associated patient-side manipulator, which may be indicated by its color or a number that is always displayed on or adjacent to the symbol. Examples of such additional information may include identification of the tool's type and its associated master manipulator. The additional information may be provided in a separate window such as a picture-in-picture, or it may be provided as text adjacent to, or superimposed over, the symbol. When the separate window is provided, the additional information may further include a zoomed out, computer generated view of the surgical site including the FOV of the endoscope 140 and computer-generated models of all tools outside of it. [0050] Although shown as circles, the symbols 420, 410, 510, 610, and 710 may be displayed in any one or more of many different shapes. For example, when the tool is positioned so as to be viewed inside the viewing area 300, then the symbol may take the form of a computer model of the tool shaft so that a ghost shaft is displayed in the boundary area 400. On the other hand, when the tool is positioned so as to be outside of the viewing area 300, then the symbol may take the form of a computer model of the distal end of the tool so that a ghost end effector is displayed in the boundary area 400. As the tool moves from outside of the viewing area 300 into the viewing area 300, the symbol would then seamlessly change from the ghost end effector to the ghost shaft, and vice versa when the tool moves from inside of the viewing area 300 to outside of the viewing area 300. The orientation of the ghost shaft or ghost end effector, as the case may be, would preferably match that of the actual tool. When the tool is outside of the viewing area 300, the size of the ghost end effector may indicate its distance from the viewing area 300, as previously described for the symbols. Likewise, in order to identify the tool and/or its patient-side manipulator, the ghost shaft or ghost end effector, as the case may be, may be color coded or numerically numbered as previously described for the symbols. Meyer: The robotic arms 110 and 120 may include a first robotic arm 110 and a second robotic arm 120, respectively. However, aspects of this disclosure are also applicable to systems having a greater or fewer number of robotic arms. In the embodiment of FIG. 16, the first robotic arm 110 includes a plurality of linkages 111, a plurality of joints 113, and an IDM 115. Each of the joints 113 connects two adjacent linkages 111. Although not illustrated, the first robotic arm 110 may also include a torque sensor configured to detect torque between two of the linkages 111. In certain implementations, a given joint 113 may house a corresponding torque sensor configured to detect torque between the two linkages 111 adjacent to the given joint 113. Thus, the torque sensor may be located in the joint 113 and may be coupled to the two adjacent linkages 111. A torque sensor may also be provided in the joint 113 that connects the first robotic arm 110 to the cart 105. In certain implementations, the torque sensor(s) may be implemented via a plurality of strain gauges configured to minimize the effects of torques that are not along the axis of rotation of the corresponding joint 113 from affecting the output of the torque sensor. Meyer: column 17 lines 40-67, column 18 lines 1-3, Additionally, a motor (not illustrated) may be located in each of the joints 113 and may be coupled to the two adjacent linkages 111. Thus, a given joint 113 may further house the motor, which is configured to apply a force between the two adjacent linkages 111 (or between a linkage 111 and the cart 105) in order to adjust the positioning of the two adjacent linkages 111. The IDM 115 may be connected to a distal end of the robotic arm 110. By actuating the motor in one or more of the joints 113 of the first robotic arm 110, the motors may be operable to adjust the posture or pose of the first robotic arm 110, and thus the IDM 115 (e.g., by adjusting the position and/or orientation of one or more joints 113 of the first robotic arm 110) and thereby control a steerable instrument attached to the IDM 115. Each of the joints 113 may further house a position sensor configured to measure the relative position of the two adjacent linkages 111. Thus, a given joint 113 may further house the position sensor, which may be configured to measure the angle between the two adjacent linkages 111. The system may be able to determine the position of each of the linkages 111 in the first robotic arm 110 based on the output of each of the position sensors. Additionally, as discussed below, the output of the position sensors may be used to determine a force applied to a reference point on the first robotic arm 110. In certain embodiments, a given position sensor may include an encoder. The encoder may be configured to measure the speed and/or position of the motor shaft by reading, for example, coded visual information printed on the motor shaft and may provide feedback to the system representative of the speed and/or position of the motor.)
Consider Claim 30.
The combination of Larkin and Meyer teaches:
30. (New) The surgical robot according to claim 29, wherein the selection operation unit includes a touch button displayed on the display. / 38. (New) The control method of a surgical robot according to claim 32, further comprising: an enable switch to allow or disallow movement of the medical cart; and displaying the guide information on the display includes updating and displaying the guide information on the display only an enabling signal from the enable switch. (Meyer: Column 7 lines 6-37, The cart base 15 balances the weight of the column 14, carriage 17, and arms 12 over the floor. Accordingly, the cart base 15 houses heavier components, such as electronics, motors, power supply, as well as components that either enable movement and/or immobilize the cart. For example, the cart base 15 includes rollable wheel-shaped casters 25 that allow for the cart to easily move around the room prior to a procedure. After reaching the appropriate position, the casters 25 may be immobilized using wheel locks to hold the cart 11 in place during the procedure. Positioned at the vertical end of column 14, the console 16 allows for both a user interface for receiving user input and a display screen (or a dual-purpose device such as, for example, a touchscreen 26) to provide the physician user with both pre-operative and intra-operative data. Potential pre-operative data on the touchscreen 26 may include pre-operative plans, navigation and mapping data derived from pre-operative computerized tomography (CT) scans, and/or notes from pre-operative patient interviews. Intra-operative data on display may include optical information provided from the tool, sensor and coordinate information from sensors, as well as vital patient statistics, such as respiration, heart rate, and/or pulse. The console 16 may be positioned and tilted to allow a physician to access the console from the side of the column 14 opposite carriage 17. From this position the physician may view the console 16, robotic arms 12, and patient while operating the console 16 from behind the cart 11. As shown, the console 16 also includes a handle 27 to assist with maneuvering and stabilizing cart 11. FIG. 3 illustrates an embodiment of a robotically-enabled system 10 arranged for ureteroscopy.)
Consider Claim 31.
The combination of Larkin and Meyer teaches:
31. (New) The surgical robot according to claim 21, wherein the medical cart includes a front wheel as a drive wheel and a rear wheel as the steering wheel. (Meyer: Column 7 lines 6-37, The cart base 15 balances the weight of the column 14, carriage 17, and arms 12 over the floor. Accordingly, the cart base 15 houses heavier components, such as electronics, motors, power supply, as well as components that either enable movement and/or immobilize the cart. For example, the cart base 15 includes rollable wheel-shaped casters 25 that allow for the cart to easily move around the room prior to a procedure. After reaching the appropriate position, the casters 25 may be immobilized using wheel locks to hold the cart 11 in place during the procedure. Positioned at the vertical end of column 14, the console 16 allows for both a user interface for receiving user input and a display screen (or a dual-purpose device such as, for example, a touchscreen 26) to provide the physician user with both pre-operative and intra-operative data. Potential pre-operative data on the touchscreen 26 may include pre-operative plans, navigation and mapping data derived from pre-operative computerized tomography (CT) scans, and/or notes from pre-operative patient interviews. Intra-operative data on display may include optical information provided from the tool, sensor and coordinate information from sensors, as well as vital patient statistics, such as respiration, heart rate, and/or pulse. The console 16 may be positioned and tilted to allow a physician to access the console from the side of the column 14 opposite carriage 17. From this position the physician may view the console 16, robotic arms 12, and patient while operating the console 16 from behind the cart 11. As shown, the console 16 also includes a handle 27 to assist with maneuvering and stabilizing cart 11. FIG. 3 illustrates an embodiment of a robotically-enabled system 10 arranged for ureteroscopy.)
Consider Claim 40.
The combination of Larkin and Meyer teaches:
40. (New) The control method of a surgical robot according to claim 32, further comprising: allowing an operator selection to select whether or not the guide information is displayed on the display. (Larkin: [0029] The Surgeon performs a minimally invasive surgical procedure by manipulating the control devices 108 and 109 so that the processor 102 causes their respectively associated slave manipulators 128 and 129 (also referred to herein as “robotic arms” and “patient-side manipulators”) to manipulate their respective removably coupled surgical instruments 138 and 139 (also referred to herein as “tools”) accordingly, while the Surgeon views the surgical site in 3-D, as it is captured by a stereoscopic endoscope 140 (having left and right cameras for capturing left and right stereo views) and displayed on the Console 3-D monitor 104. [0033] The processor 102 performs various functions in the system 100. One important function that it performs is to translate and transfer the mechanical motion of control devices 108 and 109 to their respective robotic arms 128 and 129 through control signals over bus 110 so that the Surgeon can effectively move and/or manipulate their respective tools 138 and 139. Another important function is to implement a method for indicating positions of a tool when the tool is outside a camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, or occluded within the camera captured view being displayed on the monitor 104, as described herein. Still another important function is to implement a method for readily identifying tools and/or their respective patient-side manipulators on the monitor 104 to facilitate Surgeon/Assistant communications. [0048] FIG. 7 illustrates, as a fourth example, a GUI generated screen that is displayed on the monitor 104, wherein both tools 138 and 139 are positioned so as to be within the viewing area 300, but the end effector of the tool 138 is occluded by an object 700. In this case, since each of the tools is in the viewing area 300, their respective symbols 710 and 420 are at maximum size. Although the end effector of the tool 138 is occluded by the object 700, a ghost image 711 (e.g., a computer model) of the end effector is shown at the proper position and orientation over the object 700. If the ghost image 711 is too distracting, then an outline of the end effector may be used instead, as either a programmed or surgeon selected option. [0049] As previously described, the symbols 420, 410, 510, 610, and 710 may be non-clickable symbols or clickable icons. In the former case, if the Surgeon passes the cursor of a pointing device such as a mouse over the non-clickable symbol, additional information about the associated tool may be provided. In the latter case, if the Surgeon clicks on the clickable icon using the pointing device, additional information about the associated tool may be provided. The additional information in either case is information that is in addition to that identifying its associated patient-side manipulator, which may be indicated by its color or a number that is always displayed on or adjacent to the symbol. Examples of such additional information may include identification of the tool's type and its associated master manipulator. The additional information may be provided in a separate window such as a picture-in-picture, or it may be provided as text adjacent to, or superimposed over, the symbol. When the separate window is provided, the additional information may further include a zoomed out, computer generated view of the surgical site including the FOV of the endoscope 140 and computer-generated models of all tools outside of it. [0050] Although shown as circles, the symbols 420, 410, 510, 610, and 710 may be displayed in any one or more of many different shapes. For example, when the tool is positioned so as to be viewed inside the viewing area 300, then the symbol may take the form of a computer model of the tool shaft so that a ghost shaft is displayed in the boundary area 400. On the other hand, when the tool is positioned so as to be outside of the viewing area 300, then the symbol may take the form of a computer model of the distal end of the tool so that a ghost end effector is displayed in the boundary area 400. As the tool moves from outside of the viewing area 300 into the viewing area 300, the symbol would then seamlessly change from the ghost end effector to the ghost shaft, and vice versa when the tool moves from inside of the viewing area 300 to outside of the viewing area 300. The orientation of the ghost shaft or ghost end effector, as the case may be, would preferably match that of the actual tool. When the tool is outside of the viewing area 300, the size of the ghost end effector may indicate its distance from the viewing area 300, as previously described for the symbols. Likewise, in order to identify the tool and/or its patient-side manipulator, the ghost shaft or ghost end effector, as the case may be, may be color coded or numerically numbered as previously described for the symbols. Meyer: The robotic arms 110 and 120 may include a first robotic arm 110 and a second robotic arm 120, respectively. However, aspects of this disclosure are also applicable to systems having a greater or fewer number of robotic arms. In the embodiment of FIG. 16, the first robotic arm 110 includes a plurality of linkages 111, a plurality of joints 113, and an IDM 115. Each of the joints 113 connects two adjacent linkages 111. Although not illustrated, the first robotic arm 110 may also include a torque sensor configured to detect torque between two of the linkages 111. In certain implementations, a given joint 113 may house a corresponding torque sensor configured to detect torque between the two linkages 111 adjacent to the given joint 113. Thus, the torque sensor may be located in the joint 113 and may be coupled to the two adjacent linkages 111. A torque sensor may also be provided in the joint 113 that connects the first robotic arm 110 to the cart 105. In certain implementations, the torque sensor(s) may be implemented via a plurality of strain gauges configured to minimize the effects of torques that are not along the axis of rotation of the corresponding joint 113 from affecting the output of the torque sensor. Meyer: column 17 lines 40-67, column 18 lines 1-3, Additionally, a motor (not illustrated) may be located in each of the joints 113 and may be coupled to the two adjacent linkages 111. Thus, a given joint 113 may further house the motor, which is configured to apply a force between the two adjacent linkages 111 (or between a linkage 111 and the cart 105) in order to adjust the positioning of the two adjacent linkages 111. The IDM 115 may be connected to a distal end of the robotic arm 110. By actuating the motor in one or more of the joints 113 of the first robotic arm 110, the motors may be operable to adjust the posture or pose of the first robotic arm 110, and thus the IDM 115 (e.g., by adjusting the position and/or orientation of one or more joints 113 of the first robotic arm 110) and thereby control a steerable instrument attached to the IDM 115. Each of the joints 113 may further house a position sensor configured to measure the relative position of the two adjacent linkages 111. Thus, a given joint 113 may further house the position sensor, which may be configured to measure the angle between the two adjacent linkages 111. The system may be able to determine the position of each of the linkages 111 in the first robotic arm 110 based on the output of each of the position sensors. Additionally, as discussed below, the output of the position sensors may be used to determine a force applied to a reference point on the first robotic arm 110. In certain embodiments, a given position sensor may include an encoder. The encoder may be configured to measure the speed and/or position of the motor shaft by reading, for example, coded visual information printed on the motor shaft and may provide feedback to the system representative of the speed and/or position of the motor.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2600.
2674
/Tahmina Ansari/
October 17, 2026
/TAHMINA N ANSARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2674