DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 662 (KR 20210137662A, included on IDS) in view of 766 (JP2021009766A, included on IDS).
Regarding claim 1, 662 teaches a light-emitting module (see fig. 5) comprising:
a substrate (substrate 100) formed of a transparent material;
at least one light source (light source 200) installed on a rear surface of the substrate to emit light in a first direction (down with respect to figure 5); and
a deflection part (reflective member 400) disposed behind the substrate to deflect the light emitted in the first direction in a second direction (upwards with respect to figure 5); and
at least one light layer (light blocking part 810) disposed on a front surface of the substrate and to overlap with the at least one light source (see fig. 5),
wherein the deflection part (400) includes a reflective surface (upper surface) formed on at least a portion of a rear surface of a transmissive material (first resin 500) disposed between the substrate and a holder (cover member 2210) disposed behind the substrate to support the substrate, and
wherein each of the at least one light layer is formed to correspond to a respective one one of the at least one light source and to be larger than the respective one of the at least one light source (see fig 6, 810 is larger than the light source).
662 does not teach that the light layer is a diffusion layer and wherein each of the at least one light diffusion layer receives another portion of the light deflected by the deflection part in the second direction, transmits the light therethrough, and diffuses the light, thereby preventing shadow regions from forming above the at least one light source.
766 teaches that the light layer is a diffusion layer (light diffusion pattern 12), wherein each of the at least one diffusion layer is formed to correspond to a respective one of the at least one light source and to be larger than the respective one of the at least one light source (see fig. 2, larger than each light source) and a holder (back case 9) and wherein another portion of the light deflected by the deflection part in the second direction transmits the light therethrough, and diffuses the light, thereby preventing shadow regions from forming above the at least one light source. (see fig. 2, portion of light is diffused, portion bypasses without diffusion).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a diffusion pattern as taught by 766 instead of a blocking pattern as taught by 662 to diffuse the light and create a uniform emission from the backlight while increasing the utilized light and therefore increasing the overall brightness and efficiency, see 766.
Regarding claim 2, 662 teaches that the deflection part further includes at least one diffusion element (reflective patterns 430, embodiments usable together as 400 is used in figure 6) formed on the rear surface of the transmissive material to diffuse the light emitted in the first direction so that at least a portion of the light is deflected in the second direction via refraction and/or reflection.
Regarding claim 3, 662 teaches that the rear surface of the transmissive material includes a first region where the at least one diffusion element is formed and a second region where no diffusion element is formed, and wherein the reflective surface is formed in at least one of the first region or the second region (see fig. 3, not formed directly below light source).
Regarding claim 4, ‘662 teaches that the reflective surface is formed by depositing or coating a material capable of reflecting light (metallic film).
Regarding claim 5, ‘662 teaches that the reflective surface is formed by applying a color capable of reflecting light (white or gold).
Regarding claim 6, 662 teaches that the deflection part further includes a reflective layer formed on at least a portion of an opposing surface of the holder that faces the substrate (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, 766 and 662 teaches wherein the at least one light diffusion layer diffuses light that passes near the at least one light source.
Regarding claim 8, 766 teaches that the at least one light diffusion layer transmits a portion of the deflected light therethrough while reflecting another portion of the deflected light (see abstract, made from aggregation of reflection dots which deflect and reflect light).
Regarding claim 9, 766 teaches that the at least one light diffusion layer is formed to have a greater thickness proximate to a center of the at least one light source (overlayed reflection dots, see fig. 7, i.e. 43 overlays patter 13, resulting in higher thickness at the central portion).
Regarding claim 10, 766 teaches that the at least one light diffusion layer is formed by stacking a plurality of layers (see fig. 7, overlayed reflection dots), which comprises a lower layer (13) and the upper layer (43) is formed to be smaller than the lower layer (see fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of 662 and 766 teaches that the at least one light diffusion layer is formed on one surface of at least one of the substrate or a cover disposed in front of the substrate to allow at least a portion of the light deflected by the deflection part to pass therethrough (see fig. 6 of 662, formed on substrate).
Regarding claim 12, 662 teaches further comprising :a cover (wavelength conversion layer 610) disposed in front of the substrate to allow at least a portion of the light deflected by the deflection part to pass therethrough, the cover having at least one optical element formed at a position corresponding to the at least one light source to deflect the light that passes through the substrate (formed at all positions, i.e. including over the light source to deflect light by scattering converted light).
Regarding claim 13, 662 teaches a vehicle lamp comprising:
a light-emitting module including at least one light source (see fig. 6); and
a diffusion lens (wavelength conversion layer 610, diffuses light through conversion) disposed in front of the light-emitting module to diffuse light emitted from the light-emitting module,
wherein the light is emitted from the at least one light source (200) in a first direction, and the light is emitted from the light-emitting module in a second direction different from the first direction,
wherein the light-emitting module includes:
a substrate (100) having the at least one light source installed on a rear surface thereof; and
at least one light layer (810) disposed on a front surface of the substrate and to overlap with the at least one light source, and
wherein each of the at least one light layer is formed to correspond to each of the at least one light source,
wherein a portion of the light deflected in the second direction is transmitted through the substrate without passing through the at least one light layer along a path that bypasses the at least one light layer (see fig. 6) and allowing another portion of the light deflected in the second direction to interact with the at least one light layer (see fig. 6).
662 does not teach that the light layer is a diffusion layer and wherein each of the at least one light diffusion layer receives another portion of the light deflected by the deflection part in the second direction, transmits the light therethrough, and diffuses the light, thereby preventing shadow regions from forming above the at least one light source.
766 teaches that the light layer is a diffusion layer (light diffusion pattern 12), wherein each of the at least one diffusion layer is formed to correspond to a respective one of the at least one light source and to be larger than the respective one of the at least one light source (see fig. 2, larger than each light source) and a holder (back case 9) and wherein another portion of the light deflected by the deflection part in the second direction transmits the light therethrough, and diffuses the light, thereby preventing shadow regions from forming above the at least one light source. (see fig. 2, portion of light is diffused, portion bypasses without diffusion).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a diffusion pattern as taught by 766 instead of a blocking pattern as taught by 662 to diffuse the light and create a uniform emission from the backlight while increasing the utilized light and therefore increasing the overall brightness and efficiency, see 766.
Regarding claim 14, 662 teaches that the light-emitting module further includes
a holder (back case 9 of 766) disposed behind the substrate to support the substrate;
a transmissive material (500) disposed between the substrate and the holder; and
a cover (610) disposed in front of the substrate and coupled to the holder to form a space for accommodating the substrate and the transmissive material therein, and wherein the cover includes at least one optical element formed at a position corresponding to the at least one light source to deflect at least a portion of the light transmitted through the substrate (wavelength converting material).
Regarding claim 15, 662 teaches that the transmissive material (500) includes at least one diffusion element (reflective patterns 430) formed on a rear surface of the transmissive material to deflect the light emitted in a first direction from the at least one light source in a second direction, and wherein a reflective surface (surface of 400) is formed on at least a portion of the rear surface of the transmissive material to reflect at least a portion of the light emitted in the first direction from the at least one light source.
Regarding claim 16, 662 teaches that the at least one diffusion element (430) refracts and/or reflects at least a portion of the light emitted in the first direction in the second direction depending on an angle of incidence of the light emitted in the first direction.
Regarding claim 17, 662 teaches that the light-emitting module further comprises: a reflective layer formed on at least a portion of an opposing surface of the holder that faces the substrate (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 18, 662 and 766 teaches wherein the at least one light diffusion layer reflects a portion of light that passes near the at least one light source and transmits another portion of the light therethrough (see fig. 6 of 662).
Regarding claim 19, 766 teaches that the at least one light diffusion layer is formed to have a greater thickness proximate to a center of the at least one light source (overlayed reflection dots, see fig. 7, i.e. 43 overlays patter 13, resulting in higher thickness at the central portion).
Regarding claim 20, 766 teaches that the at least one light diffusion layer is formed by stacking a plurality of layers (see fig. 7, overlayed reflection dots), which comprises a lower layer (13) and the upper layer (43) is formed to be smaller than the lower layer (see fig. 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that in KR ‘662 each of the optical patterns 851 is smaller than the corresponding light emitting device 200, and therefore 662 does not teach the amended claim, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner has not relied on 851 of figure 6 or 420 of figure 4 for the light layer. The Examiner has used light blocking layer 810 for the light diffusion structure. Light blocking portions 810 are shown in figure 6 of the disclosure and are clearly larger than the light emitting source as shown. Neither figure 4 nor figure 8 are relied on in the rejection.
Applicant further argues that JP766 does not teach that the diffusion layer is larger than the light source. As indicated in cross section in figure 2, and again in figure 4, the diffusion structure of 766 is much larger than the light emitting structures. Applicant’s argument that the patterns of 662 or 766 cannot receive any of the reflected light are incorrect, 766 specifically teaches an overlap region that receives light from adjacent light sources.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Matthew J. Peerce/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875