DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson U.S. 2024/0423687 (herein referred to as “Johnson”).
5. Regarding Claim 4, Johnson teaches an ablation device (Fig. 2, ref num 200, 204, 206), comprising:
a. an elongated shaft (Fig. 2, ref num 114) extending distally from a handle (Fig. 2, ref num 116);
b. a stimulation electrode disposed on a distal tip portion of the elongated shaft (Fig. 2, ref num 212), the stimulation electrode configured to electrically stimulate nerves (para 0054, “the values for the delivery parameters described above are selected based on one or more factors such as, for example, efficacy, treatment duration, treatment outcomes, patient pain, damage to tissues other than the SI joint, tissue heating, generation of bubbles in body fluids, skeletal muscle stimulation, arcing, tissue aggregation, or the like or any combination thereof”; also see para 0029);
c. an ablation electrode disposed on the elongated shaft and axially spaced proximally from the stimulation electrode (Fig. 2, ref num 213; para 0037-0038), the ablation electrode configured to deliver electrosurgical energy to tissue (para 0037-0038); and
d. an insulative ring surrounding the elongated shaft and disposed between the stimulation electrode and the ablation electrode (Fig. 2, ref num 215; para 0037, “Each adjacent pair of electrode elements of a multipolar ablation electrode 204 is separated by insulative material 215”).
6. Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharkey U.S. 5,954,716 (herein referred to as “Sharkey”).
7. Regarding Claim 5, Sharkey teaches an ablation device (Fig. 1), comprising:
a. an elongated shaft extending distally from a handle (Fig. 1, ref num 14 extends from ref num 12);
b. an electrode disposed on a distal portion of the elongated shaft (Fig. 1, ref num 20; Col. 8, lines 56-57, “distal portion 20 with an electrode or other energy delivery device”) and configured to deliver electrosurgical energy to tissue (Col. 7, lines 61-63); and
c. a retractable sleeve disposed on the elongated shaft and configured to be moved along the elongated shaft relative to the electrode to adjust a surface area of the electrode that is exposed during delivery of the electrosurgical energy to the tissue (Col. 9, lines 9-15, “The area of the energy delivery device (e.g., electrode) that serves as a conductive surface can be adjusted by the inclusion of an insulating sleeve that is positioned around the energy delivery device. The sleeve may be advanced and retracted along the surface of the energy delivery device in order to increase or decrease the surface area of conductive surface that is directed to collagen containing ligament 28”).
8. Regarding Claim 6, Sharkey teaches the electrode is monopolar (Col. 9, lines 50-51, “A monopolar electrode is a part of a circuit that includes the RF signal generator”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson and in view of Crosby U.S. 2025/0001164 (herein referred to as “Crosby”).
11. Regarding Claim 1, Johnson U.S. 2024/0423687 teaches an ablation system (Fig. 2, ref num 200), comprising:
an ablation device configured to be inserted into an ablation target (Fig. 2, ref nums 204, 206), the ablation device including:
a. an elongated shaft (Fig. 2, ref num 114) extending distally from a handle (Fig. 2, ref num 116);
b. a stimulation electrode disposed on a distal tip portion of the elongated shaft (Fig. 2, ref num 212), the stimulation electrode configured to electrically stimulate nerves (para 0054, “the values for the delivery parameters described above are selected based on one or more factors such as, for example, efficacy, treatment duration, treatment outcomes, patient pain, damage to tissues other than the SI joint, tissue heating, generation of bubbles in body fluids, skeletal muscle stimulation, arcing, tissue aggregation, or the like or any combination thereof”; also see para 0029);
c. an ablation electrode disposed on the elongated shaft and axially spaced proximally from the stimulation electrode (Fig. 2, ref num 213; para 0037-0038), the ablation electrode configured to deliver electrosurgical energy to tissue (para 0037-0038); and
d. an insulative ring surrounding the elongated shaft and disposed between the stimulation electrode and the ablation electrode (Fig. 2, ref num 215; para 0037, “Each adjacent pair of electrode elements of a multipolar ablation electrode 204 is separated by insulative material 215”); and
an electrosurgical generator configured to deliver electrosurgical energy to the ablation electrode of the ablation device (Fig. 2, ref num 102).
Johnson fails to teach a nerve monitoring unit configured to deliver electrical stimulation signals to the stimulation electrode of the ablation device.
Crosby teaches an ablation system of analogous art (Fig. 7), wherein the system comprises a nerve monitoring unit configured to deliver electrical stimulation signals to a stimulation electrode to the nerve monitoring unit (para 0124-0125). By monitoring the electrical stimulation signals, this allows the user to adjust the electrical stimulation signals to selectively stimulate the nerves (para 0031, 0060). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson to include a nerve monitoring unit to selectively stimulate the nerve.
12. Regarding Claim 3, Johnson fails to teach the electrosurgical generator and the nerve monitoring unit are disposed within a common enclosure.
Crosby teaches the electrosurgical generator and nerve monitoring unit are disposed within a common enclosure (Fig. 7, ref num 91 and 89 are within common enclosure 80). This produces the same expected result of controlling the ablation and stimulation parameters of the system (para 0125-0126). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson to have the generator and nerve monitoring unit disposed within a common enclosure, as this is a well-known modification in the art, and produces the same expected result.
13. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson and Crosby, and further in view of Schepis U.S. 2020/0038096 (herein referred to as “Schepis”).
14. Regarding Claim 2, Johnson fails to teach a patient interface unit electrically coupleable to the nerve monitoring unit and configured to electrically couple the stimulation electrode to the nerve monitoring unit.
Schepis teaches an ablation system of analogous art (Fig. 4), wherein the system comprises a patient interface unit (Fig. 4, ref num 140; para 0079) that is electrically coupleable to a nerve monitoring unit (Fig. 4, ref num 140 is electrically coupled to ref num 130 via ref num 150) and configured to couple the stimulation electrode (see Fig. 4, ref num 16) to the nerve monitoring unit (para 0117). This provides control over the entire system and stimulation of the nerves (para 0117). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson to have included a patient interface unit that is electrically coupled to the nerve monitoring unit to control the stimulation of the nerves.
Conclusion
/ANNIE L SHOULDERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3794