DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carreel et al (Pub. No.: US 2019/0380651) in view of Degerteken et al (Pub. No.: US 2014/0236017)
Regarding claims 1-2, Carreel et al disclose a guidewire for use within an intraluminal space of a body, comprising:
an elongated wire having a proximal end and a distal end [see 0008, 0080, claim 60, fig 2];
circuitry at or near the distal end of the elongated wire, comprising:
a flexible substrate (flexible circuit/substrate) having a plurality of conductive traces (conductive pads, see claim 41) and wrapped about a portion of the elongated wire [see 0076, 0168, 0176] by disclosing the flexible circuit further comprises thereon a plurality of conductive pads configured to be bonded to respective wire leads [see claim 41];
a plurality of pressure sensors (212/302/25) associated with the flexible and spaced along a length of the elongated wire [see 0118, 0140, 0176 and figs 2-3] by disclosing sensor array 25 may include a plurality of sensors for sensing one or more characteristics of the tissues surrounding the guidewire such as pressure sensors [see 0176];
at least one circuit (via a power cable) configured to receive power from a power source [see 0124] and distribute the power among the plurality of pressure sensors [see 0124].
wherein a cross-sectional area of the guidewire is approximately 0.014 inch [see 0075, fig 33].
Carreel et al don’t disclose the flexible substrate exhibiting a cut-seam that is circumferentially distributed about the portion and wherein the flexible substrate is helically wound about the portion of the elongated wire
Nonetheless, Degerteken et al flexible substrate (coil) exhibiting a cut-seam that is circumferentially distributed about the portion and wherein the flexible substrate is helically wound about the portion of the elongated wire [see 0053, figs 2A].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Carreel et al and Idstrom by using flexible substrate exhibiting a cut-seam that is circumferentially distributed about the portion and the flexible substrate is helically wound about the portion of the elongated wire; to deform to a defined shape.
Regarding claim 3, Carreel et al disclose an outer member disposed over the flexible substrate [see 0333].
Regarding claim 5, Carreel et al disclose wherein the at least one circuit includes at least one application-specific integrated circuit [see 0117].
Regarding claim 6, Carreel et al disclose wherein the at least one circuit includes at least one field-programmable gate array [see 0380].
Regarding claim 7, Carreel et al disclose wherein the plurality of sensors includes at least one pressure sensor [see 0176] by disclosing sensor array 25 may include a plurality of sensors for sensing one or more characteristics of the tissues surrounding the guidewire such as pressure sensors [see 0176].
Regarding claims 8, 12, Carreel et al don’t disclose wherein the plurality of sensors includes at least one ultrasound imaging sensor; wherein the plurality of sensors includes at least one pressure sensor and at least one imaging sensor.
Nonetheless, Degerteken et al disclose wherein the plurality of sensors includes at least one ultrasound imaging sensor [see 0062-0063 and fig 4]; wherein the plurality of sensors includes at least one pressure sensor and at least one imaging sensor [see 0062-0063 and fig 4] by disclosing a capacitive pressure sensing FFR membrane (basically a large CMUT) 225 and capacitive sensor electronics can easily be integrated into the chip 215 and the FFR sensor can be a piezoresistive sensor on the same chip as the CMUT imaging chip or it can be on a separate chip but electrically and mechanically connected to the CMUT imaging chip [see 0062].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Carreel et al and Degerteken et al by using at least one ultrasound imaging sensor and at least one pressure sensor; for direct pressure and/or temperature measurement and enable the guidewire to be tracked via ultrasound imaging.
Regarding claim 9-11, Carreel et al don’t disclose wherein the at least one ultrasound imaging sensor is operable with a center frequency of about 5 MHz to about 25 MHz; wherein the at least one ultrasound imaging sensor is operable with a center frequency of about 8 MHz to about 20 MHz and wherein the at least one ultrasound imaging sensor is operable with a center frequency of about 10 MHz to about 15 MHz.
Nonetheless, Degerteken et al disclose wherein the at least one ultrasound imaging sensor is operable with a center frequency of about 5 MHz to about 25 MHz; wherein the at least one ultrasound imaging sensor is operable with a center frequency of about 8 MHz to about 20 MHz and wherein the at least one ultrasound imaging sensor is operable with a center frequency of about 10 MHz to about 15 MHz [see 0058].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Carreel et al and Degerteken et al by having at least one ultrasound imaging sensor is operable with a center frequency of about 5 MHz to about 25 MHz; wherein the at least one ultrasound imaging sensor is operable with a center frequency of about 8 MHz to about 20 MHz and wherein the at least one ultrasound imaging sensor is operable with a center frequency of about 10 MHz to about 15 MHz; to improve the image resolution and provide clinical quality ultrasound images in 20 MHz [see 0064].
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carreel et al (Pub. No.: US 2019/0380651) in view of Degerteken et al (Pub. No.: US 2014/0236017) as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Marmur et al (Pub. No.: US 2018/0021157).
Regarding claim 4, Carreel et al don’t disclose wherein the outer member comprises polyethylene terephthalate of polyether block amide.
Nonetheless, Marmur et al disclose wherein the outer member comprises polyethylene terephthalate of polyether block amide [see 0031]
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Carreel et al and Degerteken et al and Marmur et al by using polyethylene terephthalate of polyether block amide; The polyamide component provides the strength, thermal stability, and chemical resistance, while the polyether component lends flexibility, low-temperature performance, and hydrophilicity to the compound.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REM, filed 6/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 Under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Degerteken et al (Pub. No.: US 2014/0236017).
Applicant argues the flexible substrate exhibiting a cut-seam that is circumferentially distributed about the portion and wherein the flexible substrate is helically wound about the portion of the elongated wire.
Nonetheless, Degerteken et al flexible substrate (coil) exhibiting a cut-seam that is circumferentially distributed about the portion and wherein the flexible substrate is helically wound about the portion of the elongated wire [see 0053, figs 2A].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL F BRUTUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797