DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van der Merwe (US 2019/0085715).
Regarding claim 1, Van der Merwe teaches an engine system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a gas turbine engine 10 including an engine rotating structure (36, 72, 74), a compressor section (22, 24), a combustor section 26, a turbine section (28, 30) and a flowpath extending through the compressor section, the combustor section and the turbine section (Fig. 1), the engine rotating structure comprising a turbine rotor (72, 74) within the turbine section;
an electric machine (246, Fig. 6) comprising an electric machine rotating structure 248; and
a flex coupler (510, Fig. 19) rotatably connecting the electric machine rotating structure to the engine rotating structure (Fig. 19), the flex coupler including
a hub 514 rotatable about an axis (Fig. 20), the hub coupled to one of the electric machine rotating structure or the engine rotating structure (Fig. 19, engine rotating structure);
a sleeve 512 circumscribing the hub (Fig. 20), the sleeve coupled to the other one of the electric machine rotating structure or the engine rotating structure (Fig. 19, electric machine rotating structure); and
a polymer coupler 516 radially between and rotatably fixed to the hub and the sleeve (Fig. 20, ¶194, the polymer coupler is an elastomeric material, which is a type of polymer).
Regarding claim 2, Van der Merwe teaches the invention as discussed above and Van der Merwe further teaches the flex coupler provides an axial slip joint between the electric machine rotating structure and the engine rotating structure (¶197, the flexible element allows for axial forces and movement. The axial movement afforded by the structure is an axial slip joint).
Regarding claim 3, Van der Merwe teaches the invention as discussed above and Van der Merwe further teaches the polymer coupler is disposed within a receptacle in the sleeve (Fig. 20, the receptacle is the grooves in the sleeves).
Regarding claim 4, Van der Merwe teaches the invention as discussed above and Van der Merwe further teaches the hub is disposed within a bore of the polymer coupler (Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 5, Van der Merwe teaches the invention as discussed above and Van der Merwe further teaches the polymer coupler engages the hub at a meshed interface between the polymer coupler and the hub (Fig. 20, ¶193, ¶194).
Regarding claim 6, Van der Merwe teaches the invention as discussed above and Van der Merwe further teaches the polymer coupler engages the sleeve at a meshed interface between the polymer coupler and the sleeve (Fig. 20, ¶193, ¶194).
Regarding claim 7, Van der Merwe teaches the invention as discussed above and Van der Merwe further teaches the polymer coupler engages the hub at a meshed interface between the polymer coupler and the hub (Fig. 20, ¶193, ¶194).
Regarding claim 8, Van der Merwe teaches the invention as discussed above and Van der Merwe further teaches the flex coupler is configured to accommodate axial shifting between the engine rotating structure and the electric machine rotating structure (¶197, the flexible element allows for axial forces and movement.).
Regarding claim 9, Van der Merwe teaches the invention as discussed above and Van der Merwe further teaches the flex coupler is configured to accommodate misalignment between a rotational axis of the engine rotating structure and a rotational axis of the electric machine rotating structure (¶197, the flexible element allows for radial forces and movement which accommodates misalignment between the rotational axes.).
Regarding claim 10, Van der Merwe teaches the invention as discussed above and Van der Merwe further teaches a driveshaft rotatably connecting the flex coupler to the electric machine rotating structure (Fig. 19, shaft 252 extending from the flex coupler 510 to the electric machine can be considered a driveshaft).
Regarding claim 11, Van der Merwe teaches the invention as discussed above and Van der Merwe further teaches a driveshaft rotatably connecting the flex coupler to the engine rotating structure (Fig. 19, shaft extending between 36 and the flex coupler 510 can be considered a driveshaft).
Regarding claim 13, Van der Merwe teaches the invention as discussed above and Van der Merwe further teaches a driveshaft rotatably connecting the flex coupler to one of the electric machine rotating structure or the engine rotating structure (Fig. 19, shaft 252 radially beneath the electric machine is connected to flex couple 510.);
a second flex coupler rotatably connecting the driveshaft to the electric machine rotating structure (¶191, rotor connection member 252 includes one or more flexible members allowing the rotor connection member to flex. ¶196, in other embodiments, the rotor connection member 252 may be configured as two separate connection members, each including a splined portion, the splined portions configured in a similar manner. In this example, the first splined portion is the flex coupler 510, and the second splined portion is a second flex coupler.);
the flex coupler comprising a first flex coupler 510 that rotatably connects the driveshaft to the engine rotating structure; and
the second flex coupler having a common configuration with the first flex coupler (¶196, the splined portions are configured in a similar manner.).
Regarding claim 14, Van der Merwe teaches the invention as discussed above and Van der Merwe further teaches a driveshaft rotatably connecting the flex coupler to the engine rotating structure (Fig. 19, shaft extending between 36 and the flex coupler 510 can be considered a driveshaft).
Regarding claim 15, Van der Merwe teaches the invention as discussed above and Van der Merwe further teaches the flex coupler 510 is directly attached to the electric machine rotating structure (Fig. 19, via shaft 252).
Regarding claim 16, Van der Merwe teaches the invention as discussed above and Van der Merwe further teaches the flex coupler 510 is directly attached to the engine rotating structure and the electric machine rotating structure (Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 17, Van der Merwe teaches the invention as discussed above and Van der Merwe further teaches a propulsor rotor 44 rotatably connected to the engine rotating structure and the electric machine rotating structure (¶120) .
Regarding claim 18, Van der Merwe teaches an engine system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a propulsor rotor 44;
an electric machine comprising (246, Fig. 6) an electric machine rotating structure 248; and
a drivetrain 36 configured to transfer mechanical power between the electric machine rotating structure and the propulsor rotor (¶120), the drivetrain comprising a flex coupler (510, Fig. 19) including
a hub 514 rotatable about an axis (Fig. 20), the hub coupled to one of the electric machine rotating structure or the propulsor rotor (Fig. 19, engine rotating structure);
a sleeve 512 circumscribing the hub (Fig. 20), the sleeve coupled to the other one of the electric machine rotating structure or the propulsor rotor (Fig. 19, electric machine rotating structure); and
a polymer coupler 516 radially between and rotatably fixed to the hub and the sleeve (Fig. 20, ¶194, the polymer coupler is an elastomeric material, which is a type of polymer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Merwe (US 2019/0085715).
Regarding claim 12, Van der Merwe teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above for claim 1. Van der Merwe further teaches a driveshaft rotatably connecting the flex coupler to one of the electric machine rotating structure or the engine rotating structure (Fig. 19, shaft 252 radially beneath the electric machine is connected to flex couple 510.); a second flex coupler rotatably connecting the driveshaft to the electric machine rotating structure, (¶191, rotor connection member 252 includes one or more flexible members allowing the rotor connection member to flex); the flex coupler comprising a first flex coupler 510 that rotatably connects the driveshaft to the engine rotating structure (Fig. 19).
Van der Merwe doesn’t teach the second flex coupler having a different configuration than the first flex coupler.
Van der Merwe teaches two types of flex couplers. A pair of baffles (506, Fig. 18, ¶191) and the polymer flex coupler 510 (Fig. 19). The baffles allow the electric machine to be mechanically isolated to extend the useful life of the electric machine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the engine system of Van der Merwe have a second flex couple be baffles, which is a different configuration than the first flex coupler, as taught by Van der Merwe, in order to reduce mechanical vibrations transmitted to electric machine to extend the useful life of the electric machine.
Conclusion
/DAVID P. OLYNICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741