The current application has an effective filing date of 07/16/2018 according to the priority chain on the record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Raksi et al. US 2011/0028951 A1 (hereinafter “Raksi”).
Regarding claim 1, Raksi discloses a method of treating a target volume of ocular tissue (Abstract: eye-surgical laser system and method, see Figs. 9-10: laser delivery system 1’) , the method comprising:
moving a focus of a laser through the target volume of ocular tissue, the moving comprising transverse scanning (XY transverse scanning) the focus between at least one of a first circumferential boundary and a second circumferential boundary of the target volume of ocular tissue, and a first azimuthal boundary and a second azimuthal boundary of the target volume of ocular tissue, while simultaneously axial scanning (Z depth scanning) the focus between a distal extent and a proximal extent of the target volume of ocular tissue (see Figs. 9-10 and [0023] “ wherein the position of the focal spot can be moved simultaneously in the Z and the XY direction to sweep a curved target line” XY scanner moves in the transverse direction, while Z scanner moves in the distal direction simultaneously to scan a focal spot of the laser system in a target ocular tissue); and
photodisrupting the target volume of ocular tissue at a plurality of spots as the focus is moved through the target volume of ocular tissue. ([0075] laser-induced photodisruption)
Regarding claim 2, Rakdi discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising repeating the moving and photodisrupting a plurality times. ([0075] “… pulses can be delivered to a sequence of spots which are contiguous, nearly contiguous, or are separated by controlled distances” implies a photodisrupting a plurality of time as recited in this claim)
Regarding claim 4, Raksi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transverse scanning further comprises scanning the focus between both of the first circumferential boundary and the second circumferential boundary, and the first azimuthal boundary and the second azimuthal boundary. ([0023] scanning in a curve target line encompasses “focus between both of the first circumferential boundary and the second circumferential boundary, and the first azimuthal boundary and the second azimuthal boundary” as recited in this claim)
Regarding claim 5, Raksi discloses the method of claim 4, wherein: a major dimension of a major scan line between one of the first circumferential boundary and the second circumferential boundary, and the first azimuthal boundary and the second azimuthal boundary is greater than a minor dimension of a minor scan line between the other of the first circumferential boundary and the second circumferential boundary, and the first azimuthal boundary and the second azimuthal boundary, and the focus is scanned along the major scan line to an end of the major scan line before being moved along the minor scan line. ([0142] curve target line encompasses the recited boundaries in this claim)
Regarding claim 6, Raksi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the axial scanning (Z-depth) comprises: moving the focus at an exiting velocity while moving the focus in the direction of the proximal extent, and moving the focus at an entering velocity while moving the focus in the direction of the distal extent. ([0023-0024] Z scanning speed)
Regarding claim 10, Raksi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the target volume of ocular tissue is entirely within ocular tissue. (see [0048-0049] corneal and lens procedures imply target volume of ocular tissue; [0058] “…configured to deliver the femtoscond laser pulses into the entire surgical volume of lens of the eye”)
Regarding claim 11, Raksi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the target volume of ocular tissue encompasses adjacent anatomy. ([0051-0052] cornea and the anterior aqueous chamber; [0170-0175] anterior segment surgical procedure, Z scanner reaches a focal depth up to 10mm)
Regarding claim 12, Raksi discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the adjacent anatomy comprises one of an anterior chamber and an interior of a Schlemm's canal. ([0051-0052] cornea and the anterior aqueous chamber)
Regarding claim 13, Raksi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein photodisrupting tissue comprises applying optical energy to the tissue while the focus is at the plurality of spots. ([0075] Such lasers use relatively low energy per pulse to localize the tissue effect caused by the laser-induced photodisruption.)
Regarding claim 14, Raksi discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting the distal extent of the target volume of ocular tissue; and detecting the proximal extent of the target volume of ocular tissue. ([0064] “The imaging system is configured to image portions of a surgical region to establish three dimensional positional references based on the internal features of the eye”)
Regarding claim 15, Raksi discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the distal extent of the target volume of ocular tissue and the proximal extent of the target volume of ocular tissue are detected based on one or more images of ocular tissue. ([0013-0014] at least five reference points in a target region; also see [0055])
Regarding claim 16, Raksi discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the one or more images of ocular tissue are obtained using one or more of optical imaging techniques, multiphoton imaging techniques, and opto-mechanical imaging techniques. ([0055] optical imaging; [0062, 0064-0065] Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) system)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raksi as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of de Juan, JR et al. US 2014/0069438 A1 (hereinafter “Juan”).
Regarding claim 3, Raksi discloses the method of claim 2, but does not disclose further comprising determining a number corresponding to the plurality of times based on prior moving and photodisrupting related to ex vivo tissue, or in vivo tissue across a patient population previously subjected to a similar laser treatment.
Juan, another prior art reference in analogous art, discloses a method for treating a patient via ophthalmic (RPK) surgery and providing an optical covering, wherein the results of the surgery with said optical covering are compared to similar patient population are compared ([0504] and claim 276, 0278). Similarly, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Raksi in view of Juan, to consider performance of a similar patient population during surgical planning, the motivation is to set baselines and calibrate the system so as to optimize surgery.
Claim Objection/Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Raksi US 2018/0028355 A1: [0077] “Laser beam 200 next enters z-scanner 208, which is configured to scan laser beam 200 to a particular z-depth along optical axis 114. Transversal scanner 206 and z-scanner 208 together provide scanning in three dimensions and may comprise any suitable configuration of lenses and/or mirrors.”
/SHIRLEY X JIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792
September 24, 2026