DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the mounting plate being adjusted by sliding on set screws and the expansion rails enabling sliding must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberson, US Patent No. 11,385,026 in view of Roberson, Patent Publication No. 20210055078, hereafter Roberson ‘078 in further view of Zimmer, US Patent Publication No. 9,441,915 in further view of Larsson et al., hereafter Larsson, US Patent No. 8,020,335
Regarding claim 1, Roberson discloses a firearm (title), comprising: a barrel (shown in figure 1); and an adjustable offset mount (100), the adjustable offset optic mount comprising: a mounting base (130) with attaching structure (136 and 2:50-3:28 discloses a rail interface); a main arm (132) extending from the base at an offset angle relative to vertical (shown in figures 1, 5 and 6 for example); and a mounting plate (112) adjustably coupled to the main arm, wherein the mounting plate is adjustable along a tangent line relative to a shoulder pivot point of the firearm while maintaining the offset angle (as shown in figures 2-3, 5 and 7-9 and disclosed in 3:38-4:5, the mounting position is moveable laterally using overlapping holes 140/142); however, while Roberson clearly considers a rail interface as an alternative, Roberson does not specifically disclose the structure of the firearm and receiver and attachment of other optics, the specific structure of the rail capture or the accessory attached to the offset mount being an optic.
Nonetheless, Roberson ‘078 shows an offset optic mount which details the specifics of a firearm onto which the offset mount is to be mounted and specifically shows the firearm has a receiver, stock, barrel and primary optic (108) (all shown in figure 1) and further teaches the specifics of a rail capture used with an offset mount (shown in figures 2 and 5 for example)
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify or define the implied firearm structure and explicit consideration of a rail interface in Roberson to have a configuration similar to that as taught by Roberson ‘078 with a reasonable expectation of success since one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the partial firearm of Roberson to include a receiver and stock like that of Roberson ‘078 especially in view of Roberson’s disclosure of mounting to a rail interface. Additionally, Roberson ‘078 provides a clear teaching that it would have been obvious to use the offset mount with a primary optic in order to equip the firearm with an alternate or back up sighting system in [0003-0008].
Further regarding claim 1, Roberson discloses the offset mount and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the mount arm to be useable with any number of accessories; however, Roberson does not explicitly consider a second optic like that in Roberson ‘078. Nonetheless, Zimmer provides a clear teaching of an optic mounting structure (scope rings 125 with mounting screws 135 through structure 115 and into threaded portions of 125 as shown and taught in 4:66-5:41). The structure of Roberson uses threaded fasteners positioned in the lateral mounting holes through the arm extension in order to position an accessory and Zimmer provides a clear teaching of a structure which would be useable to mount an optic using the holes 140/142 of Roberson.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Roberson to mount an optic on the offset arm using a structure similar to that as taught by Zimmer with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for mounting of an optic sight which offers several advantages such as a back-up sighting system in the event the primary optic is damaged or an alternative optic which has a different magnification or eye relief than the primary optic while also allowing the user to adjust the position of the offset sight accessory using the adjustable structure of Roberson. Roberson ‘078 provides additional support that consideration of a second offset sight is well known in the art and would have been obvious for at least the reasons above.
Further regarding claim 1, Roberson does not specifically disclose the mounting plate is further adjustable in height relative to the main arm. Nonetheless, Larsson provides a clear teaching of a mounting for an accessory on firearm rail and providing a spacer 21 which may optionally be used to allow accessories to be mounted at different levels in order to adjust the optical axis/axes as in 1:23-31 and 2:26-38 and 2:58-3:15.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Roberson to utilize a spacer similar to that as taught by Larsson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to add the capability to adjust a variety of accessories and adjust the optical axis of the accessories like that taught by Larsson in 1:23-31 in order to allow a user to more comfortably use a sight or align the axes of more than one optical sight.
Regarding claim 4, Roberson as modified by Roberson ‘078, Zimmer and Larsson further discloses the main arm comprises a plurality of locating holes arranged along a length of the main arm (Roberson 140/142), wherein the mounting plate is adjustably coupled to the main arm using plate screws (Roberson 150) that engage with selected locating holes (Roberson, figures 2 and 3), and wherein the plurality of locating holes comprises at least three sets of holes corresponding to inner, middle, and outer mounting positions (best shown in figure 5 of Roberson, holes 140 have three sets of holes 142 which correspond to inner, middle and outer positions).
Regarding claim 7, Roberson as modified by Roberson ‘078, Zimmer and Larsson further discloses the rail capture is configured to attach to a Picatinny rail on the receiver (Roberson discloses MIL-STD-1913 which is to a Picatinny rail and Roberson ‘078 further teaches a Picatinny rail mount)
Regarding claim 21, Roberson as modified by Roberson ‘078, Zimmer and Larsson further discloses the adjustable offset optic mount further comprises one or more platform spacers (Larsson 21) positioned between the mounting plate and the main arm to adjust the height of the mounting plate (Figure 1 of Larsson shows placement of spacer 21 on the mounting interface. Roberson as modified by Larsson adds the spacer between the mounting plate and mounting plate to raise, or adjust, a level of the optical axis of the accessory held)
Regarding claim 22, Roberson as modified by Roberson ‘078, Zimmer and Larsson further discloses the mounting plate is continuously adjustable between end points along the main arm (in as much as the application discloses or shows “continuously adjustable” along the main arm, Roberson discloses the mounting plate 112 being continuously adjustable along the main arm. Roberson is moveable along the arm 132 in the holes 142 and continuously slidable between positions when the screws are loosened)
Regarding claim 23, in as much as the applicant discloses or illustrates the mounting plate sliding on set screws, Roberson as modified by Roberson ‘078, Zimmer and Larsson further discloses the mounting plate 112 slidable along 132 with screws 150 in the connected holes 142 (Roberson)
Claim(s) 8, 11, 13-15, 18, 25-27 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberson, US Patent No. 11,385,026 in view of Zimmer in further view of Larsson et al., hereafter Larsson, US Patent No.
Regarding claim 8, Roberson discloses an adjustable offset optic mount (100) for a firearm, comprising: a mounting base (130) with attaching structure (136 and 2:50-3:28 discloses a rail interface); a main arm (132) extending from the base at an offset angle relative to vertical (shown in figures 1, 5 and 6 for example); and a mounting plate (112) adjustably coupled to the main arm; and a plurality of locating holes (140/142 as in figures 3, 5 and 9 for example) on the main arm, wherein the mounting plate is selectably attachable to the main arm at different positions using the plurality of locating holes allowing adjustment of the accessory along a tangent line relative to a shoulder pivot point of the firearm while maintaining the offset angle (as shown in figures 2-3, 5 and 7-9 and disclosed in 3:38-4:5, the mounting position is moveable laterally between 3 lateral positions using overlapping holes 140/142); however, while Roberson clearly considers a rail interface as an alternative, Roberson does not specifically disclose a structure of the rail capture or the accessory attached to the offset mount being an optic.
Nonetheless, Zimmer provides a clear teaching an offset optic mounting structure (100) which has a rail capture (2:54-3:8) and teaches an optic mounting structure (scope rings 125 with mounting screws 135 through structure 115 and into threaded portions of 125 as shown and taught in 4:66-5:41). The structure of Roberson uses threaded fasteners positioned in the lateral mounting holes through the arm extension in order to position an accessory and Zimmer provides a clear teaching of a structure which would be useable to mount an optic using the holes 140/142 of Roberson.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify or define the interface of Roberson to be a rail capture like that considered and the mounted accessory to be an optic on the offset arm using a structure similar to that as taught by Zimmer with a reasonable expectation of success since Roberson considers a rail interface and Zimmer provides a clear teaching of a structure known in the art and in order to allow for mounting of an optic sight which offers several advantages such as a back-up sighting system in the event the primary optic is damaged or an alternative optic which has a different magnification or eye relief than the primary optic while also allowing the user to adjust the position of the offset sight accessory using the adjustable structure of Roberson. Roberson ‘078 provides additional support that consideration of a second offset sight is well known in the art and would have been obvious for at least the reasons above.
Further regarding claim 1, Roberson does not specifically disclose the mounting plate is further adjustable in height relative to the main arm. Nonetheless, Larsson provides a clear teaching of a mounting for an accessory on firearm rail and providing a spacer 21 which may optionally be used to allow accessories to be mounted at different levels in order to adjust the optical axis/axes as in 1:23-31 and 2:26-38 and 2:58-3:15.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Roberson to utilize a spacer similar to that as taught by Larsson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to add the capability to adjust a variety of accessories and adjust the optical axis of the accessories like that taught by Larsson in 1:23-31 in order to allow a user to more comfortably use a sight or align the axes of more than one optical sight.
Regarding claim 11, Roberson as modified by Zimmer and Larsson further discloses the mounting plate is adjustably coupled to the main arm using plate screws (Roberson 150) that engage with selected locating holes (Roberson, figures 2 and 3), and wherein the plurality of locating holes comprises at least three sets of holes corresponding to inner, middle, and outer mounting positions (best shown in figure 5 of Roberson, holes 140 have three sets of holes 142 which correspond to inner, middle and outer positions).
Regarding claim 11, Roberson as modified by Zimmer and Larsson further discloses the rail capture is configured to attach to a Picatinny rail on the receiver (Roberson discloses MIL-STD-1913 which is to a Picatinny rail and Roberson ‘078 further teaches a Picatinny rail mount)
Regarding claim 14, Roberson as modified by Zimmer further discloses a quick adjust mechanism with arm tightening for rapid adjustments to the position of the mounting plate without tools (Zimmer 3:4-8 clearly teaches a quick adjust throw lever assembly to allow for securing the base to the rail instead of the clamps 111 and fasteners 112. If the applicant feels this teaching is not sufficient, an additional reference teaching the structure is known in the art is available if requested)
Regarding claim 25, Roberson as modified by Zimmer and Larsson further discloses the adjustable offset optic mount further comprises one or more platform spacers (Larsson 21) positioned between the mounting plate and the main arm to adjust the height of the mounting plate (Figure 1 of Larsson shows placement of spacer 21 on the mounting interface. Roberson as modified by Larsson adds the spacer between the mounting plate and mounting plate to raise, or adjust, a level of the optical axis of the accessory held)
Regarding claim 26, Roberson as modified by Zimmer and Larsson further discloses the mounting plate is continuously adjustable between end points along the main arm (in as much as the application discloses or shows “continuously adjustable” along the main arm, Roberson discloses the mounting plate 112 being continuously adjustable along the main arm. Roberson is moveable along the arm 132 in the holes 142 and continuously slidable between positions when the screws are loosened)
Regarding claim 27, in as much as the applicant discloses or illustrates the mounting plate sliding on set screws, Roberson as modified by Zimmer and Larsson further discloses the mounting plate 112 slidable along 132 with screws 150 in the connected holes 142 (Roberson)
Regarding claims 15, 18, 20 and 29, the method steps are rendered obvious since such would have been an obvious manner of using the apparatus of Roberson as modified by Zimmer and Larsson as disclosed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24, 28 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but appear to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection addresses the amended claims and does not rely on previously presented prior art references to meet the amended and argued limitations. The arguments that Roberson and Zimmer fail to disclose or teach additionally adjusting the height is correct; however, the amendment to the claims required additional search and consideration of the prior art of record. Larsson provides a clear teaching of using a spacer to adjust the optical axis of a mounted accessory and is useable in combination with Roberson as detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DERRICK R MORGAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641