DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A – cited by IDS).
Instant Application 19/044,410
Claim 2. (New): A urine collection and drainage device, comprising: a device body comprising a vulva-facing portion and a handle portion, wherein the device body further comprises an anterior end and a posterior end, wherein lateral sides of the device body converge at the posterior end to form a posterior ridge; a urine collection slot defined along a urethra-facing side of the vulva-facing portion, wherein the posterior ridge meets with the urethra-facing side to surround the urine collection slot, wherein the posterior ridge is configured to be used to spread apart a labia minora of a subject to expose a urethral-opening of the subject, wherein the posterior ridge is configured to rest against the fourchette of the subject when the urine collection slot surrounds the urethral-opening; and a drainage opening defined along a base of the device body, wherein the urine collection slot is in fluid communication with the drainage opening through an interior cavity defined within the device body, and wherein the urine collection slot has a slot width and a drainage opening width at the base of the device body, wherein the slot width is smaller than the drainage opening width, and wherein the interior cavity forms a tapered-cone like shape, wherein the handle portion has a base protuberance.
U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2
Claim 1. A urine collection and drainage device, comprising: a device body comprising a vulva-facing portion and a handle portion, wherein the device body further comprises an anterior end and a posterior end, wherein the vulva-facing portion comprises a bulbous protuberance at the posterior end and a partial dome portion in proximity to the anterior end, wherein lateral sides of the device body converge at the posterior end to form a posterior ridge; a urine collection slot defined along a urethra-facing side of the vulva-facing portion in between the bulbous protuberance and the partial dome portion, wherein at least one of the bulbous protuberance and the posterior ridge is configured to be used to spread apart a labia minora of a subject to expose a urethral-opening of the subject, wherein the posterior ridge is configured to rest against the fourchette of the subject and the bulbous protuberance is configured to rest against at least part of a vaginal opening of the subject when the urine collection slot surrounds the urethral-opening, and wherein the partial dome portion is configured to rest against part of a vulva vestibule and a labia minora of the subject when the urine collection slot surrounds the urethral-opening; and a drainage opening defined along a base of the device body, wherein the urine collection slot is in fluid communication with the drainage opening through an interior cavity defined within the device body, and wherein the urine collection slot has a slot width and a drainage opening width at the base of the device body, wherein the slot width is smaller than the draining opening width, wherein the internal cavity forms a tapered-cone like shape, wherein the handle portion has a base protuberance, wherein the posterior ridge is between the base of the device body and the bulbous protuberance, and wherein a ratio between a base protuberance radius of curvature and a bulbous protuberance radius of curvature is greater than one.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2 does not recite “wherein the posterior ridge meets with the urethra-facing side to surround the urine collection slot”.
However, Cross teaches a posterior ridge (longitudinal ridge 38, fig. 2, col. 3 lines 5-9) wherein the posterior ridge meets (ridge 38, fig. 2) with the urethra-facing side (wall 34, fig. 2) to surround the urine collection slot (opening 35 & orifice 20, fig. 2) (as seen in fig. 2, “surface formation 33 ... wall 34 ... overlie the orifice 20 ... communicates with it through a generally frusto-conical opening 35 ... ridge 38 projects”, col. 2 line 54 – col. 3 line 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2 such that the posterior ridge meets with the urethra-facing side to surround the urine collection slot, in view of the teachings of Cross, as this would aid in providing a surface formation for contact with the periurethral area and would further aid in helping to locate the device securely against lateral movement and twisting and of helping to prevent any leakage of urine (Cross, col. 2 line 54 – col. 3 line 9 & col. 3 lines 15-32).
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A). Claim 3 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A). Claim 4 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 & 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A). Claim 5 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 5 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A). Claim 6 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 5-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A). Claim 7 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 5-7 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A). Claim 8 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A). Claim 9 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A). Claim 11 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A). Claim 12 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A). Claim 13 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 13 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A). Claim 14 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A). Claim 15 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Rahlff (US 5687429 A cited by IDS). Claims 1 & 8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2 do not recite wherein the urine collection slot extends along an entire length of the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface along the urethra-facing side.
However, Rahlff directed to a urinal for women discloses wherein the urine collection slot (inlet opening 7, figs. 1-4) extends along an entire length of the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface along the urethra-facing side. (as seen in figs. 1-4, “inlet opening ... delimited by the lateral and end walls 1, 2, 3, 4”, col. 5 lines 54-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1 8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A), such that the urine collection slot extends along an entire length of the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface along the urethra-facing side, in view of the teachings of Rahlff, as this would aid in delimiting the inlet opening by the lateral walls.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Tanguay (US D580049 S). Claims 1 & 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2 do not recite wherein the urine collection bag is attached in the interior cavity.
However, Tanguay directed to a portable urinal device discloses wherein the urine collection bag (urinal bag, fig. 7) is attached in the interior cavity (as seen in fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1 & 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A) such that the urine collection bag is attached in the interior cavity, in view of the teachings of Tanguay, as this would aid in mounting the urinal bag to the flow duct for collecting urine.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Rahlff (US 5687429 A - cited by IDS). Claims 1 & 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2 do not recite wherein the urine collection bag is attached outside of the interior cavity.
However, Rahlff directed to a urinal for women discloses wherein the urine collection bag (100, fig. 6) is attached outside of the interior cavity (“bottom surface 10 of the inlet member is glued to the external surface of the bag in an area around the opening in the sheet”, col. 4 line 65 – col. 5 line 21 & col. 6 lines 50-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1 & 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A) such that the urine collection bag (100, fig. 6) is attached outside of the interior cavity, in view of the teachings of Rahlff, as this would aid in fixing the collecting container to the urinal such that urine runs quickly away from the vagina into the collecting container substantially avoiding urine spraying backwards.
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Chen (US 20170000302 A1). Claims 1 & 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2 do not recite wherein the base protuberance is hollow to accommodate a snap fit for the urine collection bag.
However, Chen directed to urinary device for emergency use having a base discloses wherein the base protuberance (base 1, figs. 1-3) is hollow (“opening”, figs. 1-3) to accommodate a snap fit for the urine collection bag (a snap fitting device is provided on the lower opening 2 for hanging a receptacle ... plastic bag, para. [0015], figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1 & 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A), such that the base protuberance is hollow to accommodate a snap fit for the urine collection bag, in view of the teachings of Chen, as this would aid in providing a snap fitting device for hanging the plastic bag for collecting urine.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Rahlff (US 5687429 A - cited by IDS). Claims 1 & 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2 do not recite an adhesive for attaching the urine collection bag to the device.
However, Rahlff directed to a urinal for women discloses an adhesive for attaching the urine collection bag to the device (“glued”, col. 6 lines 50-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1 & 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A) such that to comprise an adhesive for attaching the urine collection bag to the device, in view of the teachings of Rahlff, as this would aid in fixing the collecting container to the urinal.
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Rahlff (US 5687429 A - cited by IDS). Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2 does not recite wherein the base has a curvature that matches a curvature of the urine collection slot.
However, Rahlff directed to a urinal for women discloses wherein the base has a curvature that matches a curvature of the urine collection slot (as seen in figs. 1-6, “curved walls”, col. 4 lines 25-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A) such that the base has a curvature that matches a curvature of the urine collection slot, in view of the teachings of Rahlff, as this would aid in providing curved walls to provide sealing contact with the female urethral orifice.
Claim 21 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 in view of Cross (US 4936838 A - cited by IDS), and further in view of Rahlff (US 5687429 A - cited by IDS).
Instant Application 19/044,410
Claim 21. (New): A method of collecting a clean urine sample from a subject using one hand, the method comprising: holding a urine collection device using the one hand by placing a base protuberance of a handle portion of the urine collection device in contact with a palm of the one hand, wherein the urine collection device further comprises a device body having an anterior end, a posterior end, and a vulva-facing portion, wherein a urine collection slot is defined along a urethra-facing side of the vulva-facing portion in between the anterior end and the posterior end, wherein lateral sides of the device body converge at the posterior end to form a posterior ridge, wherein the urine collection device further comprises a drainage opening through an interior cavity defined within the device body, wherein the urine collection slot has a slot width and a drainage opening width at a base of the device body, and wherein the slot width is smaller than the drainage opening width, wherein the interior cavity forms a tapered-cone like shape, using part of the posterior end of the urine collection device to spread apart a labia minora of a subject to expose a urethral-opening of the subject; holding the urine collection device in place when the urine collection slot surrounds the urethral-opening of the subject; and collecting voided urine from the subject through the urine collection slot into a urine collection bag, wherein the urine collection bag is coupled to the urine collection device.
U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2
Claim 19. A method of collecting a clean urine sample from a subject using one hand, the method comprising: holding a urine collection device using the one hand by placing a base protuberance of a handle portion of the urine collection device in contact with a palm of the one hand and grasping a contoured handle groove defined along lateral sides of the handle portion with a plurality of fingers of the one hand, wherein the urine collection device further comprises a device body having an anterior end, a posterior end, and a vulva-facing portion, and wherein a urine collection slot is defined along a urethra-facing side of the vulva-facing portion in between the anterior end and the posterior end; wherein the urine collection device further comprises a drainage opening through an interior cavity defined within the device body, and wherein the urine collection slot has a slot width and a drainage opening width at a base of the device body, wherein the slot width is smaller than the draining opening width, wherein the internal cavity forms a tapered-cone like shape, wherein a posterior ridge is between a base of the device body and a bulbous protuberance, and wherein a ratio between a base protuberance radius of curvature and a bulbous protuberance radius of curvature is greater than one; using part of the posterior end of the urine collection device to spread apart a labia minora of a subject to expose a urethral-opening of the subject; holding the urine collection device in place when the urine collection slot surrounds the urethral-opening of the subject; and collecting voided urine from the subject through the urine collection slot.
Claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1 does not recite “wherein lateral sides of the device body converge at the posterior end to form a posterior ridge”.
However, Cross teaches wherein lateral sides of the device body converge at the posterior end (as seen in fig.2, “wall 34 ... extends triangular section”, col. 3 lines 5-9) to form a posterior ridge (ridge 38, as seen in fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2 such that lateral sides of the device body converge at the posterior end to form a posterior ridge, in view of the teachings of Cross, as this would aid in providing a surface formation for contact with the periurethral area and would further aid in helping to locate the device securely against lateral movement and twisting and of helping to prevent any leakage of urine (Cross, col. 2 line 54 – col. 3 line 9 & col. 3 lines 15-32).
Claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. US 12440130 B1, as modified by Cross hereinabove, does not teach “collecting voided urine from the subject through the urine collection slot into a urine collection bag, wherein the urine collection bag is coupled to the urine collection device”.
However Rahlff discloses collecting voided urine from the subject through the urine collection slot into a urine collection bag (“collecting container 100 ... bag”, col. 6 lines 50-58, as seen in fig. 6) & (“urine runs quickly away from the vagina into the collecting container”, col. 3 lines 25-31 & col. 6 line 50 – col. 7 line 9), wherein the urine collection bag is coupled to the urine collection device (“collecting container 100 ... bag ... glued”, col. 4 lines 63 - col. 5 lines 21 & col. 6 line 50 – col. 7 line 9, as seen in fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268373 B2, as modified by Cross hereinabove, such that the method comprises collecting voided urine from the subject through the urine collection slot into a urine collection bag, in view of the teachings of Rahlff, as this would aid in urine running quickly away from the vagina into the collecting container and avoiding urine spraying backwards, even if the stream is ejected under comparatively high pressure (Rahlff, col. 3 lines 25-31).
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 line 11 should recite “a fourchette”.
Claim 3 lines 2-3 should recite “a vulva vestibule”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claims 4, 6, 7, and 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitations “wherein the urethra-facing side has a radius of curvature of between about 8.0 cm and about 12.0 cm”; “wherein the slot width is between about 0.25 cm and about 1.0 cm”; “wherein the urine collection slot has a slot length, wherein the slot length is between about 1.0 cm and about 5.0 cm”; “wherein a ratio of the slot length to the slot width is between about 3:1 to about 10:1” are rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 3 lines 2-5 (claims 4-5 by virtue of dependency) recites the limitations "the vulva-facing portion rests against the vulva vestibule of the subject when the urine collection slot surrounds the urethral-opening and a fluid-tight seal is formed by the labia minora of the subject as the labia minora surrounds the device body".
It is suggested that the limitation recite “wherein the vulva-facing portion is configured to rest against the vulva vestibule of the subject when the urine collection slot surrounds the urethral-opening and the vulva-facing portion is configured to form a fluid-tight seal against the labia minora of the subject as the labia minora surrounds the device body”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5, 9-11, 15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahlff (US 5687429 A cited by IDS) in view of Cross (US 4936838 A - cited by IDS), further in view of Anderson (US 4194508 A - cited by IDS), and further in view of Nelson (US 20150366699 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Rahlff discloses a urine collection and drainage device (“urinal for women”, Abstract, figs. 1-4), comprising: a device body (unlabeled, but as seen in figs. 1-4) comprising a vulva-facing portion (“inlet side”, col. 5 lines 41-42, as seen in figs. 1-4) and a handle portion (handle 11, figs. 1-4), wherein the device body further comprises an anterior end (front end wall 3 & handle 11, as seen in figs. 1-4) and a posterior end (rear end wall 4, as seen in figs. 1-4); wherein lateral sides (lateral walls 1 & 2, figs. 1-3) of the device body converge at the posterior end (unlabeled, but as seen in figs. 1-3, “external surfaces 1a, 2a of the lateral walls are curved and diverge away from the inlet opening 7”, col. 5 line 63 – col. 6 line 5); a urine collection slot (inlet opening 7, figs. 1-2, “elongated”, col. 3 lines 32-36) defined along a urethra-facing side (periphery 6, figs. 1-4) of the vulva-facing portion (“inlet side”, col. 5 lines 41-42, as seen in figs. 1-4); and a drainage opening (outlet member 8, fig. 3) defined along a base (bottom surface 10, fig. 3) of the device body (as seen in figs. 1-4), wherein the urine collection slot is in fluid communication with the drainage opening through an interior cavity (flow duct 13, fig. 4) defined within the device body (flow duct 13, fig. 4, col. 3 lines 25-31 & col. 5 lines 60-62, as seen in figs. 3-4), and wherein the urine collection slot has a slot width (“inlet opening ... width”, col. 3 lines 37-41) and a drainage opening width at the base of the device body (unlabeled, but as seen in fig. 3, “internal surfaces of the urinal's walls may advantageously diverge from the inlet opening to the outlet opening so that the flow member is shaped like a reversed funnel”; “bottom surface 10 surrounding the outlet member ... width”, col. 3 lines 4-31 & col. 6 lines 21-39), wherein the slot width is smaller than the drainage opening width (unlabeled, but as seen in figs. 1-4, “reversed funnel”, col. 3 lines 4-31 & “diverge in a direction away from the inlet opening 7 to the outlet member 8”, col. 6 lines 21-27), and wherein the interior cavity forms a tapered-cone like shape (“reversed funnel”, col. 3 lines 4-31 & “diverge in a direction away from the inlet opening 7 to the outlet member 8”, col. 6 lines 21-27, as seen in figs. 1-4).
Rahlff further discloses that lateral walls 1, 2 of the inlet member are inserted between the labia majora wriggling the device slightly from side to side and bulb 5 is positioned where the labia minora meet such that the periphery of the inlet member is now in sealing contact with the female urethral orifice (col. 6 line 50 – col. 7 line 9).
Rahlff does not disclose wherein lateral sides of the device body converge at the posterior end to form a posterior ridge; wherein the posterior ridge meets with the urethra-facing side to surround the urine collection slot; wherein the posterior ridge is configured to be used to spread apart a labia minora of a subject to expose a urethral-opening of the subject.
However, Cross directed to a female external urine collection device discloses wherein lateral sides of the device body converge at the posterior (as seen in figs. 1-2, “wall 34 ... extends triangular section”, col. 3 lines 5-9) to form a posterior ridge (longitudinal ridge 38, figs. 1-2); wherein the posterior ridge (ridge 38, figs. 1-2) meets with the urethra-facing side (wall 34, figs. 1-2) to surround the urine collection slot (opening 35 & orifice 20, fig. 2) (as seen in fig. 2, “surface formation 33 ... wall 34 ... overlie the orifice 20 ... communicates with it through a generally frusto-conical opening 35 ... ridge 38 projects”, col. 2 line 54 – col. 3 line 9); wherein the posterior ridge (ridge 38, figs. 1-2) is configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) be used to spread apart a labia minora of a subject to expose a urethral-opening of the subject (“ridge 38 extending in the fold between the buttocks ... helping to locate the device securely against lateral movement and twisting and of helping to prevent any leakage of urine”, col. 3 lines 15-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rahlff such that lateral sides of the device body converge at the posterior end to form a posterior ridge; the posterior ridge meets with the urethra-facing side to surround the urine collection slot; and the posterior ridge is configured to be used to spread apart a labia minora of a subject to expose a urethral-opening of the subject, in view of the teachings of Cross, as this would aid in providing a surface formation for contact with the periurethral area and would further aid in helping to locate the device securely against lateral movement and twisting and of helping to prevent any leakage of urine (Cross, col. 2 line 54 – col. 3 line 9 & col. 3 lines 15-32).
Rahlff, as modified by Cross hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the posterior ridge is configured to rest against the fourchette of the subject when the urine collection slot surrounds the urethral-opening.
However, Anderson directed to an externally applied urinary collection and diverting device discloses a posterior ridge (narrow housing extensions 30,32 & perineal pad 34, col. 3 lines 34-38), wherein the posterior ridge (narrow housing extensions 30,32 & perineal pad 34, col. 3 lines 34-38) is configured to rest against the fourchette of the subject when the urine collection slot surrounds the urethral-opening (“collection device is ... diaphragm 50 positioned around the urethral orifice ... perineal pad 34 snugged in the fourchette area ... extensions 30, 32 ... proper positioning thereof in the fourchette region to be snuggly trapped therein, col. 3 lines 34-38, claims 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rahlff, as modified by Cross hereinabove, such that the posterior ridge is configured to rest against the fourchette of the subject when the urine collection slot surrounds the urethral-opening, in view of the teachings of Anderson, as this would aid in providing further stability and support of the device when fitted to the anatomical configuration of the female user (Anderson, Abstract, claims 8-9).
Rahlff, as modified by Cross and Anderson hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the handle portion has a base protuberance.
However, Nelson directed to a disposable urine bottle discloses a handle portion (handle portion 40, para. [0046], figs. 1-2), wherein the handle portion has a base protuberance (curved rounded rear end portion 24, figs. 1-2, para. [0046]). Nelson further discloses that the bottle can be easily grasped, either by the patient or by a nurse or other helper, by gripping the handle portion 40.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rahlff, as modified by Cross and Anderson hereinabove, such that the handle portion has a base protuberance, in view of the teachings of Nelson, as this would aid in forming the handle portion and facilitate grasping or gripping of the device by the patient for use.
Regarding claim 3, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 2, wherein the urethra-facing side is curved when viewed from a side of the device (as seen in fig. 4), and wherein the vulva-facing portion rests against the vulva vestibule of the subject when the urine collection slot surrounds the urethral-opening (“bulb 5 is positioned where the labia minora meet ... periphery of the inlet member ...sealing contact with the female urethral orifice in a circular extension ... urethral orifice”, col. 6 line 59 - col. 7 line 9) and a fluid-tight seal is formed by the labia minora of the subject as the labia minora surrounds the device body (“contact the labia minora, an excellent seal is achieved”; “periphery of the inlet member is now in sealing contact with the female urethral orifice ... labia minora”, col. 3 lines 42-49 & col. 6 line 59 - col. 7 line 9).
Regarding claim 5, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 3, wherein the urine collection slot (inlet opening 7, figs. 1-4) is curved when viewed from the side of the device (as seen in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 2, wherein the urine collection slot is bounded by a first lateral surface and a second lateral surface (left and a right lateral wall 1, 2 having external surfaces 1a, 2a, as seen in figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 10, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 9, wherein the urine collection slot extends along an entire length of the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface along the urethra-facing side (as seen in figs. 1-4, “inlet opening ... delimited by the lateral and end walls 1, 2, 3, 4”, col. 5 lines 54-67).
Regarding claim 11, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 9, wherein the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface are sloped (“external surfaces 1a, 2a of the lateral walls are curved and diverge away from the inlet opening 7”, col. 5 line 63 – col. 6 line 20, as seen in fig. 5), wherein the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface converge toward one another as the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface approach the urine collection slot (“reversed funnel”; ”“lateral walls ... inclined, reversed V”; “curved and diverge away from the inlet opening 7 ... flow duct diverge in a direction away from the inlet opening 7 to the outlet member 8”, col. 3 lines 25-31 & col. 4 lines 35-38 & col. 5 line 63 – col. 6 line 27).
Regarding claim 15, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 2, further comprising a urine collection bag or a urine collection receptacle (collecting container 100, fig. 6) coupled to at least part of an interior cavity wall of the device body (“bottom surface 10 of the inlet member is glued to the external surface of the bag in an area around the opening in the sheet”, col. 4 line 65 – col. 5 line 21 & col. 6 lines 50-58), wherein the urine collection bag or the urine collection receptacle extends through the drainage opening and is configured to receive a urine sample (fig. 6, “bottom surface 10 of the inlet member is glued to the external surface of the bag in an area around the opening in the sheet”; “the liquid can pass through the flow duct and into the collecting container”, col. 4 line 65 – col. 5 line 21 & col. 6 line 50-58, Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 15, wherein the urine collection bag is attached outside of the interior cavity (“bottom surface 10 of the inlet member is glued to the external surface of the bag in an area around the opening in the sheet”, col. 4 line 65 – col. 5 line 21 & col. 6 lines 50-58).
Regarding claim 19, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 15, further comprising an adhesive for attaching the urine collection bag to the device (“glued”, col. 6 lines 50-58).
Regarding claim 20, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, discloses device of claim 2, wherein the base has a curvature that matches a curvature of the urine collection slot (as seen in figs. 1-6, “curved walls”, col. 4 lines 25-30).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahlff in view of Cross, Anderson, and Nelson, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Levinson (US 20090048568 A1 – cited by IDS).
Regarding claim 4, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 3. Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the urethra-facing side has a radius of curvature of between about 8.0 cm and about 12.0 cm.
However, Levinson directed to a urination apparatus having a urethra-facing side (“inlet area”; “rib 5B”, para. [0089, 0155]) discloses wherein the urethra-facing side has a radius of curvature of between about 8.0 cm and about 12.0 cm (“convex in shape and complementary to the curved strip of the female body between the upper and lower portions”; “rim 5B has a radius in the region of 10 cm”, para. [0155, 0157]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, such that the urethra-facing side has a radius of curvature of between about 8.0 cm and about 12.0 cm, in view of the teachings of Levinson, as this would aid in defining an inlet surface that is slightly convex in shape and complementary to the curved strip of the female body.
Claims 6-8 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahlff in view of Cross, Anderson, and Nelson, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Logiadis (US 3900019 A – cited by IDS).
Regarding claim 6, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 2. Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the slot width is between about 0.25 cm and about 1.0 cm.
However, Logiadis directed to a portable device for taking urine samples having a slot (slit 22, fig. 1) discloses wherein the slot width is between about 0.25 cm and about 1.0 cm (“width of the slot being adapted to encompass the urethral meatus”; “slot is about one-quarter inch wide”, claims 1& 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, such that the slot width is between about 0.25 cm and about 1.0 cm, in view of the teachings of Logiadis, as this would aid in encompassing the urethral meatus.
Regarding claim 7, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, Nelson, and Logiadis hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 6, wherein the urine collection slot has a slot length, wherein the slot length is between about 1.0 cm and about 5.0 cm (“inlet opening ... length ... between 3 and 10 cm, particularly 5 to 7 cm”, col. 3 lines 32-36, claim 11).
Regarding claim 8, upon the modification of Rahlff to incorporate the slot width of a quarter inch wide (0.635 cm) as described with respect to claim 6, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, Nelson, and Logiadis hereinabove, wherein a ratio of the slot length to the slot width is between about 3:1 to about 10:1 (length of 3-10 cm, claim 11 & width of .25 inches (0.635 cm) Examiner note: if the inlet length is 3 cm and the width is 0.635 cm the ratio of slot length to width is 4.72 & if the inlet length is 5 cm and the width is 0.635 cm the ratio of slot length to width is 7.9).
Regarding claim 12, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 2 and the front end wall 3. Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, does not disclose wherein the vulva-facing portion comprises a partial dome portion superior to the anterior end.
However, Logiadis directed to a portable device for taking urine samples having a vulva-facing portion (as seen in figs. 1-3) discloses wherein the vulva-facing portion comprises a partial dome portion (dome-like portion 20, col. 3 line 52 – col. 4 line 13) superior (as seen in figs. 1-3) to the anterior end (unlabeled, but as seen in figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, such that the vulva-facing portion comprises a partial dome portion superior to the anterior end, in view of the teachings of Logiadis, as this would aid in holding back the labia majora and minora so that there is no interference with taking the sample and preventing inadvertent movement of the slit out of its position surrounding the urethral opening (Logiadis, col. 3 line 52 – col. 4 line 13).
Regarding claim 13, upon the modification of Rahlff to incorporate the dome-like portion of Logiadis, as described with respect to claim 12 above, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, Nelson, and Logiadis hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 12, wherein the partial dome portion is configured to extend anteriorly past a vulva vestibule and a labia minora of the subject when the urine collection slot surrounds the urethral-opening (Logiadis, as seen in fig. 3 & col. 3 line 52 – col. 4 line 13). This would aid in holding back the labia majora and minora so that there is no interference with taking the sample and preventing inadvertent movement of the slit out of its position surrounding the urethral opening (Logiadis, col. 3 line 52 – col. 4 line 13).
Regarding claim 14, upon the modification of Rahlff to incorporate the dome-like portion of Logiadis, as described with respect to claim 12 above, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, Nelson, and Logiadis hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 12 and the partial dome portion (Logiadis, dome-like portion 20, col. 3 line 52 – col. 4 line 13).
Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, Nelson, and Logiadis hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the handle portion further comprises the base protuberance positioned at the anterior end and inferior or below the partial dome portion.
However, Nelson directed to the disposable urine bottle discloses the handle portion (handle portion 40, para. [0046], figs. 1-4 & 6), and the base protuberance (curved rounded rear end portion 24, figs. 1-4 & 6, para. [0046]), wherein the handle portion (40, figs. 1-4 & 6) further comprises the base protuberance (curved rounded rear end portion 24, figs. 1-4 & 6, para. [0046]) positioned at the anterior end (“curved rounded rear end portion” as seen in fig. 6, para. [0026, 0039, 0041]) and inferior or below the roof portion 38 (“handle portion 40 is formed ...extending ... periphery of the rounded rear portion 24 to the rearmost end of the roof portion 38”, para. [0046], as seen in fig. 6). Nelson further discloses that the bottle can be easily grasped, either by the patient or by a nurse or other helper, by gripping the handle portion 40.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, Nelson, and Logiadis hereinabove, such that the handle portion further comprises the base protuberance positioned at the anterior end and inferior or below the partial dome portion, in view of the teachings of Nelson, as this would aid in forming the handle portion and facilitate grasping or gripping of the device by the patient for use.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahlff in view of Cross, Anderson, and Nelson, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Tanguay (US D580049 S).
Regarding claim 16, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 15. Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the urine collection bag is attached in the interior cavity.
However, Tanguay directed to a portable urinal device discloses wherein the urine collection bag (urinal bag, fig. 7) is attached in the interior cavity (as seen in fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, such that the urine collection bag is attached in the interior cavity, in view of the teachings of Tanguay, as this would aid in mounting the urinal bag to the flow duct for collecting urine.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahlff in view of Cross, Anderson, and Nelson, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Chen (US 20170000302 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, discloses the device of claim 15. Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the base protuberance is hollow to accommodate a snap fit for the urine collection bag.
However, Chen directed to urinary device for emergency use having a base discloses wherein the base protuberance (base 1, figs. 1-3) is hollow (“opening”, figs. 1-3) to accommodate a snap fit for the urine collection bag (a snap fitting device is provided on the lower opening 2 for hanging a receptacle ... plastic bag, para. [0015], figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rahlff, as modified by Cross, Anderson, and Nelson hereinabove, such that the base protuberance is hollow to accommodate a snap fit for the urine collection bag, in view of the teachings of Chen as this would aid in providing a snap fitting device for hanging the plastic bag for collecting urine.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahlff (US 5687429 A - cited by IDS) in view of Trabold (US 7181781 B1 - cited by IDS), and further in view of Cross (US 4936838 A - cited by IDS).
Regarding claim 21, Rahlff discloses A method of collecting a clean urine sample from a subject using one hand (“During use the urine ... into the collecting container”; “using ... one hand”, col. 3 lines 25-31 & col. 6 line 50 – col. 7 line 9), the method comprising: holding a urine collection device (as seen in figs. 1-3) using the one hand by placing a handle portion (handle 11, figs. 1-3) of the urine collection device in contact with the one hand (“hold of the handle 11 with one hand”, col. 6 line 50 – col. 7 line 9), wherein the urine collection device further comprises a device body (unlabeled, but as seen in figs. 1-3) having an anterior end (front end wall 3 & handle 11, as seen in figs. 1-4), a posterior end (rear end wall 4, as seen in figs. 1-4), and a vulva-facing portion (“inlet side”, col. 5 lines 41-42, as seen in figs. 1-4), wherein a urine collection slot (inlet opening 7, figs. 1-2, “elongated”, col. 3 lines 32-36) is defined along a urethra-facing side (periphery 6, figs. 1-4) of the vulva-facing portion (“inlet side”, col. 5 lines 41-42, as seen in figs. 1-4) in between the anterior end and the posterior end (as seen in figs. 1-4), wherein lateral sides (lateral walls 1 & 2, figs. 1-4) of the device body converge at the posterior end (unlabeled, but as seen in figs. 1-4, “external surfaces 1a, 2a of the lateral walls are curved and diverge away from the inlet opening 7”, col. 5 line 63 – col. 6 line 5), wherein the urine collection device further comprises a drainage opening (outlet member 8, fig. 3) through an interior cavity defined within the device body (flow duct 13, fig. 4, col. 3 lines 25-31 & col. 5 lines 60-62, as seen in figs. 3-4), wherein the urine collection slot has a slot width (“inlet opening ... width”, col. 3 lines 37-41) and a drainage opening width at a base of the device body (unlabeled, but as seen in figs. 3-4, “internal surfaces of the urinal's walls may advantageously diverge from the inlet opening to the outlet opening so that the flow member is shaped like a reversed funnel”; “bottom surface 10 surrounding the outlet member ... width”, col. 3 lines 4-31 & col. 6 lines 21-39), and wherein the slot width is smaller than the drainage opening width (unlabeled, but as seen in figs. 1-4, “reversed funnel”, col. 3 lines 4-31 & “diverge in a direction away from the inlet opening 7 to the outlet member 8”, col. 6 lines 21-27), wherein the interior cavity forms a tapered-cone like shape (“reversed funnel”, col. 3 lines 4-31 & “diverge in a direction away from the inlet opening 7 to the outlet member 8”, col. 6 lines 21-27, as seen in figs. 1-4), using part of the posterior end of the urine collection device to spread apart a labia minora of a subject to expose a urethral-opening of the subject (“lateral walls 1, 2 of the inlet member are inserted between the labia majora wriggling the device slightly from side to side ... bulb 5 is positioned where the labia minora meet ... periphery of the inlet member is now in sealing contact with the female urethral orifice”, col. 6 line 50 – col. 7 line 9); holding the urine collection device in place when the urine collection slot surrounds the urethral-opening of the subject (“hold ... sealing contact with the female urethral orifice ... urinate”, col. 3 lines 25-31 & col. 6 line 50 – col. 7 line 9); and collecting voided urine from the subject through the urine collection slot into a urine collection bag (“collecting container 100 ... bag”, col. 6 lines 50-58, as seen in fig. 6) & (“urine runs quickly away from the vagina into the collecting container”, col. 3 lines 25-31 & col. 6 line 50 – col. 7 line 9), wherein the urine collection bag is coupled to the urine collection device (“collecting container 100 ... bag ... glued”, col. 4 lines 63 - col. 5 lines 21 & col. 6 line 50 – col. 7 line 9, as seen in fig. 6).
Rahlff does not expressly disclose holding the urine collection device using the one hand by placing a base protuberance of the handle portion of the urine collection device in contact with a palm of the one hand.
However, Trabold directed to a female urinal funnel, discloses holding a urine collection device using the one hand by placing a base protuberance of a handle portion of the urine collection device (col. 2 lines 40-45, sidewalls 18 that extend vertically down from the inlet edge or perimeter entrance lip and then curve inwardly at approximately a ninety degree angle forming the bottom of the funnel. The bottom is sculpted into horizontal and vertical concave finger retaining channels 8, 10, 12, 14) in contact with a palm of the one hand (fig. 7, col. 3 lines 10-12, FIG. 7 shows a user positioning her hand 50 for use in the vertical finger position where fingers 52, 54 rest in finger channels 12, 14 (Examiner Note: fig. 7 shows the bottom of invention 100 placed in the palm of the users hand)). Trabold further discloses channels 8, 10, 12, 14 are a unique and improved way to securely hold and press the funnel shape 100 of the invention onto the vaginal area of a woman so that the chances of leakage of urine during use are significantly reduced (col. 3 lines 15-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rahlff such that the method comprises holding the urine collection device using the one hand by placing a base protuberance of the handle portion of the urine collection device in contact with a palm of the one hand, in view of the teachings of Trabold as such a modification as this would aid a user in positioning their hand to securely hold and press the female urinal onto the vaginal area of a woman so that the chances of leakage of urine during use are significantly reduced (Trabold, col. 3 lines 15-20).
Rahlff further discloses that there are no requirements concerning a precise border between the surfaces of the inlet member and the end walls (col. 4 lines 23-24).
Rahlff, as modified by Trabold hereinabove, does not disclose wherein lateral sides of the device body converge at the posterior end to form a posterior ridge.
However, Cross directed to a female external urine collection device having an anterior end 15 and a posterior end 12 discloses lateral sides of the device body converge at the posterior end (as seen in fig.2, “wall 34 ... extends triangular section”, col. 3 lines 5-9) to form a posterior ridge to form a posterior ridge (ridge 38, as seen in fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rahlff such that lateral sides of the device body converge at the posterior end to form a posterior ridge, in view of the teachings of Cross, as this would aid in providing a surface formation for contact with the periurethral area and would further aid in helping to locate the device securely against lateral movement and twisting and of helping to prevent any leakage of urine (Cross, col. 2 line 54 – col. 3 line 9 & col. 3 lines 15-32).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ellis (US 3512185 A) directed to a urinary collection device; Kossow (US 20130110059 A1) directed to a female urine collection device; Lu (US 5571095 A) directed to a disposable urine bag for females.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/A.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791