Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faaborg et al., US PGPUB 20210096802 hereinafter referenced as Faaborg in view of Pastrana Vicente, US PGPUB 20250103133 hereinafter referenced as Pastrana.
As to claim 1, Faaborg discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium including executable instructions that, when executed by a computing device, cause the computing device to: while a head-wearable device, worn by a user, is communicatively coupled to one or more display devices, wherein the one or more display devices distinct and separate from the head-wearable device: cause the head-wearable device to display a user interface; in accordance with a determination, at a first point in time, that the user is looking at a first display device of the one or more display devices: cause the head-wearable device to cease displaying the user interface; and cause the first display device to display the user interface ([0068] In some implementations, the head mounted display device 140E may be operably coupled to the computing device 120, and may serve as a connected display device 140 in the computing system, wherein as shown in fig. 8K, the gaze G1 is directed to display device 140 and the gaze may cause content 150 displayed on the display device 140); and
in accordance with a determination, at a second point in time after the first point in time, that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices: cause the first display device to cease displaying the user interface; and cause the head-wearable device to display the user interface ([0068] In the exemplary arrangement shown in FIG. 8K, a gesture detected as described above, for example, in the form of, for example, a detected lateral head or eye gaze movement (i.e., a detected side to side, or left/right, head/eye gaze movement) from the gaze direction G1 shown in FIG. 8K to the gaze direction G2 shown in FIG. 8L, may cause content 150 displayed on the second display device 140B to be displayed as an augmented reality object 150A by the head mounted display device 140E).
Faaborg discloses displaying contents on the display device and as an augmented reality object. However, does not explicitly discloses, in accordance with a determination, at a second point in time after the first point in time, that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices: cause the first display device to cease displaying the user interface.
However, in the same endeavor Pastrana discloses, in accordance with a determination, at a second point in time after the first point in time, that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices: cause the first display device to cease displaying the user interface ([0246] At FIG. 7I, computer system 700 no longer displays and/or ceases display of user interface 714 based on receiving the information indicating that the gaze of user 706 is directed to background 704 and/or away from user interface 714 (e.g., for a predetermined amount of time that satisfies a gaze threshold)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Faaborg to further include Pastrana’s gaze detection method, in order to provide improved visual feedback and enables the user to navigate the user interface more quickly and efficiently with fewer errors, with intention of reducing the time and number of inputs required to perform an operation.
As to claim 13, Faaborg discloses a head-wearable device, including: one or more displays (e.g., one or more display devices 140, fig. 2);
one or more cameras (e.g., one or more cameras 142, fig. 2); and
one or more storage devices, storing executable instructions that (e.g., storage device 2006, fig. 10),
when executed by one or more processors and while the head-wearable device, worn by a user, is communicatively coupled to one or more display devices, the one or more display devices distinct and separate from the head-wearable device, cause the head-wearable device to: cause the head-wearable device to display a user interface; in accordance with a determination, at a first point in time, that the user is looking at a first display device of the one or more display devices: cause the head-wearable device to cease displaying the user interface; and cause the first display device to display the user interface ([0068] In some implementations, the head mounted display device 140E may be operably coupled to the computing device 120, and may serve as a connected display device 140 in the computing system, wherein as shown in fig. 8K, the gaze G1 is directed to display device 140 and the gaze may cause content 150 displayed on the display device 140); and
in accordance with a determination, at a second point in time after the first point in time, that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices: cause the first display device to cease displaying the user interface; and cause the head-wearable device to display the user interface ([0068] In the exemplary arrangement shown in FIG. 8K, a gesture detected as described above, for example, in the form of, for example, a detected lateral head or eye gaze movement (i.e., a detected side to side, or left/right, head/eye gaze movement) from the gaze direction G1 shown in FIG. 8K to the gaze direction G2 shown in FIG. 8L, may cause content 150 displayed on the second display device 140B to be displayed as an augmented reality object 150A by the head mounted display device 140E).
Faaborg discloses displaying contents on the display device and as an augmented reality object. However, does not explicitly discloses, in accordance with a determination, at a second point in time after the first point in time, that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices: cause the first display device to cease displaying the user interface.
However, in the same endeavor Pastrana discloses, in accordance with a determination, at a second point in time after the first point in time, that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices: cause the first display device to cease displaying the user interface ([0246] At FIG. 7I, computer system 700 no longer displays and/or ceases display of user interface 714 based on receiving the information indicating that the gaze of user 706 is directed to background 704 and/or away from user interface 714 (e.g., for a predetermined amount of time that satisfies a gaze threshold)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Faaborg to further include Pastrana’s gaze detection method, in order to provide improved visual feedback and enables the user to navigate the user interface more quickly and efficiently with fewer errors, with intention of reducing the time and number of inputs required to perform an operation.
As to claim 17, Faaborg discloses a method comprising: while a head-wearable device, worn by a user, is communicatively coupled to one or more display devices, wherein the one or more display devices distinct and separate from the head-wearable device: causing the head-wearable device to display a user interface; in accordance with a determination, at a first point in time, that the user is looking at a first display device of the one or more display devices: causing the head-wearable device to cease displaying the user interface; and causing the first display device to display the user interface ([0068] In some implementations, the head mounted display device 140E may be operably coupled to the computing device 120, and may serve as a connected display device 140 in the computing system, wherein as shown in fig. 8K, the gaze G1 is directed to display device 140 and the gaze may cause content 150 displayed on the display device 140); and
in accordance with a determination, at a second point in time after the first point in time, that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices: causing the first display device to cease displaying the user interface; and causing the head-wearable device to display the user interface ([0068] In the exemplary arrangement shown in FIG. 8K, a gesture detected as described above, for example, in the form of, for example, a detected lateral head or eye gaze movement (i.e., a detected side to side, or left/right, head/eye gaze movement) from the gaze direction G1 shown in FIG. 8K to the gaze direction G2 shown in FIG. 8L, may cause content 150 displayed on the second display device 140B to be displayed as an augmented reality object 150A by the head mounted display device 140E).
Faaborg discloses displaying contents on the display device and as an augmented reality object. However, does not explicitly discloses, in accordance with a determination, at a second point in time after the first point in time, that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices: cause the first display device to cease displaying the user interface.
However, in the same endeavor Pastrana discloses, in accordance with a determination, at a second point in time after the first point in time, that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices: cause the first display device to cease displaying the user interface ([0246] At FIG. 7I, computer system 700 no longer displays and/or ceases display of user interface 714 based on receiving the information indicating that the gaze of user 706 is directed to background 704 and/or away from user interface 714 (e.g., for a predetermined amount of time that satisfies a gaze threshold)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Faaborg to further include Pastrana’s gaze detection method, in order to provide improved visual feedback and enables the user to navigate the user interface more quickly and efficiently with fewer errors, with intention of reducing the time and number of inputs required to perform an operation.
As to claim 2, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1. The combination further discloses causing the head-wearable device to cease displaying the user interface and causing the first display device to display the user interface are further in accordance with a determination that the user performs a select input; and causing the first display device to cease displaying the user interface and causing the head-wearable device to display the user interface are further in accordance with a determination that the user performs another select input (Pastrana, [0194] For example, a selection input that is described as being performed with an air tap or air pinch input could be alternatively detected with a button press, a tap on a touch-sensitive surface, a press on a pressure-sensitive surface, or other hardware input).
As to claim 3, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1. The combination further discloses the determination that the user is looking at the first display device of the one or more display devices includes determining that the user is looking at the first display device for a first predetermined period of time; and the determination that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices includes determining that the user is has not looked at any of the one or more display devices for a second predetermined period of time (Pastrana, [0192] In some embodiments, attention of a user is determined to be directed to a portion of the three-dimensional environment based on detection of gaze directed to the portion of the three-dimensional environment with one or more additional conditions such as requiring that gaze is directed to the portion of the three-dimensional environment for at least a threshold duration (e.g., a dwell duration)).
As to claim 4, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1. The combination further discloses the executable instructions further cause the computing device to: at another point in time, after the second point in time, and while the head-wearable device is displaying the user interface: in accordance with a determination that the user is looking at another display device, distinct from the first display device, and that the other display device is an unswitchable device type that cannot display the user interface: forgo causing the other display device to display the user interface (Faaborg, [0011] In some implementations, the wearable display device may include at least one of an augmented reality head mounted display device or a wrist worn computing device, and the non-display auxiliary device may include at least one of a keyboard input device, a mouse input device, or a touchpad input device).
As to claim 5, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1. The combination further discloses the executable instructions further cause the computing device to: while the head-wearable device, worn by the user, is communicatively coupled to the one or more display devices: in accordance with a determination, at a third point in time after the first point in time and before the second point in time, that the user is looking at a second display device of the one or more display devices: cause the first display device to cease displaying the user interface; and cause the second display device to display the user interface; and in accordance with a determination, at a fourth point in time after the third point in time, that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices: cause the second display device to cease displaying the user interface; and cause the head-wearable device to display the user interface (Faaborg, [0049] as shown in FIGS. 4A and 4B, based on the collected head/eye gaze information, the system may detect that the user's gaze is focused on the second display device 140B, and may set the second display device 140B as the primary display, without specific user intervention and/or input in setting positional information for the display device(s) 140).
As to claim 6, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1. The combination further discloses the executable instructions further cause the computing device to: while the head-wearable device, worn by the user, is communicatively coupled to the one or more display devices: in accordance with a determination, at a fifth point in time after the second point in time, that the user is looking at a third display device of the one or more display devices: cause the head-wearable device to cease displaying the user interface; and cause the third display device to display the user interface; and in accordance with a determination, at a sixth point in time after the fifth point in time, that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices: cause the third display device to cease displaying the user interface; and cause the head-wearable device to display the user interface (Faaborg, [0062] Once the content window 152 has fully moved to the new (second) display device 140B, the orientation of the content window 152 may correspond to that of the new (second) display device 140B, as shown in FIG. 6E).
As to claim 7, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1. The combination further discloses the executable instructions further cause the computing device to: while the head-wearable device, worn by the user, is communicatively coupled to the one or more display devices: in response to a switch input, performed by the user and indicating a fourth display device of the one or more display devices: cause the first display device to cease displaying the user interface; and cause the fourth display device to display the user interface (Faaborg, [0066] In some implementations, a gesture detected in the information collected by the sensor(s) 142, 144 in the form of, for example, a detected lateral head or eye gaze movement (i.e., a detected side to side, or left/right, head/eye gaze movement), may cause content to shift to an adjacent display device 140, based on a direction of the detected movement).
As to claim 8, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 7. The combination further discloses the executable instructions further cause the computing device to: while the head-wearable device, worn by the user, is communicatively coupled to the one or more display devices: in response to another switch input, indicating a fifth display device of the one or more display devices: cause the fourth display device to cease displaying the user interface; and cause the fifth display device to display the user interface (Faaborg, [0066] For example, a gesture in the form of a detected lateral gaze shift, from a first gaze direction G1 shown in FIG. 8D to a direction G2 shown in FIG. 8E, may cause content 150 displayed on the second display device 140B to be displayed on the first display device 140A).
As to claim 9, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 7. The combination further discloses the executable instructions further cause the computing device to: while the head-wearable device, worn by the user, is communicatively coupled to the one or more display devices: in response to the switch input, indicating a fourth display device of the one or more display devices, and before causing the first display device to cease displaying the user interface and causing the fourth display device to display the user interface: cause the first display device to display a first portion of the user interface; and cause the fourth display device to display a second portion of the user interface, wherein the user interface appears to slide from the first display device to the fourth display device (Faaborg, as shown in fig. 6C, a portion of the content 152 is displayed on the second display 140B).
As to claim 10, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 7. The combination further discloses the switch input is at least one of a hand gesture, a voice command, and a button press (Faaborg, [0065] In some implementations, the system may detect a command gesture, or gesture movement, in the image information collected by the image sensor(s) 142).
As to claim 11, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1. The combination further discloses the determination that the user is looking at a first display device of the one or more display devices and the determination that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices are based on at least one of a gaze location of the user, a head position of the user, a body position of the user, and image data captured at a forward-facing camera of the head-wearable device (Faaborg, [0066] For example, a gesture in the form of a detected lateral gaze shift, from a first gaze direction G1 shown in FIG. 8D to a direction G2 shown in FIG. 8E, may cause content 150 displayed on the second display device 140B to be displayed on the first display device 140A).
As to claim 12, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1. The combination further discloses the one or more display devices include at least one of a smartphone, a display monitor, a personal computer, a television set, a smart watch, and a tablet (Faaborg, [0035] The principles to be described herein may apply to computing systems including stationary display monitors, and also mobile display devices, such as, for example, tablet computing devices, laptop computing devices, smartphones, head mounted display devices, and the like).
As to claim 14, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the head-wearable device of claim 13. The combination further discloses the executable instructions further cause the head-wearable device to: at another point in time, after the second point in time, and while the head-wearable device is displaying the user interface: in accordance with a determination that the user is looking at another display device, distinct from the first display device, and that the other display device is an unswitchable device type that cannot display the user interface: forgo causing the other display device to display the user interface (Faaborg, [0081] Processor 2052 may communicate with a user through control interface 2058 and display interface 2056 coupled to a display 2054. The display 2054 may be, for example, a TFT LCD (Thin-Film-Transistor Liquid Crystal Display) or an OLED (Organic Light Emitting Diode) display, or other appropriate display technology).
As to claim 15, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the head-wearable device of claim 13. The combination further discloses the executable instructions further cause the head-wearable device to: in accordance with a determination, at a third point in time after the first point in time and before the second point in time, that the user is looking at a second display device of the one or more display devices: cause the first display device to cease displaying the user interface; and cause the second display device to display the user interface; and in accordance with a determination, at a fourth point in time after the third point in time, that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices: cause the second display device to cease displaying the user interface; and cause the head-wearable device to display the user interface (Faaborg, [0049] as shown in FIGS. 4A and 4B, based on the collected head/eye gaze information, the system may detect that the user's gaze is focused on the second display device 140B, and may set the second display device 140B as the primary display, without specific user intervention and/or input in setting positional information for the display device(s) 140).
As to claim 16, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the head-wearable device of claim 13. The combination further discloses the executable instructions further cause the head-wearable device to: in accordance with a determination, at a fifth point in time after the second point in time, that the user is looking at a third display device of the one or more display devices: cause the head-wearable device to cease displaying the user interface; and cause the third display device to display the user interface; and in accordance with a determination, at a sixth point in time after the fifth point in time, that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices: cause the third display device to cease displaying the user interface; and cause the head-wearable device to display the user interface (Faaborg, [0062] Once the content window 152 has fully moved to the new (second) display device 140B, the orientation of the content window 152 may correspond to that of the new (second) display device 140B, as shown in FIG. 6E).
As to claim 18, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the method of claim 17. The combination further discloses at another point in time, after the second point in time, and while the head-wearable device is displaying the user interface: in accordance with a determination that the user is looking at another display device, distinct from the first display device, and that the other display device is an unswitchable device type that cannot display the user interface; forgoing causing the other display device to display the user interface (Faaborg, [0081] Processor 2052 may communicate with a user through control interface 2058 and display interface 2056 coupled to a display 2054. The display 2054 may be, for example, a TFT LCD (Thin-Film-Transistor Liquid Crystal Display) or an OLED (Organic Light Emitting Diode) display, or other appropriate display technology).
As to claim 19, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the method of claim 17. The combination further discloses while the head-wearable device, worn by the user, is communicatively coupled to the one or more display devices: in accordance with a determination, at a third point in time after the first point in time and before the second point in time, that the user is looking at a second display device of the one or more display devices: causing the first display device to cease displaying the user interface; and causing the second display device to display the user interface; and in accordance with a determination, at a fourth point in time after the third point in time, that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices: causing the second display device to cease displaying the user interface; and causing the head-wearable device to display the user interface (Pastrana, [0194] For example, a selection input that is described as being performed with an air tap or air pinch input could be alternatively detected with a button press, a tap on a touch-sensitive surface, a press on a pressure-sensitive surface, or other hardware input).
As to claim 20, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the method of claim 17. The combination further discloses while the head-wearable device, worn by the user, is communicatively coupled to the one or more display devices: in accordance with a determination, at a fifth point in time after the second point in time, that the user is looking at a third display device of the one or more display devices: causing the head-wearable device to cease displaying the user interface; and causing the third display device to display the user interface; and in accordance with a determination, at a sixth point in time after the fifth point in time, that the user is not looking at the one or more displays devices: causing the third display device to cease displaying the user interface; and causing the head-wearable device to display the user interface (Faaborg, [0062] Once the content window 152 has fully moved to the new (second) display device 140B, the orientation of the content window 152 may correspond to that of the new (second) display device 140B, as shown in FIG. 6E).
As to claim 21, the combination of Faaborg and Pastrana discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1. The combination further discloses the executable instructions further cause the computing device to: at an additional point in time, after the second point in time, and while the head-wearable device is displaying an additional user interface, distinct from the user interface: in accordance with a determination that the user is again looking at the first display device and that the additional user interface is an unswitchable user interface type: forgo causing the first display device to display the additional user interface (Faaborg, [0081] Processor 2052 may communicate with a user through control interface 2058 and display interface 2056 coupled to a display 2054. The display 2054 may be, for example, a TFT LCD (Thin-Film-Transistor Liquid Crystal Display) or an OLED (Organic Light Emitting Diode) display, or other appropriate display technology).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al., US PGPUB 20150130685 discloses a method in an electronic device is provided including establishing a communication with a wearable device and transmitting a first data item from the electronic device to the wearable device based on (i) a distance between the electronic device and the wearable device and (ii) a position of the wearable device relative to the electronic device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAHLU OKEBATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625 2/24/2026