DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Gilbert (U.S. 2021/0317891).
Gilbert discloses a suspension system configured to provide for compression damping comprising: a first flow control element (450) configured for operation at a first setting (soft setting) of compression damping; a second flow control element (305) configured for operation at a second setting (firm setting) of compression damping; a third flow control element (412) configured to operation at a third setting (sport setting) of compression damping; wherein the first setting (soft setting) is independent of the second setting (firm setting) and the third setting (sport setting);wherein the second setting (firm setting) is independent of the first setting (soft setting) and third setting (sport setting); wherein the third setting (sport setting) is independent of the first setting (soft setting) and the second setting; a fourth flow control element (225) configured to modify bypass flow; a knob (rotating knob) configured to provide a setting for compression damping; an adjuster (315) configured to provide adjustment for bypass flow for compression damping comprising a dial co-located with the knob.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 2, the closet prior art as to Gilbert (U.S. 2021/031789) discloses every element of the invention as discussed above except that when the first flow control element is open compression damping is provided in a lockout condition; wherein when the second flow control element is open compression damping is provided at a firm performance; wherein when the third flow control element is open compression damping is provided at a soft performance.
Regarding claim 3, the closet prior art as to Gilbert (U.S. 2021/031789) discloses every element of the invention as discussed above except that a control for a setting for compression damping; wherein the setting for compression damping comprises (1) a first setting for the first flow control element or (2) a second setting for the second flow control element or (3) a third setting for the third flow control element; wherein the first setting is selectable independent of the second setting and the third setting; wherein the second setting is selectable independent of the first setting and the third setting; wherein the third setting is selectable independent of the first setting and the second setting.
Regarding claim 5, the closet prior art as to Gilbert (U.S. 2021/031789) discloses every element of the invention as discussed above except that a control for a setting for compression damping; wherein the setting comprises (1) a lockout setting with the first flow control element set to open when the pressure is at the value determined for a blowoff condition or (2) a firm suspension setting with the second flow control element set to open when the pressure is at the value determined for firm suspension performance or (3) a soft suspension setting with the third flow control element set to open when the pressure is at the value determined for soft suspension performance.
Regarding claim 6, the closet prior art as to Gilbert (U.S. 2021/031789) discloses every element of the invention as discussed above except that the first flow control element comprises a shim stack; wherein the second flow control element comprises a shim stack; wherein the third flow control element comprises a shim stack.
Regarding claim 9, the closet prior art as to Gilbert (U.S. 2021/031789) discloses every element of the invention as discussed above except that an adjuster for compression damping configured to actuate a needle valve.
Regarding claims 10-18, the closet prior art as to Gilbert (U.S. 2021/031789) discloses every element of the invention as discussed above except that a suspension system comprising: a first flow control element configured to open when the pressure is at a first value; a second flow control element configured to open when the pressure is at a second value; a third flow control element configured to open when the pressure is at a third value; wherein the first value is independent of the second value and the third value; wherein the second value for the second flow control element is independent of the first value and the third value for the third flow control element; wherein the third value is independent of the first value for the first flow control element and the second value.
Regarding claims 19-20, the closet prior art as to Gilbert (U.S. 2021/031789) discloses every element of the invention as discussed above except a fourth flow control element configured to modify the pressure produced in the chamber by stroke velocity; wherein the first flow control element is independent of the second flow control element and the third flow control element; wherein the second flow control element is independent of the first flow control element and the third flow control element; wherein the third flow control element is independent of the first flow control element and the second flow control element; wherein the first setting is selectable independent of the second setting and the third setting; wherein the second setting is selectable independent of the first setting and the third setting; wherein the third setting is selectable independent of the first setting and the second setting.
Conclusion
/TOAN C TO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614 October 17, 2026