DETAILED ACTION
This non-final Office action is in response to Applicant’s patent application number 19/044,553 filed on 2/3/2025.
Currently, claims 1-13 are pending and examined.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on page 9; heading “Description of an exemplary preferred embodiment interpretation considerations” should be read -- Detailed Description of the Drawings --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US No. 7,574,831 to Meyers.
Re claim 1: Meyers discloses a riser ring assembly, comprising: a frame 12 (Fig. 10); a riser ring shim 10 attached to an inner part of the frame 12; a gasket 61 placed in a channel formed in the riser ring shim 10, wherein the gasket 61 maintains a watertight seal between the riser ring shim 10 and the frame 12; a top riser ring 14 attached to an upper part of the frame 12; and a cover 38 attached to an inner surface of the top riser ring 14.
Re claim 2: wherein the riser ring shim 10 comprises a plurality of paddle lock notches 52, a plurality of through holes 33 (col. 2, line 35), a plurality of counter sunk holes 35 and a plurality of alignment marks 32, wherein dimension of the plurality of through holes is inherently different from dimension of the plurality of counter sunk holes 35 (Fig. 1).
Re claims 4, 7: wherein the riser ring shim 10 is attached to the frame 12 using connecting assemblies that pass through a plurality of through holes 33.
Re claim 5: wherein at least one connecting assembly of the riser ring shim 10 and at least one connecting assembly of the frame 12 are vertically aligned with each other (Fig. 10).
Re claim 8: wherein a plurality of cells (i.e. wherein 38 points to) is formed over the cover 38.
Re claim 9: wherein the frame 12 comprises a plurality of supporting units 29 (Fig. 10).
Re claim 13: wherein the riser ring assembly is made of a composite material (col. 5, lines 51-53), so as to reduce a weight of the riser ring assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US No. 7,574,831 to Meyers in view of US No. 7,744,305 to Choi. Meyers discloses all structures of the claimed invention as stated above but does not disclose expressly wherein the riser ring shim is attached to the inner part of the frame using connecting assemblies, wherein the connecting assemblies comprise a socket head cap screw and at least one lock washer. Choi discloses a manhole with locking device, including a connecting assembly comprises at least one socket head cap screw 42 and at least lock washer 44 (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Meyers’ assembly with screw/washer as suggested by Choi in order to securely couple the riser rig shim with the frame.
Claim(s) 10, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US No. 7,574,831 to Meyers. Meyers discloses basic structures of the claimed invention as stated above and further discloses the riser ring assembly is formed form of a composite material, e.g. injection molded made of high density polyethylene (col. 5, lines 51-53); but does not disclose expressly wherein the riser ring assembly is made of a composite material, wherein the composite material is a resin transfer molded (RTM) composite material; wherein the RTM composite material is highly resistant to corrosion caused by exposure to a corrosive element; wherein the RTM composite material has at least one of: a non-conductive property and a recyclable property. However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have different composite materials in order to optimize an ultimate outcome or result for the riser ring assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see attached PTO-892).
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communication from the examiner should be directed to CHI Q. NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571) 272-6847. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 7AM-5PM or email: chi.nguyen@uspto.gov. If attempt to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Brian Mattei can be reached at (571) 270-3238. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866) 217-9197.
/CHI Q NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635
