DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davis et al. 10,773,067.
In regard to claim 1, Davis et al. discloses a tubular body adaptor (fig. 12) for connecting a first tubular body (S) with a second tubular body (S) (see fig. 14) comprising:
a first cylindrical wall 662 has alternating wall segments and relief gates (spaces between walls 662) defining a first socket for receiving an end of the first tubular body (S), all the wall segments 662 span an angle of at least about 70 degrees (see fig. 12), each wall segment terminates in opposite ends with a chamfer (see curved end portions of the wall segments 662), a top portion of the first cylindrical wall has a relief segment (the chamfered ends forming the top portion of the relief gate) forming a drain through the first cylindrical wall.
In regard to claim 2, wherein the wall segments 662 are of equal length (see fig. 12).
In regard to claim 4, further comprising a second cylindrical wall 620 supporting the first cylindrical wall 662 and coaxially disposed with respect thereto and having an outer diameter greater than an outer diameter of the first cylindrical wall 662 (see fig. 13).
In regard to claim 5, further comprising a bridging wall 654 connecting the first cylindrical wall 662 to the second cylindrical wall 620.
In regard to claim 6, wherein the bridging wall 654 has a planar top surface (see fig. 13).
In regard to claim 7, wherein the second cylindrical wall 620 defines a second socket (“for receiving an end portion of the second tubular body” is considered an intended use limitation that carries little patentable weight in an apparatus claim. The space between 662 and 620 is capable of receiving an end portion of a tubular body and is therefore deemed to anticipate the intended use limitation of the claim).
In regard to claim 8, wherein the relief segment comprises a generally U-shaped gap (see fig. 12).
In regard to claim 17, Davis et al. discloses (fig. 13) a tubular body adaptor 600 for connecting a first tubular body with a second tubular body comprising:
a first cylindrical wall 662 defining a first socket for receiving an end of the first tubular body R, the first cylindrical wall has a relief segment (spaces between the four portions of wall 662) forming a drain through the first cylindrical wall; and
a second cylindrical wall 820 supporting the first cylindrical wall and coaxially disposed with respect thereto and having an outer diameter greater than an outer diameter of the first cylindrical wall 662 and a second female socket (bottom wall 662 receiving bottom S in fig. 14 ) for receiving an end of the second tubular body (bottom S); and
an annular ledge 650 on an interior wall of the first cylindrical wall to form a stop for abutting the end of the second tubular body.
In regard to claim 18, the first cylindrical wall 662 has alternating wall segments and relief gates to define a castellated profile (see fig. 12 or 13) to define a castellated profile and the wall segment spans an angle from about 70 to 88 degrees (see segments 662 in fig. 12).
In regard to claim 19, wherein each of the wall segments 662 has opposed ends with each end having a tapered surface (see fig. 12 where the side walls of 662 taper at the tips).
In regard to claim 20, further comprising a bridging wall 654 connecting the first cylindrical wall 660 to the second cylindrical wall 620 (see fig. 13 where it shows the tubular body 600 as one unitary piece).
Claim(s) 9-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeCarlo 7,594,681.
In regard to claim 9, DeCarlo discloses an adaptor and tubular body assembly comprising:
a first tubular body (118a) having a first end (fig. 5); and
a tubular adaptor 120 having a first cylindrical wall 134a defining a first socket 144 surrounding the first end of the first tubular body, the first cylindrical wall 134a has an annular gap delimited by an exterior surface of the first tubular body 118a and an interior surface of the first socket 134a (space between 134 and 118a in fig. 4), and a relief segment 156 is provided through the first cylindrical wall 134a connecting the annular gap to an exterior of the adaptor; and
a weld G connecting the interior surface of the tubular adapter to an outer surface of the first tubular body.
In regard to claim 10 wherein the first cylindrical wall 134a has alternating wall segments 134a and relief gates 156 to define a castellated profile (see fig. 5).
In regard to claim 11, wherein each of the wall segments 134a has opposed ends with each end having a tapered surface (see fig. 5 where the sides of 134a are tapered).
In regard to claim 12, further comprising a second cylindrical wall 154 supporting the first cylindrical wall 134a and coaxially disposed with respect thereto and having an outer diameter greater than an outer diameter of the first cylindrical wall (134a).
In regard to claim 13, further comprising a bridging wall 120 connecting the first cylindrical wall to the second cylindrical wall.
In regard to claim 14, wherein the bridging wall has a planar 16 surface (portion of 120 is planar at the socket end surfaces).
In regard to claim 15, wherein the second cylindrical wall 154 defines a second socket for receiving an end portion of a second tubular body 118b.
In regard to claim 16, the first socket has an annular ledge (end surface of the socket) on an interior wall to form a stop abutting the first end portion of the first tubular body (see fig. 3).
In regard to claim 17, DeCarlo discloses a tubular body adaptor 100 for connecting a first tubular body with a second tubular body comprising:
a first cylindrical wall 134a defining a first socket for receiving an end of the first tubular body 118a, the first cylindrical wall has a relief segment (156) forming a drain through the first cylindrical wall; and
a second cylindrical wall 154 supporting the first cylindrical wall and coaxially disposed with respect thereto and having an outer diameter greater than an outer diameter of the first cylindrical wall 134a and a second female socket (bottom wall 134 in fig. 3) for receiving an end of the second tubular body 118b; and
an annular ledge on an interior wall of the first cylindrical wall to form a stop for abutting the end of the second tubular body (wall 120).
In regard to claim 20, further comprising a bridging wall connecting the first cylindrical wall 134a to the second cylindrical wall 154 (see fig. 3 where it shows the tubular body as one unitary piece).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 4-20 have been considered but are unpersuasive.
Regarding claim 9, Applicant argues that DeCarlo fails to disclose a relief segment
provided through the first cylindrical wall connecting the annular gap to an exterior of the adapter. The Examiner disagrees, as the gaps between 134 lead from space 144 into surface 150, which has an exterior end near 154, as best seen in fig. 3. Therefore the DeCarlo rejection has been maintained.
Regarding claims 17 and 20, Applicant argues that DeCarlo fails to disclose a first cylindrical wall and a second cylindrical wall supporting the first cylindrical wall as required by claim 17. The Examiner disagrees, as DeCarlo discloses an outer wall 154 connected to an inner wall 134 by a lateral wall 120, thus wall 154 is capable of supporting wall 134, much in the same manner that outer wall 14 is capable of supporting wall 42 of the present invention by lateral wall 20. Therefore the rejection has been maintained.
Regarding claims 17-20, Applicant argues that Davis fails to disclose a first cylindrical wall and a second cylindrical wall supporting the first cylindrical wall as required by claim 17. The Examiner disagrees, as Davis discloses an outer wall 620 connected to an inner wall 662 by a lateral wall 654, thus wall 654 is capable of supporting wall 662, much in the same manner that outer wall 14 is capable of supporting wall 42 of the present invention by lateral wall 20. Therefore the rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679