DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 08/27/2026, has been entered and fully considered.
In light of Applicant’s amendment, the objection to the drawings has been withdrawn.
In light of Applicant’s amendment, the objection to the abstract has been withdrawn.
In light of Applicant’s amendment, the objection to claims 17-18 has been withdrawn.
In light of Applicant’s amendment, the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, with respect to the rejection of claims 10-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the rejection is overcome. The amended claims recite “one or more processors configured to perform operations comprising:
generating, using a connection module of the intrusion detection system, …
generating, using a query formulation module of the intrusion detection system, …
generating, using a query execution module of the intrusion detection system, …
generating, using a decision module of the intrusion detection system, …”.
However, for the limitations listed above, under BRI they may be interpreted in two ways:
The term “one or more processors” performs the operations of “generating”, and therefore 112(f) does not apply.
The terms “connection module”, “query formulation module”, “query execution module”, “decision module” (A) are a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning (B) are configured to perform the claimed function of “generating” and (C) it is unclear if the modules are modified by the “one or more processors” for performing the claimed function, and therefore 112(f) may apply.
In the event that it is unclear whether the claim limitation falls within the scope of 35 U.S.C. 112(f), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) may be appropriate. See MPEP 2181(I).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103, see pages 20-22, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner notes with respect to claims 5, 14:
Claims 5, 14 recite “the active polling session is used for cyber insights of the at least one node of the distributed control system” in the body of the claim.
This is a manner of operating the device. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Note that ‘is used for cyber insights of the at least one node of the distributed control system’ is an intended usage limitation that suggests or makes optional a limitation, but does not require steps to be performed and does not necessarily limit the claim to a particular structure; thus the limitation does not limit the scope of the claim; See MPEP § 2103(I)(C).
The Examiner notes with respect to claims 1, 9:
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. See MPEP 2111.04(II).
With respect to claims 1, 9, they recite the following conditions and corresponding contingent steps:
With respect to claim 1, since the claims do not require the condition of “the response is negative”, the contingent step “initiating the active polling session…” need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed.
With respect to claim 1, since the claims do not require the condition of “the response is affirmative”, the contingent step “stalling the active polling session…” need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed.
With respect to claim 1, since the claims do not require the condition of “a detection of at least one of a security breach and a system anomaly by the intrusion detection system”, the contingent step “generating… a pre-flight care query…” need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed.
With respect to claim 9, since the claims do not require the condition of “the subsequent response is negative”, the contingent step “initiating the active polling session…” need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed.
With respect to claim 9, since the claims do not require the condition of “the subsequent response is affirmative”, the contingent step “stalling the active polling session…” need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed.
The Examiner further notes:
"Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment." Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
With respect to claims 1, 10, 20, they recite the following limitations:
Claims 1, 10, 20 recite “at least one of a security breach and a system anomaly” and “at least one of a backup state and a cloning state”. The phrase "at least one of" precedes a series of categories of criteria, and the claim recites the term "and" to separate the categories of criteria, which connotes a conjunctive list. Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
The Examiner notes that the instant application specification, filed 02/04/2025, discloses “An automated process, such as the IDS 202, detects a security breach or system anomaly” in paragraph [0074] and “node being in a backup or cloning state” in paragraph [0090]. The Examiner recommends replacing “and” with “or”, consistent with disclosure in the specification, to avoid the conjunctive interpretation stated above.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses the word generic placeholder “module” coupled with functional language, but it is modified by some structure “one or more processors” that is ambiguous regarding whether that structure is sufficient for performing the claimed function. The terms “connection module”, “query formulation module”, “query execution module”, “decision module” (A) are a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning (B) are configured to perform the claimed function of “generating” and (C) it is unclear if the modules are modified by the “one or more processors” for performing the claimed function. The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Claims 11-19 are rejected under a similar rationale. The dependent claims included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Therefore, they are rejected based on the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 10-14, 16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kambe et al. (USP App Pub 2019/0243740; hereinafter Kambe) in view of Saha et al. (USP App Pub 2011/0246640; hereinafter Saha).
Regarding claim 10, An intrusion detection system (Kambe: FIG. 2, job manager 22 includes abnormality determiner 224; paragraph [0324], “At least part of the function of the job manager 22 illustrated in FIG. 2 may be arranged so as to be distributed to or redundant in an apparatus (not illustrated) except for the server 2 through the network 1a and/or 1b”) comprising memory and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory, the one or more processors (Kambe: paragraph [0315], “The processor 10a expands a program (e.g., determining program) 10g stored in the storing device 10c on the memory 10b and executes the expanded program and thereby achieves the function as the job manager 22”) configured to perform operations comprising:
generating, using a connection module of the intrusion detection system, a bi-directional connection (Kambe: paragraph [0311], “The processor 10a may be bidirectionally and communicably connected to the hardware blocks in the computer 10 via a bus 10i”) between at least one backup system (Kambe: paragraph [0210], “The backup job P31 is a job that backs up data in a backup source 2b in the server 2 to a backup destination 2c in the same server 2”) and the intrusion detection system (Kambe: FIG. 2, job manager 22 is connected to business program 23 via a connection);
generating, using a query formulation module of the intrusion detection system (Kambe: paragraph [0215], “the abnormality determiner 224”), in response to a detection of at least one of … and a system anomaly by the intrusion detection system (Kambe: paragraph [0212], “a case where the disk IO is highly loaded in the backup destination 230”), a pre-flight care query (Kambe: paragraph [0215], “an iostat command”)…, the pre-flight care query configured to request, from the at least one backup system, a backup state of the at least one node (Kambe: paragraph [0214], “The abnormality determiner 224 periodically confirms a status of at least one disk of the backup source 2b and the backup destination 2c”);
querying, using a query execution module of the intrusion detection system, the at least one backup system using the pre-flight care query (Kambe: paragraph [0215], “For example, the abnormality determiner 224 periodically transmits a command, such as an iostat command, for confirming the status of the disk to the disk”); and
receiving, using a decision module of the intrusion detection system, a response (Kambe: paragraph [0215], “transmits a command, such as an iostat command, for confirming the status of the disk to the disk and confirms that the disk replies with a response”) from the at least one backup system via the bi-directional connection (Kambe: paragraph [0311], “The processor 10a may be bidirectionally and communicably connected to the hardware blocks in the computer 10 via a bus 10i”; FIG. 2, job manager 22 is connected to business program 23 via a connection), the response (Kambe: paragraph [0215], “the disk replies with a response”) indicating whether the at least one node is in at least one of a backup state and a cloning state (Kambe: paragraph [0214], “The abnormality determiner 224 periodically confirms a status of at least one disk of the backup source 2b and the backup destination 2c”; paragraph [0212], “the status (capability) of the disk”; paragraph [0216], “The abnormality determiner 224 calculates a scheduled backup completion time point on the basis of the disk capability (e.g., reading rate and/or writing rate, reading size and/or writing size) at that time for confirming the status of the disk”; paragraph [0210], “The backup job P31 is a job that backs up data in a backup source 2b in the server 2 to a backup destination 2c in the same server 2”), and
initiating (Kambe: paragraph [0237], “in cases where the scheduled completion time point of… backup is detected to exceed the allowed scheduled end time point containing the margin time, the abnormality determiner 224 may detect the abnormality of a job at the timing when this detection is made”)… if the response is negative (Kambe: paragraph [0220], “Accordingly, as depicted by the allowed operation in FIG. 20, the timing of abnormality detection can be adjusted such that the job is determined to be normal until the allowed scheduled end time point (e.g., 10:05) passes, not scheduled end time point (e.g., 10:00) passes”; paragraph [0221], “Consequently, the abnormality determiner 224 precisely determines whether the backup job P31 has abnormality on the basis of the disk statuses in the server 2”; paragraph [0214], “The abnormality determiner 224 periodically confirms a status of at least one disk of the backup source 2b and the backup destination 2c”; FIG, 20, if the operation execution exceeds the allowed scheduled time, then the status of the disk will indicate exceeded time) or stalling the …session for a pre-set time (Kambe: paragraph [0218], “a margin time (e.g., five minutes)”) for the at least one node (Kambe: paragraph [0078], “the business program 23 is a program executed as a job”; paragraph [0120], “A backup job is periodically executed”; paragraph [0210], “The backup job P31 is a job that backs up data in a backup source 2b in the server 2 to a backup destination 2c in the same server 2”) of the distributed control system if the response is affirmative (Kambe: paragraph [0219], “In cases where the time point of the above step (ii) is on or earlier than the allowed scheduled end time point (e.g., 10:05), the abnormality determiner 224 delays a reference time point to detect whether or not the job P31 has abnormality because the backup is expected to be completed”).
Kambe does not teach … a security breach… before initiating an active polling session for at least one node of a distributed control system …initiating the active polling session for the at least one node of the distributed control system… active polling…
However, in the same field of endeavor, Saha does teach … a security breach (Saha: paragraph [0014], “An anomaly may originate anywhere within the distributed computing environment as a result of a security vulnerability, a bad section of code”) … before initiating an active polling session for at least one node of a distributed control system (Saha: paragraph [0032], “As shown in FIG. 3, the method 300 commences with accessing asynchronous data at operation 302. The asynchronous data may include log files, reports generated on an occurrence of an event, or other asynchronously reported data”; Figure 3, step 302 occurs before step 308 to determine if characteristics are associated with an anomaly) …initiating the active polling session for the at least one node of the distributed control system (Saha: paragraph [0036], “If a particular anomaly is identified, a second determination is made by the analysis module 208 in an operation 312… If the determination is made to monitor the characteristics, the synchronous monitoring of the target system may be optionally initiated (operation 310) in addition to the asynchronous monitoring”; paragraph [0051], “the target systems are monitored in an operation 512. The operation 512 may terminate upon an elapsed period of time”)… active polling (Saha: Figure 3, step 310-312 monitoring of target system executed in response to YES at step 308)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the anomaly determination of Kambe to incorporate the teachings of Saha to monitor the target system in response to the anomaly determination. The motivation for doing so is to determine a worst case scenario if the anomaly is not corrected (Saha: paragraph [0036], “The characteristics may be monitored to, for example, determine a "worst case" scenario if the anomaly is not corrected within a particular period of time”).
Regarding claim 11, Kambe and Saha teach the system as claimed in claim 10, wherein
the response (Kambe: paragraph [0214], “The abnormality determiner 224 periodically confirms a status of at least one disk of the backup source 2b and the backup destination 2c”) is affirmative (Kambe: paragraph [0219], “the backup is expected to be completed”) when the at least one node is either in an automated backup state (Kambe: paragraph [0120], “A backup job is periodically executed”) or in a manual backup state .
Regarding claim 12, Kambe and Saha teach the system as claimed in claim 10, wherein
the response (Kambe: paragraph [0214], “The abnormality determiner 224 periodically confirms a status of at least one disk of the backup source 2b and the backup destination 2c”) is negative (Kambe: paragraph [0237], “in cases where the scheduled completion time point of… backup is detected to exceed the allowed scheduled end time point containing the margin time, the abnormality determiner 224 may detect the abnormality of a job at the timing when this detection is made”) when the at least one node is neither in a backup state nor a cloning state (Kambe: paragraph [0243], “in cases where a job does not end or is not completed by an allowed scheduled end time point, the abnormality determiner 224 can abort the job before the scheduled end time point” i.e., the backup job is aborted and therefore is not backing up or cloning).
Regarding claim 13, Kambe and Saha teach the system as claimed in claim 10, wherein
the active polling session is a batch of active polling actions of an active polling scheme (Saha: paragraph [0036], “If a particular anomaly is identified, a second determination is made by the analysis module 208 in an operation 312… If the determination is made to monitor the characteristics, the synchronous monitoring of the target system may be optionally initiated (operation 310) in addition to the asynchronous monitoring”).
The motivation to combine references for claim 13 is the same motivation that is stated in the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 14, Kambe and Saha teach the system as claimed in claim 10, wherein
the active polling session is used for cyber insights of the at least one node of the distributed control system (Saha: paragraph [0036], “The characteristics may be monitored to, for example, determine a "worst case" scenario if the anomaly is not corrected within a particular period of time”).
The motivation to combine references for claim 14 is the same motivation that is stated in the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 16, Kambe and Saha teach the system as claimed in claim 10, wherein
the at least one backup system (Kambe: paragraph [0210], “The backup job P31 is a job that backs up data in a backup source 2b in the server 2 to a backup destination 2c in the same server 2”) is selected from a group of local servers or remote servers (Kambe: paragraph [0069], “As illustrated in FIG. 1, the determining system 1 may exemplarily include multiple (“n” in the example of FIG. 1, n is an integer of two or more) servers 2-1 to 2-n… When the servers 2-1 to 2-n are not discriminated from one another, the servers are represented simply by a reference number “2””).
Regarding claim 19, Kambe and Saha teach the system as claimed in claim 10, wherein
the pre-set time is part of a plurality of pre-set rules defined (Kambe: paragraph [0080], “the job definition information 211 may exemplarily include items of job type, job name, start condition, start time, margin time”; paragraph [0081], “The item “margin time” is a delay time for which a delay of end of the started job is allowed in cases where the end of the job is later than the scheduled end time point (reference time point) or the end of the job is beyond the scheduled execution time period (reference time period)”; FIG. 3, Margin Time is set for type Backup) automatically by the intrusion detection system or by using a user input (Kambe: paragraph [0104], “The user determines, on the terminal 3”; paragraph [0079], “the job definition information 211 may be sent from the terminal 3”).
Re. claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 20, they recite analogous limitations as claims 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16, 10, respectively, and therefore are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 6, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kambe in view of Saha in further view of Schneider (USP App Pub 2006/0294420).
Regarding claim 15, Kambe and Saha teach the system as claimed in claim 10, wherein
the at least one node is a device (Kambe: paragraph [0078], “the business program 23 is a program executed as a job”)…
Kambe and Saha do not teach … with an operating system.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Schneider does teach …with an operating system (Schneider: paragraph [0020], “Computer 102 includes a data storage medium 104 for storing data, such as, but not limited to…operating systems … Computer 102 further includes at least one backup and/or restore software application 106 that may be utilized to backup data from data storage medium 104 onto backup storage device 108”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the business program that executes the backup job of Kambe and Saha to incorporate the teachings of Schneider to include an operating system with the business program. The motivation for doing so is to add other actions to the computer (Schneider: paragraph [0038], “other actions may be added due to design considerations depending on the operating system platform and/or backup/restore application 106 running on the computer 102”).
Re. claim 6, it recites analogous limitations as claim 15 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 8-9, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kambe in view of Saha in further view of Rolia et al. (USP App Pub 2017/0318037; hereinafter Rolia).
Regarding claim 17, Kambe and Saha teach the system as claimed in claim 10, the operations further comprising
…the response (Kambe: paragraph [0215], “the disk replies with a response”; paragraph [0214], “The abnormality determiner 224 periodically confirms a status of at least one disk of the backup source 2b and the backup destination 2c”)…
Kambe and Saha do not teach … storing the response along with a plurality of associated metadata.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rolia does teach …storing the response (Rolia: paragraph [0034], “The NIDS, HIDS, and TIDS may store various pieces of data obtained from the client devices 205, including anomaly data, e.g., in their own respective data storage devices”) along with a plurality of associated metadata (Rolia: paragraph [0036], “As with the NIDS 220, the HIDS 230 may store a variety of information related to a host anomaly, including more than what is sent to the AMS 210 in the HIDS anomaly data 232.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the received status of Kambe to incorporate the teachings of Rolia to store host intrusion detection system data with metadata. The motivation for doing so is to store all data about an anomaly, not a subset (Rolia: paragraph [0035], “For example, the NIDS 220 may store copies of network packets that triggered the anomaly and information regarding network traffic that preceded and followed the anomaly, while the NIDS anomaly data 222 provided to the AMS 210 may include less information, e.g., an identification of the type of anomaly and associated server, process, etc.”).
Regarding claim 18, Kambe, Saha and Rolia teach the system as claimed in claim 17, the operations further comprising:
generating a subsequent pre-flight care query (Kambe: paragraph [0304], “If the scheduled writing completion time point is on or earlier than the allowed scheduled end time point (No in Step S89), the abnormality determiner 224 waits for passage of the monitoring interval time of a job of the disk abnormality type set in the job definition information 211 (Step S90) and then the process moves to Step S87”) based on the stored response being affirmative (Kambe: paragraph [0219], “In cases where the time point of the above step (ii) is on or earlier than the allowed scheduled end time point (e.g., 10:05), the abnormality determiner 224 delays a reference time point to detect whether or not the job P31 has abnormality because the backup is expected to be completed”) and associated metadata (Rolia: paragraph [0036], “As with the NIDS 220, the HIDS 230 may store a variety of information related to a host anomaly, including more than what is sent to the AMS 210 in the HIDS anomaly data 232.”)…;
querying the at least one backup system using the subsequent pre-flight care query (Kambe: paragraph [0302], “the abnormality determiner 224 determines whether or not the backup job is being executed (Step S87)”; paragraph [0214], “The abnormality determiner 224 periodically confirms a status of at least one disk of the backup source 2b and the backup destination 2c”);
receiving a subsequent response from the at least one backup system (Kambe: paragraph [0215], “transmits a command, such as an iostat command, for confirming the status of the disk to the disk and confirms that the disk replies with a response”); and
initiating (Kambe: paragraph [0237], “in cases where the scheduled completion time point of… backup is detected to exceed the allowed scheduled end time point containing the margin time, the abnormality determiner 224 may detect the abnormality of a job at the timing when this detection is made”) … if the subsequent response is negative (Kambe: paragraph [0220], “Accordingly, as depicted by the allowed operation in FIG. 20, the timing of abnormality detection can be adjusted such that the job is determined to be normal until the allowed scheduled end time point (e.g., 10:05) passes, not scheduled end time point (e.g., 10:00) passes”; paragraph [0221], “Consequently, the abnormality determiner 224 precisely determines whether the backup job P31 has abnormality on the basis of the disk statuses in the server 2”; paragraph [0214], “The abnormality determiner 224 periodically confirms a status of at least one disk of the backup source 2b and the backup destination 2c”; FIG, 20, if the operation execution exceeds the allowed scheduled time, then the status of the disk will indicate exceeded time); or
stalling the … session for a subsequent pre-set time (Kambe: paragraph [0218], “a margin time (e.g., five minutes)”) for the at least one node of the distributed control system if the subsequent response is affirmative (Kambe: paragraph [0219], “In cases where the time point of the above step (ii) is on or earlier than the allowed scheduled end time point (e.g., 10:05), the abnormality determiner 224 delays a reference time point to detect whether or not the job P31 has abnormality because the backup is expected to be completed”).
Kambe and Rolia does not teach … before initiating an active polling session of the at least one node of the distributed control system… the active polling session for the at least one node of the distributed control system… active polling…
However, in the same field of endeavor, Saha does teach …before initiating an active polling session of the at least one node of the distributed control system (Saha: paragraph [0032], “As shown in FIG. 3, the method 300 commences with accessing asynchronous data at operation 302. The asynchronous data may include log files, reports generated on an occurrence of an event, or other asynchronously reported data”; Figure 3, step 302 occurs before step 308 to determine if characteristics are associated with an anomaly) … the active polling session for the at least one node of the distributed control system (Saha: paragraph [0036], “If a particular anomaly is identified, a second determination is made by the analysis module 208 in an operation 312… If the determination is made to monitor the characteristics, the synchronous monitoring of the target system may be optionally initiated (operation 310) in addition to the asynchronous monitoring”; paragraph [0051], “the target systems are monitored in an operation 512. The operation 512 may terminate upon an elapsed period of time”)… active polling (Saha: Figure 3, step 310-312 monitoring of target system executed in response to YES at step 308)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the anomaly determination of Kambe and Rolia to incorporate the teachings of Saha to monitor the target system in response to the subsequent anomaly determination. The motivation for doing so is to determine a worst case scenario if the anomaly is not corrected (Saha: paragraph [0036], “The characteristics may be monitored to, for example, determine a "worst case" scenario if the anomaly is not corrected within a particular period of time”).
Re. claims 8-9, they recite analogous limitations as claims 17-18, respectively, and therefore are rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2491
/WILLIAM R KORZUCH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2491