DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 4/10/2026 has been received and made of record. Note the acknowledged form PTO-1449 enclosed herewith.
Claim Interpretation
Currently no claims are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the fluid blocking material" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the expandable frame" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rowe et al. (US 2017/0056176).
Rowe discloses (see Fig. 13) a system and method for treating mitral valve insufficiency comprising the following claim limitations:
(claim 1) A device for blocking regurgitant blood flow into first and second pulmonary vein openings in a left atrium of a heart (see Abstract and Fig. 13), comprising: an expandable docking station (104, Fig. 13) ([0056]; [0058]-[0059]; docking station 104 expressly disclosed as a self-expanding Nitinol frame that is delivered within a delivery catheter) installed in the left atrium of the heart (as shown in Fig. 13); at least one valve (106, Fig. 13) retained in a docking portion of the docking station (104) (as shown in Fig. 13), the at least one valve (106) having an open configuration and a closed configuration ([0058]-[0059]; valve 106 expressly one-way flow of blood in an open configuration and minimizes and prevents mitral regurgitation in its closed configuration), wherein the docking station (104) is configured to (i.e., capable of) hold the at least one valve (106) in the left atrium between the first and second pulmonary vein openings and a mitral valve of the heart (as shown in Fig. 13); a fluid blocking material (108, Fig. 13) secured to the docking station (104) and configured to (i.e., capable of) surround the first and second pulmonary vein openings and provide a fluid seal around the at least one valve (106) (as shown in Fig. 13; [0059]); wherein the device is configured such that the open configuration of the at least one valve (106) permits blood to flow from a pulmonary vein into the left atrium and to the mitral valve when the pulmonary vein closure device is deployed in the left atrium (as shown in Fig. 13; [0058]-[0059]; valve 106 expressly helps regulate the flow of blood between the left atrium and the left ventricle in an open configuration); and wherein the device is configured such that the closed configuration of the at least one valve (106) blocks regurgitant blood flow through the mitral valve into the first and second pulmonary vein openings when the device is deployed in the left atrium (as shown in Fig. 13; [0058]-[0059]; valve 106 expressly prevents mitral regurgitation in its closed configuration);
(claim 2) wherein the docking station (104) is expandable into conforming engagement with the left atrium (as shown in Fig. 13; [0056]; [0058]-[0059]; docking station 104 expressly disclosed as a self-expanding Nitinol frame that is delivered to the left atrium within a delivery catheter and comprises flange 108 that engages and seals against the left atrium wall);
(claim 3) wherein the docking station (104) comprises one or more of a ring and a stent (as shown in Fig. 13; [0056]; docking station 104 is a stent having a ring configuration);
(claim 4) wherein the docking station (104) is configured to be (i.e., capable of) secured in the left atrium by friction fit (as shown in Fig. 13; [0059]; flange 108 of the docking station 104 flexes and is the sole contact point to hold the device in position while further providing a fluid seal against the left atrium wall);
(claim 5) wherein the docking station (104) is configured to be (i.e., capable of) secured to an inner wall of the left atrium spaced apart from the first and second pulmonary vein openings (as expressly shown in Fig. 13; [0058]-[0059]; docking station 104 are expressly disclosed between all pulmonary vein openings and the native mitral valve to regulate one-way flow of blood through the prosthetic valve and mitral valves in an open configuration and minimize and prevent mitral regurgitation in its closed configuration);
(claim 10) wherein the fluid blocking material (108) is configured to (i.e., capable of) surround third and fourth pulmonary vein openings in the left atrium of the heart (as shown in Fig. 13), such that the closed configuration of the at least one valve (106) blocks regurgitant blood flow through the mitral valve into the first, second, third and fourth pulmonary vein openings when the device is deployed in the left atrium (as expressly shown in Fig. 13; [0058]-[0059]; docking station 104 are expressly disclosed between all pulmonary vein openings and the native mitral valve to regulate one-way flow of blood through the prosthetic valve and mitral valves in an open configuration and minimize and prevent mitral regurgitation in its closed configuration);
(claim 11) A method of implanting a device for blocking regurgitant flow into first and second pulmonary vein openings of a heart (see Abstract and Fig. 13), the method comprising: advancing a docking station (104, Fig. 13) in an unexpanded condition into a left atrium of the heart (see Figs. 13; [0056]; [0058]-[0059]; docking station 104 expressly delivered to left atrium within a delivery catheter); expanding the docking station (104) in the left atrium to position the docking station (104) in the left atrium between the first and second pulmonary vein openings and the mitral valve (as shown in Fig. 13; [0056]; [0058]-[0059]; docking station 104 expressly disclosed as a self-expanding Nitinol frame that is delivered to the left atrium within a delivery catheter); advancing at least one valve (106, Fig. 13) in an unexpanded condition into the docking station (104) ([0056]; [0058]-[0059]; valve 106 expressly can delivered in a catheter separate from and after delivery of the docking station 104); expanding the at least one valve (106) into a docking portion of the docking station (104) (as shown in Fig. 13; [0058]-[0059]; expandable valve 106 expressly can delivered within a catheter for deployment/expansion into the docking station 104); wherein the at least one valve (106) is configured to (i.e., capable of) move to an open configuration permitting blood to flow from the first and second pulmonary vein openings into the mitral valve during diastole (as shown in Fig. 13; [0058]-[0059]; valve 106 expressly helps regulate the flow of blood between the left atrium and the left ventricle in an open configuration); and wherein the at least one valve (106) is configured to (i.e., capable of) move to a closed configuration blocking regurgitant blood flow through the mitral valve into the first and second pulmonary vein openings during systole (as shown in Fig. 13; [0058]-[0059]; valve 106 expressly prevents mitral regurgitation in its closed configuration);
(claim 12) further comprising providing fluid blocking material (108, Fig. 13) secured to the docking station (104) to provide a fluid seal around the at least one valve (106) (as shown in Fig. 13; [0059]);
(claim 13) wherein expanding the docking station (104) in the left atrium comprises expanding the docking station (104) into conforming engagement with the left atrium (as shown in Fig. 13; [0056]; [0058]-[0059]; docking station 104 expressly disclosed as a self-expanding Nitinol frame that is delivered to the left atrium within a delivery catheter and comprises flange 108 that engages and seals against the left atrium wall);
(claim 14) wherein expanding the docking station (104) in the left atrium comprises securing the docking station (104) in the left atrium by friction fit (as shown in Fig. 13; [0059]; flange 108 of the docking station 104 flexes and is the sole contact point to hold the device in position while further providing a fluid seal against the left atrium wall);
(claim 15) wherein expanding the docking station (104) in the left atrium comprises securing the docking station (104) to an inner wall of the left atrium spaced apart from the first and second pulmonary vein openings (as expressly shown in Fig. 13; [0058]-[0059]; docking station 104 are expressly disclosed between all pulmonary vein openings and the native mitral valve to regulate one-way flow of blood through the prosthetic valve and mitral valves in an open configuration and minimize and prevent mitral regurgitation in its closed configuration); and
(claim 19) wherein expanding the docking station (104) in the left atrium positions the docking station (104) in the left atrium between third and fourth pulmonary vein openings and the mitral valve (as shown in Fig. 13; [0059]), such that the closed configuration of the at least one valve (106) blocks regurgitant blood flow through the mitral valve into the first, second, third and fourth pulmonary vein openings (as expressly shown in Fig. 13; [0058]-[0059]; docking station 104 are expressly disclosed between all pulmonary vein openings and the native mitral valve to regulate one-way flow of blood through the prosthetic valve and mitral valves in an open configuration and minimize and prevent mitral regurgitation in its closed configuration); and
(claim 20) A system comprising: a device for blocking regurgitant blood flow into first and second pulmonary vein openings in a left atrium of a heart (see Abstract and Fig. 13), comprising: an expandable docking station (104, Fig. 13) ([0056]; [0058]-[0059]; docking station 104 expressly disclosed as a self-expanding Nitinol frame that is delivered within a delivery catheter) including a docking portion configured to (i.e., capable of) retain at least one valve (106, Fig. 13), wherein the docking station (104) is configured to (i.e., capable of) hold the at least one valve (106) in the left atrium between the first and second pulmonary vein openings and a mitral valve of the heart (as shown in Fig. 13); and a fluid blocking material (108, Fig. 13) secured to the docking station (104) and configured to (i.e., capable of) surround the first and second pulmonary vein openings and provide a fluid seal around the at least one valve (106) (as shown in Fig. 13; [0059]); and a delivery tube (i.e., delivery catheter) configured to (i.e., capable of) retain the expandable frame (104) in an unexpanded condition; and wherein the delivery tube (i.e., delivery catheter) is configured to (i.e., capable of) deploy the expandable docking station (104) in the left atrium of the heart (see Fig. 13; [0056]; [0058]-[0059]; docking station 104 expressly disclosed as a self-expanding Nitinol frame that is delivered to the left atrium within a delivery catheter).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Schweich, Jr. et al. (US 2017/0095327).
Rowe, as applied above, discloses a system and method for treating mitral valve insufficiency comprising all the limitations of the claim except for the at least one valve comprising a plurality of valves.
However, Schweich teaches (see Figs. 25-26) a similar prosthetic valve system and method for treating mitral regurgitation comprising a plurality of valves (410, Figs. 25-26; dual valve assembly expressly taught). Accordingly, Schweich teaches that it is known that single valve assemblies and dual valve assemblies are elements that are functional equivalents for providing one-way blood flow from the left atrium to the left ventricle while preventing mitral regurgitation (see Fig. 25-26; [0022]-[0023]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have substituted the dual valve assembly taught by Schweich for the single valve assembly of Rowe because both elements were known equivalents for providing one-way blood flow from the left atrium to the left ventricle while preventing mitral regurgitation within the prosthetic valve art. The substitution would have resulted in the predictable results of providing one-way blood flow from the left atrium to the left ventricle while preventing mitral regurgitation to the device of Rowe.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chambers (US 2018/0042719).
Rowe, as applied above, discloses a system and method for treating mitral valve insufficiency comprising all the limitations of the claim except for a dome shaped support secured to the docking station and occupying an upper portion of the left atrium to hold the at least one valve in position in the left atrium.
However, Chambers teaches (see Fig. 12) a similar device and method for preventing mitral regurgitation comprising a dome shaped support (200/300, Fig. 12) secured to the docking station (100, Fig. 12) and occupying an upper portion of the left atrium to hold the at least one valve in position in the left atrium (see Fig. 12; [0071]; [0078]-[0081]) in order to beneficially assist in transmission of axial force to the atrial dome and distributed therearound the dome to assist in anchoring within the left atrium ([0071]; [0078]-[0081]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Rowe to have a dome shaped support secured to the docking station and occupying an upper portion of the left atrium to hold the at least one valve in position in the left atrium in order to beneficially assist in transmission of axial force to the atrial dome and distribute forces around the dome to assist in anchoring within the left atrium, as taught by Chambers.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowe as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Chau et al. (US 2011/0112632).
Rowe, as applied above, discloses a system and method for treating mitral valve insufficiency comprising all the limitations of the claim except for first and second anchoring portions connected to the docking station and installed/configured to be installed in the first and second pulmonary vein openings, and the fluid blocking material forms a connecting piece between the first and second anchoring portions and the docking station.
However, Chau teaches (see Fig. 8) a similar device and method for implanting a prosthetic mitral valve with pulmonary vein anchoring comprising first and second anchoring portions (146, Fig. 8) connected to the docking station (144, Fig. 8) and installed/configured to be installed in the first and second pulmonary vein openings (61, Fig. 8), and the fluid blocking material (150, Fig. 8) forms a connecting piece (142, Fig. 8) between the first and second anchoring portions (146) and the docking station (144) (as shown in Fig. 8; [0063]) in order to beneficially enhance and improve device anchoring by utilizing the natural anatomy of the patient's heart in order to resist against upward migration of the valve assembly (see Abstract; [0015]; [0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device/method of Rowe to have first and second anchoring portions connected to the docking station and installed/configured to be installed in the first and second pulmonary vein openings, and the fluid blocking material forms a connecting piece between the first and second anchoring portions and the docking station in order to beneficially enhance and improve device anchoring by utilizing the natural anatomy of the patient's heart in order to resist against upward migration of the valve assembly, as taught by Chau.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 10-12 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 11 and 15-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,245,756. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader variants of the claims of the patent and this anticipate the claims of the patent, as set forth below. See MPEP 2131.02(I).
Present Invention
U.S. Pat. No. 12,245,756
1
1-9,15-20
2
5
3
6
4
5
5
1-9,15-20
6
9
7
8
10
9
11
11
12
11
20
15-20
Conclusion
/ROBERT A LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771