Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsubayashi (US 20210014425) in view Maruyama (US 20180246631).
Regarding claim 1 Matsubayashi teaches a virtual viewpoint control apparatus (fig.1, [0024]) comprising:
one or more memories (fig.1, 72) storing instructions (fig.2); and
one or more processors executing the instructions (fig.1, [0026] An image processing apparatus 9 includes an image processing unit 7) to:
obtain an operation signal ([0032]) designating a position and an orientation in a virtual space of a virtual viewpoint corresponding to a virtual viewpoint image to be generated based on a plurality of captured images obtained by performing image capturing with a plurality of image capturing devices ([0024], [0027]-[0028]);
determine a second virtual viewpoint (fig. 5A in 201, 101) that is positioned on the optical axis (axis designated by camera 102) of the first virtual viewpoint identified by the obtained operation signal and that faces the first virtual viewpoint (fig. 5A in 201, 103) identified by the obtained operation signal (claim 1, claim 9); [[and]]
set virtual viewpoint information ([0032] The viewpoint setting unit 32 sets the position and orientation of a virtual viewpoint based on an operation instruction from the operation input unit 31 and transmits viewpoint information indicating the set virtual viewpoint to the image processing apparatus 9) representing the first virtual viewpoint at a plurality of respective times, or the second virtual viewpoint in response to an instruction from an operator based on a virtual viewpoint image corresponding to the determined second virtual viewpoint (fig. 8);
Matsubayashi is silent on generate trajectory information indicating a trajectory of the first virtual viewpoint by interpolating the position of the first virtual viewpoint and the orientation from the first virtual viewpoint for times different from the plurality of respective times based on the virtual viewpoint information.
However, Maruyama teaches generate trajectory information indicating a trajectory of the first virtual viewpoint by interpolating the position of the first virtual viewpoint and the orientation from the first virtual viewpoint for times different from the plurality of respective times based on the virtual viewpoint information (fig. 3, [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled to combine Matsubayashi in light of Maruyama so that it may include generate trajectory information indicating a trajectory of the first virtual viewpoint by interpolating the position of the first virtual viewpoint and the orientation from the first virtual viewpoint for times different from the plurality of respective times based on the virtual viewpoint information.
The motivation is an image processing apparatus includes an acquisition unit configured to acquire viewpoint information for identifying a movement path of a virtual viewpoint relating to generation of a virtual viewpoint image.
Regarding claim 2 Matsubayashi teaches wherein a position of the second virtual viewpoint (fig. 13B) is determined to be a position where the first virtual viewpoint (fig. 13C) is rotated around a vertical axis passing through a point a predetermined distance away in the direction in which the position of the first virtual viewpoint (from fig. 13C to Fig. 3B player is rotated around vertical axis to face the goal post).
Regarding claim 7 Matsubayashi teaches wherein a virtual viewpoint image to be generated in accordance with the set virtual viewpoint information is an image reproducing a viewpoint of an object seen in the plurality of captured images, and one of the first virtual viewpoint and the second virtual viewpoint is a virtual viewpoint corresponding to the viewpoint of the object ([0026] fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 8 Matsubayashi teaches wherein the one or more processors (fig.1) further executes the instructions to: further obtain tracking information indicating a three-dimensional position of the object at each time during a period of time in which the plurality of captured images are captured, wherein a position of the first virtual viewpoint is identified based on the obtained tracking information and an orientation of the first virtual viewpoint is identified based on the obtained operation signal ([0056] [0057] [0092] [0094]).
Claim 9 is canceled.
Regarding claim 10 the limitations are like claim 1 so rejected same way.
Regarding claim 11 Matsubayashi teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing (fig.2, ROM, RAM) a program for causing a computer to perform a method (fig. 8). The other the limitations are like claim 1 so rejected same way.
Claim(s) 3, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsubayashi (US 20210014425) in view of Maruyama (US 20180246631) and further in view of INOMATA (US 20180341386).
Regarding claim 3 Matsubayashi teaches first virtual viewpoint and the position of the second virtual viewpoint (fig. 5B).
Matsubayashi is silent on wherein a distance between the position of the first virtual viewpoint and the position of the second virtual viewpoint is determined based on the instruction from the operator (fig. 19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled to combine Matsubayashi in light of INOMATA so that it may include wherein a distance between the position of the first virtual viewpoint and the position of the second virtual viewpoint is determined based on the instruction from the operator.
The motivation for generating a visual-field image for operating the virtual space.
Regarding claim 6 Matsubayashi in view INOMATA teaches wherein there are a first mode and a second mode as operation modes, in a case of the first mode, the second virtual viewpoint is determined, and in response to the instruction from the operator based on a virtual viewpoint image corresponding to the determined second virtual viewpoint, virtual viewpoint information representing the first virtual viewpoint or the second virtual viewpoint is set, and in a case of the second mode, the second virtual viewpoint is not determined, and in response to the instruction from the operator, virtual viewpoint information representing the first virtual viewpoint is set (INOMATA: claim 8, fig. 20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any of the new reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Umemura US 20200349756
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOWFIQ ELAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625