DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2024-0017551, filed on 02/05/2024.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to because reference character 13 has been used to designate both "a control information generation unit" in the specification and "Right pressure acquisition unit" in Figure 2 and reference character S153 has been used to designate "a right power providing step" in both the specification and in Figure 8 and "Control information derivation step" in Figure 7 while reference character S135 has been used to designate the "control information derivation step" in the specification.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 4 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4 recites the limitation “a right power providing module to provide a right power, which is power for a right wheel installed on the wheelchair, in the amount included in the left control information” and claim 8 similarly recites the limitation “providing right power, which is power for a right wheel installed on the wheelchair, in the amount included in the left control information”. Each of these limitations appear to contain a typographical error and should instead read: “in the amount included in the right control information”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 3, 4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
a. Claim 3 recites the limitation “a control information derivation module configured to reflect the state estimation information in the speed information and derive the control information.” in lines 7-8. The phrase “reflect the state estimation information in the speed information” does not identify what operation or relationship between the state estimation information and speed information is required. It is unclear whether “reflect” requires modifying, correcting, filtering, weighting, replacing, or otherwise combining the speed information with the state estimation information. Therefore, the scope of the control information derivation module cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
b. Claim 7 recites the limitation “deriving the control information by reflecting the state estimation information into the speed information.” in lines 6-7. The phrase “reflecting the state estimation information into the speed information” does not identify what operation or relationship between the state estimation information and speed information is required. It is unclear whether “reflecting” requires modifying, correcting, filtering, weighting, replacing, or otherwise combining the speed information with the state estimation information. Therefore, the scope of the control information derivation module cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
c. Claims 4 and 8 are rejected as depending upon a rejected claim.
7. In view of the rejections above under 35 USC § 112, the claims referred to in any and all rejections below are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Freeman (GB2479555A).
a. Regarding claim 1, Freeman discloses a wheelchair guardian operating handle control system configured to operate wheelchair 10 [wheelchair 10 also includes a propulsion apparatus and a power-assistance apparatus. The propulsion apparatus includes a pair of handles 18a, 18b which are positioned behind the seat 12 of the wheelchair 10, in conventional fashion, page 5 lines 24-27] capable of moving by receiving power using electric drive system 26a, 26b [wheelchair 10 also includes a motive device in the form of a motor 26a, 26b associated with each wheel, for providing power to each wheel, to enable rotational movement of the wheel in both directions, page 6 lines 16-18], pressure acquisition unit 24a, 24b disposed on a rear side of wheelchair 10 configured to acquire a control pressure applied by a guardian [a measurement device for measuring the amount of force applied manually to the handles 18. In this example, the measurement device includes a pair load cells 24a, 24b, each of which is associated a respective one of the handles 18a, 18b; Each load cell 24a, 24b is operable to measure the magnitude and direction of the force being applied to the handle 18 with which the load cell 24a, 24b is associated, page 6 lines 7-14], control information generation unit 28 configured to process the control pressure [load cells 24a, 24b detect the force being applied to the respective handles 18a, 18b. A signal is transmitted from each of the load cells 24a, 24b to the controller 28, page 8 lines 28-30] to determine a movement speed and generate a control information to control wheels 14a, 14b of wheelchair 10 according to the movement speed and a wheel driving unit that configured to acquire the control information and control a speed of each of the wheels 14a, 14b positioned on opposite sides of the wheelchair according to the control information to perform the movement of the wheelchair [wheel speed and direction sensors provide signals to the controller, and thus, the controller monitors the speed and the direction of each of the wheels, page 9 lines 13-14].
b. Regarding claim 2, Freeman discloses the wheelchair guardian operating handle control system of claim 1, wherein the pressure acquisition unit comprises left pressure acquisition module 24a disposed on a left rear side based on a direction of the movement of the wheelchair and configured to obtain a left control pressure applied by the guardian and right pressure acquisition module 24b disposed on a right rear side based on the direction of the movement of the wheelchair and configured to obtain a right control pressure applied by the guardian [a measurement device for measuring the amount of force applied manually to the handles 18. In this example, the measurement device includes a pair load cells 24a, 24b, each of which is associated a respective one of the handles 18a, 18b; Each load cell 24a, 24b is operable to measure the magnitude and direction of the force being applied to the handle 18 with which the load cell 24a, 24b is associated, page 6 lines 7-14].
c. Regarding claim 5, Freeman discloses a method for controlling a guardian operating handle configured to operate wheelchair 10 [wheelchair 10 also includes a propulsion apparatus and a power-assistance apparatus. The propulsion apparatus includes a pair of handles 18a, 18b which are positioned behind the seat 12 of the wheelchair 10, in conventional fashion, page 5 lines 24-27] capable of moving by receiving power using an electric drive scheme [wheelchair 10 also includes a motive device in the form of a motor 26a, 26b associated with each wheel, for providing power to each wheel, to enable rotational movement of the wheel in both directions, page 6 lines 16-18] comprising acquiring a control pressure applied by a guardian using pressure acquisition unit 24a, 24b disposed on a rear side of wheelchair 10 [a measurement device for measuring the amount of force applied manually to the handles 18. In this example, the measurement device includes a pair load cells 24a, 24b, each of which is associated a respective one of the handles 18a, 18b; Each load cell 24a, 24b is operable to measure the magnitude and direction of the force being applied to the handle 18 with which the load cell 24a, 24b is associated, page 6 lines 7-14], processing the control pressure to determine a movement speed, and generating control information to control wheels of the wheelchair according to the movement speed by using a control information generation unit [wheelchair 10 also includes a motive device in the form of a motor 26a, 26b associated with each wheel, for providing power to each wheel, to enable rotational movement of the wheel in both directions, page 6 lines 16-18], and acquiring the control information and controlling a speed of each of wheels 14a, 14b positioned on opposite sides of wheelchair 10 according to the control information [wheel speed and direction sensors provide signals to the controller, and thus, the controller monitors the speed and the direction of each of the wheels, page 9 lines 13-14] by using a wheel driving unit to perform the movement of the wheelchair [The wheelchair includes a controller 26 for receiving signals from each of the load cells 24a, 24b relating to the magnitude and direction of the force being applied to each handle 18a, 18b, and to operate each of the motors 26a, 26b in accordance with the signals as described in detail below, page 6 lines 26-29].
d. Regarding claim 6, Freeman discloses the method of claim 5 wherein acquiring the control pressure comprises positioning on a left rear side based on a direction of the movement of the wheelchair and acquiring left control pressure applied by the guardian and positioning on a right rear side based on the direction of the movement of the wheelchair and acquiring a right control pressure applied by the guardian [wheelchair 10 also includes a propulsion apparatus and a power-assistance apparatus. The propulsion apparatus includes a pair of handles 18a, 18b which are positioned behind the seat 12 of the wheelchair 10, in conventional fashion, page 5 lines 24-27; a measurement device for measuring the amount of force applied manually to the handles 18. In this example, the measurement device includes a pair load cells 24a, 24b, each of which is associated a respective one of the handles 18a, 18b; Each load cell 24a, 24b is operable to measure the magnitude and direction of the force being applied to the handle 18 with which the load cell 24a, 24b is associated, page 6 lines 7-14]; A signal is transmitted from each of the load cells 24a, 24b to the controller 28, page 8 lines 28-30; wheel speed and direction sensors provide signals to the controller, and thus, the controller monitors the speed and the direction of each of the wheels, page 9 lines 13-14].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 3, 4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman (GB2479555A) in view of Jorgensen (US 6,003,624).
a. Regarding claim 3, Freeman discloses the wheelchair guardian operating handle control system of claim 2 having control information generation unit 28 [load cells 24a, 24b detect the force being applied to the respective handles 18a, 18b. A signal is transmitted from each of the load cells 24a, 24b to the controller 28, page 8 lines 28-30] and a speed information generation module configured to generate speed information corresponding to the control pressure according to a predetermined criterion [wheel speed and direction sensors provide signals to the controller, and thus, the controller monitors the speed and the direction of each of the wheels, page 9 lines 13-14].
Freeman does not specifically teach a state estimation module configured to obtain the control pressure, estimate an optimal control and Kalman filter state, and generate state estimation information, and a control information derivation module configured to reflect the state estimation information in the speed information and derive the control information.
Jorgensen teaches a motorized wheeled passenger carrier control system employing a linear quadratic regulator (LQR) for optimal control and a reduced-order estimator, preferably a Kalman Estimator for generating estimated state estimation information wherein the estimated state vector is compared to the reference equilibrium vector including the passenger inputs and the resulting difference is fed back through the controller to generate a new system input and a control information derivation module configured to reflect the state estimation information in the speed information and derive the control information [The measured outputs are multiplexed (vector augmentation) with the system input u into a reduced-order estimator, which in preferred form is a Kalman Estimator. The Kalman Estimator estimates the three estimated states α, θ, and φ and their derivatives (the three velocity states) from the three measured outputs to form an estimated states vector. The estimated states vector is compared to the reference equilibrium vector (the passenger inputs). The compared difference is sent back into the controller to be processed through the FSF loop and multiplied by the feedback gains Kf to become a function of the new system input u, col. 10 lines 17-28, FIG. 7 is a block diagram of the basic sensing and control commands for active stabilization of the WPC; FIG. 8 is a more detailed diagram of FIG. 7 with a full state feedback loop with a reduced-order observer, a feed forward command and an integral error feedback loop] for the purpose of providing for optimizing the performance and response of the motorized wheelchair control system by using estimated wheelchair-state information to correct the control information supplied to the wheel motors.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control system taught by Freeman to include a state estimation module to obtain the control pressure, estimate an optimal control and Kalman filter state, and generate state estimation information and a control information derivation module to reflect the state estimation information in the speed information and derive the control information as taught by Jorgensen because doing so would have provided for optimizing the performance and response of the motorized wheelchair control system by using estimated wheelchair-state information to correct the control information supplied to the wheel motors.
b. Regarding claim 4, Freeman in view of Jorgensen teaches the wheelchair guardian operating handle control system of claim 3. Freeman further discloses the wheel driving unit [wheel speed and direction sensors provide signals to the controller, and thus, the controller monitors the speed and the direction of each of the wheels, page 9 lines 13-14] comprises left power providing module 26a to provide left power for left wheel 14a installed on wheelchair 10 in an amount included in left control information if the control information includes the left control information and a right power providing module 26b to provide right power for right wheel 14b installed on wheelchair 10 in the amount included in the (right, see claim objection) control information if the control information includes right control information [wheelchair 10 also includes a motive device in the form of a motor 26a, 26b associated with each wheel, for providing power to each wheel, to enable rotational movement of the wheel in both directions, page 6 lines 16-18; The wheelchair includes a controller 26 for receiving signals from each of the load cells 24a, 24b relating to the magnitude and direction of the force being applied to each handle 18a, 18b, and to operate each of the motors 26a, 26b in accordance with the signals as described in detail below, page 6 lines 26-29].
c. Regarding claim 7, Freeman discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the processing the control pressure [load cells 24a, 24b detect the force being applied to the respective handles 18a, 18b. A signal is transmitted from each of the load cells 24a, 24b to the controller 28, page 8 lines 28-30] comprises generating speed information corresponding to the control pressure according to a predetermined criterion [The wheelchair includes a controller 26 for receiving signals from each of the load cells 24a, 24b relating to the magnitude and direction of the force being applied to each handle 18a, 18b, and to operate each of the motors 26a, 26b in accordance with the signals as described in detail below, page 6 lines 26-29; wheel speed and direction sensors provide signals to the controller, and thus, the controller monitors the speed and the direction of each of the wheels, page 9 lines 13-14].
Freeman does not specifically teach obtaining the control pressure and estimating an optimal control and Kalman filter state to generate state estimation information and deriving the control information by reflecting the state estimation information into the speed information.
Jorgensen teaches a motorized wheeled passenger carrier control system employing a linear quadratic regulator (LQR) for optimal control and a reduced-order estimator, preferably a Kalman Estimator for generating estimated state estimation information wherein the estimated state vector is compared to the reference equilibrium vector including the passenger inputs and the resulting difference is fed back through the controller to generate a new system input and a control information derivation module configured to reflect the state estimation information in the speed information and derive the control information [The measured outputs are multiplexed (vector augmentation) with the system input u into a reduced-order estimator, which in preferred form is a Kalman Estimator. The Kalman Estimator estimates the three estimated states α, θ, and φ and their derivatives (the three velocity states) from the three measured outputs to form an estimated states vector. The estimated states vector is compared to the reference equilibrium vector (the passenger inputs). The compared difference is sent back into the controller to be processed through the FSF loop and multiplied by the feedback gains Kf to become a function of the new system input u, col. 10 lines 17-28, FIG. 7 is a block diagram of the basic sensing and control commands for active stabilization of the WPC; FIG. 8 is a more detailed diagram of FIG. 7 with a full state feedback loop with a reduced-order observer, a feed forward command and an integral error feedback loop] for the purpose of providing for optimizing the performance and response of the motorized wheelchair control system by using estimated wheelchair-state information to correct the control information supplied to the wheel motors.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Freeman to include a state estimation module to obtain the control pressure, estimate an optimal control and Kalman filter state, and generate state estimation information and a control information derivation module to reflect the state estimation information in the speed information and derive the control information as taught by Jorgensen because doing so would have provided for optimizing the performance and response of the motorized wheelchair control system by using estimated wheelchair-state information to correct the control information supplied to the wheel motors.
d. Regarding claim 8, Freeman in view of Jorgensen teaches the method of claim 7. Freeman further discloses providing left power for left wheel 14a installed on wheelchair 10 in an amount included in left control information if the control information includes the left control information and providing right power for right wheel 14b installed on wheelchair 10 in the amount included in the (right, see claim objection) control information if the control information includes right control information [wheel speed and direction sensors provide signals to the controller, and thus, the controller monitors the speed and the direction of each of the wheels, page 9 lines 13-14; wheelchair 10 also includes a motive device in the form of a motor 26a, 26b associated with each wheel, for providing power to each wheel, to enable rotational movement of the wheel in both directions, page 6 lines 16-18; The wheelchair includes a controller 26 for receiving signals from each of the load cells 24a, 24b relating to the magnitude and direction of the force being applied to each handle 18a, 18b, and to operate each of the motors 26a, 26b in accordance with the signals as described in detail below, page 6 lines 26-29].
Conclusion
/J. R. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612